iRobot Scooba experience

molecule

Roomba 535 battery just died. Anyone knows if any shop in sim lim tower does rebuilding of roomba battery packs?

dankoo

I agree on li-ion batt not worth the value...I had a Li-ion batt that failed me less than 1 yr. I just got the OEM batt from one of the guys here.

Molecule, just get a new OEM batt will do...

molecule

hey thanks for the suggestions. one of the forumer offered me a OEM battery. I wasn't sure if it works leh coz I read on Amazon review for OEM either cannot last few months or damage the robots. You hv positive experience with OEM?

link to review HERE

dankoo

I have both OEM for 400 and 500 series. Both running ok so far. I just got it so I cant say if this will last. I do hope so. the 400 batt runs for coming to 2hrs on max. I believe same seller contacted you. I bought it with 2mths warranty so fingers cross all ok.

molecule

ok thanks for the update on your experience, will consider it. The battery life will be the main issue since the robot seems to outlive its battery so I guess this will be the continous gripe. :)

Mystrix

ok i should get the hsn bundle if nothing goes wrong :s13:
they reject the SG CC and i managed to have an order with US CC. Mosmos is really the lucky guy out there. We made a call to US and they die die wont accept SG cc.

So, any kind guys can advise on what I should order for parts n accessories etc for the Scooba n Roomba. Do I need to buy cleaning brushes, wheels, filters etc...

Users of Scooba 340 or 5800 i think,... only know the size is 850.... do i need to buy additional charger or get some external power charger etc... since i will ship them together to the US address n then later forward all to me. Thanks!

mosmos

ok i should get the hsn bundle if nothing goes wrong :s13:
they reject the SG CC and i managed to have an order with US CC. Mosmos is really the lucky guy out there. We made a call to US and they die die wont accept SG cc.

So, any kind guys can advise on what I should order for parts n accessories etc for the Scooba n Roomba. Do I need to buy cleaning brushes, wheels, filters etc...

Users of Scooba 340 or 5800 i think,... only know the size is 850.... do i need to buy additional charger or get some external power charger etc... since i will ship them together to the US address n then later forward all to me. Thanks!

Bundle maybe cheap, but will get 7% gst charge when reach sg. Do a simple calculation whether is it worth to pay gst. :s22:

For extra parts, not necessary to get now. After registering warranty at irobot website, you can get a 15% discount promo code for buying accessories. :o

For last question, I don't get what you mean by getting extra charger. Why do you need that? :s11:

You just need a transformer buy in sg, to convert 220v to 100v for your scooba. :o

Mystrix

Think with the delivery charges v hard to escape leh. Unless ship seperately or what ba... Headache manz. Using local USPS or UPS i think.

Didnt know abt the 15% off accessories. then i can ask my frend to help me check the pdt no. etc for me to register online then buy the accessories.

i saw things like this but i am not sure if its required.

pIROBOT1-2430355dt.jpg

Scooba FIlter

pIROBOT1-2430589dt.jpg

Scooba® Vacuum Port

pIROBOT1-2430584dt.jpg

Cleaning Brush

i only have 1 virtual wall for the HSN Bundle. Do i need to buy another 1 for Scooba.

http://store.irobot.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2804959&ab=CMS_IRBT_Storefront_062209_promotions
The Roomba parts on the left of the box. No need to buy those right. Just use the original 3 filter pack will be enough huh.

oh the charger, i am not sure what comes bundle with it... do i need to get additional battery and thus charger too so can charge together or dont need so much stuffs. save the money

Btw, my wife have a 150W NF-150 Newstar transformer for her US sewing machine. So i think i can use this from what i read here too.
Thanks!

mosmos

pIROBOT1-2430589dt.jpg

Scooba® Vacuum Port

i only have 1 virtual wall for the HSN Bundle. Do i need to buy another 1 for Scooba.

Thanks!
For me, this thing the outer part chip off after some time. :(

The other 2 can use for many months, no need to change. :s22:

Maybe you get some wheels. they wearoff after some months. :o

roomba accesories, i nvr buy before. :s22:

the filter still using same one after 1-2yrs. :s22:

thewiseone

2 things that i'll recommend for buying as spares:

1) Scooba: Wheels (MUST HAVE REPLACEMENT, will defninitely wear out with usage)

2) Roomba: Filter (if u do not know how to or dont bother to make yr own DIY replacement).

Mystrix

Sian diao...........

just talked with irobot guy, 15% disc is for 1 time use only and their accessories might arrived in 2 packages etc. Imagine if I use Vpost buy Filters, Wheels and CLorex, End up send me 3 parcels then hor say liao

Another shock is that... I didnt know irobot must or advisable to On for 24hrs , 7days a wk.... well we are using step down transformer ... i dont think can tahan so many days n so many hrs manz. later chao tar.

How u guys use yr scooba n roomba manz. Or should buy charger from SG distributor... wonder hows the mark up charges.

mosmos
Forgot if u mentioned before but if u dont mind, what accessories did u bought for them to be shipped in 3 different packages...cant imagine the charges u paid. Do they ship one lousy filter packs in a big box heheh

hmmm thinking to buy scooba 380 at hammacher.com

they have lifetime warrenty.. at 450usd.. isit worth it? anyone can help me ?

they dont sell. check already. they dont sell to SG or places of diff voltage but well, if u forward to Vpost etc then maybe can try.

I think buy from Irobot.com better since they have free clorex and some days less $50. the lifetime warranty must ship back dont know if they can accept. i mean see the stamps n courier already know from overseas ... still can acccept anot

thewiseone

I've been using my Roomba and Scooba with a step down transformer 24/7 for years... its not going to fry so easily. U should be more concerned with lightning surges... make sure to plug them into a surge protected outlet for peace of mind.

As for Hammacher's lifetime warranty, i dont think its worth it if u are located ex-USA. Even if they close an eye to overseas postage to US, the shipping from Singapore to US is expensive. Its even more expensive than shipping the same item from US to Singapore. In addition, u have to factor in insurance in case the item is lost. What about the return shipping? GST???? Seriously, its not worth the hassle IMO.

Sian diao...........

Another shock is that... I didnt know irobot must or advisable to On for 24hrs , 7days a wk.... well we are using step down transformer ... i dont think can tahan so many days n so many hrs manz. later chao tar.

How u guys use yr scooba n roomba manz. Or should buy charger from SG distributor... wonder hows the mark up charges.

mosmos

Sian diao...........

just talked with irobot guy, 15% disc is for 1 time use only and their accessories might arrived in 2 packages etc. Imagine if I use Vpost buy Filters, Wheels and CLorex, End up send me 3 parcels then hor say liao
Since you are buying a bundle, you register for 2 irobot, means you would get 2x 15% email. :o

All along I only charge for 3.5hr for roomba and scooba using a timer plug, nothing big happen. :s22:
Depends on you, buy from sg can claim warranty easily.

mosmos
Forgot if u mentioned before but if u dont mind, what accessories did u bought for them to be shipped in 3 different packages...cant imagine the charges u paid. Do they ship one lousy filter packs in a big box heheh
I think I bought battery + scooba wheels + a pack of those brushes & wheels. :o

They do shipped in those brown thicker boxes, no external box.

they dont sell. check already. they dont sell to SG or places of diff voltage but well, if u forward to Vpost etc then maybe can try.

I think buy from Irobot.com better since they have free clorex and some days less $50. the lifetime warranty must ship back dont know if they can accept. i mean see the stamps n courier already know from overseas ... still can acccept anot
As I mention before, scooba can accept any washing solution. :o

Those clorox are big bottles and heavy. Shipping charges will not be cheap.

Mystrix

refurbished..... hmmm

Yup i know that the Clorox is heavy but seem like v good from the reviews. thinking of buying a 5pkt set and ship over. set aside abt $30 for shipping ba... at most $50? I heard sg sell one at $50+ or i made a mistake.

mosmos
the charger buy from local but only charger got warranty right. set still dont have mah. dont think SG distributor so good. call them next time to check on pricing

mosmos

refurbished..... hmmm

Yup i know that the Clorox is heavy but seem like v good from the reviews. thinking of buying a 5pkt set and ship over. set aside abt $30 for shipping ba... at most $50? I heard sg sell one at $50+ or i made a mistake.

mosmos
the charger buy from local but only charger got warranty right. set still dont have mah. dont think SG distributor so good. call them next time to check on pricing

:s11: what you mean buy charger from local?

Do you mean you want to buy power adapter from irobot sg distributer? :s11:

I think they will be selling at sgd100+, not worth. :crazy:

visualrock

refurbished..... hmmm

mosmos

1 Clorox is about 1kg lor.. so 5 Clorox = 5 kg liao... but volume weight not sure...

if u wan , my fren is selling a bottle 20sgd.. as he brought quite some during his USA trip, last year ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.