SkyNinja

Tech job market very bad now
Heard many fresh grads cannt find job
And many tech people got laid off
Few years ago i remember everyone looking up to people with comp sci degree

Whats happening now?

Tiagong some companies cut cost until ask 1 admin staff to use Chatgpt to do coding and debugging.

soulblader_89

In my company

there is no pay increment for many years, they dare to pay freeze for many years yet they close a lot of deals

lovemyself123

NUS CS intake 1.1k last year, with 10th percentile cut off grade at AAAA.

How many out of these 1.1k can snag the job they want at the expected salary?
they are damn kumgong, go in compete with many other hardworking people and all of them thinking that they can come out of it tops

aceminer

Dead?? My friend complain he cannot find good staff for And the pay is considered above average. Above 5k for fresh grads. And senior ppl can go higher.

of coz by Edmw standards this is derisory

Heriophant

NUS CS intake 1.1k last year, with 10th percentile cut off grade at AAAA.

How many out of these 1.1k can snag the job they want at the expected salary?
they are damn kumgong, go in compete with many other hardworking people and all of them thinking that they can come out of it tops
Good luck to the 1.1K students

silent_espy

Not only in Singapore, in US also same. CS grads having difficulty finding jobs. Maybe it’s the expectations and the jobs they want.

funny though that those with business, finance degree here easy to switch jobs. Maybe CS grads all want to be SWE or coders so every mother son fighting for same job. Seems like those who went to the other industries like cybersecurity, data analysis or move to finance to do risk easier to find jobs.

lovemyself123

Not only in Singapore, in US also same. CS grads having difficulty finding jobs. Maybe it’s the expectations and the jobs they want.

funny though that those with business, finance degree here easy to switch jobs. Maybe CS grads all want to be SWE or coders so every mother son fighting for same job. Seems like those who went to the other industries like cybersecurity, data analysis or move to finance to do risk easier to find jobs.
shhh let the gen z continue to be kumgong

they all fighting for 20 spots in faang while the rest goes NCS, St engineering

white_prince

Tech job market very bad now
Heard many fresh grads cannt find job
And many tech people got laid off
Few years ago i remember everyone looking up to people with comp sci degree

Whats happening now?

The gen before has fulfilled the automation :)
Hence no demands on CS

crandfs

Yes and no, depends on your grades and degree level. For IT companies like Google Tencent, Huawei, VPN etc, still pay a lot for top grads with strong portfolio. Or you can start up and provide contract based solutions for adhoc projects by various companies.

Bur if your grades can only be generalist, then not much use, because many engineering and science degree people also pick up basic skills in programming, Linux, and server maintenance that is good enough for many companies. Plus there are so many online courses, so generalist gotta compete against self learners who may already be in a company.

4Dluckystrike

Dead?? My friend complain he cannot find good staff for And the pay is considered above average. Above 5k for fresh grads. And senior ppl can go higher.

of coz by Edmw standards this is derisory
Your friend vs official retrenchment news .. who you think pple will believe

StoicGuy

IT sphere is very wide.

Got infrastructure, software, business application, data analytics etc.

Business application consultant like SAP and Oracle still in high demand but not many sinkies.

soulblader_89

Why is govt can not continue pay more money for tech industry anymore?

For normal average developer, do they have any room?

anchoraz

IT scope v big. Too specialised become niche.

Business scope oso. And the problem here is some joker come out with IT crash course 3 mths training for them to parachute to IT sector.

We dun have IT crash course to business. Tats y it grads v lugi. Only can IT where as biz can jump to IT.

Saw tis transition in many sectors for those jobless business degree come in to become IT. Usually they parachute in to manage and make v baseless decisions due to their experience is not IT.

You can c many fail products in many sectors from the last 5-10yrs.

Seems they r delivering a msg to u go study business as if u fail in business, u still can come back in IT sector with some 3mths training crash course to manage those experience IT people who forever stuck in tat position without any career advancement.

Study IT is confirm more lugi than study business. Then u will curse and swear y din i go study business to become manager to manage the IT grads instead. Somemore their A levl result is poorer than you due to lower entry point to business degree.

Hope tat those wana join or study IT will open big eyes see before investing their life in full IT degree/course for the corporate world.

You will v disappointed once u c those walking the shortcut pass u via those career switch course or it conversion course.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.