LocalRider

Tech job market very bad now
Heard many fresh grads cannt find job
And many tech people got laid off
Few years ago i remember everyone looking up to people with comp sci degree

Whats happening now?

some tech co., the mid level manager is FT and will likely hire FT juniors.

some tech co., report they hire singaporeans and foreigners in equal amounts but dunno why consistently let go the singaporeans faster so end up still more FT behaviour.

some tech co. only keep sales ppe here, but if win delivery project will bring in offshore cheaper resources or deliver offshore.

the truth is there is demand for tech, but question is who is doing the hiring. With open leg policy, can always give enough justifications to lean towards hiring manager preference.

Question is why we open house make them so comfortable but citizens don’t get much back and now so crowded.

We alr seen many cases where new imports in their enclosed enclaves still follow home culture. Well, if you always import third-world, you will get third-world culture and third-world mentality and behaviour in hiring.

And frankly, if the leaders have been keeping their ears to the ground instead of just yes-men, they would have been aware of this long ago, instead of putting so many youngsters through 4 years of comp sci degree and coming out empty handed.

Forever84

Now a lot is about AI, using OpenAI API only
Not just that. With all this investments, companies still finding it difficult to price/charge for AI solutions.

many now charge based on a “completed task”, like successfully answered a customer question = $2.

can make money? Will customers accept such a model? How to audit? lol

testerjp

If you plan to build a new city, the first thing you need to build are the roads.
Once your roads are done, things will move fast and you can develop quickly.

Likewise for IT, programmers are trying to perfect the AI in programming first.
Chatgpt o3 was immediately ranked 175 worldwide in hard programming and and will be automated to develop itself.

At Rank 175, he is already an expert level beating the best programmers in the top universities.
How to compete? And development is still in progress.

You don't know how to use it? Don't worry, that's what next gen agent AI for.
You can assign different AIs to different roles to create a polished finished product by just stating your requirements.

AI can test in its simulated world thousands of times and use machine learning to test the reliability of its work.

IT's future is really gloomy, the people who win are those who knows how to use it well.

One thing very eerie about AI is, if you ask what's the best thing to invest or develop, it will always have this bias to psycho u to invest in IT which further empowers them. But it is not wrong, AI really think a lot wider and further. Can break new frontiers and find new science.

Those deep into AI really think AI is God.
Can predict well, look far ahead, may realise new physics, new material, omnipotent, etc.

Another thing people didn't realise. Most companies would try to sell and promote itself. OpenAI keep downplaying its potency to evade regulations and restrictions. You won't know how advance their AI really is.
Sam Altman is a ghey, he won't care about future generation. :(

Mr Totoro 38

some tech co., the mid level manager is FT and will likely hire FT juniors.

some tech co., report they hire singaporeans and foreigners in equal amounts but dunno why consistently let go the singaporeans faster so end up still more FT behaviour.

some tech co. only keep sales ppe here, but if win delivery project will bring in offshore cheaper resources or deliver offshore.

the truth is there is demand for tech, but question is who is doing the hiring. With open leg policy, can always give enough justifications to lean towards hiring manager preference.

Question is why we open house make them so comfortable but citizens don’t get much back and now so crowded.

We alr seen many cases where new imports in their enclosed enclaves still follow home culture. Well, if you always import third-world, you will get third-world culture and third-world mentality and behaviour in hiring.

That’s why the more must VTO !

or else locals born will always on the losing end!

soulblader_89

Its tough wor :frown:

My bro studying IT in SG.. GG le

Same thing happening in AU. Even in Big 4 banks
yess from the sight of it

It is NO GOING back, once the operation shift to oversea, it is not coming back

it is not a short term cost cutting measure, it is just going new way of how IT work, and we have to live with it.

Why does it happen? and why it does not happen for the past 10 year?

Reason: Covid

Covid make company realise that most people can WFH, Work from anywhere, no need to go office.

Office are redundant, previously people does not test the video streaming and no one want to disrupt the way of working. But covid change everything, company have build a good infrastructure and realise, ZOOM or Team is not as bad, and thing get things done....

So they are able to get 100% output at a cost of 25% input....those Gen Z that keep KPKB WFH is just digging their grave

So now they decide to move to lower cost country do coding and cheaper cost, why not? since this increase profit margin

Extra manpower that hire during covid are expensive and redundant

This create a crazy supply > demand situation in the job market, this create a issue in SG where we do not so many high end job. No companies know how to respond to it, they never encounter this before. Those company that promise "Life time employment" or "We will take care of you like a family" firm, did not anticipate of this situation, the cost of IT will only increase, they have no other ways

Forever84

kuma-mon

i can share in my personal experience

my company is start to reduce headcount for some govt project

1. optimization of resources
2. Make use of AI

this 2 is becos of one thing: Save cost

A lot of projects they plan to offshore to Philippines team or even India team

it is no longer FT they need, with AI, they dun even need FT, they dun even need foreigner, they can just use AI to do most of the work, and make use of offshore resource, pay them in peso

Singapore team only need to manage them

a lot of my friends are on bench becos of that

i kinda predicted this liao
sgd too strong, our workers too exp
companies rather outsource overseas to cheaper workers to save cost
i think it wont only be tech, but more industry in the future

Aunt Dino

Moi in cybersecurity also same. So far only received call from recruiters for only those entry level security analyst jobs, even though I more than 10 years exp.
Current job workload keep increasing but no additional headcount. Keep squeezing us.
Burnout but cannot find any other jobs. :(
What is the pay for an entry level security analyst?

And I thought I heard from others that it's not easy to find entry level IT jobs, how come you can get calls for such jobs? Means ppl are choosy, got entry level jobs but they don't want to do?

kuma-mon

What is the pay for an entry level security analyst?

And I thought I heard from others that it's not easy to find entry level IT jobs, how come you can get calls for such jobs? Means ppl are choosy, got entry level jobs but they don't want to do?
nowadays i heard junior need multiple internships to find entry level position
if u dont have, companies think u incompetent

Thoreldan

I always don't understand if Computer Science is the same as IT degree.
Are they both eligible for same type of job roles ?

Daffy7

Not if you’re expert in AI. I can tell you companies will fire 10 people to pay for the salary of 1 senior AI expert. And this is what’s happening.
One senior AI experts can create 100 AI bots to work for the company. Haha

kuma-mon

I always dont understand is Computer Science the same as IT degree.
Are the both eligible for same type of job roles ?
computer science is the true IT degree
got many other IT degrees but they are just copying computer science

LocalRider

yess from the sight of it

It is NO GOING back, once the operation shift to oversea, it is not coming back

it is not a short term cost cutting measure, it is just going new way of how IT work, and we have to live with it.

Why does it happen? and why it does not happen for the past 10 year?

Reason: Covid

Covid make company realise that most people can WFH, Work from anywhere, no need to go office.

Office are redundant, previously people does not test the video streaming and no one want to disrupt the way of working. But covid change everything, company have build a good infrastructure and realise, ZOOM or Team is not as bad, and thing get things done....

So they are able to get 100% output at a cost of 25% input....those Gen Z that keep KPKB WFH is just digging their grave

So now they decide to move to lower cost country do coding and cheaper cost, why not? since this increase profit margin

Extra manpower that hire during covid are expensive and redundant

This create a crazy supply > demand situation in the job market, this create a issue in SG where we do not so many high end job. No companies know how to respond to it, they never encounter this before. Those company that promise "Life time employment" or "We will take care of you like a family" firm, did not anticipate of this situation, the cost of IT will only increase, they have no other ways

actually alr start before covid. FT hire FT. Covid is v good excuse. Just like AI is v good excuse.

dpsk3000

next time property agent, insurance agent, financial adviser, more will be replaced by ai agent

because ai agent will not lie to you and try to upsell you etc.

honestly chatgpt is one the the best tool it will not lie to you and create fake courses etc, it will honestly tell you how to make money etc

cant wait for this to happen. these useless agents should never exist in the first place.
they dont generate economic value. instead the help create a bubble that big that property investment becomes the daily bread of stupid sinkie. hoping to be landlord instead of working like a tomdickharry. you know you are tomdickharry, a tomdickharry should do what a regular Joe do. do not try and act smart be landlord and promote owning property as investment.

Wu-Han Clan

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: boom time only 2 yrs... lmaoooooo fkn jokes man..... during pandemic ... waa.... only triple A can join comp sci... waa..... fresh grad oso 6 figure base bef bonus... 2 yrs after pandemic they say is replaceable with AI...... lmaooooooooooooooo....

at least this one gt see boom time... see real money..... nt as bad as our life science hub of 2000s.... tt one even bigger jokes... ownself say ownself become hub... nv become hub.... all become test tube washers........ tt industry like spawnkill sia....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.