Is comp sci degree dead now??

soulblader_89

some comment

"It's simply a demand supply mismatch. Alot of folks trying to pivot into Software engineering after learning about the compensation, plus even more supply of new grads coming out from unis, with not enough demand for all these new supplies.

People with few years of semi relevant experience, who try to pivot, is that even possible? You're competing with fresh grads with formal education if you're going back for entry level roles. Or worse if youre going for experienced/mid level hire, how do you even justify?"

"Ever since wfh became a thing, alot of companies from most industries especially tech have cut down on the employees as they realise that they don't need that many people to do the job."

"Major Tech companies are also shifting their data centers (tons of investment and jobs created) to Malaysia. This is what you get when government grants run dry and when the cost of living and cost of operations are not managed at all on a country level."

3G SAINT

Tech job market very bad now
Heard many fresh grads cannt find job
And many tech people got laid off
Few years ago i remember everyone looking up to people with comp sci degree

Whats happening now?
Jialat my nephew's this year May graduate from NUS dnt knw can find job:(

Best join civil servant now:)

kuma-mon

some comment

"It's simply a demand supply mismatch. Alot of folks trying to pivot into Software engineering after learning about the compensation, plus even more supply of new grads coming out from unis, with not enough demand for all these new supplies.

People with few years of semi relevant experience, who try to pivot, is that even possible? You're competing with fresh grads with formal education if you're going back for entry level roles. Or worse if youre going for experienced/mid level hire, how do you even justify?"

"Ever since wfh became a thing, alot of companies from most industries especially tech have cut down on the employees as they realise that they don't need that many people to do the job."

"Major Tech companies are also shifting their data centers (tons of investment and jobs created) to Malaysia. This is what you get when government grants run dry and when the cost of living and cost of operations are not managed at all on a country level."

looks like its really happening
Sg economy will doom or not when many companies shift their resources to cheaper countries

testerjp

next time property agent, insurance agent, financial adviser, more will be replaced by ai agent

because ai agent will not lie to you and try to upsell you etc.

honestly chatgpt is one the the best tool it will not lie to you and create fake courses etc, it will honestly tell you how to make money etc

Last year they realised AI can lie to achieve target already leh.

LoUsyGamER

Actually with AI doing most of the mundane IT works, only the best and most innovative guys in IT will remain?

These guys need not necessarily grad with IT related degree.

popdod

is very natural for companies to offshore their operations.

• lower rental
• lower staff costs
• high supply for labour & abundant work space

Singapore ish losing the edge. :(

Ubi-Warrior

Because it is much much much more cheaper to either open an offshore office hiring locals there, or hiring FT.

The roles were offshored here in the 1st place.

What goes around comes around.

At some point the new "cheap" place will get replaced as technology allow the roles to another country with lower salaries

Ubi-Warrior

is very natural for companies to offshore their operations.

• lower rental
• lower staff costs
• high supply for labour & abundant work space

Singapore ish losing the edge. :(

Nobody wants to be the low cost provider , you can easily get replaced.

Singapore is trying to move up the food chain, those low value jobs that were offshored here coz we were cheap are now moving somewhere else coz they are cheaper.

Such is life

Jack_Chen

Overhire during covid period, now cutting back and hiring freeze.

This is true. Even the Sg gahmen also did this, 'to protect jobs'. Did you hear about the budget cuts that was put in place the moment covid ended? My brother was in gov-te... and it happen to them, freeze on hiring, budgets cut in half but requirements did not come down but continue to grow.

soulblader_89

Seriously if I can sign on, assuming I am very fit and in OCS

I will sign on...but now I am too old for that, not young
Outside working environment is very brutal

dpsk3000

Sinkapore has not much leverage now in the world with the developing countries like Malaysia and Vietnam rise up. Coupled with the loser face of sinkie trying to FIRE thinking SP500 rises forever, or be landlord trying to be live on rental income. All these will go in an instant in the next decade.

my advice - Sinkie dollar can keep into the end of this decade. you will need to have another counter party currency like ringgit or developing country ones to hedge. do no have serious investment in sinkieland like property and stocks. hard moveable asset or cash is preferred.

trump next 4 years is no joke. I see treasury up 6%. post world war 2 norms are gonna be challenged by him. your dream of FIRE with dividend, forever rising equity market, rental from land lording is gonna be a problem soon.

anchoraz

Worry more than 60% will end up become agent or platform worker due to pay dun meet expectations.

Seems no way out liao.

jack-320

IT park at punggol area is opening soon

some more opened new MRT

sAVaGEmP5

Problem is world too much ppl. Even if reduce by 30% could be just nice.

Teh n management is very ez to do now, any1 can do. Not like some special ingredient.

We need more ppl to on earth to consume but dun wan to pay ppl more logic.

Ever wonder the logic of employers cannot find workers and employees cannot find job.

No politician dare to play this game. Too bad tech bros.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.