Is this asking too much?

Jeremy1

Just have to count the number of $300K and above per annum "C" suite positions across stat boards, ministries, museums, tourist attractions etc all funded by public funds..

Do we need them in the first place for the smooth running of daily operations?

A lot of positions are redundant.

Out government doesn't bother abzthe cost cause as long as end of day they are getting their big salary can already.

MaximumZ

Focus on making yourself better and rich.
Cannot do much about the system mechanism.
It will be similar after any change.
Just look at Taiwan.
Human nature dun change much.

As for JFK, at least he show what will happen if he push too hard for any drastic change.
It's a dangerous task to challenge world order, even if it is the right thing to do.

MaximumZ

i am directing the qn at u actually

not asking u if I should move out

so whats your plans?
For now, I'm slowly becoming better, stronger and healthier, find a job, get a wife, make some children and then I die. Hopefully space travel will be a thing by then.

Eliwood

I think you asked the wrong questions. Who should be cut? I have some ideas, I also have some opinions, however I do not know if they are the right opinions. I'm an uneducated man, I do not have all the information. It is therefore not right for me to judge and decide which ministry is taking up too much resources or that ministry have too many pain points. That was supposed to be the job for the opposition parties but seeing how they have failed.

I'm inclined to say, the fog of war is too heavy, and I am not in power, I don't know what you want from me.

If fog of war is so heavy like u say, and u cant judge, then what is the basis for ur point that govt is too big?

U cited MRT, healthcare and financial service as examples. So are these the relevant agencies u have in mind?

MaximumZ

Just have to count the number of $300K and above per annum "C" suite positions across stat boards, ministries, museums, tourist attractions etc all funded by public funds..

Do we need them in the first place for the smooth running of daily operations?
I do not know enough. It is easy to say, cut all the redundancy! All these transfer of wealth, where are they transferred to? I don't know. Even if they may sound redundant, are they going to the right places? Again, I don't know.

They might be used for national security purposes that requires funding but because of the nature of national security it is done through such redundancy. My worries is, when it is cut, will it then become a black budget or some form of off the books financing.

Take the CIA for example, back in the 1980s, they were allegedly, trafficking and selling cocaine to black Americans neighbour, as a form of off the books financing. Cocaine was also seen as a glamorous or high status drug.

What I am saying is, I don't know enough to say who or what to cut.

MaximumZ

If fog of war is so heavy like u say, and u cant judge, then what is the basis for ur point that govt is too big?

U cited MRT, healthcare and financial service as examples. So are these the relevant agencies u have in mind?
Singapore is a very small island state, smaller than New York, New York have 1 mayor. Yet SG have 5 mayors, now I'm not saying we should cut the 5 mayors, like I said, I don't know enough.

Secondly, all the problems that have happened and the problems that are ignored. It is building resentment on the ground, I'm probably the bottom 5% of the population. As an uneducated man, I experience it first hand.

The problems I cited are news that they allow the public to read and know about. And some news like MRT breakdown, corruption and money laundering, is too big to hide.

What I am saying is, if these are the bad news they allow the public to see. I can't imagine what they are are hiding and distracting the public from. Maybe ignorance is bliss.

Like I said, fog of war is too heavy.

fandango

SG is a very small island state. We can only move with dexterity, small means must be agile, efficient, and useful. That way, we can evade the dangers of corporate capture and leverage what we can.

Corporations love working with authoritarians. The more power hungry these leaders are, the easier it is for companies to push for laws and rules that benefits them.

On the surface, it seem to give power to the elected leaders, but in truth, it only help corporations consolidate power and monopolize. Take Big tech for example, they all welcomed more regulations under the guise of public safety. To have oversight in information, content and censorship. The smaller players, who lack the financial means or resources, are effectively pushed out of the market due to these regulations.

In another words, there's no scapegoat for the current world order. There's only dismantling, resetting and cutting fats.

Our Government is getting too big, they are creating too many ministries, creating too many positions and departments, while doing too little.

Not efficient or agile at all. With rising cost of living, the recent MRT failure, money laundering cases, corruption cases, a healthcare industry under corporate capture. This cannot continue.

On top of that, we are facing a decline in childbirth, increasing unemployment, a looming estate bubble, insurance insolvency and aging population.

I'm not asking for zero regulations, but a smaller, efficient and agile government. Is this asking too much? I don't know, I'm an uneducated man.
Can summary?

Spike

I do not know enough. It is easy to say, cut all the redundancy! All these transfer of wealth, where are they transferred to? I don't know. Even if they may sound redundant, are they going to the right places? Again, I don't know.

They might be used for national security purposes that requires funding but because of the nature of national security it is done through such redundancy. My worries is, when it is cut, will it then become a black budget or some form of off the books financing.

Take the CIA for example, back in the 1980s, they were allegedly, trafficking and selling cocaine to black Americans neighbour, as a form of off the books financing. Cocaine was also seen as a glamorous or high status drug.

What I am saying is, I don't know enough to say who or what to cut.
You are overthinking.

Spend time on yourself and improving your life.

For stuff like this, make sure that your vote counts during every General Election. That's all.

MaximumZ

You are overthinking.

Spend time on yourself and improving your life.

For stuff like this, make sure that your vote counts during every General Election. That's all.
I do like thinking. I also don't think there's any real oppositions. If you understand why the worker party of Germany was formed, and who renamed it to the nationalist socialist(Nazi). Then you might come to the same conclusion as I did.

NintendoSwitch

SG is a very small island state. We can only move with dexterity, small means must be agile, efficient, and useful. That way, we can evade the dangers of corporate capture and leverage what we can.

Corporations love working with authoritarians. The more power hungry these leaders are, the easier it is for companies to push for laws and rules that benefits them.

On the surface, it seem to give power to the elected leaders, but in truth, it only help corporations consolidate power and monopolize. Take Big tech for example, they all welcomed more regulations under the guise of public safety. To have oversight in information, content and censorship. The smaller players, who lack the financial means or resources, are effectively pushed out of the market due to these regulations.

In another words, there's no scapegoat for the current world order. There's only dismantling, resetting and cutting fats.

Our Government is getting too big, they are creating too many ministries, creating too many positions and departments, while doing too little.

Not efficient or agile at all. With rising cost of living, the recent MRT failure, money laundering cases, corruption cases, a healthcare industry under corporate capture. This cannot continue.

On top of that, we are facing a decline in childbirth, increasing unemployment, a looming estate bubble, insurance insolvency and aging population.

I'm not asking for zero regulations, but a smaller, efficient and agile government. Is this asking too much? I don't know, I'm an uneducated man.
First thing that needs to be done is abolish the wasteful and empire building rule of: If you don't use all your budget, your budget kenna slash next financial year. The logic is simple. That means got leftover budget, instead of saving for a rainy day for citizens, silver serpants will fast hand fast leg spend the money on things that they don't need or extra headcount so the budget next FY is always going upz upz upz.

NintendoSwitch

Mai kia AI will bling us salvations.

https://www.tomshardware.com/tech-i...t-usd3m-compared-to-openais-usd80m-to-usd100m

All in china tech huatsah????? 🥳 🥳 🥳
AI salvation

terminator2-judgement-day.gif

MaximumZ

when our leaders decided that outsourcing and commercialising public services and goods , we are srewed already.

you become dependent on corporate middle men to provide the services.

likely because of manpower size , Singapore is too small to have all our citizens doing government and public services jobs. then little sinkies will be in the corporate world or business.

so I think our government plan is outsource to let sinkies do the business instead . let sinkies earn.

MRT is a public service but operated by private companies. I still think MRT is good but the recent mistakes need to have resolutions.

SG need the MNCs, because the MNCs use SG for the tax avoidance. That is why I think UBI for global investments will be great for SG.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.