Japan food thread

deodorant

Tokyo got michelin-starred ramen liao.

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/tokyo-noodle-shop-awarded-worlds-first-ramen-michelin-005357509.html

A tiny Tokyo noodle shop joined the ranks of the world's top restaurants Tuesday as it scooped up a star from the respected Michelin Guide.

The food bible gave a nod to nine-seat Tsuta -- a first for a ramen eatery -- as Tokyo also kept its title as the world's culinary capital with the most Michelin-starred restaurants.

I never heard of Tsuta before this haha. Anyone tried before by any chance?

8430424325_eecda09e3c_z.jpg

VD

I was at Fukuoka in Nov and they had a ramen fest, saw a michelin star stall but didn't try, not much people queue for it too. need to go back and check for photos

gundamhamtaro

Thats not the latest version. They have since changed it again. Now in addition to that system, you have to pay 1000yen deposit, which will be refunded when you come to get the ramen.

According to their blog, this is because lots of people took the tickets, but in the end never came back to eat, thus wasting the raw materials and taking up slots which could be given to the dozens of other customers who were turned away due to no more tickets.
http://ameblo.jp/yuki-onishi/
For pple who want to try, I advise you to check their blog or FB first for latest updates before going down.

alexboy

Thanks for the heads up!

Thats not the latest version. They have since changed it again. Now in addition to that system, you have to pay 1000yen deposit, which will be refunded when you come to get the ramen.

According to their blog, this is because lots of people took the tickets, but in the end never came back to eat, thus wasting the raw materials and taking up slots which could be given to the dozens of other customers who were turned away due to no more tickets.
http://ameblo.jp/yuki-onishi/
For pple who want to try, I advise you to check their blog or FB first for latest updates before going down.

xwei_00

thought of trying Tempura Daikokuya but starting to see more and more bad reviews about it. any other recommended tempura around shinjuku?

Ten-Ichi at shinjuku. A must for me every time I am in Tokyo. Exquisite tempura restaurant..heavenly... It's on level 7 of shinjuku isetan
Address:
Ten Ichi, Shinjuku Isetan Honkan Bldg. 7F, 3-14-1 Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo.

They got another branch at Shibuya and an apparently cheaper sister branch called Ten-Ichi Deux at Ginza. But for first timer ,go isetan shinjuku branch as really nice and more accessible

deodorant

Ten-Ichi at shinjuku. A must for me every time I am in Tokyo.
Estimated damage/pax? ¥4,000?

[edit] oh nvm ... google says "Set dinners ¥12,600–¥18,900, set lunches ¥8,400–¥12,600"

xwei_00

Estimated damage/pax? ¥4,000?

[edit] oh nvm ... google says "Set dinners ¥12,600–¥18,900, set lunches ¥8,400–¥12,600"

For myself I spend average sgd$50-$60 per meal there cos I eat quite a few pieces of scallops alar carte which is around sgd$10 per Piece. Must try the mushroom stuffed with prawn!

I think Google exaggerated leh.. Dun remember seeing the sets so exp Loh. Around 3000yen can

tarui04

any recommendations for tonkutsu ramen in tokyo?

preferably with english words on the vending machines

saffronsatire

if you're not fussy, can check out the ramen alley at tokyo station. don't think there's english on the machine but pretty straight forward. if still can't figure out, i guess the staff would be happy to help.

s7460597

This may help you. You'll be fine after the first time. Most would have pictures.
Had problem with a restaurant in ameyocho, ueno where the machine has only Japanese words! Staff weren't friendly as well. :(

http://www.picrumb.com/vending-machine/?mobile=1

kifo

all ichiran stores have vending machines with english labels. they even have instruction pamphlets in english...

gonzilla

Has anyone eaten the omu-rice which is like an egg sac placed on top of the rice and then they slice it open and the custardy egg would flow over the rice? Seen the vid before but don't know where to find it? TIA!

gundamhamtaro

I like omu-rice, but only the types where the egg is not fully cooked yet, when its still watery.

Anyway lots of places in Japan sell omurice, u dont really nd to go around looking for a specific shop

xwei_00

Has anyone eaten the omu-rice which is like an egg sac placed on top of the rice and then they slice it open and the custardy egg would flow over the rice? Seen the vid before but don't know where to find it? TIA!

Kichi-kichi Restaurant in Kyoto
http://kichi2.net

xwei_00

this is the video i saw!! thanks!

unfortunately I will only be going to Tokyo, not Kyoto this time round :(

I will try and let u know nice or not 😋 it was on my to eat list since I saw the video months ago..
Reservations confirmed needed

FireEmblem

Directly opposite takayama station just across the road has a cafe selling tenma ramen, must eat. The char shu is freaking 2 cm thick, 2 pieces. Super tender pork melts in your mouth. Best piece of pork i have ever eaten. 1300 yen

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.