Japan Sample Itinerary thread

d3fc0n

find it tricky to plan my upcoming osaka/kyoto trip as i timed it too short becuase it was meant to be just for my pre-wedding photoshoot. i will have 3 nights each in osaka and kyoto

i was wondering how to fine tune this itinerary:

day 1 (fri) - 31 mar
- reach KIX 6+am
- rapit to namba
- put luggages in hotel go out hunt for breakkie
- kobe-sanda premium outlet
- return early evening to check in hotel
- explore around dotonburi/shinsabashi

day 2 (sat) - 1 apr
- USJ
- probably whole day in USJ so at night will be around namba (dotonburi/shinsabashi) again? [or where can i be exploring at night after USJ?]

day 3 (sun) - 2 apr
- himeji castle
- kobe for kobe beef at mouriya/wakkoqu
- osaka kaiyukan in the evening
- osaka station area
[still trying to optimise day 3. any suggestions?]

day 4 (mon) - 3 apr
- checkout namba and head to kyoto
- put luggage at hotel in kyoto
- go out seek lunch nearby
- go back hotel checkin/rest
- go out seek dinner nearby
- it will be a short/slow day as the next day is our photoshoot

day 5 (tue) - 4apr
- 8hrs photoshoot
- [what to do in the evening/night in kyoto?]

day 6 (wed) - 5apr
- explore kyoto temple/shrine
- nara park
[what else?]

day 7 (thu) - 6apr
- checkout hotel
- evening flight
[what can i do between 11am-230pm around kyoto?]

thwysg

find it tricky to plan my upcoming osaka/kyoto trip as i timed it too short becuase it was meant to be just for my pre-wedding photoshoot. i will have 3 nights each in osaka and kyoto

day 1 (fri) - 31 mar
- reach KIX 6+am
- rapit to namba

day 2 (sat) - 1 apr
- USJ
- probably whole day in USJ so at night will be around namba (dotonburi/shinsabashi) again? [or where can i be exploring at night after USJ?]

day 3 (sun) - 2 apr
- himeji castle
- osaka station area

day 4 (mon) - 3 apr

day 5 (tue) - 4apr
- 8hrs photoshoot

day 6 (wed) - 5apr
- nara park
[what else?]

day 7 (thu) - 6apr
- checkout hotel
- evening flight

USJ on a peak weekend (sakura season)? There's going to be lots of queues. And usually the visit takes up the whole day till the park closes. Kyoto doesn't seem to have much to offer for night activities unless you hang around Kyoto station where the malls are. You can head down to Osaka instead. Umeda and Namba areas. Shinsaibashi is actually quite a long stretch.

d3fc0n

USJ on a peak weekend (sakura season)? There's going to be lots of queues. And usually the visit takes up the whole day till the park closes. Kyoto doesn't seem to have much to offer for night activities unless you hang around Kyoto station where the malls are. You can head down to Osaka instead. Umeda and Namba areas. Shinsaibashi is actually quite a long stretch.
no choice leh. if u see my schedule it is the only slot for USJ. haha

thwysg

no choice leh. if u see my schedule it is the only slot for USJ. haha

Day 6: You can make a trip to Uji. Kyoto City is not that small. A lot of shrines and temples to visit if you're keen. There's a Railway Museum and Aquarium.

Kobe has Mt. Rokko for night view and Chinatown and Sannomiya to hang around as well.

evilerniex

day 1 (fri) - 31 mar
- reach KIX 6+am
- rapit to namba

day 2 (sat) - 1 apr
- USJ

[will be quite late after u finish watching the parade at USJ. so u can probably just go grab dinner and head back to hotel]
day 3 (sun) - 2 apr
- himeji castle
- osaka station area
[seems quite rush unless u are not planning to do sightseeing in kobe. mt rokko in kobe is worth a view for the night view of kobe city]
day 4 (mon) - 3 apr

day 5 (tue) - 4apr
- 8hrs photoshoot
[maybe view gion or kyoto station area? kyoto have not much to do at night]
day 6 (wed) - 5apr
- nara park
[what else?]
[exploring the shrine and temple in kyoto would already take u a few days]

day 7 (thu) - 6apr
- checkout hotel
- evening flight

comments above
if u have not book ur accommodations, i would suggest u just stay in osaka and make day trip to kyoto. save u the hassle of changing accommodations, and osaka have a lot more things to do at night.

d3fc0n

my photoshoot is in kyoto requires 'changing room' hence i was told to book accom in kyoto esp in kyoto stn area. wanted a fully stay in kyoto but i didnt get to book full 6 nights hence i split it into 3n osaka 3n kyoto

maskingtape

comments above
if u have not book ur accommodations, i would suggest u just stay in osaka and make day trip to kyoto. save u the hassle of changing accommodations, and osaka have a lot more things to do at night.

you mean got night clubs? their clubs should be more havoc :evil:

rain_myth

Bro evilerniew,

my dec itinerary as follows..not sure feasible and good.. looking forward to your input.

19 Dec 2017 (Tuesday):
- Arrives Haneda @ 1250
- Check-in Gogokuji Stn / Higashiikebukuro Stn (Air bnb)
- Ikebubukuro walk walk??

20 Dec 2017 (Wednesday):
Morning till early noon
- Shibuya
- Harajuku

Late noon till evening
- Shinjiku + Golden Gai

21 Dec 2017 (Thursday)
Whole day???
Not sure go where

22 Dec 2017 (Friday)
- Hakone / LakeKawaguchi (1 day able to cover both?)

Heard 5th stn bor things see so no go

23 Dec 2017 (Saturday)
- Ueno Ameyoko Market
- Asakusa

24 Dec 2017 (Sunday)
- Tokyo Tower
- Tsukiji Market
- Ginza
- Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building for City night view

25 Dec 2017 (Monday)
Morning
- Akihabara

Noon Till evening
- Odaida

26 Dec 2017 (Tuesday)
- Asakusa
- Ueno Ameyoko Market

27 Dec 2017 (Wednesday)
Morning ????
- Check out at 10am, lockers for luggage any stn have??

Noon time can go where?

- Return flight @ 1930

cpuer

Bro evilerniew,

my dec itinerary as follows..not sure feasible and good.. looking forward to your input.

19 Dec 2017 (Tuesday):
- Arrives Haneda @ 1250

20 Dec 2017 (Wednesday):
Morning till early noon
- Shibuya
- Harajuku

Late noon till evening
- Shinjiku + Golden Gai

21 Dec 2017 (Thursday)
Whole day???
Not sure go where

22 Dec 2017 (Friday)

23 Dec 2017 (Saturday)
- Ueno Ameyoko Market
- Asakusa

24 Dec 2017 (Sunday)
- Tokyo Tower
- Tsukiji Market
- Ginza

25 Dec 2017 (Monday)
Morning
- Akihabara

Noon Till evening
- Odaida

26 Dec 2017 (Tuesday)
- Asakusa
- Ueno Ameyoko Market

27 Dec 2017 (Wednesday)
Morning ????

Noon time can go where?

- Return flight @ 1930

you departure is in the evening, you can consider going straight to narita to park your main luggage then go Narita city to look see or Shisui to do your last minute shopping
http://www.premiumoutlets.co.jp/en/shisui/access/
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6400.html

Some events planned for Dec 2017, might be more as you get nearer
https://www.gotokyo.org/eventlist/en/list

rain_myth

thwysg

my return flight is at haneda airport

Are you taking a train to Haneda Airport or limousine bus for your return flight? If you're taking a bus from Shinjuku Bus Terminal, you could leave your luggage at Sagawa located inside Tourist Information Center at L2 inside NEWoMan. Think it's ¥800 per luggage.

rain_myth

Are you taking a train to Haneda Airport or limousine bus for your return flight? If you're taking a bus from Shinjuku Bus Terminal, you could leave your luggage at Sagawa located inside Tourist Information Center at L2 inside NEWoMan. Think it's ¥800 per luggage.

so exp ar...

i still nt sure which transport to take on all places of interest..

i read some says buy jr pass, i have friends say buy tokyo wide pass and each pass have its own limits.. jin confusing

thwysg

so exp ar...

i still nt sure which transport to take on all places of interest..

i read some says buy jr pass, i have friends say buy tokyo wide pass and each pass have its own limits.. jin confusing

I find the price is quite reasonable. My 32" luggage doesn't fit into the largest locker in Shinjuku Bus Terminal and there's none left in the station. Saved me trouble from looking for an available one. Plus the lockers at Shinjuku Bus Terminal charges per every two hour. Very convenient for me (my flight was at 12.05am) after I did my last minute shopping to repack and I simply boarded my bus within the same building to Haneda Airport. The bus journey (¥1,230) took only 30 minutes and the staff helped to bring my luggage up and down from the bus.

As for the places you're going, you can either buy a Hakone Free Pass from Odakyu. Might as well do an overnight stay there. Take your time to walk around.

http://www.odakyu.jp/english/deels/freepass/hakone/

Kawaguchiko is good for another day trip. If you don't want to think so much, take a bus there directly from Shinjuku Bus Terminal. You can just stick to using Suica or Pasmo within in Tokyo.

http://www.shinjuku-busterminal.co.jp/en/search/

evilerniex

Bro evilerniew,

19 Dec 2017 (Tuesday):
- Arrives Haneda @ 1250

20 Dec 2017 (Wednesday):
Morning till early noon
- Shibuya
- Harajuku
[seems a bit rush to cover both places in half a day. i personally feel that shibuya is nicer at night]

Late noon till evening
- Shinjiku + Golden Gai

21 Dec 2017 (Thursday)
Whole day???
Not sure go where
[how about a day trip to yokohama? or do shinjuku if u dun have enuf time on the previous day]

22 Dec 2017 (Friday)
[will be too rush. do consider the travel time, and the frequency of transport]

23 Dec 2017 (Saturday)
- Ueno Ameyoko Market
- Asakusa

24 Dec 2017 (Sunday)
- Tokyo Tower
- Tsukiji Market
- Ginza
[metro gov building is in shinjuku, can do it together with shinjuku. tokyo tower looks better at night]

25 Dec 2017 (Monday)
Morning
- Akihabara

Noon Till evening
- Odaida

26 Dec 2017 (Tuesday)
- Asakusa
- Ueno Ameyoko Market
[how come ueno and asakusa again?]

27 Dec 2017 (Wednesday)
Morning ????
[major stations such as shinjuku will have lockers. cant leave luggage at accom?]
Noon time can go where?

- Return flight @ 1930

comments above

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.