Japan Sample Itinerary thread

evilerniex

i also dun feel like wanna go.. coz also not cheap..

they want to go let them go lor

i just plan the route for them.. perhaps i go elsewhere
yes, dun have to stick together throughout the trip. solo travelling is fun too :)

rain_myth

yes, dun have to stick together throughout the trip. solo travelling is fun too :)

btw any cafe at tis lake kawaguchiko? at the kawagu. station or tis oishi park there?

tink slippin a kopi there and beo the mountain much cheaper and better than going 5th station with them (shld they decide to go in end) .. hahaha

btw hakone ropeway or the kachikachi ropeway better ? will b taking one of them as i dun have the fuji hakone free pass)..was mentioned that in my case not worth to buy as im on 2 day trip to lake kawaguchiko and hakone 1 day each..

did u guys take the ship at hakone? is it nice?

thwysg

btw any cafe at tis lake kawaguchiko? at the kawagu. station or tis oishi park there?

tink slippin a kopi there and beo the mountain much cheaper and better than going 5th station with them (shld they decide to go in end) .. hahaha

btw hakone ropeway or the kachikachi ropeway better ? will b taking one of them as i dun have the fuji hakone free pass)..was mentioned that in my case not worth to buy as im on 2 day trip to lake kawaguchiko and hakone 1 day each..

did u guys take the ship at hakone? is it nice?

Not sure if you're into sweets. Found this article in Japanese introducing cafes with Mt. Fuji view. Map and opening hours are indicated.

https://co-trip.jp/article/136515/

Hakone Ropeway - able to visit Owakudani and an udon stall.
Mt. Kachi-Kachi Ropeway - next to Kawaguchiko.

As for the pirate ship at Lake Ashi, depends on your luck to see Mt. Fuji. Went on a day that started drizzling in the afternoon so nothing to see onboard the ship except for the red torii gate. Your choice.

rain_myth

Not sure if you're into sweets. Found this article in Japanese introducing cafes with Mt. Fuji view. Map and opening hours are indicated.

https://co-trip.jp/article/136515/

Hakone Ropeway - able to visit Owakudani and an udon stall.
Mt. Kachi-Kachi Ropeway - next to Kawaguchiko.

As for the pirate ship at Lake Ashi, depends on your luck to see Mt. Fuji. Went on a day that started drizzling in the afternoon so nothing to see onboard the ship except for the red torii gate. Your choice.

Wah nice! im into these stuff.

rain_myth

read that Fuji Hakone Pass cannot be booked/purchased online unless you are booking it as a package together with a hotel accommodation

............. eh so is true? :eek:

evilerniex

read that Fuji Hakone Pass cannot be booked/purchased online unless you are booking it as a package together with a hotel accommodation

............. eh so is true? :eek:

dunno about online. usually ppl just get it from shinjuku station

DestinyFate

Is there any recommend iternary for Hokkaido during dec? Plan to celebrate xmas there and honeymoon.. still deciding to go for tour package or free and easy

Ruriel

how do you guys go about buying the train ticket to hakone yumoto station?

http://www.odakyu.jp/english/romancecar/e_romancecar/howto.html

i read the above..book tix online..go there have to pay again for a std tix?

wtf

:eek:

Have you been to Japan before actually? Or is this the first time you are buying limited express train ticket individually?

When you want to take limited express trains and shinkansens, what you are paying in total is the standard ticket + limited express/shinkansen ticket + seat reservation (where applicable).

For example, when I bought my shinkansen ticket from Shinjuku to Kanazawa, they gave me two tickets for one trip. One is a standard ticket, and one is the shinkansen ticket. I was to insert both tickets into the fare gate at the same time.

For your case, the romance car booking that you are paying online is only the limited express part. You will still need to buy a standard ticket when you are there in order to board the train.

BTW, if you intend to get the Hakone Freepass, I think it covers the standard ticket portion. I'm not 100% sure though. You should read it up.

evilerniex

coz going in dec..confirm gt kiasu mentality ppl like me book in advance.. :s13:
So are u getting hakone fuji pass, or just train tickets to hakone?
Hakone fuji pass only covers normal and express trains which have no reserve seats. If u want to take romancecar, have to top up. Not sure if u can get the pass and top up online

James Tang

Is there any recommend iternary for Hokkaido during dec? Plan to celebrate xmas there and honeymoon.. still deciding to go for tour package or free and easy

Just sharing my itinerary for winter Hokkaido that we did in 2016. It was a Free and Easy trip as we have been to Hokkaido in 2014 (I think). We went in early Jan.

We stayed in Sapporo and using it as a base for various day trips.

Day 1 (reaching Sapporo at around 11am):

- Check in Hotel Gracery (they let us check in earlier than expected)
- Lunch at Underground food hall
- Shopping around Sapporo station area
- Dinner at Gyukaku (JAP BBQ)

Day 2:

- Curb Market (Jyogai Ichiba) http://www.jyogaiichiba.com/
- Lunch there (Lots of food there)

- Mid-day to Night: Tanuki Koji; Odori Park; Susukino Area
- Dinner: Oden at Kouraku (https://gurunavi.com/en/h821900/rst/)

Day 3: Otaru Day

Day 4: Asahikawa

- Take Special Zoo train to Asahikawa Zoo (0830 starting from Sapporo JR) then connect to zoo bus
(You need to catch this in order to catch Penguin Walk at 1100) Once you alight from the bus you need to walk really fast to where Penguin walk is) if not you will have to wait for the 1430 walk (round 2)

- Asahikawa area shopping and walk-about

Day 5: Sapporo:

- Snow Mobile: We booked a snow mobile course at Snow Mobile Land. There is a bus/shutter picking people up and send you there.
- There are 2 courses: short and long (we took the long one)

- Dinner: at Sapporo Beer Garden/Museum

Day 6: Walking around Sapporo Area:

- Sapporo Uni
- Walking outdoor (yes, in the snow) from Sapporo to Susukino
- Shiroikoibito Park (got Xmas lighting, quite nice)

Day 7: Totally Free and Easy. Planned to go Mt Moiwa but the whole day having heavy snow storm so stayed indoor around Sapporo station.

Day 8: Fly back in the afternoon.

(Edit to add: Oh yeah, we kena one earthquake while in shopping building. There was alarm and we got a message on our handphone warning us)

(Edit to add: I think I will post a trip review in coming weeks, I know it is like one year late but hey, winter is coming!!!)

Ruriel

Hakone fuji pass only covers normal and express trains which have no reserve seats. If u want to take romancecar, have to top up. Not sure if u can get the pass and top up online

If he buying the romancecar (which is a limited express train) tickets online, he will be paying for the limited express portion liao lor.

So if he's buying the hakone freepass or fuji hakone pass as well, the standard ticket portion (which he was initially feeling incredulous to be paying for) will be covered...

rain_myth

haha i havent calculate the expense for these yet..coz still pening the places to go in hakone..gt some places wont b going..

btw can buy food and bring into romancecar bor?

rain_myth

If he buying the romancecar (which is a limited express train) tickets online, he will be paying for the limited express portion liao lor.

So if he's buying the hakone freepass or fuji hakone pass as well, the standard ticket portion (which he was initially feeling incredulous to be paying for) will be covered...

sounds very expensive

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.