jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Podium don't get still ok, our current best time will kenna lapped which I think out SA will try to avoid sending such participant having this risk.
The sad thing is he's still probably the fastest in 10k until Shaun can sub 30.

Tudo88

Anyway podium or no podium, can represent Singapore is a honour already. At this stage,I think they just want to break NR.

Unless Singapore decide to pay our athletes to train full time, I don’t think got chance la. Now different playing field as compared to last time already.

Kuudere

As mentioned in another post above, I also feel he got more chance in the marathon. I think if he did the SEA games marathon, he wouldn't do SCSM. maybe half for fun only. Robi is extremely good though, from the vlog interview Soh filmed with him, he actually stopped to help Ricki who got cramps at 35km and only carried on at 38km for gold when the Philipino athletes caught up
Robi is in 2.15 form, so he probably can run 2.25 at least, or even faster in heat conditions.

Soh pr his 10k, which would mean that his marathon times should improve, provided he scales up his mileage. His 10k times beat out both the silver and bronze medallist except Ricki.
Podium don't get still ok, our current best time will kenna lapped which I think out SA will try to avoid sending such participant having this risk.
I think it would still be good for them to get competitive experience so in future, they can coach the next generation of athletes here.
The sad thing is he's still probably the fastest in 10k until Shaun can sub 30.
Shaun got to juggle work + running, so wouldn’t be easy.
Anyway podium or no podium, can represent Singapore is a honour already. At this stage,I think they just want to break NR.

Unless Singapore decide to pay our athletes to train full time, I don’t think got chance la. Now different playing field as compared to last time already.
I wouldn’t be surprised as Sgd gets stronger in future, some would go the extra mile for running. This includes travelling to altitude places to live and train. Once come down to sea level, then can be highly competitive.

Another benefit is racing with other faster runners. Push each other to get better. Then come back to demolish the field like Tuntivate 😂

WussRedXLi

I've forgotten about explosiveness after i stopped push ups and changed to dips / weighted drips.
See if it can help, one more (revisited) tool in the toolbox....
Pull ups i am still not there yet.

xllms

He is already the best we have, SG is not investing much into local athletics until one proves he/she can get some sort of recognised achievements. By then, the talent has probably reached his/her peak years.
So to me, anyone who invest on himself/herself to be one of the best in our country, gets selected to represent our country and did his/her best, its a good effort regardless of results. Accept it graciously others have progressed beyond us.
Put aside face value and ask ourselves what can we (as a nation) do to get better talents to reach higher standards or at least get competitive in SEA standards.

WussRedXLi

I've forgotten about explosiveness after i stopped push ups and changed to dips / weighted drips.
See if it can help, one more (revisited) tool in the toolbox....
Pull ups i am still not there yet.

Interesting concept. The motor units (recruitment)....

hQKquAc.jpg

JGe8Gc9.jpg

dev_stg_prd

so in general , sg doesn't really support the athletes? you're on your own or overseas got brand sponsors?

Tudo88

so in general , sg doesn't really support the athletes? you're on your own or overseas got brand sponsors?
I believe SG don’t since most of the athletes got full time job.

Overseas, the country are paying them to run la I assume. Don’t tell me Noah Lyles need to work apart from running meh

sph777

WussRedXLi

Got this on impulse, coz the price after stacking vouchers and coins brought it down to $63.32. I will use this to track my NEAT activities, such as walking and cycling to do errands.

IMG_20251218_134654.thumb.jpg.c9eb51fd6f67000863729e9f135fbd23.jpg

Brudder, this GT 5 46mm ok boh?

Just need a cheap one for recreational running. So no need latest GT 6. The GPS performance around same ballpark as GT Runner right?

But i need the batt longevity, coz this would also lengthen the usefulness of the watch (can use past 3 years as the batt ages). Need to squeeze every ounce of $$ value from these buggers. 🤣

Anyway, also, for cycling i'd just hit the HR icon to get a momentary reading. Can liao.
Otherwise i rely on the bike comp.

https://shopee.sg/HUAWEI-WATCH-GT-5-Series-Smartwatch-All-New-Running-and-Cycling-Experience-Sharp-Edged-Design-i.181050132.26111749144?extraParams={"display_model_id":205403474705,"model_selection_logic":3}&sp_atk=f4df545e-745e-4dbb-b0a5-73e5c406ed53&xptdk=f4df545e-745e-4dbb-b0a5-73e5c406ed53

dev_stg_prd

I believe SG don’t since most of the athletes got full time job.

Overseas, the country are paying them to run la I assume. Don’t tell me Noah Lyles need to work apart from running meh
Currently, the only professional league in Singapore is for football.

Ok don't need to continue reading liao

WussRedXLi

Enough liao lor.
I YT convert to mp3 128kbps one.
Multiple 1-2hrs easy peasy.

The Huawei Watch GT 5 (46mm model) typically comes with 16 GB of built-in storage for apps, music, and data, though some listings also mention 32 GB, so you should verify with the retailer, but 16GB seems standard for its function as a fitness/health tracker.

Bonus (y) (y)

WussRedXLi

Currently, the only professional league in Singapore is for football.

Ok don't need to continue reading liao

1990s golden era sia. Super sub Steven Tan!
That time our whole family went crazy and even cried during matches.

IIRC, literally whole SG rooting for the team.......and that is how we can progress. As a whole country.

goal_card_sticker_steven_tan_footballer_1563816929_a6076d49_progressive.jpg

goal_card_sticker_steven_tan_footballer_1563816929_9bbd4d1e_progressive.jpg

GlassDoor

1990s golden era sia. Super sub Steven Tan!
That time our whole family went crazy and even cried during matches.

IIRC, literally whole SG rooting for the team.......and that is how we can progress. As a whole country.

goal_card_sticker_steven_tan_footballer_1563816929_a6076d49_progressive.jpg

goal_card_sticker_steven_tan_footballer_1563816929_9bbd4d1e_progressive.jpg
super sub was a legend! brings me back to my NS days.. all rooting for the team around that small crt... not to mention liang po po :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Holy sheet, that power (accecleration) at the last 100m at that kind of speed/gearing. :oops:

But SG really no velodrom. Sim tiah for young sis Valencia due to lack of resources. Her attitude/training is there. Family also supportive (coz cycling is dangerous esp if road training) even aftering buanging seriously.

Malaysia's Nur Aisyah Zubir steals scratch race gold from Singapore at the death​

Draft ah draft
Our Valencia Tan eating wind at least for the last 4 laps

Mila Azul

Has anyone else experienced this and managed to fix it?

I’ve been noticing a consistent pattern of knee pain—initial discomfort at the start of activity, relief during movement, and then pain returning after rest.

I'm wearing knee guards and taking glucosamine with MSM, hoping it will help improve my knee condition.

WussRedXLi

Has anyone else experienced this and managed to fix it?

I’ve been noticing a consistent pattern of knee pain—initial discomfort at the start of activity, relief during movement, and then pain returning after rest.

I'm wearing knee guards and taking glucosamine with MSM, hoping it will help improve my knee condition.

Not a pro..... so take with a grain of salt.

High chance probably runner's knee/jumpers knee. Gets better as the tissue/patellar joint gets warmed up, but after that cool down and sesssion over, inflammation ramps up again often even lagi worse than before.
Do, rinse and repeat........ terok to the training progress as it never heals and so you scared and so you are forever stuck at a certain (lowish) fitness level etc. 😓

Can try a multitude of solutions, cut training load (vol and/or intensity), let the inflammation go down first......it will be up there first as it tries to cope and inflammation is essential as part of the recovery process. But sometimes if it interferes with your daily activities/work....then it is essential to cut the inflammation to a more manageable level with NSAIDs, ice etc.

My belief is those knee guards , glucosamine/chondritin/MSM wont do much. Neither would denatured type II collagen (UC-II). Not the root cause.

If not, it could be some wierd biomechanics that is causing issues with your gait and rubbing the joint a bit due to misalignment, mistracking a bit here and there. This one i dunno the detailed science..... i just read and regurgitate as one of the possibilities.
Could also be some muscle imbalance, like hamstring weak (correspondingly overly strong quads). Anterior tibs, gluteus medius / or even the partner muscle TFL.....possibly one of the main causes is some muscles that is located away from the knee (not the calves/quads). This one you need self try some strengthening, if it gets worse and is chronic then gotta see sports doc liao.

If it really does improve and you solve it after a period of few weeks or even 2-3 months, then you might really wanna restart by really slowly progressing it up....esp never overdo 1 or 2 single sessions of jumping big in volume and/or intensity. And add in good strengthening. Can try plyometrics as well. Employ slow progressive overload for strengthening/plyo.

I tell you 1 story, not running. I tried 1 serious session of one arm deadhang. Ego deadhang lah. Really whacked it hard, like the no pain no gain method. Just hung on for dear life thinking "this is good training to failure or past failure), and my arm twisted around a bit without control (and legs forgot to try stabilise by stabilising at the side columns of the pull up bar).
My tendons/ligaments forearm nearer to the wrist pained for like 3-4 weeks total. 1 single ego session was all it took. I mean, i train to failure many times but it is a fine line between ego and failure/drop sets.
I know it was that 1 single session coz i tried it with my right arm and i also trained with my left arm but i didnt cheonged the left one.

ps. I just finished my legs strengthening, and yeah i just do everything including the small TFL and hamstring, anterior tibs, psoas, calves. Just do as isolation exercises, no harm one. In addition to the large compound stuff for brute strength, bulgarian split squats, single leg deadlift or single leg RDLs.
Special mention for weighted walking lunges as well, really very good.....just that for me i use bands and i dont have a set of dumbells/kettlebells in order to progress to say 1/3 to 1/2 bodyweight total. Also it is by default a unilateral exercise, some pax might not like single leg squats/deadlifts

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.