jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

super sub was a legend! brings me back to my NS days.. all rooting for the team around that small crt... not to mention liang po po :ROFLMAO:

Nazir Nasir, Jang Joon, Abbas Sad, Lim Tong Hai.
Other than Fandi of coz.

All ages from kids to old grandparents/great grandparents watched and shouted one in HDBs.

Wow that time was SBC (before TCS)

Oh yeah that time i just got my driving lic after years of failures, drove my father's lao pok van to that place to specially hear the kallang roar. Even guillemard rd that part near to Geylang lor 22 already could hear the roar at old kallang stadium.

Mila Azul

Not a pro..... so take with a grain of salt.

High chance probably runner's knee/jumpers knee. Gets better as the tissue/patellar joint gets warmed up, but after that cool down and sesssion over, inflammation ramps up again often even lagi worse than before.
Do, rinse and repeat........ terok to the training progress as it never heals and so you scared and so you are forever stuck at a certain (lowish) fitness level etc. 😓

Can try a multitude of solutions, cut training load (vol and/or intensity), let the inflammation go down first......it will be up there first as it tries to cope and inflammation is essential as part of the recovery process. But sometimes if it interferes with your daily activities/work....then it is essential to cut the inflammation to a more manageable level with NSAIDs, ice etc.

My belief is those knee guards , glucosamine/chondritin/MSM wont do much. Neither would denatured type II collagen (UC-II). Not the root cause.

If not, it could be some wierd biomechanics that is causing issues with your gait and rubbing the joint a bit due to misalignment, mistracking a bit here and there. This one i dunno the detailed science..... i just read and regurgitate as one of the possibilities.
Could also be some muscle imbalance, like hamstring weak (correspondingly overly strong quads). Anterior tibs, gluteus medius / or even the partner muscle TFL.....possibly one of the main causes is some muscles that is located away from the knee (not the calves/quads). This one you need self try some strengthening, if it gets worse and is chronic then gotta see sports doc liao.

If it really does improve and you solve it after a period of few weeks or even 2-3 months, then you might really wanna restart by really slowly progressing it up....esp never overdo 1 or 2 single sessions of jumping big in volume and/or intensity. And add in good strengthening. Can try plyometrics as well. Employ slow progressive overload for strengthening/plyo.

I tell you 1 story, not running. I tried 1 serious session of one arm deadhang. Ego deadhang lah. Really whacked it hard, like the no pain no gain method. Just hung on for dear life thinking "this is good training to failure or past failure), and my arm twisted around a bit without control (and legs forgot to try stabilise by stabilising at the side columns of the pull up bar).
My tendons/ligaments forearm nearer to the wrist pained for like 3-4 weeks total. 1 single ego session was all it took. I mean, i train to failure many times but it is a fine line between ego and failure/drop sets.
I know it was that 1 single session coz i tried it with my right arm and i also trained with my left arm but i didnt cheonged the left one.

ps. I just finished my legs strengthening, and yeah i just do everything including the small TFL and hamstring, anterior tibs, psoas, calves. Just do as isolation exercises, no harm one. In addition to the large compound stuff for brute strength, bulgarian split squats, single leg deadlift or single leg RDLs.
Special mention for weighted walking lunges as well, really very good.....just that for me i use bands and i dont have a set of dumbells/kettlebells in order to progress to say 1/3 to 1/2 bodyweight total. Also it is by default a unilateral exercise, some pax might not like single leg squats/deadlifts
Thank you for the inside information!

It's a double-edged sword—I worry that if I stop, I'll become lazy again, but if I don't rest, my knee will only get worse, possibly beyond repair.

Headaches. Due to my knee and gout, I've been resting for several weeks. If I continue, I risk regaining all the weight I've worked hard to lose—my efforts could be undone,

WussRedXLi

It's a double-edged sword—I worry that if I stop, I'll become lazy again, but if I don't rest, my knee will only get worse, possibly beyond repair.

Headaches. Due to my knee and gout, I've been resting for several weeks. If I continue, I risk regaining all the weight I've worked hard to lose—my efforts could be undone,

Not worth to continue if it is somewhat serious. If it is not that serious, can try brisk walking easy pace but with decent volume.....wont lose too much cardio fitness one, if any. You might wanna do racewalking slowly progress up, see if it helps. In 2023, i kena ITBS while running in the army half marathon, and racewalking took me to the finish line instead of DNF. I lost total, as in 100% ability to run.

But if there are muscle weaknesses/imbalances, then the root cause is not solved but symptoms gone. It will happen again in future.

With recurring gout, then it becomes more complicated. See how to 180 deg change.

Really can try racewalking. And yes, if you wanna know, it can improve your running timings even if you did not have run before. Compared to cycling, racewalking can transition back to running easier and faster i believe.
More carry over both in terms of musculoskeletal and cardio. Cycling more towards cardio but cycling got 1 big advantage that you can do tons of it and in a much more comfortable state due to the local warm weather context, often even much much more than running,,,,,and logistically refuelling/pitstops easier etc wo being boring if you are doing tons of volume, time willing of course.

Tudo88

Don’t run if you feel pain. You can always come back stronger when the pain is gone.

I am also dealing with a calf injury at the moment and have minimised my running.

Mila Azul

Not worth to continue if it is somewhat serious. If it is not that serious, can try brisk walking easy pace but with decent volume.....wont lose too much cardio fitness one, if any. You might wanna do racewalking slowly progress up, see if it helps. In 2023, i kena ITBS while running in the army half marathon, and racewalking took me to the finish line instead of DNF. I lost total, as in 100% ability to run.

But if there are muscle weaknesses/imbalances, then the root cause is not solved but symptoms gone. It will happen again in future.

With recurring gout, then it becomes more complicated. See how to 180 deg change.

Really can try racewalking. And yes, if you wanna know, it can improve your running timings even if you did not have run before. Compared to cycling, racewalking can transition back to running easier and faster i believe.
More carry over both in terms of musculoskeletal and cardio. (cycling more towards cardio).

Cycling is a great option as it's low-impact on the knees and, over time, can help strengthen them and improve overall fitness.

My knee is not in a good condition, and if I continue to damage it, my weight may lead to a lifelong reliance on PMD. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Cycling is a great option as it's low-impact on the knees and, over time, can help strengthen them and improve overall fitness.

Yeah, it can. Just that, it has it's own quirks/negatives as well.
Just now i cleaned 2 bikes, my kid's and mine, plus chain drying, lube....and 2 rounds my block to dry the brake pads/rotors. That alone took me 1.5hrs total. Tomorrow aiming to do another 90km round with my kid....heh.

Mila Azul

Don’t run if you feel pain. You can always come back stronger when the pain is gone.

I am also dealing with a calf injury at the moment and have minimised my running.
True, 砍掉重練 It is better to reach a point where repair is no longer possible, and i got stuck on PMD. :s42:

Mila Azul

Yeah, it can. Just that, it has it's own quirks/negatives as well.
Just now i cleaned 2 bikes, my kid's and mine, plus chain drying, lube....and 2 rounds my block to dry the brake pads/rotors. That alone took me 1.5hrs total. Tomorrow aiming to do another 90km round with my kid....heh.

Have fun!

WussRedXLi

BTW gentle reminder, without proper diet/intake, this wont work. Coz you will re-eat lagi more food even if you have humongous volume (even if you can tahan 20 hrs of cycling weekly). So willpower needs to be there.
Actually easier if you do via increasing NEAT , non exercise activity thermogensis.......that means get off your couch/butt for the whole day.
Basically 180 deg change in mindset, lifestyle, diet and daily activities ba, sprinkled with exercising.

Ender

Brudder, this GT 5 46mm ok boh?

Just need a cheap one for recreational running. So no need latest GT 6. The GPS performance around same ballpark as GT Runner right?

But i need the batt longevity, coz this would also lengthen the usefulness of the watch (can use past 3 years as the batt ages). Need to squeeze every ounce of $$ value from these buggers. 🤣

Anyway, also, for cycling i'd just hit the HR icon to get a momentary reading. Can liao.
Otherwise i rely on the bike comp.

https://shopee.sg/HUAWEI-WATCH-GT-5-Series-Smartwatch-All-New-Running-and-Cycling-Experience-Sharp-Edged-Design-i.181050132.26111749144?extraParams={"display_model_id":205403474705,"model_selection_logic":3}&sp_atk=f4df545e-745e-4dbb-b0a5-73e5c406ed53&xptdk=f4df545e-745e-4dbb-b0a5-73e5c406ed53
But since GT3, I thing they were making good watches with good HR accuracy. GT series is can buy one. Just I didn't monitor the prices of them, but $170, with further discount with vouchers, can buy.

Ender

My knee is not in a good condition, and if I continue to damage it, my weight may lead to a lifelong reliance on PMD. :ROFLMAO:
Being a runner for almost all my exercise life. Just two years ago, I incorporate cycling on those share bike like Hello ride for NEAT activities like doing errands, or cool down after run. Initially for the I experienced some knee pain while cycling. Mild, but concerning. But as times goes by, it went away, I guess my legs has adapted via progressive loading. Most of the rides are zone 1 HR rate, so I guess recovery was possible couple with active recovery to keep blood circulating and most important was consistency, almost every day need to do cycling errands.
So i think cycling does load the knees, but different from running. It was a new adaptation for me.

Ender

BTW gentle reminder, without proper diet/intake, this wont work. Coz you will re-eat lagi more food even if you have humongous volume (even if you can tahan 20 hrs of cycling weekly). So willpower needs to be there.
Actually easier if you do via increasing NEAT , non exercise activity thermogensis.......that means get off your couch/butt for the whole day.
Basically 180 deg change in mindset, lifestyle, diet and daily activities ba, sprinkled with exercising.

If really like what she is doing, just shaking and swinging, I think she did a massive diet change. Keeping weight down via exercising, needs a lot of volume, typically under serious runner category.

Mecisteus

I remember your BMI is on the high side ?

Mine on the low side and I had done an xray before. Doctor said there is an evidence of wear and tear.

I did not stop running. I tried to put on weight a little, do some strength training and gain some muscles.

My knee pain had subsided.

Also, making shorter stride length and keeping feet low to the ground can help lower stress to the knees.

WussRedXLi

I've been doing Muay Thai for around 2 years, planning to start some grappling next year to eventually do MMA also

I think really need alot of time to balance strength, cardio, striking and grappling to be somewhat decent at MMA lol

No lah....i just do the motions, actions and training can liao. Dont think i will be actual 1v1 grappling/sparring. I had 1 ex-colleague who did that and had so many positive things to say then.

I am also thinking that this is more useful in real life and functionally, longevity wise. To balance out the cycling, a bit of running, the small-time strengthening and calisthenics.

WussRedXLi

If really like what she is doing, just shaking and swinging, I think she did a massive diet change. Keeping weight down via exercising, needs a lot of volume, typically under serious runner category.

I think her way is via some dancing classes or what. If she really liked what she was doing and saw that there were results, it'd spiral into self feeding cycle.
One shot in the video showed her doing rather high intensity stuff also.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.