jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Can rest well knowing that he managed to achieve the WR without pacers.

Can rest for the day, and run the 5km in the evening, I do that after long run sometimes. Effectively, get almost 2 days of recovery.

I use runalyze and I know that TSB should be in the positive range going into marathon race week. Since I have 3 additional weeks to play around even after completing the 18 weeks plan, I intend to take 1 additional week to taper. So instead of going from 71k > 51k > race week, I am thinking of 71k > 61k > 51k > race week.

As for the other 2 additional weeks, I am thinking of taking it easy the week after Income Eco Run + the week after 10k time trial. So, as not to over exert myself too hard.

yes, sounds good. When tsb reached the race ready number, check the CTL, the key is to keep the CTL as high as possible. Coz CTL naturally drop with tapering. A shake out short run might increase the CTL with minimal effect on TSB,

Tudo88

Anyone running the 2xu race?

got it via the waitlist but the sizes for singlet and t-shirt left with xs.

wonder if I can exchange with anyone

Me. Can try exchange when you go collect the race pack. I think my sizing also incorrect and still got Pen C. Which Pen you got allocated to?

WussRedXLi

Pogi!

Casually popping long wheelies @ 400+ watts. basket.......

dominion23

Would going early slot (more stock remaining) or late slot (when they are more confident of leftovers) be advisable?

I only had pen D choice when I could sign up

Tudo88

Would going early slot (more stock remaining) or late slot (when they are more confident of leftovers) be advisable?

I only had pen D choice when I could sign up
I will say going early will have higher chances of exchanging based on experience from past races.

WussRedXLi

@Kuudere

39 min 10k runners as subjects, your level.

ps edit - actually nothing new with the various plyo and strength exercises.....is only how you integrate inyour your weekly routine without affecting your running. Just do something quad focussed but with also glute max decently involved, any variant of the split stance squat (ie single legged) be it an easy B stance all the way to bulgarian split squat would do. Need to do pretty heavy if you follow the science. But you young lah, with decent form it shd be fine and no safety issue, keyword is decent form (coz once pecah, considered sold and is usually irrecoverable to its usual state lol)
Somemore squats less risk for disc herniation than deadlifts, and if you are doing single leg variant there is even lower axial loading on your lumbar.

Heavy seated calf raises for soleus - no brainer, no need to flog the dead horse liao

2z38vk6.jpg

Sadisticnoob

resting HR from Garmin app is 52. sleeping HR is between 52-60 in recent 4 weeks. early 40s.

how to set zones correctly on the watch? any youtube links?
i noticed the watch will update the lactate threshold when i run hard, max HR is between 193-195.

yah the lifestyle is pretty packed, i.e. if u follow strictly the trainings and rest, there is little to no room for friends gathering, sleep late, OT at work, etc...if u train 4-5 days, 10km run will take about 65-75mins, then add in the long run, i find that most of personal time is spent on the road. the hours are manageable now, but only because its still early in the work year...
was on 49 bpm resting on V day till it started spiking upwards. Last week was madness due to little sleep due to work trip. Currently, heart rate hovering around 60 bpm

HaKpGIK.png

WussRedXLi

Lai liao. Video premiering now.

2:48 - 2:54 pace, HR 160s for a 28 yrs old fella, 12.8km total. heh.....
2.3mmol/L after 2 x 2 miles. That's LT1

He might be aiming for a 59 or at worst 60 as debut.
I mean, even Jakob Ingebrigtsen ran a 63 in his debut during his holiday trip and he never trained and he even walked + stopped halfway coz he ego kept up with the lead pack with Sawe in it no less and then exploded.

WussRedXLi

Came across this, MDVP 10k run done 3 months ago during his cycling off season.
~ 160bpm (his his HR in cycling racing can reach 19x, just under 200)
The latter part of his HR is probably due to cadence lock of the sensor due to motion and not tightened properly/initial position not good too close to wrist joint etc

VBOQaNi.jpg

AiPlMee.jpg

Whispers

was on 49 bpm resting on V day till it started spiking upwards. Last week was madness due to little sleep due to work trip. Currently, heart rate hovering around 60 bpm

HaKpGIK.png

HR a bit up down due to lack of sleep and some days forget to wear watch to sleep.
but when running regularly and sleeping well...the HR is quite steady.

Whispers

Wow, 52 RHR / 52-60 during sleep lagi low sia. Technically that usually points to great aerobic fitness in an athletic pax........but of coz for the general population that's a bit on the low side, but usually nothing to worry about.

Setting zones correctly ah.....that's the somewhat tricky part and often a hot topic for debate. Of coz at your current level of 140+ bpm with just walking, just focus on building your base, make it a priority of healthy lifestyle first. It's really a priority choice vs career esp. Bo bian one, whole mindset need to change if it's for sports, 180 deg change. I know the feeling, i used to be a total wuss last time also regarding fitness/sports.
So, just run for fun first and slowly build volume and even a bit of speed (you will improve with consistent sessions one, these are called beginner gains) , once exercising sessions are prioritised and consistent then you can start to analyze more data.

After the foundation has been built, then just do a LTHR run test when you feel your running is in the more intermediate stage, youtube a lot of egs. Your watch shd have this feature.....probably your Garmin already is showing you a rough guesstimation coz you "have been running hard enough".
If you gain fitness significantly, your training zones also change if not you'll be undertraining at lower intensities as you go by.........so need to be tested somewhat occasionally. If you dont feel any significant changes, then no need to test.
If you are not keen to do this LTHR test coz it takes a whole 30-40 mins in total and since it is a threshold kinda sustained test that needs pacing and whatnots, some folks (those who dont like periodized 80/20 training) might not like it, then maybe invest in a lactate meter....TB got meter and test strips, sufficiently zhun and decently priced, then things can be done faster and not at LTHR prolonged intensities.

Personally, if you are one who later finds data to be very important and you are able to stick to structured training and you are really after performance goals (maybe next year?), i find the lactate meter to be good to use and more convenient, more objective coz it is less prone to errors, you just need to bite the bullet, TB got options under $300 nia, not expensive compared to other gadgets or some folks even spend much more on their sports hobbies. For running a bit leceh to bring out but if you test around your neighbourhood it shd be fine. Cycling no issue coz back pockets. LT1 and LT2 levels are different between running and cycling.
Of coz there's also this issue about poking (each test needs at least like 4-6 pokes even if you start near your your known LT points in prev tests) but if you have done blood glucose tests before it's a non issue lah.

Wah....you like to push till MHR ah, 193-195.
Here's one more thing which i feel is also quite important.....I'd really advise at least a basic ECG checkup if you are really serious about getting into sports. At least basic check for arrhythmias or possibly even prev silent heart attacks or any other cardiac issues also good. GP can do already, well under a hundred bucks.
The next one is better still, treadmill ECG test, the added stress shd be able to tease out issues if they are hiding and not visible when at rest....coz ultimately, you ARE doing sports that require high cardiac demands.
Not only the ECG is checked upon, but the profile regarding BP and HR rise with each step up is appropriate, in which the ECG would not tell you.

Bo bian....make it a hobby as well, in addition to lifestyle change. For me i find cycling more enjoyable than running.....and running does help cycling as well. 15-20 hrs per week on training (overtraining more like lol 🤣 ) possible , esp if you go out with kakis or family members (i go out with my kid on weekends) If you find it enjoyable rather than just a new year goal that you set and wanna hit, then it goes far beyond the technicalities of what is being mentioned in this thread.

Also, cycling on the roads quite happening one, if you should find that you cycle at say 8+pm, you will find that you will be pushed hard often at times just for survival, unstructured intervals that tests all various paces one. heh.... Then you will literally enjoy LT2, VO2max and even sprint paces.

for now is just getting into the habit after a lot of stops-and-starts. i enjoy the runs and going to strength train to prevent injuries and be a more complete runner bah. but sometimes really feel that a lot less time to watch youtube and read stuff :o
im the last min kind of person. so its really after getting fit for Mt Fuji hike last Sep that i decided that starting from zero is damn hard, lets keep it going.

with ref to above. sometimes i also feel HR training a bit weird.
a minute difference in pace but just 2 more bpm.

now sticking to base training so keeping it at <150

WussRedXLi

for now is just getting into the habit after a lot of stops-and-starts. i enjoy the runs and going to strength train to prevent injuries and be a more complete runner bah. but sometimes really feel that a lot less time to watch youtube and read stuff :o
im the last min kind of person. so its really after getting fit for Mt Fuji hike last Sep that i decided that starting from zero is damn hard, lets keep it going.

with ref to above. sometimes i also feel HR training a bit weird.
a minute difference in pace but just 2 more bpm.

now sticking to base training so keeping it at <150

Hey, stop-starts-stop-starts really no issue.
When i started to exercise with racewalking after COVID C B period, also short distances and stopping to drink water etc, it was just 2-3k distance, sometimes double sessions in the day 2 x 2k. Just get into the habit......but of coz that time it was easier coz WFH and really nothing else better to do on weekends. 🤣
It usually takes some 3-4 months to really solidfy your efforts into a routine, so much so that then it becomes automatic and much less resistance to get out of the door.

But best is still if it becomes a hobby. Unfortunately for running for me, it cannot become a hobby that pulls you out of the door. But cycling can, so that's why i can spend 10 times 20 times more time out there.
But if you really enjoy the marathon distance and long runs eventually, it's 3/4 of the battle won.

Strength + plyometric training simultaneously also can watch youtube, i use mini bands and the longer 2.08m bands (get from taobao for the whole set ) and you can do your split squats and deadliffts while watching.
In fact for running only, you might not even need to do deadlifts, just concentrate on any type of single leg split squat.

Same goes for mini band isolation exercises on hamstrings, psoas, glute medius and adductors groin muscles (adductors i just use my hands to resist lol, it's not very impt anyway but i just do coz it just takes 30 seconds all these exercises can be done consecutively as superset wo rest so why not).
Single calf raises you can also do in the bedroom with both hands on the door handle to give 20-30kg resistance and watch your youtube.
Additional exerises can include plyometrics......actually 2 simple plyo exercises only, drop jumps (vertical) and some sort of bounding type for horizontal plyo. Im only doing vertical plyo though

So far so good no injuries/niggles.......but if you train up really slowly and really are consistent with your work outs, no reason to get injured. Do not ego.
The same goes for other things....... recently i ego try a bit with one arm deadhang and overpushed, gg......1 single instance only. Tendonitis, 2+ months out of action. Luckily it was right forearm based injury and affected pull ups only.
If not, squats or dips or overhead press and drop jumps also cant perform, dont say main sports running/cycling.

Whispers

Hey, stop-starts-stop-starts really no issue.
When i started to exercise with racewalking after COVID C B period, also short distances and stopping to drink water etc, it was just 2-3k distance, sometimes double sessions in the day 2 x 2k. Just get into the habit......but of coz that time it was easier coz WFH and really nothing else better to do on weekends. 🤣
It usually takes some 3-4 months to really solidfy your efforts into a routine, so much so that then it becomes automatic and much less resistance to get out of the door.

But best is still if it becomes a hobby. Unfortunately for running for me, it cannot become a hobby that pulls you out of the door. But cycling can, so that's why i can spend 10 times 20 times more time out there.
But if you really enjoy the marathon distance and long runs eventually, it's 3/4 of the battle won.

Strength + plyometric training simultaneously also can watch youtube, i use mini bands and the longer 2.08m bands (get from taobao for the whole set ) and you can do your split squats and deadliffts while watching.
In fact for running only, you might not even need to do deadlifts, just concentrate on any type of single leg split squat.

Same goes for mini band isolation exercises on hamstrings, psoas, glute medius and adductors groin muscles (adductors i just use my hands to resist lol, it's not very impt anyway but i just do coz it just takes 30 seconds all these exercises can be done consecutively as superset wo rest so why not).
Single calf raises you can also do in the bedroom with both hands on the door handle to give 20-30kg resistance and watch your youtube.
Additional exerises can include plyometrics......actually 2 simple plyo exercises only, drop jumps (vertical) and some sort of bounding type for horizontal plyo. Im only doing vertical plyo though

So far so good no injuries/niggles.......but if you train up really slowly and really are consistent with your work outs, no reason to get injured. Do not ego.
The same goes for other things....... recently i ego try a bit with one arm deadhang and overpushed, gg......1 single instance only. Tendonitis, 2+ months out of action.

my stop and start is.....i train up for a hike or event...then stopped.....completely......until the next hike

yeah getting those resistance bands, yoga mats and such. improve flexibility also. hips and hamstrings damn tight.

WussRedXLi

my stop and start is.....i train up for a hike or event...then stopped.....completely......until the next hike

yeah getting those resistance bands, yoga mats and such. improve flexibility also. hips and hamstrings damn tight.

Oh...if that's the case, is coz it's too goal oriented. Some folks go for overseas marathon also, and after that = massive withdrawal. Unfortunately no real solution.

That's when the hobby aspect comes in esp if it's a true hobby. :grin: Lasts a good few years......no burnout effect.

WussRedXLi

Seriously, wtf are spectators allowed to interfere with the field.

He would have won!

Pro tour cycling also.....unfortunately impossible to enforce.

Over here also, Keppel Road, Robinson rd, GBTB/MBS/East Coast areas cant be totally enforced.

Kuudere

LOL. some repeat views for good LOL. Is this a case for Pylo?

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1485463429806637

His running form looks extremely off, probably cramped out during the end of the race and just hoping that he built up enough lead for the other runner not to pass him.
yes, sounds good. When tsb reached the race ready number, check the CTL, the key is to keep the CTL as high as possible. Coz CTL naturally drop with tapering. A shake out short run might increase the CTL with minimal effect on TSB,
I need a work from home job so I can recover better haha

Currently, 5 days work in office is no joke.
@Kuudere

39 min 10k runners as subjects, your level.

ps edit - actually nothing new with the various plyo and strength exercises.....is only how you integrate inyour your weekly routine without affecting your running. Just do something quad focussed but with also glute max decently involved, any variant of the split stance squat (ie single legged) be it an easy B stance all the way to bulgarian split squat would do. Need to do pretty heavy if you follow the science. But you young lah, with decent form it shd be fine and no safety issue, keyword is decent form (coz once pecah, considered sold and is usually irrecoverable to its usual state lol)
Somemore squats less risk for disc herniation than deadlifts, and if you are doing single leg variant there is even lower axial loading on your lumbar.

Heavy seated calf raises for soleus - no brainer, no need to flog the dead horse liao

2z38vk6.jpg

Bookmarked, will do this after marathon training block. Still got long way left to go though~
Lai liao. Video premiering now.

2:48 - 2:54 pace, HR 160s for a 28 yrs old fella, 12.8km total. heh.....
2.3mmol/L after 2 x 2 miles. That's LT1

He might be aiming for a 59 or at worst 60 as debut.
I mean, even Jakob Ingebrigtsen ran a 63 in his debut during his holiday trip and he never trained and he even walked + stopped halfway coz he ego kept up with the lead pack with Sawe in it no less and then exploded.

I am guessing he runs mid 60, probably sub-61 worst case scenario. Given that this is his first HM, and he started to push the last 2 miles set at 9.14 which cause his HR to shoot up to the mid 160s. If he runs sub-60, then that's really impressive for his debut HM.
Seriously, wtf are spectators allowed to interfere with the field.

He would have won!
The ironic thing is that the spectator is from his country and then made him lost the race. Can tell at the end he was very disappointed when he fell face down. Reminds me of the Japanese runner who got out-kicked at the Ekiden. He also fell down at the end and cry.

WussRedXLi

Bookmarked, will do this after marathon training block. Still got long way left to go though~

If you are interested, can even go search more on supersetting the squats (as runners/cyclists, pls really do the single leg variants) with drop jump or whatever plyo. Really also cuts down on the time needed.
There is also 1 phenomenon called post activation potentiation which enhances the plyometric exercise, since you are mainly going after quality/speed of the motion. Has been shown to improve exercise performance, but whether or not that further translates to running performance, not sure.

Just for info : of coz, these are just side tips and should never compromise your main training plans.

https://www.scienceforsport.com/post-activation-potentiation/

Post-Activation Potentiation (PAP) is a phenomenon where a muscle's force production is temporarily increased (potentiated) after high-intensity activation, such as heavy resistance training. This increased state of neuromuscular readiness, which lasts for several minutes, allows for higher power output and speed in subsequent explosive movements.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.