jogging and motivation thread

Ender

These are the marathons in Asia to avoid if you want to smash your PB. But you get your money worth for the bui bui.

WussRedXLi

Just signed up for decathlon hm. First time in a while a hm is under 100. https://www.decathlon.sg/s/the-kipr...e1FaZvbvFASNs8C-7zyZkXblJILEQZcNUYrC1fPspqWAi

Decathlon got sorta cycling grp ride / mini race too, if you join grp 1. Coz is mainly young chaps (ie NSF fit), so ...... you know youngsters lah. Good training for anaerobic (not dissimilar to 200-800m track full gas efforts) if Sentosa. Not very long distances also, and definitely not those recreational kopi rides so very little time wastage. Not kidding about the anaerobic part, can gun until vomit if you had your dinner no earlier than 6.30pm.

Best thing is - FOC. :ROFLMAO: And also is evening 8pm time (9.20 confirm finish), not those un-godly hours 5am for many other groups, where if you live a little farther then plus travelling time you'd need to wake up 3.45 or 4am latest. (do this 2-3 times a week and totally kiss goodbye to recovery, esp for middle age folks)

WussRedXLi

Interesting, just checked 9am heat index temp @ Sentosa 38.9 deg C. Went out a bit late today just before 7am coz WFH.
edit - note, Sentosa route is relatively covered. Now if you had been running in the 8am-9am sun, then confirm it'd be even warmer.

Was doing some "test", oral thermo temp i hit 37.6. That means it does count as heat training, coz oral is not exactly core temp.

1 x 40min and 1 x 30 min LT2 workout....plus around 1 hr of easy. Cycling. Sentosa, so speeds are low when climbing and not much cooling.
But of coz, this is also based on my muscular power outputs (ie it's not efficient, the rest is muscular heat generation).
1 x 600ml bidon finished, refilled and nearly finished half of 2nd refilled bidon. 1 x 500ml kang shifu finished. Quite a lot of total fluids, like 2L total.

Also, when reached home, the little pee that i managed to pee out was relatively yellow...... dunked another 2 x 300ml cups of water. 3 eggs i put more Indomie Soto Ayam powder for sodium.

sph777

You raised my hopes and now i am disappointed.

10k = SGD 60. 😱 😱

Was expecting $20 tops.
For HM was ok. Compared to garmin or byd it is rare to find a HM below 100. Unfortunately, their early bird tiers is by number of registrants so I also failed to make super early bird.

Kitaro9202

it seem like my HR too high

Any advice for a newbie runner like me?

image.png

image.png

image.png

GlassDoor

Interesting, just checked 9am heat index temp @ Sentosa 38.9 deg C. Went out a bit late today just before 7am coz WFH.
edit - note, Sentosa route is relatively covered. Now if you had been running in the 8am-9am sun, then confirm it'd be even warmer.

Was doing some "test", oral thermo temp i hit 37.6. That means it does count as heat training, coz oral is not exactly core temp.

1 x 40min and 1 x 30 min LT2 workout....plus around 1 hr of easy. Cycling. Sentosa, so speeds are low when climbing and not much cooling.
But of coz, this is also based on my muscular power outputs (ie it's not efficient, the rest is muscular heat generation).
1 x 600ml bidon finished, refilled and nearly finished half of 2nd refilled bidon. 1 x 500ml kang shifu finished. Quite a lot of total fluids, like 2L total.

Also, when reached home, the little pee that i managed to pee out was relatively yellow...... dunked another 2 x 300ml cups of water. 3 eggs i put more Indomie Soto Ayam powder for sodium.
Did a 6 X 1K @ 3:20-3:25 pace this morning. REALLY hot and humid! Ice cold pocari in between reps helps.
Session was harder than usual. Hydrate well and look out for signs of heat stress 💪

WussRedXLi

Did a 6 X 1K @ 3:20-3:25 pace this morning. REALLY hot and humid! Ice cold pocari in between reps helps.
Session was harder than usual. Hydrate well and look out for signs of heat stress 💪

Yeah, this morning was a bit warmer than other (warmish) mornings. I think probably yesterday morning also lah.....but i wasnt out. I did tue night also, 8pm......that one was warmer than usual as well.

WussRedXLi

it seem like my HR too high

Any advice for a newbie runner like me?

image.png

image.png

image.png

Bro, just run for "fun" for the next 12 months. Solidify into the routine, the regimen, and most importantly learn to enjoy it.

If weather too warm, then do cycling as well. :ROFLMAO: It helps a bit with the additional cooling and can then be enjoyable.

Dont look at the watch during the session, just run easy and really slowly.......majority of the time. Then every 7-10 days run 1 workout, fast run.......run to your shiokness, 3k, 5k......distance to your liking. Also can do intervals or fartleks according to your preference, take a short 3 min break to cold ice water to your liking.

To be honest, the warm days really a bit too warm for lower HR/ truly easy runs of any sort unless if you can tahan like 8:00 - 9:00 pace which is like shuffling pace for the majority of recreational folks......unless your fitness is crazy high.

WussRedXLi

Dafug. :oops:

This is esp if you are climbing, ie relatively little airflow.

Maybe that time i doing the LT2 intervals not 38-39 deg C lah.......but 37 deg C confirm got.
edit - yes......7.30am was at 36.5 deg C heat index

AI referenced to EF Pro cycling (one of the world tour teams)

A heat index of 39°C (approx. 102°F) is a danger zone for outdoor cycling. While it can trigger physiological heat adaptations, it carries a high risk of heat exhaustion. You can utilize this environment to safely "heat train" by modifying your ride to keep your core temperature under control. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

AI reference to Coros

A heat index of 38C is well within the threshold to achieve heat adaptation for cycling, as scientific protocols aim to elevate core body temperature to about \(38.5^{\circ }\text{C}\) to \(39^{\circ }\text{C}\). However, because this is an extreme condition, it carries severe dehydration and overheating risks, requiring short, controlled, and monitored sessions rather than standard long rides. [1, 2, 3, 4]

By CORE (that coy that sells heat training suits/sensors equipment)

A heat index of 37°C (\(98.6^{\circ }F\)) is incredibly hot and enters a dangerous territory for outdoor activities. While it is technically sufficient for heat adaptation—if your goal is to deliberately heat train your body to acclimate to hot weather racing—it poses serious health risks like heat exhaustion and heat stroke if you are not careful. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

A heat index of 40°C is incredibly hot and is absolutely sufficient to trigger the physiological adaptations of heat training. However, it is an extreme environmental stressor. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
Because a heat index this high pushes the body to its limits, utilizing this environment requires a very specific approach: [1]

The Science: Why 40°C is Ideal
  • Heat Acclimation: Training in temperatures between 32°C and 40°C creates physiological changes similar to altitude training. Your body increases blood plasma volume and improves thermoregulation to better cool itself. [1, 2, 3, 4]
  • Protocols: Scientific studies on heat acclimation—such as those highlighted by EF Pro Cycling—aim to raise your core body temperature to 38.5°C for about 30 to 60 minutes. [1]
  • The Catch: Because of the extreme stress, you do not need to do your maximum volume or hardest intervals in this heat. Even an easy, low-intensity ride will cause your heart rate to spike and provide the adaptation stimulus you need. [1, 2, 3]

GlassDoor

Dafug. :oops:

This is esp if you are climbing, ie relatively little airflow.

Maybe that time i doing the LT2 intervals not 38-39 deg C lah.......but 37 deg C confirm got.
edit - yes......7.30am was at 36.5 deg C heat index

AI referenced to EF Pro cycling (one of the world tour teams)

A heat index of 39°C (approx. 102°F) is a danger zone for outdoor cycling. While it can trigger physiological heat adaptations, it carries a high risk of heat exhaustion. You can utilize this environment to safely "heat train" by modifying your ride to keep your core temperature under control. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

AI reference to Coros

A heat index of 38C is well within the threshold to achieve heat adaptation for cycling, as scientific protocols aim to elevate core body temperature to about \(38.5^{\circ }\text{C}\) to \(39^{\circ }\text{C}\). However, because this is an extreme condition, it carries severe dehydration and overheating risks, requiring short, controlled, and monitored sessions rather than standard long rides. [1, 2, 3, 4]

By CORE (that coy that sells heat training suits/sensors equipment)

A heat index of 37°C (\(98.6^{\circ }F\)) is incredibly hot and enters a dangerous territory for outdoor activities. While it is technically sufficient for heat adaptation—if your goal is to deliberately heat train your body to acclimate to hot weather racing—it poses serious health risks like heat exhaustion and heat stroke if you are not careful. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

A heat index of 40°C is incredibly hot and is absolutely sufficient to trigger the physiological adaptations of heat training. However, it is an extreme environmental stressor. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
Because a heat index this high pushes the body to its limits, utilizing this environment requires a very specific approach: [1]

The Science: Why 40°C is Ideal
  • Heat Acclimation: Training in temperatures between 32°C and 40°C creates physiological changes similar to altitude training. Your body increases blood plasma volume and improves thermoregulation to better cool itself. [1, 2, 3, 4]
  • Protocols: Scientific studies on heat acclimation—such as those highlighted by EF Pro Cycling—aim to raise your core body temperature to 38.5°C for about 30 to 60 minutes. [1]
  • The Catch: Because of the extreme stress, you do not need to do your maximum volume or hardest intervals in this heat. Even an easy, low-intensity ride will cause your heart rate to spike and provide the adaptation stimulus you need. [1, 2, 3]
kenyans run at highland altitude.. gets super powers... we run in 40deg c .. get super power bo? :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

That time i commented on the Kota Kinabalu HM, parts of the roads unlit and going past junctions that are relatively uncontrolled and with insufficient resources (barriers/volunteers with light wands etc)........end up 1 hospitalised due to accident and also runner wo lights (not totally his fault of coz, but personally i'd not do so + got other runners who ran with blinkers).

And then got this vid. Like this also can......... even on bike, i'd be very well lit up, even during day time. Coz as cyclists our target area is small, dont even say as a runner.

I mean, i dont wanna be armchair critic / captain hindsight......but seriously, bros......i sincerely cover my heart and sincerely say, really cannot lah. Dont know who the F are the organisers also.

But then again, i came across some Korean vids on youtube, the cycling races sometimes also no better.
You'd think that the South Koreans have standard, but......after watching those vids, they are definitely no better than some MY cycling races.

We really train and live to cycle/run/swim another day .

aAI2usJ.jpg

DT3NBVs.jpg

8pYrFmK.jpg

58Fnr7D.jpg

WussRedXLi

kenyans run at highland altitude.. gets super powers... we run in 40deg c .. get super power bo? :ROFLMAO:

They claim the heat training is a slightly poor man's altitude training. Issue is they train there and come down race. For us is we need to travel to cold country to race. Either that or we use the poor man's method of track (if ngeow about absolute accuracy) and splashing cups of cold water onto our necks wrapped with towel or cap + towel, or some estate route TT that can enable you to do so, with the setup not seriously needing to deviate and adding much more distance.

Actually, my own take is that it is actually even easier. Coz it can happen as quickly as in 1 week's time, for heat training. So basically dont even have to "suffer" as much. :ROFLMAO: Only issue for us locals is how to cool ourselves down locally during the whole TT, that one is more of logistics liao. For 3k that is actually no much issue, 10k would be much more leceh.

WussRedXLi

KL, also debut.

Shd be quite decent. metasports organizing. Too bad sph777 could not get the super early bird price for HM.

WussRedXLi

If cycle topless on the roads, sure get onto SGRV one.

ps edit - dont seem to be the pure runner grps leh (be it the more serious ones to the lululemon type ones).

Also.....i have never seen local running groups doing 200-300 pax per group.
50-100 already got hoo haa. 😅
Singapore PCN / parks also usually have a "no loud music" kinda ordinance.

My area's park a lot topless running about. Really too many gyms within a 1km radius, i think at least 2 dozen big and small.
Just yesterday going home i saw a group of 6 running topless Duxton plain park.
Then at the fitness corner sure got the nearby gym's trainer holding onto a board and paper and jotting down timings etc. 1 look definitely not runner / duathlete / triathlete.

Bonus

GlassDoor

Received my Miro SL ordered from TB 361 official store. Paid around $63 all in after stacking bunch of vouchers. Air shipping only took 6 days which is so much faster than the torturously long but free sea shipping on PDD.

Size EU45
JY6NPP3.jpeg

bKq2Cfj.jpeg

91eXC9h.jpeg

Fit: Snug race fit. Length wise around half finger space at the heel after wearing socks. Toe box not alot of wiggle room. Definitely less spacious than say the Lining Redhare 9U.

This is the improved tongue version and no frayed seams or threads from the looks of it. Also no weird rubbing feeling on the upper so far walking in it. Need to do more tests when i go for proper run it in.

Dont really like this colorway but my 1st choice colorway no stock for size 45 and the rest of the colorways are all predominately white with splash of other colors. Can imagine its gonna become brown after a few runs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.