jogging and motivation thread

hellhole

maybe you are olympic swimming champion....please dont just go palawan by yourself and just go swim in the open water...

you just think bc got lifeguard.. ... then its all safe...

find another person go together... and inform the lifeguard what you are doing...

i will suggest you go tanjong beach... as its a more like a lagoon ... so wont have as much current...

there is a open wafer tri swim group swimming there every sat.. go fb and find..

GlassDoor

maybe you are olympic swimming champion....please dont just go palawan by yourself and just go swim in the open water...

you just think bc got lifeguard.. ... then its all safe...

find another person go together... and inform the lifeguard what you are doing...

i will suggest you go tanjong beach... as its a more like a lagoon ... so wont have as much current...

there is a open wafer tri swim group swimming there every sat.. go fb and find..
good advise... will definitely give the life guard on duty a heads up.

WussRedXLi

good advise... will definitely give the life guard on duty a heads up.

And best is to get a swim buoy and use during training.

It's just like really visible front/rear lights visible even during day time for road cycling. Wont cut risks to zero one, but for sure it'd help.
Just last night our group the youngsters (Secondary school) was talking about the 14 yr old cyclist trapped under the car and dozens of members of the public lifting the car up to extract him.
And then some of their parents not so willing to let him go for the group rides.

Safest sport is still running.

WussRedXLi

This one, dont know what happened......if cyclist was crossing zebra or on the main road @ give way sign yielding area.

GlassDoor

Safest sport is still running.

yes and no..
the amount of phone zombies walking on pathments is alarming these days. Some totally oblivious to their surroundings. a month or two back, I had to take a fall to the grass patch during a run to avoid a yapping terrier that suddenly dashed into my path cos the helper that was walking the dog was totally engrossed on the phone and did not hold the leash. lucky it was just a sore right shoulder for a few days and nothing serious.

WussRedXLi

yes and no..
the amount of phone zombies walking on pathments is alarming these days. Some totally oblivious to their surroundings. a month or two back, I had to take a fall to the grass patch during a run to avoid a yapping terrier that suddenly dashed into my path cos the helper that was walking the dog was totally engrossed on the phone and did not hold the leash. lucky it was just a sore right shoulder for a few days and nothing serious.

Phones zombies ah.....dont get me started man. Bay East Garden cycling lane also got. Scary shiat.....coz even with my 2 lights (1 flashing one solid) at night they dont react until like very close.

But i also totally understand why folks walk and run with earphones or watch stuff on mobile, simply coz vast vast majority are zone 2 zone 3, so if add in duration it is "boring".

In cycling group rides, vast majority of them, if not all, ban all forms of earphones/headphones. Even Shokz also best not to switch on. If solo ride, bone conduction or BT speaker switched on at a relatively low volume still ok. (BT speaker also serves to warn pedestrians/runners when passing whenever switch back to walkways or PCNs, i know some would find that obnoxious but such is life, bo bian. Use bell some also buay song and anyway it's quite diffcult/literally impossible to install bell esp on aero handbars).

GlassDoor

Phones zombies ah.....dont get me started man. Bay East Garden cycling lane also got. Scary shiat.....coz even with my 2 lights (1 flashing one solid) at night they dont react until like very close.

But i also totally understand why folks walk and run with earphones or watch stuff on mobile, simply coz vast vast majority are zone 2 zone 3, so if add in duration it is "boring".

In cycling group rides, vast majority of them, if not all, ban all forms of earphones/headphones. Even Shokz also best not to switch on. If solo ride, bone conduction or BT speaker switched on at a relatively low volume still ok. (BT speaker also serves to warn pedestrians/runners when passing whenever switch back to walkways or PCNs, i know some would find that obnoxious but such is life, bo bian. Use bell some also buay song and anyway it's quite diffcult/literally impossible to install bell esp on aero handbars).
runners with earphones on will still look at the road... walking phone zombies... walk looking at the phone...sigh....

when i started running a while back.. earphones were indispensable. Now I don't even run with a phone and just enjoy the rhythm of my breathing and footstrikes 💪

WussRedXLi

runners with earphones on will still look at the road... walking phone zombies... walk looking at the phone...sigh....

when i started running a while back.. earphones were indispensable. Now I don't even run with a phone and just enjoy the rhythm of my breathing and footstrikes 💪

Of coz dont get me wrong, if run with Shokz and 3/4 volume is still likely to be a-ok. Not dissimilar to bluetooth speakers at reasonable volume.

Worst is those big closed type headphones or any noise-cancelling buds.

WussRedXLi

@GlassDoor

This morning 8AM+. Doesnt look like Singapore eh? Very therapeutic one.
I needed to switch off my BT speaker coz disturbing the peace once i stop my bike to take pic. :ROFLMAO:

Weekday no lifeguards. Only weekends and PH.
Stay close to beach and use swim buoy, no issue one lah. See the last pic, maciam like 0.8m.

Siloso

Gkk2XW2.jpg

UQSe10b.jpg

winningeleven

I always run with earphone. If not how am I able to run a HM on a stadium track ! 😆

But I am using shokz . Still able to hear and aware of the surrounding! But not all runners using shokz. Sometime I do run on street path nearby my home . I have meet some selfish runners who worn noise cancelling earbuds and ran in the center of the walkway rather than keeping left . It made me very difficult for me to overtake from his back . I had to run into the glass patch and risk of injuring myself.

WussRedXLi

I always run with earphone. If not how am I able to run a HM on a stadium track ! 😆

But I am using shokz . Still able to hear and aware of the surrounding! But not all runners using shokz. Sometime I do run on street path nearby my home .

I have meet some selfish runners who worn noise cancelling earbuds and ran in the center of the walkway rather than keeping left . It made me very difficult for me to overtake from his back . I had to run into the glass patch and risk of injuring myself.

Fully understand.

This morning did 2.5hrs zone 2 with 3 water and toilet and sit-down breaks in between. Prior ate 1 small pack of indomie (for sodium also).
No way > 1hr i can survive wo music....just no way. Just need to maintain situational awareness is ok liao, the music cannot cover the surroundings is ok liao.

What i am afraid is not normal cars even with BT speaker, but impatient drivers driving electric cars like Tesla. :ROFLMAO: Still, tbh, no speaker also useless, literally cannot hear them at 30-40kmh one....basically any tire noise from them also drowned out by background traffic noise.

Rear radar also mostly useless in quite a lot of my riding situations (not saying that there is no use esp during really off peak graveyard mornings @ 4-6am which there is very little vehicles but i totally dont ride at those times), too many false warnings and then you get numbed by the warnings and ignore.

Just gotta use daytime visible lights (like car DRLs), avoid peak periods (if bo bian just get on the pathway, a bit more time wont die one) and dont challenge traffic, and hope for the best.

sph777

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.