jogging and motivation thread

winningeleven

I am not running til next year, so tonight's annual report is final for 2023.

Will target 4K next year.
Coros-2023.jpg
Is like u run 10km every day. If u miss a day. U have to run 20km the next day. 2000km a year is already damn out of reach for me. Realistically I can only aim for 1500km a year.

inf|uencer

I just started running 2.4km weekly after weights been doing squats and calf raises supersets to improve and yes able to see changes

WussRedXLi

In fact, just now while coming back from MBS, i saw a lorry with indian workers on it jamming brake and with no ABS screeched and stopped right in front of a lady. Road was wet and the lady was crossing a traffic crossing, saw the timer still having 18 seconds on it and she was on lane 2-3 (middle of the road).
7.30pm. Not say black clothings, just not bright. But seriously neon coloured are of little difference since it is not daytime with the sun fluorescing it.

That's why still best to be lit up, esp if you'll are at speed. Cyclists are the worst lot, really gotta be well lit up.
In fact not only front/'rear lights, but side lights as well. Also wired some rear and side lights up permanently as those, for those brightest and constant output ones, with a 20k and another 30k mAh powerbank. (leceh to be always dismounting them from the bike and charging that few lights up coz constant output really drains the battery).

The so-called bright front/rear lights of many cyclists, are actually not so bright at all in reality. You'd want them to be at least as bright as a car, but not so bright to dazzle and distract. You also do not want to flash too much like an ambulance, coz there is this moth effect, in fact there is this phenomenon that drunkards are attracted to bright flashing lights of fire engines / ambulances.
So you'd want a fair bit of steady output lights (bright!), steady lights also lets drivers gauge your speed. Additionally a fair bit of flashing so as to catch the attention, esp in an urban environment with many other sources of illumination.

A jogger was killed a couple of years ago over here while crossing the road probably not same junction but very close to this place along Maxwell / Shenton.

WussRedXLi

The so-called bright front/rear lights of many cyclists, are actually not so bright at all in reality. You'd want them to be at least as bright as a car, but not so bright to dazzle and distract. You also do not want to flash too much like an ambulance, coz there is this moth effect, in fact there is this phenomenon that drunkards are attracted to bright flashing lights of fire engines / ambulances.
So you'd want a fair bit of steady output lights (bright!), steady lights also lets drivers gauge your speed. Additionally a fair bit of flashing so as to catch the attention, esp in an urban environment with many other sources of illumination.

Bonus

This kind of riding, sure 1 day kena 1 time jialat jialat. Multiple issues

spectrearc

People keep saying to lace shoes tight but apparently there's such a thing as so tight

Did my lock laces super tight, then my feet were in pain throughout my 10k for the last couple weeks, finally after massively loosening the laces then the pain eased

The side of my feet was legit black from the chafing in the shoe lol

winningeleven

Last day of the year and raining.. hope it stops after lunch... trying for last run for the year.
I still left 10km to reach 1000km. Yesterday couldn't run due to rain. Later will attempt a 10km .

By right. I should be able to reach 1200 km this year but I fall sick for the whole month of Nov. Didn't run for 3 weeks . Fitness drop drastically.

WussRedXLi

Not quite the 5K PB (that time in July was full send nearly died iirc) but then since late 2023 i not that keen to push and sustain redline for 2-3 mins.
This one around 6-10 bpm below MHR of ~ 182 bpm but managed to get within 8 seconds of PB. But then again, slightly different temperature and RH% then. So...... 🤔

Think possible to hit PB soon without redlining.

Last week's 3K PB also not really full send. (actually same pace @ 3.47 🤔 )

Hope that means got improvement all these months. :ROFLMAO: Bar the slight diff in temperature + RH% of coz (believe there is a difference, but not much for these relatively shorter distances, 10K i tend to overheat liao at such paces).
Plus some more experience in more optimal pacing so as to squeeze the last drop out.

ZSFLsTi.jpg

WussRedXLi

2024 resolution is to maintain 1100km running distance but to include 500weekly pushups as well.

4ycBOcx.jpg

My personal (non-expert) experience is that push ups is good to train core in terms of stability. It's esp useful for my cycling, then followed by running. I really noticed it for my cycling quite significantly.....dont wanna expose more but it really can optimise in the twisty bits, really can feel the improvement in bicycle handling since early Oct as i further improved in push ups. And of coz the triceps, good for cycling front handlebar handling as well i think.

From what i see a lot of cyclists, even those performance roadies who spend $$$ even on the last bit of hardware do not strength train in such a way, which is a shame. Coz all these are really "free" performance but just untapped nia.

When training push ups, it'd be good to train pulling as well, just bicep curls and some rows enough for us liao. To avoid muscle imbalances, resulting in posture issues etc (front muscles more power than the back muscles, coz basically those are untrained) Resistance bands are so convenient.

Then also i'd try not to go beyond 50 reps, law of diminishing returns. Form and proper range of motion is key. If you wanna train short reps but very quickly so as to whack the fast twitch, also can. Nowadays i only do diamonds and decline push ups, resistance + hit the upper pectorals. And some shorties/quickies for fast twitch.
Also, by doing push ups with pushing with the outer parts of my palm and lifting my thumbs, so im not using the full palm to push, but just the outer parts of my palm to push, it really helps with the wrist pain.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.