jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

for sunday's run, i had a 10 min break and HR was already below 90 when i started the return run.
20+km is still quite a long run, maybe fatigue set in.

I did my 12.32km with 10 min break (traffic light) and the HR is still above Z2 at 5.05/km. So I worked out my relaxed pace to be high 5 min/km.

Takes a while to experiment with.

Yeah think he got a bit of aspirations to do sports at national level but sort of didnt make it. He just started working, so young and fit ba. If he can maintain the consistency and not be affected too much by his career, prob still has room for improvement.

But then again that is another can of worms.......young age neglect career.....sports dont really pay much here. HOw would others look at you also, even if you yourself dont mind. SG life lah.....jin sian.
The HM was probably fun run/experience for him, he did 3.40s for 10 x 1km repeats w/ 100 jog rest, with last set @ 3.27, which is ~37 min 10k effort before the race.

If I did the same effort as him for the HM, will probably be high 1.40s or maybe 1.50 on the dot. Good to run HM for the experience. Might try HM for fun also.

Aaron did mentioned this before, he prioritise sports more than career actually. That's why his plan is to retire early so that he can focus on triathlon in his 30s.

Irenicus91

Yeah think he got a bit of aspirations to do sports at national level but sort of didnt make it. He just started working, so young and fit ba. If he can maintain the consistency and not be affected too much by his career, prob still has room for improvement.

But then again that is another can of worms.......young age neglect career.....sports dont really pay much here. HOw would others look at you also, even if you yourself dont mind. SG life lah.....jin sian.
Just started watching that guy also, he got one video he showed that he managed to become national athlete

Jeremy1

Need to train more for a fair bit of time, coz while it is not that efficient to "shuffle", neither is it good to force a kick or decent knee-drive at slower speeds/cadences. Lots of variables, can search for it, from strengthening (i like resistance bands) to maybe even mobility exercises..........if not will get injured.

Maybe just try 3k first, then 5k, then 10k. If you find that longer distances are too hard for your age, 10k can be considered endurance long distance type of running also, it's like 1hr or low 1hr plus. The weather here terok also, so no shame in running and then doing well in 10k (or 5k for that matter).

I did a 16k last week, could only average 4.21 pace. Quite shiong, slightly over 1hr hard effort.
I do 1hr hard cycling already feel it quite siong, even with so much more wind cooling.

The problem is the temperature 🥵

armadilloshield

Can I ask you all during the HM run, is it common to have a lot of runners halfway walking ? :grin:

Wait I feel embarrassed :s13:
I ran many FM and HM, not to worry at all, you will see many walkers, not saying halfway, even after 5km you can see many have started to walk already, their mistake, to run a very fast pace at the start unless you're an elite runner 😅

WussRedXLi

Aaron did mentioned this before, he prioritise sports more than career actually. That's why his plan is to retire early so that he can focus on triathlon in his 30s.

Wah hope his family is quite well to do.....

I can only prioritse exercise / sports now coz my career dead end liao coz a few years to senior citizen liao. ...nothing i do will ensure that i earn more in my job. :ROFLMAO:

Since no comorbidities now, can hoot.

WussRedXLi

The problem is the temperature 🥵

TONSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS of walkers during 2XU. My family and I encoutered loads at MBS last weekend when we were cycling, so much so need to detour to MBCC side coz difficult to cut through the hordes.
Gave up after a few tries coz journey not smooth.

I saw one elderly uncle (70s) cycling against the direction of the 2XU though just outside Fullerton Bay Hotel, right in the lane of the event between the cones. :ROFLMAO:

Kuudere

Wah hope his family is quite well to do.....

I can only prioritse exercise / sports now coz my career dead end liao coz a few years to senior citizen liao. ...nothing i do will ensure that i earn more in my job. :ROFLMAO:

Since no comorbidities now, can hoot.

He is single so don't need spend much. Retire already, will go pursue active sporting. Train a few times a day like pro athlete.

Respectable if he can achieve it. If he can't, at least he tried 😅

WussRedXLi

Actually have come across a female olympic racewalking participating in marathons racewalking the whole way.

Can't find the video though.

Ender

TONSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS of walkers during 2XU. My family and I encoutered loads at MBS last weekend when we were cycling, so much so need to detour to MBCC side coz difficult to cut through the hordes.
Gave up after a few tries coz journey not smooth.

I saw one elderly uncle (70s) cycling against the direction of the 2XU though just outside Fullerton Bay Hotel, right in the lane of the event between the cones. :ROFLMAO:
Old man purposely one?

Lchlch

Hi joggers and runners,

Can check if I jog, walk, jog, walk and so on, can improve my long distances?

Thks guys.

WussRedXLi

Hi joggers and runners,

Thks guys.

Deifnitely can. Just a matter of time / efficiency of the training nia, and a matter of introducing new stimulus to your body and then you adapting to it. The same goes for other things like push ups etc, which are easier to keep track and see improvements.
But you middle age also, so no hurry lah, enjoy the process.

xllms

Can I ask you all during the HM run, is it common to have a lot of runners halfway walking ? :grin:

Wait I feel embarrassed :s13:
no need to feel embarrased.
Japanese outlier. Coz after keyan, Ethiopian, Uganda runners, next best country for FM is not ang mo country but japanese.
sunday's SH HM, there were a few Japanese students super fast. timing just above one hour. super steady.

Ender

Hi joggers and runners,

Thks guys.
Can lah... But if too fatigue I would stop, coz there's a point where overtrain, even with enough rest and recovery, overall endurance actually decline coz too much damage. Only a race or challenge would justify pushing to that level.

Lchlch

Can lah... But if too fatigue I would stop, coz there's a point where overtrain, even with enough rest and recovery, overall endurance actually decline coz too much damage. Only a race or challenge would justify pushing to that level.
Thks bro for your confirmation.
I saw youtube , those take part in 21 km , run walk and still can run and then walk n then run..
I thought once you walk, the momentum gone..

Ender

Thks bro for your confirmation.
I saw youtube , those take part in 21 km , run walk and still can run and then walk n then run..
I thought once you walk, the momentum gone..
Google up Jeff Galloway, coach , founder of the run walk run method. I didn't research much into it, but read it good for beginners trying to do the long distance. Start walking before fatigue sets in. Don't wait till hit the wall, leg cramp then walk, coz too late liao, will never recover from that in a day.

Lchlch

Google up Jeff Galloway, coach , founder of the run walk run method. I didn't research much into it, but read it good for beginners trying to do the long distance. Start walking before fatigue sets in. Don't wait till hit the wall, leg cramp then walk, coz too late liao, will never recover from that in a day.
Oic...maybe this later afternoon will try it out.
Cos I am thinking to join the sketches 10km run in June and I fear I can't complete, so will try walk n run method.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.