jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

Just to take note for those jogging along the rail, be careful of wild boar.

I was jogging just now on the way to King Albert Station and suddenly saw a XMM taking a photo and when I turned to eyes to my right, I saw a big wild boar. I stopped and also wanted to take a photo but just too late the wild boarwent into the bushes.

Please stay alert when you're jogging around that area especially at night when it's quite dark.

sph777

I was jogging just now on the way to King Albert Station and suddenly saw a XMM taking a photo and when I turned to eyes to my right, I saw a big wild boar. I stopped and also wanted to take a photo but just too late the wild boarwent into the bushes.

Please stay alert when you're jogging around that area especially at night when it's quite dark.
Rail night time cmi. Way too dark

fantasyrulz

L1WyX5n.jpeg
Gl3v5it.jpeg

Ran my fastest 1h in my life sia

At the half way point realise I got 36 mins more to run need to conserve energy then pace drop bwahahahaha

WussRedXLi

Got snakes also...... and toads, and some wierd animals.
Many rats also, they tend to just run across your path just in front of you when you have a bright light illumination. Same case over at Marina Bay Sands promonitory area, quite a fair bit of rats when late at night past 11pm or very early mornings.

RC at night can only cycle, gun it, make sure can sprint. Creatine is good (30 seconds power, even GCN presenter noted that).

Fitness can be very fun and exciting this way. Not mundane (y)

I just got this, 5000K colour temperature just nice for foilage and wood illumination.....RC is one place that my kid and i can try out. Can nable tie to handle bar. Hope oncoming traffic got front lights so that i can power down, else RIP to their eyes,

My kid would use a smaller ver, he rides behind me. 22k lumens peak but 3000 lumens constant on sustainable. Many normal higher powered bicycle lights would say is 1000 lumens 2000 lumens lah, 3000 lumens, yes that is true......but issue is that the light output would kick down after a few mins due to heat soak in the aluminum casing.

Mine is 80k lumens peak but 9000 lumens constant on sustainable.

Also got other normal bicycle front lights but those are for normal illumination....cannot make it for Rail Corridor, i tried before, barely 1-2km into it from Kampong Bahru barely reaching into Bukit Merah i turned back liao, around 2nd bridge there where it gets nearly pitch black.

(I got it pre-order price, 1150rmb, now 2199 rmb liao)
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=u1u0hcib2403&id=836686400398&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.340f2e8d6bbnNn
RqijRO1.jpg

Just cable tie at the holes on the handle. Just nice.

O1CN01Ux7yEu27gozx92c3Y_!!748317827.png

WussRedXLi

Dont know how these people dare to cycle with just 1 or 2 small lights, without wider illumination.
For me and my kid we only do no holds barred lights. Only issue is if got jogger or cyclist without lights and coming towards us, we sure kena beaten one. (coz we would not be able to detect from far and dim down to our normal bicycle lights with vertical cut off).

Esp say during 7th month.

xllms

For iRun, no need but for Running Lab, you need to pay $9 for 3 years, can't really recalled the price but if it's your birthday month it's 20% discount.

The Magic Speed can get at $220 at 313 Irun. A good buy but then the colour is this

1011B875_100_SR_RT_GLB

Magic Speed 4 is good I like the ride.

They are clearing the Brooks Elite 3 @ $199 but limited size at Irun 313. This is value for money if you're looking for speed. It's meant for forefoot or mid foot landing fyi. You can go n try. Hopefully still have sizes 🙏

This one

images

I think it suit your run.

if keen on brooks elite 3 green (most common color), check out Tangs at orchard. Price is lower than $199. Saw it when i wore the same pair last sat.

sph777

Many rats also, they tend to just run across your path just in front of you when you have a bright light illumination. Same case over at Marina Bay Sands promonitory area, quite a fair bit of rats when late at night past 11pm or very early mornings.

RC at night can only cycle, gun it, make sure can sprint. Creatine is good (30 seconds power, even GCN presenter noted that).

I just got this, 5000K colour temperature just nice for foilage and wood illumination.....RC is one place that my kid and i can try out. Can nable tie to handle bar. Hope oncoming traffic got front lights so that i can power down, else RIP to their eyes,

My kid would use a smaller ver, he rides behind me. 22k lumens peak but 3000 lumens constant on sustainable. Many normal higher powered bicycle lights would say is 1000 lumens 2000 lumens lah, 3000 lumens, yes that is true......but issue is that the light output would kick down after a few mins due to heat soak in the aluminum casing.

Also got other normal bicycle front lights but those are for normal illumination....cannot make it for Rail Corridor, i tried before, barely 1-2km into it from Kampong Bahru barely reaching into Bukit Merah i turned back liao, around 2nd bridge there where it gets nearly pitch black.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u=u1u0hcib2403&id=836686400398&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.340f2e8d6bbnNn
RqijRO1.jpg

Python I saw at rail.

Jeremy1

RqijRO1.jpg

My old Malaysian Colleague ever encountered a white ghostly figure flying and chasing above him while he was riding his bike in one of the Malaysian Highways in the middle of the night as what he told me 😱

WussRedXLi

My old Malaysian Colleague ever encountered a white ghostly figure flying and chasing above him while he was riding his bike in one of the Malaysian Highways in the middle of the night as what he told me 😱

Haha.....that's gonna be scary.

From my experience, many many a time is self hallucinate at work. Initially when i/we were riding on RC at night it felt scary but after a few times with the appropriate lights its much better. When it is super dark without much lights, the mind tends to play games coz of the change in visual perceptioon and also change in environmental sounds as the various animals become active at night.

Of much higher risk are the wild boars and small snakes but that's part of the fun.
The lights when switched on to max mode suddenly also gives you a good amount of time to escape on the bike as the animal goes into flight mode. (if they go into fight mode then of coz you jialat liao)
Snakes wont bother you esp with lights as long as you dont bother them and continue as per normal, just the wild boar might get a bit unpredictable.

All part of the fun but of coz we dont go super far like from Kg Bahru -> Bukit Timah Railway. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Morning, 5.6Km completed 😅

Super.

At that kind of timing 9-10am and cloudless skies here Southern side, i can only manage cycling.....and even then not fast paced. Even my "1km run" to office also a bit slower than usual coz warm weather....reached straight away went into server room for 3 mins cool down in front of the chiller.

But oh.....it rained west side just now in the morning right?

Jeremy1

Super.

At that kind of timing 9-10am and cloudless skies here Southern side, i can only manage cycling.....and even then not fast paced. Even my "run" to office also a bit slower than usual coz warm weather....reached straight away went into server room for 3 mins cool down in front of chiller.

But oh.....it rained west side just now in the morning right?

Yes, this morning raining then stop I go n run also sweat like hell 😀

Now I take Mac 😜

WussRedXLi

Yes, this morning raining then stop I go n run also sweat like hell 😀

Now I take Mac 😜

Yeah, though it would feel cooler, still would be sweaty / wet feeling coz with the exertion the body still perspires a bit naturally, and then it accumulates and never evaporates due to higher RH%.
Even 24 deg C during rainy season i cycle also like that, let alone running which is even more difficult to evap.

Nowadays fast food i really cannot, too ex.

BTW i would highly recommend this for prata also, for those running around Republic Ave and MBS area but closer to SG Flyer area. Got joggers but not that many MBS joggers take this route towards Lavender/Kallang route unless if they living around Kallang/Lavender HDBs. Can route a bit farther out for this makan....just 700m detour from Republic Ave/Crawford LAne near ex Kallang gas works.

Now that ABC 24hr food court temporarily closed liao. This one could even be slightly better than ABC.

$2 egg prata, well worth it. The prata super fluffy airy type which also contributes to the overall taste and the curry is literally the best i have ever tasted.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Mihrimah+Restaurant/@1.3029559,103.8592658,21z/data=!4m15!1m8!3m7!1s0x31da19b1d754cd1b:0xd2c77bcbfbbbab7!2sBeach+Rd!3b1!8m2!3d1.299508!4d103.8592765!16s/m/0ch44bv!3m5!1s0x31da19b72abedbe5:0x669f126cf83fd136!8m2!3d1.3030202!4d103.8592961!16s/g/11dxl0jy22?entry=ttu&g_ep=EgoyMDI0MDkyNS4wIKXMDSoASAFQAw==

oOpqvyW.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.