jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

No transport provided, need to take taxi liao 😣

Just try the Superblast 2 n Magic Speed 4.

Both also not my cup of tea. 😀

xllms

I think @xllms can answer your questions haha
yup, have both Qiaodan 飞影pb3.0 and xtep特步 160x5.0.
i like both and prefer pb3.0 over 160x5.0. Personally, 160x5.0 feels more of a generalist and pb3.0 feels faster and bouncier. it makes me want to run faster and land on my forefoot more. Another advantage of pb3.0 over any other running shoes is that, it is the only pair my rear soles have yet to be worn out even after 200km. All my other running shoes outer rear sole will be worn out approx. 75-125km.
Both midsoles are good, pb3.0 is thicker and respond really fast. Feels good at paces faster then 7min/km. 160x5.0 midsole is thinner and respond well. Covers slower paces better to me and can also do fast paces (altho my fastest prob around 4.30-5min/km)
pb3.0 feels good wearing as a pair of casual walking shoe for a full day, eg. travel, as xtep 160x5.0 toes area is tighter than pb3.0. due to this reason, u don't wear xtep 160x5.0 for prolonged casual walking. Having said the above, pb3.0 keeps making one want to move forward fast, thus not good for slow casual walking. xtep 150x5.0 feels more like planted down and more relaxed in this aspect.
As mentioned in my previous posts, pb3.0 felt like something between adidas adios pro 3 and takumi sen 9.
just for information, xtep is huge as a marathon running shoe in China, probably the number 1 brand in China.

WussRedXLi

Oh yes i had a look see over there before.
But quite different from my "tastes" and "needs".
Coz those are pure cyclists mainly.....going for much longer rides than i do. I think what Audax can have 600km one. Siao, i wont do those funny things (is actually risky / can die)

Just like running, they go running group runs etc...... i dont do long distances also be it running or cycling, preferring to gun fast. Gels with sprint duathlons / triathlons, even for T100 standard it is a 32km ride "only".
For me is already somewhat long (eg like a 10K), but you go ask pure cyclists they will tell you that short distance no kick.

From what i could see, duathletes/triathletes like to train alone or at most 2 or very small groups. Not like cycling in big groups, go cafe rides. (seriously i also dont like to spend like $20-50 even for these social rides....we all around retirement age not same frequency )

WussRedXLi

These couple of days quite cooling, I was able to run some fast times

Yeah, more cooling. Planning for a hard session tmr early morning. Alas now then can go sleep, just now in office till 2330h.

Something big screwed up.......
Cheespie, this afternoon I nearly wanted to throw letter liao.....the CBK management dont wanna pay, skipped buying maintenance for servers, now big issue liao. But then i remembered i still have to finance running/cycling hobbies, pay for the races, the nutrition etc. :frown:
And of coz at my age, is literally impossible to find new job (can only go do grabfood probably)

Life struggles. Hai..... But heck it, weekend here, clear the mind and we all can enjoy! (y)

WussRedXLi

LWZ

fantasyrulz

Some in EDMW will say he will destroy his knees when he gets old. Wait , he is 60 yo.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna...=internal_sharetool_androidphone_05102024_cna

Aged 60, he runs 10km daily, practises clean eating to donate blood every 28 days​

yea sia and his dedication to donating blood is admirable

at age 60 still able to jog is already better then 99% of people his age liao
even though we never know how long we can live
but the quality of life for joggers who live clean and jog regularly will in no doubt have a
better quality of life comes old age.

just be careful of knee and take ur suppliment regularly

fantasyrulz

Wah really salute this uncle so disciplined and self control

i cannot sia!
will party, drink and indulge sometimes

but always come back to training..

im jealous youngsters have many friends always extrovert socialing can enjoy and staying fit at the same time

i can never do that, always end up doing things alone.
tend to like comparing and if u do better then me i will feel bad for myself end up
im better off alone sometimes.

remember once i jio a friend to jog with me end up he can run faster then me and he dont even run regularly one just do hiit.

end up angry with myself

Ender

Anyone tried out the size of the Garmin Run singlet?
I wanted to use it for my Saturday run, but find it too tight. Wear liao, become bui bui. Also very hard to take out. Guess I should upsize to L or XL. The counter girl told me to try changing on race day. Sian, maybe I just give to my wife.

Ender

i cannot sia!
will party, drink and indulge sometimes

but always come back to training..

im jealous youngsters have many friends always extrovert socialing can enjoy and staying fit at the same time

i can never do that, always end up doing things alone.
tend to like comparing and if u do better then me i will feel bad for myself end up
im better off alone sometimes.

remember once i jio a friend to jog with me end up he can run faster then me and he dont even run regularly one just do hiit.

end up angry with myself
Here got slow runners, 90% of the run are easy run.

WussRedXLi

Heng ah, Singapore is almost always hot 🥵

Yeah , no really serious benefit here as it's so constant here.

Unless if you can have a somewhat constant (say 5 aid stations) supply of iced water wetting the wet towels or ice pack replacements or what, believe can easily shave off like 30 seconds (at least) for a 10k.

But for me is the safety aspect of running at fast paces, too much heat energy generated, body heat soak, a bit risk esp for those in middle age or even some are elderly (> 65) here and wanna gun it one.
Is fit and can gun fast does not mean that it is super safe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.