jogging and motivation thread

winningeleven

Finally achieved my long awaited sub 50 10km. I ran under 49 mins and I did it from 11km onward the end of the half marathon. I feel good after 10km and decided after I hear my every 1 km lap alert was around 5 mins . So decided to maintain the pace and went all out to achieve it. I drank a can of coke to reward myself . Also got a PB for my HM below 1 Hr 50 mins. Ran 1hr 47 mins.

[url=https://ibb.co/BqNdNRs] [/URL]

[url=https://ibb.co/x71jG2m] [/URL]

[url=https://ibb.co/ZgmgTgr] [/URL]

sales69

Finally achieved my long awaited sub 50 10km. I ran under 49 mins and I did it from 11km onward the end of the half marathon. I feel good after 10km and decided after I hear my every 1 km lap alert was around 5 mins . So decided to maintain the pace and went all out to achieve it. I drank a can of coke to reward myself . Also got a PB for my HM below 1 Hr 50 mins. Ran 1hr 47 mins.

Damn good finish! 2.4 dash at the end of 21k. 👍

sph777

well done!

WussRedXLi

The first exercise that he did is very similar to the single leg pogo jumps that i have been doing for the past year.
Think it also has a bit of benefit in prevention of achilles tendonitis and plantar fascitis, if done correctly (progressive loading as you train, dont gan cheong over do it)

winningeleven

Do U feel paiseh to try the running shoe with no intention of buying ? Some shops like NB and running labs at IMM can self service but some need the sale staff to help U bringing the size for U.

My usual saucony endorphin speed 3 shoe size is US 8 2E.
Knowing 11.11 sale coming soon and able to get good deals after discount voucher. I want to make sure I order the correct size and went to try a few models today. ( I used to work in a sport shop when I was young after O levels and Personally I find it is ok to let customer trying the shoes even they don't buy after trying.

Today I tried .
ASICS novablast 4 wide US 8. Good fit for my wide foot . But I know novablast 5 coming soon. So wait for the discount or reconsider getting novablast 5. Maybe the next superblast also out soon

Saucony Endorphin speed 4 and Pro
Both need to go upsize US 8.5 size as it only come with standard D size. I feel much comfortable wearing the pro version.

NB fuel cell rebel V4. both US 8 and 8.5 seem ok to me. (I will choose US8.5 and wearing thicker socks can easily solve the problem)But then there is a wide version of the NB rebel V4 where it is available in the US. That will be a prefect fit for my usual size US 8.

Bonus. Asics metaspeed Paris . This one for me. must upsize to US 8.5 and it is still quite narrow . I tried vaporfly 3 before and the front is much wider with my usual US 8.

Ender

Do U feel paiseh to try the running shoe with no intention of buying ? Some shops like NB and running labs at IMM can self service but some need the sale staff to help U bringing the size for U.

My usual saucony endorphin speed 3 shoe size is US 8 2E.
Knowing 11.11 sale coming soon and able to get good deals after discount voucher. I want to make sure I order the correct size and went to try a few models today. ( I used to work in a sport shop when I was young after O levels and Personally I find it is ok to let customer trying the shoes even they don't buy after trying.

Today I tried .
ASICS novablast 4 wide US 8. Good fit for my wide foot . But I know novablast 5 coming soon. So wait for the discount or reconsider getting novablast 5. Maybe the next superblast also out soon

Saucony Endorphin speed 4 and Pro
Both need to go upsize US 8.5 size as it only come with standard D size. I feel much comfortable wearing the pro version.

NB fuel cell rebel V4. both US 8 and 8.5 seem ok to me. (I will choose US8.5 and wearing thicker socks can easily solve the problem)But then there is a wide version of the NB rebel V4 where it is available in the US. That will be a prefect fit for my usual size US 8.

Bonus. Asics metaspeed Paris . This one for me. must upsize to US 8.5 and it is still quite narrow . I tried vaporfly 3 before and the front is much wider with my usual US 8.
No, not paiseh. Usually I just say the shoe not comfortable, or my toes rubbing, too tight.

WussRedXLi

Relevance of fast twitch type 2 and > 80 yrs old

Actually i can relate to that. A night ago, i accidentally "jumped off" a 40cm high kerb at OUE Bayfront coz i made a detour. Did see the unmarked kerb, actually not really a kerb but dont know why they put that driveway kinda kerb there and totally unmarked.

And i am not on a mountain bike, so no suspension or thick tires.

Heng managed to stabilise myself, neuro speed is there, stability there, power there, My hands and legs able to stabilise fast.

If not i definitely either land on my face or on my sides, breaking bones.

Not say very fast, 10 to max 15kmh only coz i was figuring a way to detour coz that part they cordoned off for works, but definitely high enough to break bones. Coz all my front lights the alignment all impacted and out of whack, my water bottle got flung off.

\
Of course i am not 80 years old and probably not gonna be on a bikestill when i am 80, but i digress.
My grandma also nearly died this year due to this reason (fall), fractured pelvis, 5 hr surgery + complications....but heng 4 months recovery excellent. Spent a lot though, rehab, special helper with experience (now still here) etc. Still got hope to live past 100 i guess.

WussRedXLi

Bonus

My ah gong can run faster than you.....

Seriously if they can run faster than us 50 60 years old fellas, then something is wrong. :unsure:
(actually if i look at my office i dare drop it down to 40+ for ladies)

Time to beat, 60 metres sub 11 for those exercising..... :ROFLMAO:

Ender

Who reached the peak of SCSM training? My TAO training is siao, peak me at the 3rd last week, i.e next week. leaving me only two weeks to taper.
Other people will be peaking their longest LSD this weekend.
Somehow I have to have faith in the AI, that next week peak is best for me... Cross finger.

WussRedXLi

I think really need to train the hamstrings.

Will put more work into this area.
Currently i only hoot TFL, calf (predominantly soleus then followed by gastrocs), anterior tibialis and a bit of glutes (Coz cycling on-bike also got strengthening drills for glutes).

Can see if got more hammie work, he can rocket.
Nevertheless, is super solid liao, cannot hiam.

Skyrillex

Who reached the peak of SCSM training? My TAO training is siao, peak me at the 3rd last week, i.e next week. leaving me only two weeks to taper.
Other people will be peaking their longest LSD this weekend.
Somehow I have to have faith in the AI, that next week peak is best for me... Cross finger.
Good luck for the training next week!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.