jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Hi all, tried running recently.... from twice to 4 times a week and ended up with a bruise toe ( like I painted it black) on my left foot.... anyone can advise how to treat it or what is likely the cause? I dun think my shoes are too tight..... the usual one finger spacing fit.

relax dude.... take it easy.

Some options you can try:

1. Change shoes or rotate shoes (most likely to work and also let the bruised toe rest)

2. Try thicker or thinner socks

3. Adjust lacing for tighter or looser fit

4. When running, take note when the pain occur. Adjust how your foot land to reduce the bruising.

5. Sometimes after your feet got used to the shoes, pain/bruise toe will go away.

bbbbbw

now my knees feel 'pain' sometimes... many pop pop sounds when straightening my legs....

Ender

32-40kmh pretty normal if up to cruising speed.

My experience is that people (normal pedestrians who do not cycle) 99.9% underestimate bicycles' "force". ie not scared of bicycles compared to motorbikes. Got few cases still on mobile phones crossing slowly when i was approaching on the road with 2 front lights even. Even my kid behind was totally baffled.

That cyclist in your case also not defensive enough lah.
This is a heavy traffic PCN. It's not for tour de France speed. Rider want to speed, have to go on the road or TMCR. What I see is rider should be the one to know the damage their machine can do onto pedestrian. So PCN with pedestrian and kids, no speeding, coz you are operating a killer machine.

dicxz80

Yah good man, im just afraid of muscle imbalances coz the calves and quads doing more of the work so tib raises and hamstring curls with a miniband must do, Tibs i have been training non stop liao last time was racewalking but now stopped. Im more afraid of cycling which i do quite a fair bit nowadays, afraid of knee pain in future as training progresses.
Esp with age, these things tend to show up easier.
I thought cycling is easier on knee?

The only "injury" i had during cycling days only because of "wrong" seat height in first few months

winningeleven

Hi all, tried running recently.... from twice to 4 times a week and ended up with a bruise toe ( like I painted it black) on my left foot.... anyone can advise how to treat it or what is likely the cause? I dun think my shoes are too tight..... the usual one finger spacing fit.

relax dude.... take it easy.
What is your running shoes model. Last time I always have burning pain on my left 1st and 2nd toes even my shoe fitting is comfortable. Only when I switched to my Saucony endorphin speed where the midsole is plushy and bouncy then I no longer have this problem. The cause is due to running shoe cushion too firm.

WussRedXLi

This is a heavy traffic PCN. It's not for tour de France speed. Rider want to speed, have to go on the road or TMCR. What I see is rider should be the one to know the damage their machine can do onto pedestrian. So PCN with pedestrian and kids, no speeding, coz you are operating a killer machine.

Oh thought it happened on a normal road and a pedestrian jaywalked or something. Since you said you were "directing traffic" and so standing in front of them waving off cars/motorbikes :ROFLMAO:

PCN shared path then the cyclist jialat liao if > 25kmh which likely is since so severely injured till couldnt move.
If is those properly demarcated paths like at some parks or Bay Garden East 1 for cycling 1 for jogging then still got chance to defend.

WussRedXLi

ECP / BEG we've akready seen quite a fair times of head-ons between cyclists already.........none between runners/cyclist tho.

in fact twice was at the part where Marina Barrage bridge sloping down to Bay East Garden, where the BEG Parkrun turning point is. Curvy part and some goons also cross over to the other side, and also coz downslope.

That's also why i posted here the folks to be very carefu if joining the parkrun therel. The turning point is where the accident prone area is. Esp with the parkrun happening during super peak period timing (sat 0730h) and since it was also utilizing the whole jogging/cycling areas and with the sun just risen and shining right into the eyes for 1 direction causing much glare.

Once i was also "involved" with someone who suddenly u turned right in front of me as he crossed into the cycling lane, heng he stopped upon seeing my lights (peripheral vision helped probably) and "hearing" my bluetooth speaker so non-incident.

WussRedXLi

I thought cycling is easier on knee?

The only "injury" i had during cycling days only because of "wrong" seat height in first few months

Cycling easier on knees and other joints if we compare the same HR / duration thrown into the equation.
So it would be a better option to train the base.
Issue is many people then whack longer rides...which then makes it square one, or maybe even worse than running say a 5k or 10k.
Can you imagine running half marathon 6X a week? (cycling 360km per week, or maybe even more)
And then factor in a non-fitting bike geometry, lagi worsen the problem.

I think you can try doing lower cadence standing type climbs on the bike as well, since there would be more energy expended + less knee action wrt cardio. More towards strength training glute dominant rides. Then see how you fix your issue.

Can take the chance to do some strength training as well, with resistance bands for eg.

dicxz80

Cycling easier on knees and other joints if we compare the same HR / duration thrown into the equation.
So it would be a better option to train the base.
Issue is many people then whack longer rides...which then makes it square one, or maybe even worse than running say a 5k or 10k.
Can you imagine running half marathon 6X a week? (cycling 360km per week, or maybe even more)
And then factor in a non-fitting bike geometry, lagi worsen the problem.

I think you can try doing lower cadence standing type climbs on the bike as well, since there would be more energy expended + less knee action wrt cardio. More towards strength training glute dominant rides. Then see how you fix your issue.

Can take the chance to do some strength training as well, with resistance bands for eg.
Yeah. Planning to switch to strength training for a while

I was just discouraged thinking of losing my improvement after consistent jog for 6 months :(

WussRedXLi

Yeah. Planning to switch to strength training for a while

I was just discouraged thinking of losing my improvement after consistent jog for 6 months :(

Mix in skipping + racewalking. That way wont lose so fast one lah, if any at all.

In fact i suspect you might even continue to gain improvements if you really get into racewalking from my own experience. There will still be meaningful carry over.
Coz other than SITs, i never truly ran before but i was gunning racewalking, racewalking sprint racewalking intervals racewalking threshold racewalking base. Sometimes i even "raced" joggers. Then 1st time ran in Nov 2022, i did 1.6k @ around 6.20 mins....remember was trying out my new Takumi Sen 9 which just arrived.
After that tried 2.4 test test (seriously didnt really know how to run), did 9.30 mins.
Somemore i am not young. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
So.....go figure....never "ran" or "jogged" before......if you know what i mean.

(of coz different physiology different fitness different strength.......so diff pple differ mileage ba)

But of coz dont overdo things until you get it resolved....just enough to dont aggravate it.

WussRedXLi

Yet another video

It's the losing of the fast twitch fibres again.
Power is strength times velocity.

Of coz, as mentioned in the vid, if you are starting from zero, any form would be beneficial.

And of coz if don't care about pace, then no need to care lah....

Ender

Oh thought it happened on a normal road and a pedestrian jaywalked or something. Since you said you were "directing traffic" and so standing in front of them waving off cars/motorbikes :ROFLMAO:

PCN shared path then the cyclist jialat liao if > 25kmh which likely is since so severely injured till couldnt move.
If is those properly demarcated paths like at some parks or Bay Garden East 1 for cycling 1 for jogging then still got chance to defend.
I was directing the oncoming fast cyclists 20m ahead. Despite heavy human traffic, they are still riding fast and zig zagging (i.e not slowing down as the choice for safety)

Brionic

I was directing the oncoming fast cyclists 20m ahead. Despite heavy human traffic, they are still riding fast and zig zagging (i.e not slowing down as the choice for safety)

beware of those food delivery bikes or whatever you call them

many don't care about safety and will zoom past or change lanes suddenly

they want to deliver fast to maximize earnings

WussRedXLi

Yeah i noticed quite a fair bit on the roads too...... No road sense. If they have driving licence + driving also then i lagi worry....but as you can see on sgrv, it's getting crazier.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.