jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

I think really need to train the hamstrings.

Will put more work into this area.
Currently i only hoot TFL, calf (predominantly soleus then followed by gastrocs), anterior tibialis and a bit of glutes (Coz cycling on-bike also got strengthening drills for glutes).

Can see if got more hammie work, he can rocket.
Nevertheless, is super solid liao, cannot hiam.

I do hamstring training by doing high jumps on the stadium, but have been taking some time off that for a while to prepare for ippt

WussRedXLi

I do hamstring training by doing high jumps on the stadium, but have been taking some time off that for a while to prepare for ippt

Yah good man, im just afraid of muscle imbalances coz the calves and quads doing more of the work so tib raises and hamstring curls with a miniband must do, Tibs i have been training non stop liao last time was racewalking but now stopped. Im more afraid of cycling which i do quite a fair bit nowadays, afraid of knee pain in future as training progresses.
Esp with age, these things tend to show up easier.

Ender

You mean the unflavoured? Last time during NSF time tried before......didnt like it.
I think this clear whey is something new recently. About a couple of years. More processed than the Whey Isolate. The end result is alot of stuff are removed, no calories, no lactose. But what I am looking for is the taste profile which from what I read is very different from the traditional whey. It's more water like or juice like, where Whey is more milk shake like.

dicxz80

my small lump behind knee (assuming Baker's cyst) is not subsiding yet, I have no pain in my knee, shall I continue running ? :(

is there any other cardio training I can do ? cycling i read less impact but still not recommended I believe

WussRedXLi

I think this clear whey is something new recently. About a couple of years. More processed than the Whey Isolate. The end result is alot of stuff are removed, no calories, no lactose. But what I am looking for is the taste profile which from what I read is very different from the traditional whey. It's more water like or juice like, where Whey is more milk shake like.

Oh i tot is the unflavoured whey. I already dont really like the conventional isolate coz there is no body to it......if paying like $1.30-$1.40 for 30g of protein, which is like 1 small can of 90g drained weight sardines (eg $1.00 on offer for Fairprice) which would be around 23g protein....then gotta enjoy it also.

IF it's juice like, then no point, unless if ultra severe lactose intolerant.

WussRedXLi

my small lump behind knee (assuming Baker's cyst) is not subsiding yet, I have no pain in my knee, shall I continue running ? :(

is there any other cardio training I can do ? cycling i read less impact but still not recommended I believe

Can try skipping to tong through....... good for running also, coz is training heckloads on calves, in which for running is the number 1 muscle....followed by quads

Whispers

whenever i read back this thread...its always WOW and then a bit sian at my own inconsistency...
resolve to be more disciplined

Ender

Oh i tot is the unflavoured whey. I already dont really like the conventional isolate coz there is no body to it......if paying like $1.30-$1.40 for 30g of protein, which is like 1 small can of 90g drained weight sardines (eg $1.00 on offer for Fairprice) which would be around 23g protein....then gotta enjoy it also.

IF it's juice like, then no point, unless if ultra severe lactose intolerant.
Good idea on the canned sardine. But likely will alternate with the clear whey, coz not going to eat canned sardine or tuna everyday.

seanyboydad

Hi all, tried running recently.... from twice to 4 times a week and ended up with a bruise toe ( like I painted it black) on my left foot.... anyone can advise how to treat it or what is likely the cause? I dun think my shoes are too tight..... the usual one finger spacing fit.

relax dude.... take it easy.

Ender

Hi all, tried running recently.... from twice to 4 times a week and ended up with a bruise toe ( like I painted it black) on my left foot.... anyone can advise how to treat it or what is likely the cause? I dun think my shoes are too tight..... the usual one finger spacing fit.

relax dude.... take it easy.
Learn to live with it. If you done the one finger or thumb width allowance from the tip of the toe to the shoe front wall, nothing else I can think can be done except live with it. It's will come back again.

Ender

This evening saw a serious bicycle and pedestrian accident at our Seng Kang PCN. Both cyclist and pedestrian in serious condition, can't move laying on the floor. Other passer by giving first aid. I stayed around divert bicycle traffics.

Normal week day already high traffic for bicycles, Friday even worst. The cyclist is wearing those tour de France gear type, so I speculate to be very fast judging by the severity of the victims.

WussRedXLi

This evening saw a serious bicycle and pedestrian accident at our Seng Kang PCN. Both cyclist and pedestrian in serious condition, can't move laying on the floor. Other passer by giving first aid. I stayed around divert bicycle traffics.

Normal week day already high traffic for bicycles, Friday even worst. The cyclist is wearing those tour de France gear type, so I speculate to be very fast judging by the severity of the victims.

32-40kmh pretty normal if up to cruising speed.

My experience is that people (normal pedestrians who do not cycle) 99.9% underestimate bicycles' "force". ie not scared of bicycles compared to motorbikes. Got few cases still on mobile phones crossing slowly when i was approaching on the road with 2 front lights even. Even my kid behind was totally baffled.

That cyclist in your case also not defensive enough lah.

huattoeat

alot of cyclist like to overtake runners from the back very closely.

but runners go no eyes behind their head, is a accident waiting to happen only.

i keep a habit of looking back before i move left/right

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.