jogging and motivation thread

xllms

I'm coming to 50 Years old, are there many people older than me who run 5km at 5:5/km per day in thrice a week? Is it advisable?
yes it is possible if one conditions him/herself appropriately without over straining one's body. Build it up slowly and listen to your own body. Commit to it and stay consistent.

xllms

Of coz if one is a totally couch potato and past 20-30 years ZERO exercise (many Singaporeans are like that no joke) and now BMI 25-35 wanna gun straight into 3x a week 15k weekly mileage, then even at a snail 9min/km pace he/she is just setting up for PF or AT or patellar pain.
Need start at say 2km very slow jog, rest 3-4 days, then slowly cut down on the rest duration and up the distance slowly...you add 3-5% per week is very very safe range. Most literatures mentioned add 10% mileage weekly but i feel that might be a bit risky. 3-5% is literally idiot proof one.
you have described me so well lol 😂

WussRedXLi

you have described me so well lol 😂

Not only you or myself even, but i dare say vast vast majority of the people around us. Proper exercise at least Z2 stimulus, not just walking around the garden downstairs type. SGreans here have it worse here due to various commitments nowadays. TFR already like that liao, dont say exercise.

I also didnt exercise after post NSF, then yearly IPPT just 6-8 weeks run on treadmill and do that Lats pulldown for more reps (pull up training). Then hope for the best that conducting occifer not around the station and then my RSAF base folks/PTI all anyhow one, just use mouth to give command and eyes wander elsewhere you ownself carry on. So that i can get 216cm. on SBF. Pull up station just kick to your heart's content can get 6 reps pass liao.
I 2.4 usually no issue despite with 6-8 weeks running on treadmill coz BMI ok mah + first 200m or so is a solid 5-6% gradient downslope and i have seen it for myself they didnt press start until the last few obese walkers walk past the PTI (hao siao one i know) so best to gun it at the start you'd easily gain 30-45 seconds there.

The in between IPPT/ICTs kosong, who bloody cares. 🤣

Then no more ICTs even worse, nothing at all. Wasn't until around late 40s then i started to do occasional stairs walking up to my apt here (high floor so at least something), and then my wife and i started briskwalking and then i racewalking when covid p1 lifted and we could be free-er outside after being cooped up so long.

For women, hor hor......dont get me started. If got play Yoga is arm chio liao. But nowadays got all these Pliates and Yoga new age stuff and even latter times Crossfit and the latest being Hyrox.

WussRedXLi

2:14 pace for 1km

Comment in the vid "These are some Mo Katir type of improvements" 🤣

WussRedXLi

Like that is have to get ready where to watch the live stream liao.

Yep definitely i also interested in this. Not sure if any other youtube ch will be able to re-live stream the original coverage (copyright?), but can VPN to BBC's online player.

WussRedXLi

Onemix vs AF3

I used to wear Onemix during early COVID when doing racewalking, got from TB one.
I think in China this and other stuff like Peak got physical stores also, not say obscure brands.

WussRedXLi

Sigh....buanged on Jubilee bridge. Luckily was not training on the roads.

Was off saddle and full power gunning up the slope of the bridge in tallest gear and ultra low cadence doing the 8 reps strength training drill and then the LHS crank came off. Heng was strength training and not high speed sprinting. Buanged at around 12kmh.

Caught a flesh wound that split open on my left elbow, took 30 mins to stop the bleed.
Also knocked my head on the floor, helmet got a small dent, sigh.

Really gotta tighten (nearly over torque) the hex screws securing the crank liao. And once every 2 weeks check the screws and crank. ******* dangerous, even got chance of serious injury/death.

This part, the red one + the pedals. Think both a factor of not tightening enough and also off saddle repeated swaying outwards ba. After a period of time just came off esp exercerbated during very high torque with side shear scenario.

I guess the lucky thing is that it could have ended up much much worse, hospitalized etc.

Crankset-gravel-P1090743-1024x684.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ender

Sigh....buanged on Jubilee bridge. Luckily was not training on the roads.

Was off saddle and full power gunning up the slope of the bridge in tallest gear and ultra low cadence doing the 8 reps strength training drill and then the LHS crank came off. Heng was strength training and not high speed sprinting. Buanged at around 12kmh.

Caught a flesh wound that split open on my left elbow, took 30 mins to stop the bleed.
Also knocked my head on the floor, helmet got a small dent, sigh.

Really gotta tighten (nearly over torque) the hex screws securing the crank liao. And once every 2 weeks check the screws and crank. ******* dangerous, even got chance of serious injury/death.

This part, the red one + the pedals. Think both a factor of not tightening enough and also off saddle repeated swaying outwards ba. After a period of time just came off esp exercerbated during very high torque with side shear scenario.

I guess the lucky thing is that it could have ended up much much worse, hospitalized etc.

Crankset-gravel-P1090743-1024x684.jpg
Wah, Take care of that wound. coz the last time took me about 2 weeks of changing dressing to soak up the oozing liquid (plasma?). This period of oozing is critical as to not get it infected

Ender

$32 for policyholder is solid but this year i think they took away Passion card holders
But first 1000 for above 55 FOC seems new
55 above is no brainer for me. Fast hand and legs register for the free slots liao. Even $40 for public is a price you can't find in Singapore. Been my streak race because of the price, and the organization of logistic, the basic requirements like adequate hydration are there, won't lose to big names like 2xu or Garmin run (horrible debut for a brand race here). Except apparels and medals, they lose out to 2XU or Garmin, which I don't care much for.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.