jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

I think begineer level whole stretch of badaling for the running folks here is best. Unless if the fella is power based.

If not go for more advanced later get sore quads and glutes and cannot enjoy. No joke it is possible to be sore for the next 3 days.

If got do intermediate cycling / stair climbing / hiking then can try other stretches.

Thanks 🤩

xllms

I think begineer level badaling for the running folks here is best. Unless if the fella is power based.

If not go for more advanced later get sore quads and glutes and cannot enjoy. No joke it is possible to be sore for the next 3 days.

If got do intermediate cycling / stair climbing / hiking then can try other stretches.
agree in terms of sporting perspective. Simatai & JinShanLing 野长城 are too challenging. Even walking itself at some parts is challenging.

am more concerned about logistics for someone totally new to China system and moving around in BJ, especially if one meet any issues halfway.

WussRedXLi

OR put it this way, if cannot complete 4 rounds of Mount Faber and still feel decent (it's a tour after all, not training camp), better not try.

WussRedXLi

agree in terms of sporting perspective. Simatai & JinShanLing 野长城 are too challenging. Even walking itself at some parts is challenging.

am more concerned about logistics for someone totally new to China system and moving around in BJ, especially if one meet any issues halfway.

Yeah BDL best, just follow crowd or other overseas groups can liao. Well maintained, idiot proof, but definitely still can be a decent workout.

For normal people, i can 1000% for sure 3 days sore muscles one, absolutely no doubt about that. For older folks, it might be so painful that they can barely walk after that (DIY tour sure walk one what), shd they continue to push for the whole works and not DNF on BDL.

If schedule got time and feel good coz fit muscular zai , can try other parts as well on other days.

Oct 9 arrival i think if start the climb on a few days after arriaval shd be able to avoid the mad mad crowd. 🤣

WussRedXLi

I remember some specific parts of BDL the gradient is already quite high. Might need to get low to "crawl" and use hands liao. Not advanced level of coz, a 60 yr old can do one lah.

Remember, it is not only climbing up. Coming down also a lot of hammering of the quads.......
Coming down like maciam trying to slowly lower yourself down for some of the steps.

Ender

l70jHmi.jpeg

KpNjPxU.jpeg

14km easy yesterday. Appreciating the cushion on NB5 after back to back hard days(Intervals&Threshold).
This is my tempo or grey zones. Easy would be under 6:30min/km for me.

WussRedXLi

I dont know how the other 2 specific parts are IRL, but from the pics for Jiankou already......heh, even though i got "train".
Still, not specific to hiking, so i cannot say if i am strong or flexi/mobile enough. (aerobic capacity is ok of coz)

Again, can go up does not mean can come back down again. Or rather, just roll down lah. 🤣

Zhun boh 🤣 🤣

elIsE0t.jpg

WussRedXLi

Havent started yet already passed VT / ventilatory threshold at MTY. :unsure: (edit oh it is JSL)
Think (more like confirm) already majority Z2 power / HR.

rarenick

I like boa system coz very convenient to tighten or loosen the shoes. I found some DIY imitations that are very cheap on shopee. It is still using wires but the instructions given are to pass through the eyelets of the shoes. Is it reliable and will it damage my shoes? Or should I just get a new pair of shoes with boa instead?

xllms

@Jeremy1
if you want to "train" and sightsee at the same time, recommend you to do a run around 故宫 and take some nice pix of the place, esp at northeast tip and the main entrance
after the run, head north of 故宫 to 景山公园 and do a run up to the top of hill to catch the entire 故宫 from high ground.

XHS reference:
http://xhslink.com/a/4y9OToOxYnyfb
http://xhslink.com/a/jJxBls8sWoyfb

Another route is one round 故宫+around景山公园boundary and north entrance of 景山公园 head nirth towards 鼓楼 and head back.

XHS reference:
http://xhslink.com/a/YjF1a2NYHoyfb

you can use xhs and do simple search on BJ running routes 北京跑步路线

sph777

Finished my race. Got so lost in the swim, kayakers tapped me to say course is way over that way. Overall quite ok for first open water swim in 15 years. Felt my runs were good though I cramped up while sprinting last 50m. Got overall 11th

where was this held at ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.