jogging and motivation thread

ykau

If worried about your heart, just take any screening test. That is the best that any older exerciser/athlete can do. And also do your general $170+ one every year....i just did mine and shared the results last week.
I think if you hit 65 got govt super subsidised ones....like my parents are doing, but then i am not that age yet.

If retired liao and SG ones too costly (they can range into 1.6k for the most comprehensive ones), go BKK or MY to do. Melaka quite popular. Then enjoy holiday there also.

I only dare to push simply coz i have nothing wrong that is detected.
56 this year.
Still, i prefer shorter events.

edit - actually i have 1 medical issue, age-related macular degeneration, the nerve / spots of my eye that is degrading.
And also long sightedness.....that one LLST just use bifocal lenses.
Nowadays i have some difficulty in reading off my monitor @ work (and that is a 27" monitor)
I can also barely use my mobile phone. :frown::frown:
Not say cannot see but then i struggle a wee bit to use Paynow and TB app on the mobile phone.

eg

123536061_5063693380315438_1148541998813939039_n.jpg

Last week, my doctor shared with me that the preferred checkup is

A CT scan of the heart arteries, also known as a cardiac CT scan or coronary CT angiography (CCTA), is a non-invasive imaging test that uses X-rays to create detailed pictures of the heart and its blood vessels. It's used to assess the coronary arteries for blockages, narrowing (stenosis), or other abnormalities. This can help diagnose and manage heart conditions like coronary artery disease.

Very hard to get referrer from Polyclinic though but it really worth it to check for negative result to last the health condition for the next 5 years. This is to exercise with confidence for longevity.

Those above ones are just like yearly maintenance.

WussRedXLi

Last week, my doctor shared with me that the preferred checkup is

A CT scan of the heart arteries, also known as a cardiac CT scan or coronary CT angiography (CCTA), is a non-invasive imaging test that uses X-rays to create detailed pictures of the heart and its blood vessels. It's used to assess the coronary arteries for blockages, narrowing (stenosis), or other abnormalities. This can help diagnose and manage heart conditions like coronary artery disease.

Very hard to get referrer from Polyclinic though but it really worth it to check for negative result to last the health condition for the next 5 years. This is to exercise with confidence for longevity.

I cant quickly find the sources that i researched before, but cardiac CT i believe is in the 1.6k range something like that for local private......
Basically in MY, you pay around the same or may be cheaper even, but in ringgit. Like the stress echo cardiogram is rm888, but in SG is S$1-1.2k. But remember that our prices are with 9%.....if i am not terribly wrong, private healthcare stuff is still 0% there.

WussRedXLi

Stuff like C-reactive protein (inflammation), CK, cholesterol, that few tumor markers and FOBT already good enough. And yeah, fasting blood glucose and HbA1c. Coz some athletes abuse sugar/carbs one esp from unhealthy/processed sources. 🤣 (not say cannot, i also hoot instant noodles which actually is good sodium source, but not must be when there is a need + modeeration.
But cardiac/vascular stuff is number 1, followed closely by cancer.

ykau

I cant quickly find the sources that i researched before, but cardiac CT i believe is in the 1.6k range something like that for local private......
Basically in MY, you pay around the same or may be cheaper even, but in ringgit. Like the stress echo cardiogram is rm888, but in SG is S$1-1.2k. But remember that our prices are with 9%.....if i am not terribly wrong, private healthcare stuff is still 0% there.

you are absolutely right on the private rates. our public rate is between SG$1-$1.2k, but can use MA to partially foot the bills, and waiting q is longer (im right in the q btw). I didn't check on MY rates though.

Just to share, i brag to docter about my running routine at 3x 5km weekly. He said that doesnt mean my heart arteris are unclogged.

rarenick

you are absolutely right on the private rates. our public rate is between SG$1-$1.2k, but can use MA to partially foot the bills, and waiting q is longer (im right in the q btw). I didn't check on MY rates though.
Just to share, i brag to docter about my running routine at 3x 5km weekly. He said that doesnt mean my heart arteris are unclogged.
I watched this and found it useful to understand more about heart health but it's super long (6 hours)

ykau

I watched this and found it useful to understand more about heart health but it's super long (6 hours)

Ah..that's explained, my doctor is more than 60 years old....

In Singapore, a Carotid Intima-Media Thickness (CIMT) test, which is an ultrasound of the carotid artery, can cost between $163.50 and $800, depending on the clinic and whether it's part of a larger health screening package. Factors influencing the price include the clinic's fees, whether a consultation is included, and whether

the test is part of a package.
Health Screening Packages:
CIMT testing may be included in comprehensive health screening packages. The Clinic Group mentions a Platinum package that includes CT Calcium Score and CIMT for $1,988. HMI Medical also offers a Platinum package that includes CIMT.

I guess the below is the conventional package

https://www.hhscsg.org/screening-pa...tl-5AoxMCeXal2V1GLCx15zB6fZTBWCYaAoikEALw_wcB

Thanks for sharing the information man, very informative. I think will start my 16:8 regime again.

DigDub

Ya good timings achieved during exercise doesn't mean arteries are not clogged. I suffered heart attack when I was most active exercising a few years back.

Ender

Ya good timings achieved during exercise doesn't mean arteries are not clogged. I suffered heart attack when I was most active exercising a few years back.
Your case was not clogged arteries but congenital.

rarenick

Congenital and clogged. Basically only one artery was working so it accumulated accelerated while the other one was narrow.

After your episode, what's your advice for people in their 40s and above?

Do expensive tests regularly whether or not been exercising? Or just consistently do moderate amount of low intensity exercise and do normal blood tests?

Ender

Very long vidoe. But manage to find the one more related for runners. It's the topic on Stenosis. Many people mistakenly worry the narrowing of artery automatically mean high risk, then they will reduce running and such, and with reduce activities, they actually remove one factor that actually is beneficially to over health.

From 5:00:00 onwards on the video. Most important for narrowing of artery is the type of plaque, are they stable plaque, the calcified ones Next then are the person displaying symptom, like breathlessness during running. If cardio vascular is still tip top, then the risk is not high. He mentioned alot of cases of heart attack are form the under 50% but with soft plaque.

Ender

Congenital and clogged. Basically only one artery was working so it accumulated accelerated while the other one was narrow.
Clogged by what? Or just narrowing? The one most concerning of us is the atherosclerosis, which is actually clogged by deposit.

DigDub

After your episode, what's your advice for people in their 40s and above?

Do expensive tests regularly whether or not been exercising? Or just consistently do moderate amount of low intensity exercise and do normal blood tests?
My advice for people above 40s, do at least a CT scan to detect artery blockages. At this age, more or less will have blockage one. Maybe 5 years can do once. Those BP, heart rate monitor no use one. My cycling friend is smoker, sometimes heart rate will jump very high, but he don't care and afraid to go Dr for tests because he don't want to know. One day he got mild stroke in the brain, luckily go hospital in time so not much affected.

Exercise wise, I think can just do whatever you like. Those zone 2 exercises, I honestly don't think will help much because I feel too relaxed already. Maybe can do some siong one like a fast or super long one occasionally then the rest do a bit siong one but still not sore kind.

WussRedXLi

Yes he is correct. Hence best to screen and not leave it to fate or fully believe that exercise is a cure all that can prevent lousy cholesterol/triglyceride levels coz one ate poorly.

Or just put it this way in broscience, a house is burning, you can spray lots of water or foam (exercise) on it. But if the other side still continuously pouring fuel (petrol) in and lots of it, it's not gonna help much.

DigDub

Clogged by what? Or just narrowing? The one most concerning of us is the atherosclerosis, which is actually clogged by deposit.
Normal human heart got 2 arteries carrying oxygen, with both arteries resting on the outside of the heart. Mine is one was in the heart which was undetected. So all these while since young, one artery is functioning abnormally, the other one took on the full load, so when the clogging starts, it accelerated because most of the blood goes through the normal artery and gets clogged daster. The other one inside the heart like for 25% capacity only, so when the heart expands, it squeezes the one inside. So when my heart attack happened, I was running. The normal one is like 90,% clogged already, the inside abnormal one was squeezed as the heart muscle expanded during exercise and cause a heart attack. After fainted, the heart muscle size went back to normal and blood was able to trickle flow again, so in a sense I was lucky wasn't out of oxygen for too long and didn't had much after effects. Surgery was done to open up the artery inside to fix it.

Ender

Normal human heart got 2 arteries carrying oxygen, with both arteries resting on the outside of the heart. Mine is one was in the heart which was undetected. So all these while since young, one artery is functioning abnormally, the other one took on the full load, so when the clogging starts, it accelerated because most of the blood goes through the normal artery and gets clogged daster. The other one inside the heart like for 25% capacity only, so when the heart expands, it squeezes the one inside. So when my heart attack happened, I was running. The normal one is like 90,% clogged already, the inside abnormal one was squeezed as the heart muscle expanded during exercise and cause a heart attack. After fainted, the heart muscle size went back to normal and blood was able to trickle flow again, so in a sense I was lucky wasn't out of oxygen for too long and didn't had much after effects. Surgery was done to open up the artery inside to fix it.
Good you seems to have gained back the fitness prior to the heart attack.

rarenick

At that point u ran how fast? Very intensive or slow jog but long distance?

WussRedXLi

Talking about genetics and for what it is worth. my father totally no cardiac issue. Early 80s already.
And still can do well over 5km mileage daily (coz of my kid lol), albeit walking paces lah.
Still, those in their 80s here in SG, how many can do > 5km daily. I think only very select few.
But he quite stubborn, i told him to strengthen his glutes esp the side raises with band, he very stubborn not to do consistently.
But i am able to make him do quite a fair bit of errands, hence the > 5km mileage daily.

For my mother's side, my mum suffers from high blood pressure due to hyperthyriodism. Covid that time after shooting 2nd booster (I think 2021) the BP went up to iirc 200/140 or something. Then got polyclinic referral and after that NHC got hit her up with a scan......dont know what is the full medical name/test but it involves contrast but i am not sure if it is x-ray or CT or even ultrasound (is there such a thing). To raise HR, need to use a injected drug, coz exercise treadmill they scared she couldnt take it. But ultimately delay coz scared and gave covid and old age as an excuse to delay. heh
But in 2023 Jan she finally went for it, end up not much risk, iirc the NHC spec just said 10% heart attack risk in next 10 years due to very slight calcium deposit in only 1 of the heart valve, which is very typical of her age in the late 70s that time. Within the next 5-10 uyears come back another time open date to do.......
My mum just hit 80 this year. So my mum thinking if she even can live another 5-10 years to hoot another test. 🤣 😅

So can say genetically i think literally no risk in this area. No stroke also (vascular).

Screening i have done 2x already, but no calcium scoring or what CIMT etc. Just the normal threadmill stress ECG test. Doc said enough due to the very low risk, then i take it as enough lor.
And i think with all the info now, i think he is right.

That is one main reason why i also dare to whack in my sessions. So your individual cases might be different i guess.

Tmr my uncle going for double bypass :oops:, one 90% the other 70% IIRC. Miracle i tell you. Sat/Sun then go see him, coz first few days sure ICU (not even HDU, i got another uncle who just directly went into HDU coz "only" stent").
Actually already know during covid and opted to just take meds due to old age, but delayed until now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.