jogging and motivation thread

milkiee

think you can give this podcast a listen, its has a lot of interesting insights imo.
it been advertised that this coach has taken many ordinary fellas to sub 3 and beyond.

kkkkdllmkkkk

it feels roomy at the toes area. The shoe is designed like a slow LSD shoe (large forefoot and generally generous rear coverage in the outsoles) but runs well in wide range of paces. In the middle part it fits snuggly but not to the point of uncomfortable, to me it is just nice. As I supinate, especially more on my left, i appreciate the cut out at the inner side of the midsole at the arch area, which helps to balance my pronation issue. It fits me very well and has become my go-to shoe if i can only bring one pair for travel (jalan jalan + running). You can find out more in the reviews below.
VIDEO REVIEWS on PEAK 匹克千层浪 from some of the more established running shoe reviews in China:
https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1B77fzoE59/?spm_id_from=333.788.recommend_more_video.13
https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1sfTvzLEif/?spm_id_from=333.788.recommend_more_video.-1
https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1sdEvzqEw7/?spm_id_from=333.788.recommend_more_video.0

Re. NB Rebel v4, agree it is a nice plateless shoe to run, very good energy return and runs well in various paces, but too soft for me, especially if i go slow and land more in my heel than fore to mid foot.
if you want to a really fun shoe to run at tempo/threshold pace, can try the carbon plated QIAODAN 飞影PB3.0 or the enhanced version launched this year. Top 3 running shoes in my collection.
hahahahhah QIAODAN 飞影PB3.0 ok for slower pace like me? now is PB5.0 liao???

xllms

hahahahhah QIAODAN 飞影PB3.0 ok for slower pace like me? now is PB5.0 liao???
not so shiok in slow pace, which is why i said "for tempo and threshold pace". Personally i still prefer PB3.0 for faster paces and nicer feel on the forefoot. Makes me want to go faster and faster.

kkkkdllmkkkk

not so shiok in slow pace, which is why i said "for tempo and threshold pace". Personally i still prefer PB3.0 for faster paces and nicer feel on the forefoot. Makes me want to go faster and faster.
hahahahah tough for me.... last time i can do 5min/km, then one day i felt that my knee cap got locked. since then i cant really go fast anymore...

WussRedXLi

BTW there is one more thing that runners with recurring injuries can do, if their strengthening/plyo routine isnt helping out. (no point just piling heavier weights and higher resistance beyond a certain point also).

This is esp so for your tougher / longer sessions.

Can try band activation exercises as well, other than dynamic warm up movements.

Can be a quick one, just need 1 set per for each muscle group, you dont need much.
Dont have to be in super tip top form, you wont get injured doing this, as long as "more or less" got do and not be too floppy can already.

You activate muscle groups more for neuromuscular more than anything else.

For cyclists and runners, one common problem area is glute activation. Esp for deskbound jobs + car owners.
After makan then you are committed to the run and just do some jogging warm up (which merely raises muscle temp) a bit risky.

WussRedXLi

hahahahah tough for me.... last time i can do 5min/km, then one day i felt that my knee cap got locked. since then i cant really go fast anymore...

Careful bro, within a day sudden locking and find that range of motion is reduced = could be issue with the meniscus or some torn cartilage stuff in your knee.

Another cause would be arthritis related but that takes a lot of time before you notice the reduced ROM , so you'd know it to be a medical health issue more than exercise/training related. Like in my wife's case.
Or other inflammation things like IT band syndrome.

Just keep it safe and progressively improve in distance/pace.

winningeleven

Hardly anyone who did their first marathon felt they have trained properly. Most go in with some form of anxiety they are not ready yet. And yes, the experience for the first one is usually terrible for most is us.
My 1st marathon. Never trained Way back in 2002. . Just did a few 6 to 8km run per week.
Finished time .6hr 45 mins .

2nd marathon . SCSM 2013. Also didn't train . 5hr 50 mins.

3rd marathon was SCSM 2019. The only standchart marathon that held at evening. Got train and ran up to 30km but in the end .suffered leg cramps at 26km and finished at 5hr 10mins . If I didn't suffered cramps. My expected timing should be under 5 hours

4th marathon. Sundown 2023. I didn't train enough. Only ran 21km max . Finished at 5hr 25mins. Halfway thru the run . I feel my heart was very tight and I told myself . It was just a run and there is always another time to run .

So coming SCSM 2025 is probably a very good chance for me to improve my timing as long I maintained my running routine and really trained well for it.

Ender

My 1st marathon. Never trained Way back in 2002. . Just did a few 6 to 8km run per week.
Finished time .6hr 45 mins .

2nd marathon . SCSM 2013. Also didn't train . 5hr 50 mins.

3rd marathon was SCSM 2019. The only standchart marathon that held at evening. Got train and ran up to 30km but in the end .suffered leg cramps at 26km and finished at 5hr 10mins . If I didn't suffered cramps. My expected timing should be under 5 hours

4th marathon. Sundown 2023. I didn't train enough. Only ran 21km max . Finished at 5hr 25mins. Halfway thru the run . I feel my heart was very tight and I told myself . It was just a run and there is always another time to run .

So coming SCSM 2025 is probably a very good chance for me to improve my timing as long I maintained my running routine and really trained well for it.
I see, not your first.. ONly two years gap.. Can lah, you know the feeling..

DigDub

Wah finally see the Nike pegasus premium in the flesh.
6Z4Da2m.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.