jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Feel lucky that i did not slip that much for long distance......coz been only running testing 3k and 3-4k running workouts. I think possible to maintain for another 3 months before i bump up to 5-6k mileage (ie need some longer runs at 7-8k) in preparation for 2026 Apr

Think can now go out for a short low Z2 1-1.5hrs spin, so good weather. Eat some choc now.

As always the good thing about 2.4/3k or even 5k is that you are not konked out after a very fast/hard session. (y)

pKZH4Dh.jpg

You're damn fast. (y)

Yesterday I did sprints.

5 x 100m / 3.20 pace (wah today feel great, top form)

5 x 200m / 3.30 pace (feeling good!)

5 x 300m / 3.50s pace
(WTF! why suddenly out of power... supposed to run 3.40s)

5 x 400m / 4.20s pace
(Curryneh cannot anymore la 😂, target pace was below 4 )

Coros app classify the run as Anaerobic.

Training effect: 5.1 Overreaching

Suggest to rest for 58 hours. Siao so long. 😄

xllms

Think that one cheaper chinese wheels (not Farsports/Yeoleo/Winspace type) already close to 5k with GST / shipping even if i self import. :s16:
Then maybe DIY fix or if cannot handle then ~ $200 for local bike shop to fix up/tune a bit.

Feel shiok also need to ride really fast if riding such "race" bikes. I just scared i cannot carry the thing through.

This 60 yr old really can carry it through though.
Both speed/power + endurance.

QuickPro ER:One bike frame (RMB13,998) is priced similarly to the Seka Spear RDC (RMB13,990), so it won't be cheap
If you are looking for a more budget friendly aero-endurance frame, prioritizing comfort with relatively good performances, perhaps can consider the following:
TSFA JH-33 (RMB3,150)
JH-35 (RMB6,800): more expensive, lighter and improved version of JH-33 (new)
Elves Falath EXP (RMB 7180)
Elves Vanyar Pro (RMB6,500)
Seka Exceed RDC (RMB 6,990)
Have learned from socia media, many cyclist enthusiasts have bought the TSFA JH-33 to DIY and credited it as one which rides quite similarly to the Specialized Tarmac SL-7. Probably best bang for buck. Did a calculation before, i can probably build a fairly well spec bike using JH-33 with electronic groupset (overall weight below 8kg) at a budget of approx. RMB10,500 without assembly charges.

use the savings on good groupset, wheelset and tyres to get more shiok feeling.

winningeleven

If my whole body looks lean but only belly is protruding, means I didn't train enough? Those of u always run long distances like half/full marathon, all no love handles? Beside always run half marathon distance at least twice a month .
Yes . Me no belly . Even my backside also flatten after I ran regularly . i guess a lot also depend on your diet .

Most of my colleagues think that as long they sweat under the hot sun. They can drink many can of 100 plus and coconut water . For me. Most of the time I only drink plain water

xllms

Yes . Me no belly . Even my backside also flatten after I ran regularly . i guess a lot also depend on your diet .

Most of my colleagues think that as long they sweat under the hot sun. They can drink many can of 100 plus and coconut water . For me. Most of the time I only drink plain water
my default this super hot summer is a bottle of coconut water + 0.5litres bottle of plain water after my runs.

rarenick

Wonder if such stuff ok or not. ie Safe or not.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?from=cart&id=737080448409&skuId=5093213197283&spm=a1z0d.6639537/202410.item.d737080448409.453b7484fFVRFE&upStreamPrice=385800
I think my stock CF wheels that came with the Sava, worth and similar to stuff like $200-250 or so on TB nia (maybe some T700/T800 mixed stuff). But it seems that from mid-2024 onwards, Sava manufactures its bike/wheels in Huizhou Guangdong, in which it also manufactures its CF electric power surfboards. I think people used to say it's just an OEM rebrander.
Partly i guess that is also how the whole bike with R7170 (105 Di2) with T800 and 20% reinforced with T1000 can only cost 2k assembled. (ownself buy is 1.8k SGD on TB, but that is before GST and shipping)
But you are right, i was actually wanting to see if i will be getting something like a Quick Pro ER:One or something......and better wheels (so maybe get Farsports wheels to put on it)........but lately i was also gravitating towards just sticking to a $700-900 wheels upgrade and then sua. The loss for the stock wheels not a lot.
I not sure if i am fast or not. I TT WCH 5km longer intervals (the chevron at Vivo start, then the chevron at pasir panjang end stop) around 7:15 avg i can get, at threshold HR, windless. Solo....i dont do groups. Basically ~ 42kmh avg.
I only get below 40 (39kmh sometimes 38) when uphill portions. I can maintain around 4 intervals of this pace. Then is muscles (lactate/strength) give up first before cardio. lol
For short 30/40 intervals (microburst) i now do at Bay East Garden after 9pm, and some other chapalang intervals i might do at Sentosa. For climbing fun occasionally i do Mt Faber. Joyride/Z2 anywhere also can.

First, u are not slow. Your speed is worthy of good wheels although need not overspend if you're not comfortable in paying for high end branded wheels. I think a wheelset of around 1k to 2k is OK. Buying less than 1k is a risk as wheels must be reliable, safe and durable. Cheap wheels might see reduced materials used but not strong, hub not stiff enough, etc.

WussRedXLi

@sph777

Really gotta be careful during the swim leg.

Not sure how one can pop her shoulder one. ie dislocated

But in real life, i really have come across someone dislocating her jaw while yawning big. Reallly some scary shiat.

WussRedXLi

First, u are not slow. Your speed is worthy of good wheels although need not overspend if you're not comfortable in paying for high end branded wheels. I think a wheelset of around 1k to 2k is OK. Buying less than 1k is a risk as wheels must be reliable, safe and durable. Cheap wheels might see reduced materials used but not strong, hub not stiff enough, etc.

Ok....yea that is my current question mark coz while i think it is Sava factory stock CF + steel spoke wheels, though cheap, hopefully it still should be strong enough.

The other wheels, though using higher tech/higher grade materials, you really gotta believe in their QC during assembly among other things.

I dont know what that marco.cycles local youtuber was using, but his CF spoke did break before.....and needed replacement...he showed that in a video. He riding a Seka Exceed RDC.

WussRedXLi

You're damn fast. (y)

Yesterday I did sprints.

5 x 100m / 3.20 pace (wah today feel great, top form)

5 x 200m / 3.30 pace (feeling good!)

5 x 300m / 3.50s pace
(WTF! why suddenly out of power... supposed to run 3.40s)

5 x 400m / 4.20s pace
(Curryneh cannot anymore la 😂, target pace was below 4 )

Coros app classify the run as Anaerobic.

Training effect: 5.1 Overreaching

Suggest to rest for 58 hours. Siao so long. 😄

Maybe overreaching coz too much jump in volume + intensity suddenly.

I feel sprints enjoyable and even addictive actually mainly coz it is really hard running, but it is so short hence it's like a "very painful but instaneous death". The help is more of neuromuscular, in areas like RE, it trains in a way that is not possible by other methods....but that very top part of the pyramid is very very small. Still, it is that small part that the vast majority of folks do not train, ie it is an area that is vastly untouched by many.

Actually SIT / Sprint Interval Training is more like 95-100% RPE, maximal effort. But short distances of 60m, 75m. Duration is less than 12-15s nothing more than 20s max. You wanna empty the ATP-PC system and more or less that is it. Recovery is in the minutes one even for just a 12-15 seconds effort if you want a classic true SIT workout, even a fit pax needs like 2 mins, unfit ones just starting up to 5 mins is possible. The work :rest ratio is like 1:8. Coz next rep is also done at 95-100% RPE. Hence at such effort levels + fastest possible pace, You are sort of forced to maintain among your top possible form that is achievable by you.

Beginners / those haven't cleared cardiac tests, better not try though. Might need to do strength conditioning first, might screw up the hamstring also. It can quickly expose weak areas in your musculoskeletal system.

Running and Cycling both can be helped

BTW, some vids say to do SITs up to 30 seconds....coz some studies quote 30 seconds. That might not be SIT already though the benefits shd still largely be there. True full maximal sprints (@ 95-100% RPE) actually cannot be physiologically maintained for 30 seconds though your mind be be able to push and think you are doing 100% , if you wanna work a bit more of the glycolytic system also after the ATP-PC dials down, which probably might be more useful for our middle distances then maybe prolong to 20 seconds. ie Like your 5 x 100m @ 3:20 pace which is 20 seconds exactly.

WussRedXLi

If my whole body looks lean but only belly is protruding, means I didn't train enough? Those of u always run long distances like half/full marathon, all no love handles?

If you have been doing tons of volume in your base ride, and iirc your run distance is like 8-10k range currently....maybe try Sprint Interval Training? Add some pepper into your life. See the post above i gave to sales69
Must be careful of coz. But it isnt inherently dangerous. I mid-50s also can do, so i dont see why folks in their 20s, 30s need to be squeamish (of coz some folks in their 30s have lifestyle diseases already, so do check with your physician.......for me i have zero comorbidities)

Doing tons of base riding helps......but i think we are talking about really tons, think like at least 10 hours a week maybe 15-20 hrs base rides confirm bao jiak. Coz then you literally not much time to nua, that's about it. lol.

The issue is NEAT, Non Exercise Activity Thermogenesis. Do a google search on the details.

The body would try to compensate. So you might have ran 8k, then cycled 20k daily. But the body tries to adjust and slow your BMR and other physical activities down, you would not wanna move one. Worse, some go sleep. Of coz sleep is good for recovery, but you are talking about things like love handles mah.

Also, there is no spot fat reduction, we asian men just store fats around the belly best. Hence the problem.

ps. I assume your diet is already nicely in check. Dont cut down on the proteins to below 1.2g/kg definitely not at your age.

WussRedXLi

QuickPro ER:One bike frame (RMB13,998) is priced similarly to the Seka Spear RDC (RMB13,990), so it won't be cheap
If you are looking for a more budget friendly aero-endurance frame, prioritizing comfort with relatively good performances, perhaps can consider the following:
TSFA JH-33 (RMB3,150)
JH-35 (RMB6,800): more expensive, lighter and improved version of JH-33 (new)
Elves Falath EXP (RMB 7180)
Elves Vanyar Pro (RMB6,500)
Seka Exceed RDC (RMB 6,990)

Have learned from socia media, many cyclist enthusiasts have bought the TSFA JH-33 to DIY and credited it as one which rides quite similarly to the Specialized Tarmac SL-7. Probably best bang for buck. Did a calculation before, i can probably build a fairly well spec bike using JH-33 with electronic groupset (overall weight below 8kg) at a budget of approx. RMB10,500 without assembly charges.

use the savings on good groupset, wheelset and tyres to get more shiok feeling.

Bro, i tot you cannot buy bicycle one? How come you know so many models and stuff one?!?!?! :unsure:

I can tell your mind is willing and the dark side enticing, but physical constraints holding you back. :s16:

I can tell you, esp if you are a runner who likes to run fast, the dark side is addictive one.
Imagine you can "run" like Kipchoge in his 1:59 FM in Vienna but you still in zone 1 and not feeling warm even in Singapore high heat index weather.

Anyway, i recommend you go look see this seller.
From the Quick Pro ER:One to TSFA bikes all have. The TSFA JH 33 bike is a T800 bike , and the price is solid....just not sure about the QC and how they do the CF layup and stuff like that only. But if the feel is close to Specialized SL-7 then that is really what matters.
https://shop136627176.taobao.com/sh...88705.4aaf7484MOOImj&user_number_id=739188705

WussRedXLi

Yesterday I did sprints.

Actually the running sprints vid i posted above also not too good. The recovery phase running pace too fast, though 50 yards sprints @ 100% is good. You might wanna walk back, and those starting out might even need to incorporate a minute or even 2 mins of standing rest.
Coz different fitness people have different HR recovery rates.

This video explains it clearer. And yes, he touched on not going over 20 seconds....which is what i believe in as well. In fact what i do is approx 12 seconds, and that works out to around 75 metres for my pace, you might find that you can peak below 2:30 pace, possibly getting to near 2:00 pace after you get stronger and stronger.

@rarenick do check the vid out as well. Dont do SITs like your normal intervals.
The video also touches on what i previously mentioned, the gouging effect that your brain has after your session, either you feel lousy and wanna slow down, or it screws up your intake and getting you enticed with eating and if you are not disciplined and/or count the energy caloric intake then god bless, forget about the fat loss.

And yeah, since you also do resistance strength training (more muscles, easier to burn / BMR etc), you shd be on the right track.

rarenick

Ok....yea that is my current question mark coz while i think it is Sava factory stock CF + steel spoke wheels, though cheap, hopefully it still should be strong enough.
The other wheels, though using higher tech/higher grade materials, you really gotta believe in their QC during assembly among other things.
I dont know what that marco.cycles local youtuber was using, but his CF spoke did break before.....and needed replacement...he showed that in a video. He riding a Seka Exceed RDC.

Life is more important than speed and money. Hence just pump in a bit more on proven products. So many people using winspace hyper wheels locally. I think it will be a safer bet.

xllms

Bro, i tot you cannot buy bicycle one? How come you know so many models and stuff one?!?!?! :unsure:

I can tell your mind is willing and the dark side enticing, but physical constraints holding you back. :s16:

I can tell you, esp if you are a runner who likes to run fast, the dark side is addictive one.
Imagine you can "run" like Kipchoge in his 1:59 FM in Vienna but you still in zone 1 and not feeling warm even in Singapore high heat index weather.

Anyway, i recommend you go look see this seller.
From the Quick Pro ER:One to TSFA bikes all have. The TSFA JH 33 bike is a T800 bike , and the price is solid....just not sure about the QC and how they do the CF layup and stuff like that only. But if the feel is close to Specialized SL-7 then that is really what matters.
https://shop136627176.taobao.com/sh...88705.4aaf7484MOOImj&user_number_id=739188705
me no ride, no place to put/park my bicycle at home. cleanliness freak like me also will want to clean the bike properly before bringing it into the house. current house just don't have the conditions to do so.

done much homework myself thats y know all the information given. done a few options based on budgets and different components as well.

yes i like speed and i know i will enjoy cycling and i know it can be dangerous for me in various forms
1) ride fast and kena uneven road surfaces and buang!
2) go deeper into the rabbit hole and spend more and more buying different components to try

one middle ground am exploring is bike simulator at home, eg. cycplus T7/wahoo kickr. even with this, not cheap and need spce at home which i hardly have 😂

rarenick

me no ride, no place to put/park my bicycle at home. cleanliness freak like me also will want to clean the bike properly before bringing it into the house. current house just don't have the conditions to do so.
done much homework myself thats y know all the information given. done a few options based on budgets and different components as well.
yes i like speed and i know i will enjoy cycling and i know it can be dangerous for me in various forms
1) ride fast and kena uneven road surfaces and buang!
2) go deeper into the rabbit hole and spend more and more buying different components to try
one middle ground am exploring is bike simulator at home, eg. cycplus T7/wahoo kickr. even with this, not cheap and need spce at home which i hardly have
1f602.png

For those who haven't started ROAD cycling, I will normally advise not to start. I can list so many bad things about it after riding for 3 decades (and slowly dropping off this hobby). There are better alternatives.

WussRedXLi

Life is more important than speed and money. Hence just pump in a bit more on proven products. So many people using winspace hyper wheels locally. I think it will be a safer bet.

Ok noted, i gotcha.

For those who haven't started ROAD cycling, I will normally advise not to start. I can list so many bad things about it after riding for 3 decades (and slowly dropping off this hobby). There are better alternatives.

I think during first 2-3 months i was posting here regarding minor accidents i saw on both the road and PCN.
Then bro Ender was like asking me why i so "heng" one, come across so many accidents. 🤣

The first second month after i started, within first dozen time i went on Bay Garden East PCN, i already came across a direct HEAD-ON, no less, at that slight S bend near Marina Barrage bridge. One of the party (i think father or uncle or something, was a male) yelled NNBCB no joke, and then CRASH. Didnt say on for the SCDF though.......very high chance need coz 1 party not really moving. The crash sound terok, one party was going downhill and overtaking us rather fast. One passing coffee ride group roadies stopped to assist. My kid that time was on his old BMX somemore and i was only my foldie....my kid actually was quite affected by this and was asking if it is safe to continue cycling. I told him i will teach him the skills no need to be afraid.

Actually truth be told, nowadays i still a bit wary on Bay Garden East and GBTB cycling lanes despite having good experience there. The chance of a small accident on the cycling lane is not low. Compared to say West Coast Highway, the chance of an accident is much lower if you have good rear/front lights on (good front STVZO lights can increase rear visibility as well, the light can reflect off the LHS viaduct walls), but the consequence should one happen due to sleepy drunk driver is much higher even if one solo.
Just a few weeks ago i posted the pic of a SCDF ambulance case just in front of Garden By the Bay toilet corner, a runner got hit by cyclist think arm got broken or something coz arm need to be immobilized.
Yes, wearing all black top and bottom. Notjing wrong with full black attire, i do that most of the time (coz my branded Hoka top is black and ASICS shorts also black, lelong colour mah 🤣 ) just gotta clip on the lights

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.