jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

i start around 4 light rain liao

Yeah just a short while that time, passing showers. It's a NE monsoon surge, so all those patches of shower move quite fast.

When i am flying my big kites, i don't even bother to keep. Coz got wind, it will also dry very fast.

WussRedXLi

5.07am, sounds like my kind of timing.....though that nicoll highway area i only rode 2X over there. :unsure:
The way one illuminates himself in the dark (360 deg visiblity) and how one crosses at zebra crossings/signalised junctions really is always key. I still do not ride on the roads, only exposure is at the crossings and some very short distances of roads in order to reach from one signalised crossing to another one within 100m distance after crossing.

But the same goes for joggers crossing at 5-8 min pace.

For those exercising / training like nearly daily or daily (eg me) and crossing junctions in the dark like dozens of times daily, do consider safety equipment. It's just not the same as your home-office daily commuting risks.
Esp one is very tempted to cross when the red man is lit, coz really no vehicles mah.
ps. earphones /music somemore for some.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...un-accident-on-nicoll-highway-driver-arrested

SINGAPORE – A 45-year-old cyclist died after a hit-and-run accident on Nicoll Highway on Dec 19 morning.

The man was unconscious when taken to hospital, where he subsequently died, said the police in response to The Straits Times’ queries on Dec 20.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force said a person was taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

The police said they were alerted at 5.07am to an accident involving a car and a bicycle on Nicoll Highway towards Guillemard Road.

The driver, a 33-year-old man, was later arrested for dangerous driving causing death, added the police. Investigations are under way.

Looks like runner + cyclist also.

screenshot_20231222_175313_linkedin-2-jpg.44753

WussRedXLi

Last evening was just a drizzle over at SK. Wind is chilly. Shiok, bo lang. Best is no cyclist and pmd.. runners also fewer.
Now at MBS again, resting n checking the radar. Also very few pple at MBS area even though cooling. Think is Xmas period. People relac for festive season i guess

Even road cyclsts easily just 1/3rd the usual number on a Sat mornig. Coz usuall this is the "choke point" here at Anson/Cecil/Shenton way, where literally whole country cycling groups get past or makan and rest here at the hawker or coffeeshop pitstops.

milkiee

do you all wear like any illumination vest or blink light when running at night?

some of the routes that I run are quite poorly lit and there are some cyclist once in awhile

WussRedXLi

do you all wear like any illumination vest or blink light when running at night?

some of the routes that I run are quite poorly lit and there are some cyclist once in awhile

Some here wear. For me i definitely wear.

Since your running place has cyclists, better wear.....i mean by cyclists it might be bangla/indian/chinese workers on their bikes going to work and pitch black one. Not necessarily foldies, MTB or road bikes recreational riders.
Just 2-3 nights ago i nearly hit side-swiped with a bangla in his dark overalls, zero light on him. Somemore at best was 15kmh / 4 min pace hor coz i was turning on my bike. I really could not see him, though he could 1000% see me as i am always lit up like an Xmas tree.

Esp so if you are a fast runner, doing below 5 min pace. If below 4 min pace for your 2.4/3/5K TT, you'd better wear, thank me a few years later, sure got good chance 出事的. Esp so if you are on music, even for Shokz earphones it is still a slight distraction, some bike bells not so easy to discern esp from farther away.

The thing is not so much about death or disability, but more of missing teeth (i already missing 1 of my front teeth, accident during my teens) or facial injury. Nowadays not cheap, implants and aesthetic surgery.
Unless you have rider that can cover all or 5% and private.

Actress Jaime Teo breaks collarbone trying to overtake cyclists at MBS​

https://mothership.sg/2022/03/jaime-teo-cycling-breaks-collarbone/

Atrina_Boy

this morning need to U turn after 5 mins jog due to rain

Hope to continue tomorrow morning

milkiee

Some here wear. For me i definitely wear.

Since your running place has cyclists, better wear.....i mean by cyclists it might be bangla/indian/chinese workers on their bikes going to work and pitch black one.
Just 2-3 nights ago i nearly hit side-swiped with a bangla in his dark overalls, zero light on him. Somemore at best was 15kmh / 4 min pace hor coz i was turning on my bike. I really could not see him, though he could 1000% see me as i am always lit up like an Xmas tree.

Esp so if you are a fast runner, doing below 5 min pace. If below 4 min pace for your 2.4/3/5K TT, you'd better wear, thank me a few years later, sure got good chance 出事的.

The thing is not so much about death or disability, but more of missing teeth (i already missing 1 of my front teeth, accident during my teens) or facial injury. Nowadays not cheap, implants and aesthetic surgery.
Unless you have rider that can cover all or 5% and private.
those led arm band should be enough right?

WussRedXLi

But broken bones in middle age (esp when elderly) is a bit debatable.

I know some folks just fall a bit, pelvis pecah liao.

Really depends on things like stimulus on the bone, Magnesium, D3, calcium etc. And it takes years.

Also, years of neglect can take your toll. So can some undiagnosed stuff like RA (inflammation) and screwing up your bone matrix (osteoporosis in a slow but chronic manner)........all subclinical one. You wouldnt know and would not have guessed it.

WussRedXLi

Not say very bright those type from shopee (taobao china stuff).......but can la. Anything is better than nothing

Do you tuck in your top into your trousers? If you do, i can recommend you some clip lights. Clip into the elastic top of your shorts, front and back.

If you have waist running belt (keep mobile phone, keys etc), then lagi easier.

WussRedXLi

this morning need to U turn after 5 mins jog due to rain

Hope to continue tomorrow morning
The rain on off type. I also had to cut short a bit of my cycling ride after my run. Coz was on the rail corridor so not exactly got shelter there. Weather radar shows passing showers, is can wait it out one lah.....but might get wet while on the rail corridor

WussRedXLi

Ok shall just post n share for all to see if interested.

For general running.....this is enough. 1. Lightweight @ 33g. 2. not say very big (dont get the too small stuffs). 3. cheap
4. It's among the brightest and widest spreading beam for budget lights
5. Good battery capacity. If you set on blinking, i have already measured it, the brightest blink mode can last like 3-4 hrs. It's pretty bright actually, approx 50 lumens if i were to compare it to my Moon Helix 450's 80 ANSI FL-1 lumens in solid mode which is a legit output measurement.

White for front, red for back. I use the whites on my helmet. I use 4 of these clipped to my rear rack small back and connected to my 20k mah powerbank in solid mode, so approx 200 lumens in solid output mode.
(for bikes, due to higher speeds, it's best to have some lights in solid mode so that cars can gauge your travelling speed better, coz blinking mode not easy to gauge for them vehicles......but then for runners at lower speeds not as big an issue)

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.0.0.56b32e8dirFn8G&id=611682653420&_u=n1u0hciba9e0

Shopee also has, but the SG seller quite costly.
https://shopee.sg/Machfally-BK400-C...59&xptdk=add6e1b0-16d8-4d8c-b38e-e116e96d9f59

WussRedXLi

Actually to come clean, just now i very nearly whacked into 1 runner who was running quite fast. Coz something like T junction there and partially blocked until the last minute. If both parties also dark dark, then halleluha.

At least one party gotta have lights, so that the chances of non-collision rises. If both parties got lights, then even farther away positive ID by at least 1 party can happen.

Helmet lights help also, coz those lights are elevated and for cyclists they tend to sit a bit elevated higher up compared to a runner. Good if cars or those plastic/concrete barriers or shrubbery block your lights lower down.

Go figure.

WussRedXLi

Rain clearing, Time for doubles! (maybe later @ evening, wanna play lights also :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:)

KNN helmet not even fully dry. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.