jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I was running at about 6.30 am ish past the barrage area, at that time still not many people. Generally should keep left on either direction but here nobody cares. :C

Yea man......significant portion doesnt care.

Oh yeah just tot of this, i think at 8-9am ish at this time of the year, the sun is shining directly into the eyes of the direction where MBE is heading towards Marina Barrage bridge, hence causing a fair amount of glare. So that might have contributed to the accident as 1 direction would somewhat be blinded. And then you add in speed to the equation + weekend crowd, sure high chance accident.

Was cycling with the kid again yesterday on Sunday and was just at GBTB, then told my kid we gotta head back and go Sentosa, coz with no sunglasses really could barely see. Quite dangerous coz i got reminded of Sat's accident.

sph777

Yea man......significant portion doesnt care.

Oh yeah just tot of this, i think at 8-9am ish at this time of the year, the sun is shining directly into the eyes of the direction where MBE is heading towards Marina Barrage bridge, hence causing a fair amount of glare. So that might have contributed to the accident as 1 direction would somewhat be blinded. And then you add in speed to the equation + weekend crowd, sure high chance accident.

Was cycling with the kid again yesterday on Sunday and was just at GBTB, then told my kid we gotta head back and go Sentosa, coz with no sunglasses really could barely see. Quite dangerous coz i got reminded of Sat's accident.
Yeah I think could be a significant factor. Glare no joke

animeonegai

Just update, i applied thick layer of zambuk on the worst area which is my arm. During shower, i will use soap to clean the wounds and anti bacteria wipes after the shower to prevent bacteria, then apply zambuk again and bandage the area.

Late afternoon i started noticing my left main toe started to swollen with light purple colour on the toe nail. I guess i try to stop my fall by placing all strength onto 1 toe but fail. What should i do now to make my swollen toe recover faster?

I think i have to stop running for a while. How long do u take to start some recovery workout?

WussRedXLi

Just update, i applied thick layer of zambuk on the worst area which is my arm. During shower, i will use soap to clean the wounds and anti bacteria wipes after the shower to prevent bacteria, then apply zambuk again and bandage the area.

Late afternoon i started noticing my left main toe started to swollen with light purple colour on the toe nail. I guess i try to stop my fall by placing all strength onto 1 toe but fail. What should i do now to make my swollen toe recover faster?

I think i have to stop running for a while. How long do u take to start some recovery workout?

Nothing much you can do to the bruised toe.

Just lay off for 1-2 weeks lor, depending on severity. If you can cycle, then do it, so as to not lose 1-2 weeks for aerobic capacity base building if you are on performance training. If not training then no need to care so much, just relax for 1-2 weeks.

animeonegai

Nothing much you can do to the bruised toe.

Just lay off for 1-2 weeks lor, depending on severity. If you can cycle, then do it, so as to not lose 1-2 weeks for aerobic capacity base building if you are on performance training. If not training then no need to care so much, just relax for 1-2 weeks.
I cant relax for 1 2 week. :( Its already a habit inbuild to do exercise almost everyday. It will be better to have some advise recovery exercise. I cant do much on my toe. But there should be other things I can do. :(

xllms

swollen toe me also kena. i was told by medical professions to just let it grow off and avoid wearing shoes that add further pressure on the same area.
i think still can continue running if you can, just wear shoes with larger toe space that does not aggravate the toe. Adjust running style and do not exert on your toes. If running outdoor is a potential hazard, can do it in gym treadmill. If cannot run, do brisk walking also better than nothing. This will help to maintain your conditioning.
just a personal thought after stopping running due to bad flu with persistent coughing + work demands + busy dealing with other stuffs.
just had a 10km run this morning after about1.5 mths laying off, the regressing is serious. my conditioning is approx. 4 mths ago based on my pacing and how i feel when i run.

sph777

swollen toe me also kena. i was told by medical professions to just let it grow off and avoid wearing shoes that add further pressure on the same area.
i think still can continue running if you can, just wear shoes with larger toe space that does not aggravate the toe. Adjust running style and do not exert on your toes. If running outdoor is a potential hazard, can do it in gym treadmill. If cannot run, do brisk walking also better than nothing. This will help to maintain your conditioning.
just a personal thought after stopping running due to bad flu with persistent coughing + work demands + busy dealing with other stuffs.
just had a 10km run this morning after about1.5 mths laying off, the regressing is serious. my conditioning is approx. 4 mths ago based on my pacing and how i feel when i run.
Small steps bro! Welcome back to the running scene

Ender

for my age, i dare not jog far, the most max 10km.
then embark a brisk walk every weekend once.
Yesterday completed a marathon of 42km brisk walk.
For health, 10km is more than enough per session. Those who run more than that have running goals and at times might be detrimental to health if overdone.

Ender

Toe injury, ya common among runners. Usually not serious enough to stop running .

xllms

Small steps bro! Welcome back to the running scene
yah, taking one step at a time. was feeling horrible first 4km. strong cold north wind made it worse. wanted to stop at 5-6km, somehow managed to push myself towards a longer route. slowed down to cross an obstacle broke my momentum and no longer had the legs to run below 6.30/km after that. now feeling drained and legs no strength, almost tripped as i walked up the stairs earlier.
have to keep going if not no excuse to buy new running shoes (want to buy asics superblast beige colorway) and travel to run. 🤣

sph777

yah, taking one step at a time. was feeling horrible first 4km. strong cold north wind made it worse. wanted to stop at 5-6km, somehow managed to push myself towards a longer route. slowed down to cross an obstacle broke my momentum and no longer had the legs to run below 6.30/km after that. now feeling drained and legs no strength, almost tripped as i walked up the stairs earlier.
have to keep going if not no excuse to buy new running shoes (want to buy asics superblast beige colorway) and travel to run. 🤣
Jia you!

WussRedXLi

Wah 6 weeks laying off, is definitely feelable one......

WussRedXLi

I cant relax for 1 2 week. :( Its already a habit inbuild to do exercise almost everyday. It will be better to have some advise recovery exercise. I cant do much on my toe. But there should be other things I can do. :(

Only thing i can think of is cycling, swimming.

If not can whack push ups, calf raises / tib raises, squats, use reisstance bands train TFL, hamstrings.....upper body and lower limbs. Mai hiam, still v good, is a positive step for your performance and health

I purchased full sets of resistance bands the short and long ones also for this reason. Sometimes like rain etc....cant really go out also, or cant go out for long. Several sessions just outside for 15 mins and that is it, need to turn back. IS a turn off. So if got more alternatives, is good.
Your mind wont feel that the day is wasted.

WussRedXLi

for my age, i dare not jog far, the most max 10km.
then embark a brisk walk every weekend once.
Yesterday completed a marathon of 42km brisk walk.

42k chillax walk is i think same as ard 200km foldable bicycle chillax ride. heh.....

42k walk uses ard the same energy as maybe around 70km run (nearly 2X the energy). Coz less efficient.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.