jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I think if you are going to start aiming for longer distances and also the requisite higher mileages, really need to see if you have the time or not.
Coz the recovery aspect, as in sufficient quality sleep, i think is pretty impt.

For my experience, i think for running i don't share already, i posted the improvements......but seriously the improvements are not that quick and clear to see, in terms of training and sleep.

What is even clearer, in my experience, is the improvements in the area of strength training, in the number of (quality) reps as well as able to progressively load. I do daily, but just short periods on coz i load different muscles via different exercises on alternate days. Sometimes i might take 1 rest day, but i never hit say for eg decline/diamond push ups, calf raises basically bodyweight stuff on consecutive days. Then other muscles with resistance bands via rows/curls/good mornings/whatever.
Earlier on in the strengthening/body weight game, i have ever tried consecutive days push ups......really not much power at all, not productive one.

But then for strength training there is 1 big difference from running/cycling or sometimes walking with the wife........and that is strength training is train till near failure. For running cycling still got zone 1 zone 2 stuff, so i think can do 6-7 times a week. But regardless, i think sleep is damn important, since late 2022 i place a lot of emphasis on this, so much so that sometimes i take melatonin. But largely with good sleep habits and sleep hygiene and with some melatonin, more or less is can get at least 7 hrs daily, vast majority of the time is quality.

But not asking folks to try melatonn, it might not be a good thing esp if you are using it for longer periods.
Quite personal thing this one.......
But then sometimes i really need to wake up at 5am, so really need to get to sleep by 9.30pm latest, so........
Nowadays cooler weather at night so at least can do evening sessions as it's not too warm.

But if work demands (regular OT?) and the commute/family schedules cannot let you squeeze in enough sleep + training time, it's gonna be quite tough.

And then for me, i also place some emphasis on diet and supplements. Not sure how much the effect that has though...... But i do know for the kinf of supplements that i and my wife are taking, it does show up in my wife's blood tests. eg iron, D3, calcium (Calcium one is my mother in law). Coz some do not believe in these chemical supplementation.....of coz if your diet can eat enough of real quality food then that is the best.

ps. I know for sure if sick with colds/flus, really need the sleep. If it's just a slight cold and you think it's ok, no need to sleep it off, that bout of cold sure drag one. Then sleep 1 night solid one, next day like literally symptomless liao.....recovered. I think most of you would have experienced before.

ps. Maybe i give an eg. Say your work you knock off at 7pm, sometimes 7.30. Leave office to reach home doorstep is 1hr, pretty avg. By the time you reach time it would be 8pm regularly, sometimes 8.30 or even closer to 9. Quick makan and 9.45 earliest leave home to whack, after that bathe, relax a bit, sleep.
Next day 7.30am need to leave home to reach office at 8.30, so that means waking up at 6.45am latest.
It's literally impossible to squeeze in longer training sessions (long runs / long cycles) and still get suffiicient sleep. Only thing you have is weekends, but that's 1 long Z2 session only, unless if you really are the type who can recover fully (sports massage etc) and sleep with quality 9-10hrs
Quite difficult.

Then the other way round......1 eg is for me i am blessed (Sort of, my pay aint high at all lol) that my office is nearby 1km away and so that's time saved, no OT and also i can use that to have a bit of Z1/Z2 walk/run, in addition to my lunch commute back to home and my lunch hrs also somewhat flexi 1.5 to 2hrs so sometimes if really warm/sweaty i take a bath at home. :ROFLMAO:
9-6 working hrs.

Ender

how to tackle joint pain during jog?
fweels rike moi joints are breaking on landing every step esp at the side of knee level
To alleviate loading on the knees these is what I do,
1. Land on the ball of the foot. This activate calves muscle that takes up a portion of the load.
2. Always land with knees slightly flex. This activate the quads which will take up a portion of the loading.

Joint pain means injure liao. Be careful not to over do it. Gradual increments of mileage with easy runs and don't tahan pain.

Base building with easy run when you no longer having joint pain.

Try minimalist footwear and start with low mileage with gradual increments.

WussRedXLi

What I mean is that during the run, will there be any toilet booth along the Marathon route which you can go so that your run will not be diverted and still be valid for the Marathon.

Yes, any run even 5k, 10k in those runs with HM/FM would have porta toilet booths.

Additionally also got toilets along the way at the usual spots they route through, eg Marina barrage, Gardens by the bay. For those bigger events of coz

If you want, also can even detour into airconditioned MBS mall and take a leak there.........blow some AC first also can

ECP B1 area (That park run area) near the green bridge and also Merlion park also got toilet.

Ender

Have to take it easy, let it fully recover first, it could be weeks or even 2-3 months in serious cases. Then try again.

Likely you did some training errors earlier on and kena some slight injury. Need to slowly up the mileage, ie 10% increase every week. That means 2 km this week , next week then attemp 2.2, then 2.4 3rd week etc.
Maybe if you are already middle aged, you might aim for 2 weeks then increase mileage.

Either that or do stuff like cycling, i really find that cycling less demands on the joints, aerobic capacity still can help increase. Quite a bit different demand in various muscle groups though....though it's still exercise/training.
I like to add is not every week should be incremental. If this week training load is high, next week can be a recovery week with lesser mileage to prep for the following week that will increase further mileage or maybe intensity.

mewmew

To alleviate loading on the knees these is what I do,
1. Land on the ball of the foot. This activate calves muscle that takes up a portion of the load.
2. Always land with knees slightly flex. This activate the quads which will take up a portion of the loading.

Joint pain means injure liao. Be careful not to over do it. Gradual increments of mileage with easy runs and don't tahan pain.

Base building with easy run when you no longer having joint pain.

Try minimalist footwear and start with low mileage with gradual increments.

moi is doing approx 3km at near 8min/km pace :cry:

due to pain moi running style are small steps and with very little lift off the ground.
strangely, it gets slightly better if i maintain and do jogging daily.
however if i stop for 3-4 days the pain at the side of the knees facing outwards will be more pronounced

moi ish testing out this caltrate supplement once a week to see if it helps.

Ender

due to pain moi running style are small steps and with very little lift off the ground.
however if i stop for 3-4 days the pain at the side of the knees facing outwards will be more pronounced

Lateral side of the knee, might not be the usual impact shock type of injury. But I am not a doctor. Could be ITB, or twisting.

milkiee

What Iikely happening here is TAO following the periodization method of conditioning you prior to the start of the next mesocycle.
This likely your base building phase.

Remember for HM, race pace is at z3 to lower z4. But not threshold for under 2hr.
So your z2 at 6:40 is not conclusive yet. And, your base building phase will improve the z2 pace and endurance, I..e. go further.
yeah my z2 pace 6:40 min/km has improved by about 20-30 secs since i first started from 7:20 min/km.

i did an easy run yesterday at for 1hr 10mins. my HR slowly crept up to Z3/low Z4 like you mentioned but my pace was faster at 6:00 to 6:20 min/km. i didn't feel breathless at all though except for my aching legs. i felt very surprised lol

Deadmaninc75

So I haven’t done any exercise or running since ORD more than 10 years ago.. stamina is basically ZERO.

Yesterday put in PT attire and tried to run and only tk last around 3 mins 17 seconds before having some chest pain so quickly stop.

slept well and today manage to do 6 mins 23 seconds before out of breathe and legs start to hurt..

looks like going take long long time to go back to 12mins IPPT…
u start back to basic again go train cardio first

WussRedXLi

Maybe alternatively you can try walking at 8.00 pace for 3km and see if it helps. Or 9.00 pace.

Walking actually is harder than running + burns more energy for the same distance. Common notion is racewalking 50km is 2X the energy expenditure that of running 42.1km marathon.

So maybe try 2-2.5k first for starters. Dont want you to get injured.

Don't look down on walking. I was power and then racewalking for 2 years, Then 2022 Dec i tried running, a time trial of sorts. Nothing much, 1.6k. Managed an avg pace of 4.01min/km. So that means i can pass IPPT quite easily (say 12.5 mins). Just by walking, i didn't even jog. No strength training or anything.
Is not coz i could not run, but more of that time i was accompanying and encouraging my wife coz she was trying to get better from an illness.

For supplements, you can read up on Magnesium, can try Mg Glycinate. If you have had blood tests done before, it's quite likely you do not need the calcium. Though you probably would benefit from the D3.
But it and other supplements very unlikely to help with your pain.

WussRedXLi

Also can do the below exercise, no harm one.....quite a common issue for many. There could be a chance it might not work coz you said the pain is at the side. I kena ITBS irritation before also (pain also at the sides), needed a few months.

But below really no harm. Only benefits

Currently i use the short resistance bands to train. When i started with side leg raises just via the weight of the legs, i realised i was so damn weak. Just 4 or 5 raises and i was done liao, bloody weak. But i could walk/run and moreover rather fast at that. My wife too, and my parents too. Vast vast majority of people are very weak.

What you should feel when doing it at first is a good burn in your bum. Then you are isolating the muscles and doing it correctly. Maintain the same, do it progressively and increase the reps, you should see improvement in pain after just 2-3 weeks. (of coz during those 2-3 weeks do not aggravate things with more running()
Your pain doesn't seem to be really jialat, doesnt seem to be a big problem.

If the pain is gone then bingo, gao dm. Continue the strengthening.
If not, need to see sports specialist to see what's the exact root cause, or at least then rest for a good few weeks.

xllms

ps. Maybe i give an eg. Say your work you knock off at 7pm, sometimes 7.30. Leave office to reach home doorstep is 1hr, pretty avg. By the time you reach time it would be 8pm regularly, sometimes 8.30 or even closer to 9. Quick makan and 9.45 earliest leave home to whack, after that bathe, relax a bit, sleep.
Next day 7.30am need to leave home to reach office at 8.30, so that means waking up at 6.45am latest.
It's literally impossible to squeeze in longer training sessions (long runs / long cycles) and still get suffiicient sleep. Only thing you have is weekends, but that's 1 long Z2 session only, unless if you really are the type who can recover fully (sports massage etc) and sleep with quality 9-10hrs
Quite difficult.

Then the other way round......1 eg is for me i am blessed (Sort of, my pay aint high at all lol) that my office is nearby 1km away and so that's time saved, no OT and also i can use that to have a bit of Z1/Z2 walk/run, in addition to my lunch commute back to home and my lunch hrs also somewhat flexi 1.5 to 2hrs so sometimes if really warm/sweaty i take a bath at home. :ROFLMAO:
9-6 working hrs.
yup, for me to do runs on weekdays i have to factor in work. if i do it in the morning, the distances of the run will be determined what time to wake up and how much time i need to wash up get changed and reach office before 9am.
Most of the time i have to wake up by 5am, do 2x6km runs + warm up and cool down (approx. 90mins), daily routine+shower (30mins). Catch a quick breakfast before heading out.
Likewise for runs after work, what time do i knock off and reach home is crucial. After work is more challenging for me as i don't enjoy eating dinner after runs. Assuming am back home by 8pm, it will be 9.30-10pm earliest after my run and shower. Biggest fear is the adrenalin after runs will make me fail to fall asleep easily. Me also try to avoid running after meals, did few times, awful feeling.

Ender

Interesting patent by Apple. A sensore that measure your sweat rate. This would be useful for heavy sweater lie @xllms and myself. See if we been hydrated enough, or know when we reach the red line and must stop exercise.

https://www.androidcentral.com/wearables/apple-patented-perspiration-sensor-for-tracking-sweat-loss

Apple just patented a sweaty trick every fitness watch could benefit from​

What you need to know​

• The U.S. Patent Office granted Apple a patent titled "Wearable Devices with Perspiration Measurement Capabilities."
  • The perspiration sensor would measure sweat loss during a workout, both the rate of sweat and total fluid loss.
  • Apple would incorporate other sensor data like body temperature and local humidity to help contextualize the data.

fulaien

My milege is quite poor, around10-20km per week. Intend to slowly increase to around 30km per week like this:
Wkday 7km MAF run
Wkday 8km MAF run
Wkend 5km interval run
Wkend 10km lsd run

Intend to keep this milege, maybe tiil last quarter of year from Sept, slowly increase lsd to 30km progressively.

Possible to run sub 4hr marathon, if current speed is around 51min for 10km?

Ender

My milege is quite poor, around10-20km per week. Intend to slowly increase to around 30km per week like this:
Wkday 7km MAF run
Wkday 8km MAF run
Wkend 5km interval run
Wkend 10km lsd run

Intend to keep this milege, maybe tiil last quarter of year from Sept, slowly increase lsd to 30km progressively.

Possible to run sub 4hr marathon, if current speed is around 51min for 10km?
Looks like a good plan. Just that LSD not much diff from your easy days (MAF days). MAke it 15km. Coz LSD should have some pushing your legs thru fatigue. If easy days is already can reach 8km without being too shack, I don't think a extra 2km from there gonna make it a leg fatigue day for LSD.

51 min for 10km, most predictor will say can. But it's better to use the next lower distance timing to predict, i,e, what was your HM PB.. Can go below 1:50min?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.