jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Did a 8.6km fun run this morning....long time never run "longer"/slower, nothing serious just some Z2 stuff which i had been relying on cycling for the past 5 months. I cannot long run coz nightly i go for cycling, so the grind majority already there so i cannot gun a lot of running mileage lest kena stress some muscles or what. (actually i under-recovery mode one, esp the quads, but bo bian coz i love the lifestyle)

The last "long run" i did, 13.88k on 3rd day CNY and it was on a rather fast pace, below 4.30 i think coz under an hour, the next 2-3 days did put me on a bit of sng sng tiredness for the lower body.
Still not accustomed to such things, fast + long with running.

sph777

Did a 8.6km fun run this morning....long time never run "longer"/slower, nothing serious just some Z2 stuff which i had been relying on cycling for the past 5 months. I cannot long run coz nightly i go for cycling, so the grind majority already there so i cannot gun a lot of running mileage lest kena stress some muscles or what. (actually i under-recovery mode one, esp the quads, but bo bian coz i love the lifestyle)

Interestingly, even with the weather not been very cool (only 28 deg C this morning and not 23/24) , averaged HR 121.....i managed 5.03.
Lol I slow run 5.21 still HR 134 but then I buibui hahaha. Maybe cycling is helping you a lot :)

Kuudere

Run with FFRC at 100 plus promenade track

Steady state repeats

Warm up (0.88km) > 4.51 minutes

12 x 3 minute repeats (4.40 - 4.45 min/km) with 1 minute rest >> 7.58km approximately for the slower limit > 36 minutes

Total distance: 8.46km

Wanted to go and get a cheap running watch from Decathlon so figured that I should just join in the training but end up it's not available there.

@Ender Any cheap running watches to recommend? Forgot the list liao :ROFLMAO:

bbbbbw

takumi sen 8 and 9 are really good. Fantastic shoe to run at good pace and makes one wanna go faster and faster. midsole thickness is just nice for fast rebounce and it offers very good spring back effect. good for cornering as well. haven't been keeping up with ts10reviews but if they are continuing the good work, ts10 will be a v good shoe. great choice.

adidas website selling takumi sen 10 but green colour.
adidas retail store no takumi sen 10.
i saw it at another store and the guy said the shoe just come in today (which was yesterday)... since i like all black cos easy to hide the dirt so i bought it...

Ender

Interestingly, even with the weather not been very cool (only 28 deg C this morning and not 23/24) , averaged HR 121.....i managed 5.03.
Lol I slow run 5.21 still HR 134 but then I buibui hahaha. Maybe cycling is helping you a lot :)
That's a amazing aerobic fitness. It such a waste that @WussRedXLi has no interest for long distnace running. Else he will podium for most event, master category, and get extra money to buy more shoes. At least consider 10km race, if long distance is not you cup of tea.

Ender

Wanted to go and get a cheap running watch from Decathlon so figured that I should j
@Ender Any cheap running watches to recommend? Forgot the list liao :ROFLMAO:
Budget level for me will be Coros Pace 3 currently @$339 -$25 Lazada voucher. $313 final price .
Coros has dual band gps sensors which as good as the dual band of Garmin 255, 955, 255, 965. Decent HR sensor, but I use chest strap. Barometers, for realistic elevation changes is ever want to do trail or hill training.

Mid range i would consider Garmin 265, or older 255. Everything as good as the Coros with better frills like AMOLED, Garmin pay and of course their well developed Garmin ecosystem if your are a data guy. Coros is also good in their ecosystem but Garmin users always hard to move on from their ecosystem.

Ender

Budget level for me will be Coros Pace 3 currently @$339 -$25 Lazada voucher. $313 final price .
Coros has dual band gps sensors which as good as the dual band of Garmin 255, 955, 255, 965. Decent HR sensor, but I use chest strap. Barometers, for realistic elevation changes is ever want to do trail or hill training.

Mid range i would consider Garmin 265, or older 255. Everything as good as the Coros with better frills like AMOLED, Garmin pay and of course their well developed Garmin ecosystem if your are a data guy. Coros is also good in their ecosystem but Garmin users always hard to move on from their ecosystem.
Also the Garmin 255, 265 ,965 and Coros pace 3 has a track mode which I find very useful for track workout. The algorithm can snap your route perfectly onto a pre determine track loop making it very accurate. For my Coros pace 3, the 400m lap alert is very spot on ,+-2 or 3 step difference from a reference point .

Kuudere

20240223 1degC (felt like below 0degC) drizzling. 11.08km @ 6'16" av saucony endorphin pro 3
very difficult start despite about 5min of dynamic stretching. engine cannot get started, breathing all over the place, felt being stuck around the chest area, legs no energy, struggled for some 5km before getting better. Too cold for me. 😂

anyone had experienced similar symptoms on the chest when you run or at the start of your runs? want to find out more to overcome this issue.
Experienced the same when running in Australia but that's mostly because weather was too cold. I remembered needing to run 3km before being fully warmed up in low double digit weather. For your case, might take longer since low single digit~
JP morgan run coming, anybody joining?
A bit too expensive if not sponsored by company, since it's $79 for 5.6km run

Thinking of maybe getting this watch, no clue if it's good or bad but seems quite affordable

https://shopee.sg/product/224600773...68FNZ9PyRBUfQWnbGJQ-qsyhKXf9MKZBoCcNgQAvD_BwE

One guy compared the gps accuracy with Garmin and said it's not as accurate as Garmin though 😔

Lchlch

Experienced the same when running in Australia but that's mostly because weather was too cold. I remembered needing to run 3km before being fully warmed up in low double digit weather. For your case, might take longer since low single digit~

Thinking of maybe getting this watch, no clue if it's good or bad but seems quite affordable

https://shopee.sg/product/224600773...68FNZ9PyRBUfQWnbGJQ-qsyhKXf9MKZBoCcNgQAvD_BwE

One guy compared the gps accuracy with Garmin and said it's not as accurate as Garmin though 😔

Bro, i am joining....
need to train up hahahahaha...
but no matter how i train, my timing also very slow, i think can complete around 45 min.

WussRedXLi

me stunned like vegetable after seeing that

I think last year after AHM i did some test 5k specifically keeping it in Z2 and already found that i was able to do do low 5 mins pace just under 5.12 way last time IPPT pass pace , but longer distances might not be sustainable coz the tiredness/aerobic slides one.

My HR can be a point of reference for agar agar zone training. Im not very particular but it's good coz cycling sessions can get past 3 hrs even which is no joke if you anyhow push at first and then later find out all the lactate sng sng and elevated cardiac drift nothing you can do will bring it to more baseline levels liao, even with some 5-10 mins of rest. I encountered before, go mcdonald's like the one at SG river beside UOB or Harbourfront (Sentosa session) eat $1 ice-cream sit down rest also useless. It just stays elevated and the muscles (quads esp) sng sng, the lactate maciam stuck there and the power output like not as efficient and endurance is affected.

But ultimately it might not mean a lot. I just take that avg number from the HR section got 1 avg no and then got 1 max number, definitely there will be some sort of noticeable cardiac drift once past 3k, for the kind of weather we have now. Even better still is to get Power meters (for cycling, which is very common), actually for running also got power pods. But then i still not too keen on all these gadgets ba.
For cycling it is pretty common, coz is cheap.....several hundreds of dollars. Running is perceived to be expensive, i think Coros is still $300?
Matter of perception, coz if the bike already approaching 10k (and some have multiple bikes), then a few hundreds is nothing. :ROFLMAO:
But for running general it is not a cheap investment.

WussRedXLi

That's a amazing aerobic fitness. It such a waste that @WussRedXLi has no interest for long distnace running. Else he will podium for most event, master category, and get extra money to buy more shoes. At least consider 10km race, if long distance is not you cup of tea.
All those cats useless lah, pay a fair bit and returns not a lot. eg RunningLab, or NS Home Team. And i think those starting/ending at ECP Laguna PArk is lagi not worth it to pay so much .

And if that brouwser fella joins also no use liao. He possibly faster. I think i saw his face once in AHM or something (youtube), i mean tall ang moh so yeah he sure joins these events.
Actually i am not sure but i saw a pretty tall ang moh last year AHM 2023 ran past me.....though it was already pretty late. (he might be doing half).

xllms

m

me also using Coros Pace 3. am happy with it. you can also consider the new Garmin 165 if you can wait abit.

Ender

Amazfit, the gps is scary bad.

Kuudere

Bro, i am joining....
but no matter how i train, my timing also very slow, i think can complete around 45 min.
I think @coolhead ran it last year, seems like quite a lot of ppl join the run
Also the Garmin 255, 265 ,65 and Coros pace 3 has a track mode which I find very useful for track workout. The algorithm can snap your route perfectly onto a pre determine track loop making it very accurate. For my Coros pace 3, the 400m lap alert is very spot on ,+-2 or 3 step difference from a reference point .
Garmin might be a good purchase compared to the Amazfit because of the GPS. Thinking which model is the best, looking at Garmin forerunner 45, 55, 245 also, since my budget <$200 for the watch.
m
me also using Coros Pace 3. am happy with it. you can also consider the new Garmin 165 if you can wait abit.
I am thinking of garmin forerunner 45, seems like the cheapest and the gps works well

Ender

Bro, i am joining....
Join JP Morgan is to see the office chio bu ladies in their sport gears

sph777

Also the Garmin 255, 265 ,965 and Coros pace 3 has a track mode which I find very useful for track workout. The algorithm can snap your route perfectly onto a pre determine track loop making it very accurate. For my Coros pace 3, the 400m lap alert is very spot on ,+-2 or 3 step difference from a reference point .
Wow. Thanks, I use 965 and have never tried the track run. Always been just using run, thanks for the info haha

coolhead

Garmin might be a good purchase compared to the Amazfit because of the GPS. Thinking which model is the best, looking at Garmin forerunner 45, 55, 245 also, since my budget <$200 for the watch.

I am thinking of garmin forerunner 45, seems like the cheapest and the gps works well
Yes I joined the JPMCC. It's a clusterfk. I joined again but I'm too honest in my timing. I expect to be clusterfk again.

Ender

Under $200, used to be the Huawei gt runner. Now all sold out. Think @WussRedXLi got it less than $150. Amazing HR sensor for the price and decent gps accuracy.

Btw I got my Coros pace 3 at around $210 +-. But it was much hard work chasing the elusive $125 Lazada voucher during one of their huge sales event.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.