jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Had a wonderful Easter brunch at Conrad Oscar and ate a bit too much so compensated by skipping dinner and running 5km just now lol
No such thing as eat too much for runners. when you run, you deserve that meal.

Disclaimer, not a medical professional. Just a siao lang who runs.

Ender

Hmmm.. I stay in Tampines so sometimes will jog over to Punggol via Lor Halus red bridge. Joggers in Punggol and Sengkang got really nice running environment sia.
Nearby Tampines. Pasir Ris park is a nice place to run, less cyclist compare to punggol waterway. Personally I don't like punggol waterway for the high number of cyclists especially on Weekends. . So sometimes I run to Pasir Ris Park and Bedok Reservoir. Much more pleasant. Bedok Reservoir is right at Tampines and Bedok.

Ender

i remember experiencing good return of energy at 5-6min/km pace for a 2x6km run when i first wore the TK9. Had my 6km pb then. lift off was noticably faster based on my memory. no longer missed it as pb3.0 replaced tk9.0 well, altho pb3.0 does not respond well at low pace eg. below 7min/km
Today did 2X 7mins at Threshold, i.e. 5:13 min pace. TKS 9 is fun at that pace.

apriliasiao

Nearby Tampines. Pasir Ris park is a nice place to run, less cyclist compare to punggol waterway. Personally I don't like punggol waterway for the high number of cyclists especially on Weekends. . So sometimes I run to Pasir Ris Park and Bedok Reservoir. Much more pleasant. Bedok Reservoir is right at Tampines and Bedok.
Ya that's the 2 goto places for my long run now. though of linking up to ECP but i think too far. later cannot make it back home. lol

Kuudere

for my current level, i think i found mine at around 6'30" although at times wish to go faster. Last Nov, running at below 6´00" for 10km was quite natural. have to keep running to adjust/adapt slowly.
Since you managed to figure out your pace, run your slow runs at 40s-1min/km slower than 6.30/km. For shorter long runs, 40s/km slower. For longer ones, as slow as 1 min/km. Don’t overdo, since it will affect recovery for the next workout.

i think 8km is my base for faster runs as i found in my 10km runs, i have the tendency to slow down around 8km mark.
as for slower runs like today, i think doing 15km shouldn't be an issue, but had to work harder around and after 15km mark.
8-10km is a good threshold run mileage for the HM. Run at 10-15s/km slower than actual 8-10km pace, helps to build pace consistency for the HM since it’s faster. Anymore than that, best is to break it down into shorter intervals and take breaks in between.

Marathon ppl will look towards doing 16-20km threshold continuous. But the pace is a lot slower since it’s probably around 10-15s/km slower than actual 16-20km pace.

ideally, i think should be doing the following:
Sun: 2x10km or HM
Mon: rest
Tues: 2x6km
Wed: 12-13km slow run
Thu: 5-6x1km or 8x400m speedwork
Fri: 2x6km
Sat: 12-13km slow run

due to work not likely do daily runs. at best alternate days runs, eg.
Sun, Tues, Thur, Fri/Sat
The core workouts: long run, fast intervals, threshold intervals/continuous run. The rest can either take a break or do easy runs in between.

For the fast intervals, I usually do 1km warm up + 2km cooldown so that I run more mileage.

WussRedXLi

8km threshold run

Pace: 4.34/km

Weather is really hot, probably affects longer distance running a lot more.

yea a;sp tested. here....can overheat at faster paces once the body is heat soaked (ie longer distances like above 5k) For me that is the limitng factor.

HR not the limiting factor.
So, in certain ways, unable to train at the tip (effectively) via running.

Ender

8km threshold run

Pace: 4.34/km

Weather is really hot, probably affects longer distance running a lot more.

yea a;sp tested. here....can overheat at faster paces once the body is heat soaked (ie longer distances like above 5k) For me that is the limitng factor.

For me, these few days are not too bad, and not the worst time of the year. Mainly because it's low humidity, which heavy sweater like me can take advantage off. Couple with sticky shirt. the rate of evaporation (hence cooling) can be felt. Worst time of me is humidity is a constant >90% couple with high temp.

Heavy sweating, I believe, can be adapted from frequent base running under hot climate.

WussRedXLi

For me, these few days are not too bad, and not the worst time of the year. Mainly because it's low humidity, which heavy sweater like me can take advantage off. Couple with sticky shirt. the rate of evaporation (hence cooling) can be felt. Worst time of me is humidity is a constant >90% couple with high temp.

Heavy sweating, I believe, can be adapted from frequent base running under hot climate.

Yeah if got sufficient water + got some additional wind, it gets better. That is how i managed last year to TT 10K, with active cooling via chilled water, i prepped the bottles of iced water and then ran in loops.

For me i feel that 5-6min pace is the limit where i can go long all day any day without the sun shining on me.

I overcooked a 5K TT during Taylor swift concert weekend then.......... 3.23 and then 3.25, then started to feel it and slowed to 3.40 (still too fast), and then boom, 4.19 pace didnt feel good liao that overheated feeling. Supposed to do 3.45. :ROFLMAO: Was trying to run on feel, but failed, still not experienced to hone in exact pace.

Ender

wats the best fitness smart watch u use?
For running, the usual suspect, most popular is Garmin. Then there are Coros, Polar and Suunto. Apple is also good, with the best HR sensor among all, but battery life is short, but I think it still can handle a full marathon is done under 5 hours.

Right now, best is to look for Dual band GPS. The improvement in keeping close to track is significant. The Garmin forerunner 255, 955,265, 965, fenix 7 and newer release. Coros PAce 3, Suunto Race, Polar Vantage V3.

Don't know about how they will do for overall fitness. But Fitbit, sucks with running. It's GPS cmi. HR sensor are subpar, but they generally do better sleep tracking than other running watches.

Kuudere

Heat definitely makes a difference.

For instance, you run 20.50 5km at 30C. If you go overseas run the 5km, it would be 19.58, under sub 20. This is based on Vdot calculator.

I already made the heat adaptation, planning to run shirtless so it's easier to cool down.

Tried it today, seems good 😂

Ender

Looks like weather is not getting better, in fact might be worst coz of the higher humidity.

https://mothership.sg/2024/03/hot-to-hotter-may-apr-jun/

S'pore to get hotter in April, May & June​

Have you been feeling the heat in Singapore?

Bad news.

It could very well get worse in the next few months.

Temperatures in the next two months could rise due to the lingering effects of the El Niño phenomenon, which has affected temperatures in Singapore since the second half of 2023.

What is El Niño?​

El Niño is a natural climate phenomenon where the ocean surface warms as low-level surface winds, which normally blow from east to west along the equator, weaken or start blowing the other direction.

Since the warmest annual temperatures from any El Niño event typically occur the year after an El Niño forms, both for Singapore and globally, 2024 could be an even warmer year, the National Environment Agency’s Meteorological Service Singapore (MSS) said.

The lingering effects of El Niño could push up temperatures during traditionally warm months of the year, which are April, May and June.

According to MSS records, these three months are historically the hottest months of the year, with May the warmest month of the year with average daily temperatures of 28.6ºC.

Average daily temperatures in April are 28.2ºC and average daily temperatures in June are 28.5ºC.

Uncomfortably hot​

Matthias Roth, professor of urban climatology from the National University of Singapore’s (NUS) department of geography told The Straits Times that Singapore is likely to experience "above-average temperatures" in the next few months.

The increase in air temperatures associated with El Niño, coupled with high humidity, could make being outdoors an uncomfortable experience during the months of April to June.

Foetid

For running, the usual suspect, most popular is Garmin. Then there are Coros, Polar and Suunto. Apple is also good, with the best HR sensor among all, but battery life is short, but I think it still can handle a full marathon is done under 5 hours.

Right now, best is to look for Dual band GPS. The improvement in keeping close to track is significant. The Garmin forerunner 255, 955,265, 965, fenix 7 and newer release. Coros PAce 3, Suunto Race, Polar Vantage V3.

Don't know about how they will do for overall fitness. But Fitbit, sucks with running. It's GPS cmi. HR sensor are subpar, but they generally do better sleep tracking than other running watches.
thanks for the replies! can i ask if any of them got blood pressure taking also?

Mecisteus

thanks for the replies! can i ask if any of them got blood pressure taking also?
Samsung for you then.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/best-blood-pressure-watch/

If you are running regularly, can help to lower BP in the long term.

But short term and when you run, your BP can spike to as high as 200. So i don't think it will help you psychologically.

It's normal for systolic blood pressure to rise to between 160 and 220 mm Hg during exercise.

You will then be fearful to run.

Note if really high BP, get your doctor to advise !

Foetid

Samsung for you then.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/best-blood-pressure-watch/

If you are running regularly, can help to lower BP in the long term.

But short term and when you run, your BP can spike to as high as 200. So i don't think it will help you psychologically.

It's normal for systolic blood pressure to rise to between 160 and 220 mm Hg during exercise.

You will then be fearful to run.

Note if really high BP, get your doctor to advise !
i think i got elevated blood pressure due to lacking of sleep on the weekday. jogging does help to normalised blood pressure. Blood donations help to reduce blood pressure also by almost 20-30 points.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.