jogging and motivation thread

nogizaka46

just curious, I thinking most people here are in the 30s to 50s, maybe majority in 30s, anyone able to maintain very close to or exceed your 18years old fitness in the army in terms of your 2.4km timing?

Exceeded 18yo fitness at 32yo.

I used to think about getting silver for IPPT only. 11:30 would suffice.

During my last ippt, my 2.4km at 32yo was 8:45.

sales69

Ya, almost all of the organized race in singapore is not certified or sanctioned by SA, except SCSM HM and FM.

I am actually approaching 60 in 4 years time. Time is ticking before sub 4 is elite timing for my age. I ain't no elite.
Consider joining cooler climate races. Even if just for fun.

I know several 50s, 60s uncles at Bedok Reservoir. Most run with Safra running club.

Those slightly above 4hr pace, when they ran in cooler Korea or Hong Kong, easily(relative to Singapore la) get sub 4.

Think that give them the confidence and impetus to train more. One uncle late 50s to 60 max, even ran 3.30 in the next event.

Damn good runner. See him run is like bunny hopping. Every step pushoff is solid yet relaxed.

Ender

Consider joining cooler climate races. Even if just for fun.

I know several 50s, 60s uncles at Bedok Reservoir. Most run with Safra running club.

Those slightly above 4hr pace, when they ran in cooler Korea or Hong Kong, easily(relative to Singapore la) get sub 4.

Think that give them the confidence and impetus to train more. One uncle late 50s to 60 max, even ran 3.30 in the next event.

Damn good runner. See him run is like bunny hopping. Every step pushoff is solid yet relaxed.
Ya, did cross my mind. Just want to have higher confidence level before spending the money. So wait til I get sub 4:10 here, then the confidence will higher for that elusive sub 4 at cooler and flatter course.

Maybe one day join @dreamaurora to the Stand Chart Hanoi one. But wait for his field report first.

sph777

Ya, did cross my mind. Just want to have higher confidence level before spending the money. So wait til I get sub 4:10 here, then the confidence will higher for that elusive sub 4 at cooler and flatter course.

Maybe one day join @dreamaurora to the Stand Chart Hanoi one. But wait for his field report first.
actually when I talked to Rui Yong, he suggested gold coast is a good course to pb. Good weather, course and atmosphere

WussRedXLi

https://runsingaporerankings.com/criteria/

RSR actually has a criteria of what they define as elite in Sg. They categorise by age also. Overseas/tropical also have difference from 10k and up.

And this is for the national level:

High VO2max usually find their way into racket/contact sports. Those are more popular.

I wanted to go for Marina Run this year, but nothing much about it.

I am under 30 by few years, but am at 18 year old 2.4k fitness. Last week I did my 2km run at 7.49, not at my maximum effort. Planning to run at the same pace in 200m weekly increments until I reach 4km. Then try for 19.30 5k.

What I want to get back is 19 year old fitness, 8.40 2.4k. 17.45 4.7k. 41.30 10k. 1.06.17 16k.

Once I hit that 16k time again, will return back to proper HM training.

More or less there, i just use runninglevel (and cyclinglevel) as rough ref
No doubt heat index temps would make a difference as distance goes up.

https://runninglevel.com/running-times/5k-times

dreamaurora

I’m

Hope it’s good. Hanoi for sure cooler but I read the pollution quite bad.

WussRedXLi

Glad you said the sub 20 is magic. Even in the ang mo world, it is a magic number goal. I would say training for sub 20 is already hardcore if we talking about average runner with average gift. Yes 22-25 it a more realistic number for most of us, which I have seen many success here. And it something we should celebrate if they get there too.
Posting an article for us to read is ok. Everybody learn. But to literally tell them they can do it if they follow this and that is another thing.

Just glance thru the article, a case study of athlete who VO2max increases drastically from more aerobic training instead of VO2max training. Interesting read. Different people respond to different stimuli.

Just look at the recent Norwegian method which had major breakthrough with performance of their athlete. Largely Pyramidal distribution with more focus of sub threshold training. Another different approach with good results. SO good to introduce and we learn various methods of training(MAF,80/20, TAO, Zone 2, Norwegian method, Periodization) we can try and one of it may be the magic plan that works for us.

Also note that author also mentioned this type of improvement is not typical. So caveat here. I am mostly aerobic person.. LOL The VO2max respond has plateau for me via more aerobic training. So trying out some interval instead for different stimuli which the TAO has scheduled in for me.

I came across (Googled) various maths, like calculate VO2max needed for 5k by 125 - 3.6*T where T is 5k time in mins. Prob around there.

If that is true, then 20 mins the min needed value would be 53.
As to how true an extent that works out in the real world is that.....not sure.

Of coz if the watch says around 40 only due to whatever factor (eg age, medical), it is prob too big a discrepancy lah. This first metric already too big gap, dont even need to pull in

But like i told sph777 also, really gotta try more times. The more one tries (esp if he is already close to the target), the more likely that'd happen. The heng thing about 5k is that there are parkruns so at least got more motivation and friends and expert runners willing to pace (just shoutout hey, i need to get my sub20 ah anyone can help). A properly executed personal TT is not easy for starters, that is what i learned, it does take quite a few times before can lock on, really need experience.
So that is the main thing, practice literally makes perfect.

If dont get PB then at least that session is a good solid LT2 training session plus some mental and neurological and maybe RE training benefits. Try again next week.
But of coz that is assuming that one already has a good base of Z1/Z2s under his belt and for the rest of the week.

WussRedXLi

I think one rather related thing is also the character of the person. If VO2max and genetics not the limiting factor, if the mindset/character not there, also difficult. Somewhat the same goes for career and working world.

Same goes for those SRY sagas, he is the type who can perform, but SG agencies dont seem to supportive coz law by law it is frowned upon. Basket no leeway one.

Not blowing my trumpet here.... (no intentions) , but same.....racewalk if i sense got runner wanna chiong, i go chiong. Same for cycling on the roads. Just try, gun....if lose, turn that anger into more training.
No excuses, gun first talk later. If scared of getting ego bruised, then that is a negative liao.

Ender

I came across (Googled) various maths, like calculate VO2max needed for 5k by 125 - 3.6*T where T is 5k time in mins. Prob around there.

If that is true, then 20 mins the min needed value would be 53.
As to how true an extent that works out in the real world is that.....not sure.

Of coz if the watch says around 40 only due to whatever factor (eg age, medical), it is prob too big a discrepancy lah. This first metric already too big gap, dont even need to pull in

But like i told sph777 also, really gotta try more times. The more one tries (esp if he is already close to the target), the more likely that'd happen. The heng thing about 5k is that there are parkruns so at least got more motivation and friends and expert runners willing to pace (just shoutout hey, i need to get my sub20 ah anyone can help). A properly executed personal TT is not easy for starters, that is what i learned, it does take quite a few times before can lock on, really need experience.
So that is the main thing, practice literally makes perfect.

If dont get PB then at least that session is a good solid LT2 training session plus some mental and neurological and maybe RE training benefits. Try again next week.
But of coz that is assuming that one already has a good base of Z1/Z2s under his belt and for the rest of the week.
Quite close, there about 53. As per Vdot of 50 from JAck Daniels is about there. Vdot = Vo2Max X RE. So someone of Vo2max 50-55, may have a realistic goal for that. But it's going to be hard work for these group especially if in the low 50s. For VO2max of lower to mids 40s , are really the main bulk of the seasoned runners you will find in any running group. They usually can make it to the sub 25 min group. Those making to lower than 22min are already considered strong runners in the casual running group. Can join the 5:30 pace group for 10km run. Above is my judgement for gauging a average runners spread we may encounter in any group excluding the elite groups like Singapore Athletes, Singapore Shuffler.

Foetid

Completed my watch workout for 7.45mins/Km pace run for 30 mins 😅

u live around hillview regency? Can try these 2 routes, not bad.

u know from rifle range road can goto central catchment area and then go to MacRitchie Reservoir ?

MacRitchie Reservoir is like one of best cooling route ever, even hot sun still v cooling

Ender

I think one rather related thing is also the character of the person. If VO2max and genetics not the limiting factor, if the mindset/character not there, also difficult. Somewhat the same goes for career and working world.

Same goes for those SRY sagas, he is the type who can perform, but SG agencies dont seem to supportive coz law by law it is frowned upon. Basket no leeway one.

Not blowing my trumpet here.... (no intentions) , but same.....racewalk if i sense got runner wanna chiong, i go chiong. Same for cycling on the roads. Just try, gun....if lose, turn that anger into more training.
No excuses, gun first talk later. If scared of getting ego bruised, then that is a negative liao.
No disagreeing with mindset. most of us here are determine to improve from what our current status is.. but I think I am already pushing the upper limit of what my gifted with. That's why my goal, it seems getting more and more elusive. But will give it another go that's why quickly signed up for SCSM without 2nd thought and training started this week.

sph777

No disagreeing with mindset. most of us here are determine to improve from what our current status is.. but I think I am already pushing the upper limit of what my gifted with. That's why my goal, it seems getting more and more elusive. But will give it another go that's why quickly signed up for SCSM without 2nd thought and training started this week.
Eventually must train the sheares bridge. I die there haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.