jogging and motivation thread

dicxz80

PSA Forgot to post and share for peeps here, runners/cyclists @ MBS area better watch out at this particular junction. I have absolutely no qualms that this is a higher risk junction.

Sep 23 to Jul 24

1. Did not witness but saw buanged cyclist and car, dont think there was any contact coz bike intact but cyclist was pretty scratched up. Not sure whose fault. Posted this before this thread.

2. T100 Apr this year, not really accident but joker cyclist attempted to cross red man pedestrian lane (or red light if on road) and coz of the oncoming traffic coming from Raffles Place is a curve ie blind spot, speeding cars have little time to react if the cyclist / pedestrian not nicely lit up so got delay in ID-ing the risk. If very visible + normal speed, no issue one, need to be drunk driver / rainy weather or something similar then got issue. Posted before this thread.

3. Kid and I crossing green man, early morning just before 7am, car turning left from Esplanade bridge into Marina Blvd did not stop for us as we were heading towards Esplanade direction. We were crossing from "Singapore Notary Public" in the below image. Granted, rather slow speed, attribute to car being goondu and "just didnt F care". We were already on last second lane and he was turning into 1st lane......but we low speed so can brake without falling so no issue.

4. Just last night, same as point 3, but this time at 8+ and chunks of pedestrians/runners at One Marina Boulevard NTUC Centre (Heavenly Wang @ One Marina Blvd). Green man came on, so whole lot crossed.
I was same as point 3 above, crossing from the other side from "Singapore Notary Public" . The whole lot of pedestrians already on lane 1 and i already crossed halfway possbily last second lane when car turned left, didnt stop and just continued.
Car managed to "brushed" against a pedestrian, his packet of dont know what was dropped.
At least 3 fellas (possibly more but i didnt see) raised their hand and vulgarities were scolded.
Car was not slow, just normal speed turning @ junction, so no attempt to be safe at all. 0.5 seconds either way and the pedestrian would have mounted the car bonnet and for sure TP case liao. For me, if i had cycled any faster than around walking speed, i would have been crashed by it already. Was probably at 8-10kmh or slightly faster than walking pace, so braking for the car and maintaining balance no issue.
And ps. I had 3 out of 4 lights on, granted all have vertical cut off (all the lights i operate have vertical cut off to avoid blinding oncoming) and aimed at the ground so quite little light would be visible by the driver, but the amount of light hitting the ground is definitely more than a motorcycle.
If anyone is interested in a figure, it would be around 1000 lumens + 750 + 750 = 2.5k lumens, all operating at around half power. And i was travelling *towards* the turning driver so 100% for sure he'd have seen my front lights and in fact my lights were illuminating his door very brightly while his face was dark (coz got cut off mah), it was so close.

It seems like some cars for the 2 turning left lanes do not know this junction need to stop for pedestrians. This junction also particularly long waiting time, maybe that is one contributory reason.

GM201b2.jpg

Bonus

T

I hate SG drivers. They don't even stop or slow down at zebra cross anymore. Very dangerous for children and elderly.

sales69

just to get some thoughts from the laojiao here.

recently, i have started thinking about my goals for next year when i finish my first half marathon in Oct (GARMIN). is there any merit on working on the small milestones like achieving sub 20mins for 5K, sub 40mins for 10K to eventually hit a sub 1:30 half marathon?

i do not have any time frame in mind but i think of this more like a progressive goal which keeps me more motivated.
Ya those smaller milestones will help you improve and keep the interest going.

Last time I was able to cruise easily at 6mins/km. But I was lazy to do faster speeds.

End up got stuck at that pace. Every run felt like a chore.

Only during the past year I did intervals and tempos. Finally got back the running "high". Feels good.

Ender

recently, i have started thinking about my goals for next year when i finish my first half marathon in Oct (GARMIN). is there any merit on working on the small milestones like achieving sub 20mins for 5K, sub 40mins for 10K to eventually hit a sub 1:30 half marathon?

i do not have any time frame in mind but i think of this more like a progressive goal which keeps me more motivated.
Can also. Some pro aprogressively specialize themselves from 5km/10km, transit to HM , and later FM.

But there was a time I was focusing only on 10km and HM. And because of the higher mileages it also lead to my improvement in 5km. So it's other way round. Used to only be able sub 24 for 5km when I decide to concentrate on 10km and HM. Then one day I decide to do proper discipline MAF for 1 year (Pandemic period). Only zone 1/2 HR 100% of the time, nothing higher. But those were the time my mileage were very high due to it's easier than easy pace. Everyday like 15km -23km and a weekend long run >25km. 7 days a week. And somewhere in the 7th or 8th months into MAF, I wanted to see how much LActate Threshold 2 pace has been impacted negatively and did a time trial at YCK stadium, and I got a 21:39, very surprised. Of course I pulled my hamstring, coz the muscle aren't 'seasoned' for fast cadence and pace.

I know some 5km runners had drastic improvement when they increase their mileage via easy days ontop of their usual 5km threshold or interval training.

So it goes both ways. Train higher distances can also improve the lower distance pace. But the lower distance pace is a good indicator of how well you can perform at higher distance. Like for sub 2 hr HM, your 10km has to be below 55min to have a chance.

milkiee

Can also. Some pro aprogressively specialize themselves from 5km/10km, transit to HM , and later FM.

But there was a time I was focusing only on 10km and HM. And because of the higher mileages it also lead to my improvement in 5km. So it's other way round. Used to only be able sub 24 for 5km when I decide to concentrate on 10km and HM. Then one day I decide to do proper discipline MAF for 1 year (Pandemic period). Only zone 1/2 HR 100% of the time, nothing higher. But those were the time my mileage were very high due to it's easier than easy pace. Everyday like 15km -23km and a weekend long run >25km. 7 days a week. And somewhere in the 7th or 8th months into MAF, I wanted to see how much LActate Threshold 2 pace has been impacted negatively and did a time trial at YCK stadium, and I got a 21:39, very surprised. Of course I pulled my hamstring, coz the muscle aren't 'seasoned' for fast cadence and pace.

I know some 5km runners had drastic improvement when they increase their mileage via easy days ontop of their usual 5km threshold or interval training.

So it goes both ways. Train higher distances can also improve the lower distance pace. But the lower distance pace is a good indicator of how well you can perform at higher distance. Like for sub 2 hr HM, your 10km has to be below 55min to have a chance.
my eventual goal is to do a sub 1:30 HM in the near future. it seems like i can just focus on 10K and HM then.

i am reaping benefits from the easy days even with 3 runs a week. it feels much easier to do a sub25 5K compared to like months ago.

WussRedXLi

Wow her quads proportion wise are bigger than mine. Solid girl.

I also know of a bony skinny lao uncle. His quads compared to his body are like giant drumsticks. Needless to say, he run damn fast too.

She as a girl the lower body physique quite power.

I only got to a similar stage with cycling and some strength training (squats with resistance bands past 10 months, lately also adopted partial reps other than full ROM). But she is a girl, i am a guy, so biologically in terms of muscles/size girls already are disadvantaged. Cycling in taller gears (torque based) quite good for this, plus the climbs of course. Need the reistance.
Just running alone for 1 year 3 months no break never got me nothing close to my current stage.......coz no resistance comparatively.

Not only quads/calves, but also the glutes. Now i gek, the baclside got buldge one. (y)

If really want to train for it, can also try stairs or hills. No need to get bicycle. (bicycle got added benefit of cooling airflow for the effort so not as uncomfortable/hot)

WussRedXLi

I hate SG drivers. They don't even stop or slow down at zebra cross anymore. Very dangerous for children and elderly.

yeah, i saw some other scary shiat at other junctions too.
BTW last nite's case the driver was ang moh, i believe european/latin type, not too sure coz only a fleeting side glance of him. But confirm not chinese/malay/indian/african

Kuudere

Your milestones: Sub-9 2.4km > Sub-19.30 5km > Sub-40.30 10km > sub-1.07 16km

Once you get to the 16km stage, you will be ready. I used to be able to reach sub-1.07 16km but lack the mileage to execute 21.1km well, now back in the grind to get sub-19.30 5km after losing my old fitness.

I only got to a similar stage with cycling and some strength training (squats with resistance bands past 10 months, lately also adopted partial reps other than full ROM). Cycling in taller gears (torque based) quite good for this.
Just running alone for 1 year 3 months no break never got me close to my current stage.
I also similar stage, but mostly due to hill training and childhood swimming. Makes it easier to do 100m strides at 2.40-2.50 min/km.

WussRedXLi

I also similar stage, but mostly due to hill training and childhood swimming. Makes it easier to do 100m strides at 2.40-2.50 min/km.

Oh yeah i forgot, if sprinter type of training or do SITs, would be easier to get those physiques. Esp if supplement with just basic band work /

Not to say useful for distance running lah......but to get that look.....looks are impt too you know. :ROFLMAO: If you

Not the whole range that folks can do but you get the idea

Kuudere

Oh yeah i forgot, if sprinter type of training or do SITs, would be easier to get those physiques. Esp if supplement with just basic band work /

Not to say useful for distance running lah......but to get that look.....looks are impt too you know. :ROFLMAO: If you

Not the whole range that folks can do but you get the idea

I used to do a lot of hill sprints up bukit timah hill, walk down and repeat. Also, didn't progress to longer distance, just focus on 2.4-4km. My build is quite similar to 3-5km runner compared to marathoner.

WussRedXLi

bro, yesterday continue to train walk up staircase, and 2nd time also panting like grasping for air....
time drop by only few second compare to the 1st try.

Gasping for air = LT1 or LT2 liao lor. Remember, dont do too often esp for your late 50s age, at most 2 times a week this type and assuming you are recovering well, basically that minimally means sleeping at least 7 hrs quality sleep per day.
(not expecting you to ice bath or foam roll or what lah), sufficient protein intake etc.

WussRedXLi

I used to do a lot of hill sprints up bukit timah hill, walk down and repeat. Also, didn't progress to longer distance, just focus on 2.4-4km. My build is quite similar to 3-5km runner compared to marathoner.

For such distances / pace, good techno is a must. (y)

Lchlch

Gasping for air = LT1 or LT2 liao lor. Remember, dont do too often esp for your late 50s age, at most 2 times a week this type and assuming you are recovering well, basically that minimally means sleeping at least 7 hrs quality sleep per day.
(not expecting you to ice bath or foam roll or what lah), sufficient protein intake etc.
What is LT1 n 2?
Today 3rd time trying, timing improve by 10 seconds .

sales69

I only got to a similar stage with cycling and some strength training (squats with resistance bands past 10 months, lately also adopted partial reps other than full ROM). But she is a girl, i am a guy, so biologically in terms of muscles/size girls already are disadvantaged. Cycling in taller gears (torque based) quite good for this, plus the climbs of course. Need the reistance.
Just running alone for 1 year 3 months no break never got me nothing close to my current stage.......coz no resistance comparatively.

Not only quads/calves, but also the glutes. Now i gek, the baclside got buldge one. (y)

If really want to train for it, can also try stairs or hills. No need to get bicycle. (bicycle got added benefit of cooling airflow for the effort so not as uncomfortable/hot)
Ya I have been doing resistance. Really need to work on it and also up the ante with bands or weights.

You're right about the glutes. When I just recovered from my slipped disc, the physio xmm taught me a sideway squat crabwalk with resistance band.

Must do non-stop for 15mins. I was like WTF. Mei mei you see me so up?? First time I did that exercise, the next day butt muscles burn like crazy. :s13:

Good thing is after a couple months of doing the crabwalk, can cruise at 5.45 pace through 10k.

But after that became lazy then the butt bulge not as prominent anymore. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.