jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

Just now I tried running at very fast I think 4 min pace for 200 m rest run to complete 1 round.

Really no joke, my heart really poured out and going to faint liao :s22:

Now I know why some people collapsed during run liao.
For you, maybe 5 minute pace can be considered a sprint for 200m.

Collapse is no joke, with the hot weather these days, it's possible.
Thanks, i will try this.

So far i can only maintain 5min/km for 1.2km, but my 2nd half pengsan alr
Yes, that's why you will only attempt 1.3km at 5min/km after 3 weeks :ROFLMAO:
What's your target pace ?

Run that pace for 400m intervals.

Start with 4 then gradually increase repetitions.

If you can maintain 10x repetitions at the target pace, then you are good to try the 2.4km.
4 x 400m > 10 x 400m is also another good one if he is a beginner to interval training.

I prefer 4 x 800m over 10 x 400m for the final workout since people tend to slow down during the 2nd 400m. Running 800s will ensure pace consistency for the 2.4km.

Jeremy1

For you, maybe 5 minute pace can be considered a sprint for 200m.

Collapse is no joke, with the hot weather these days, it's possible.

Why I saw those runner in YouTube like their easy run so relax but their pace is easily 5 minutes per km 🤔

They run like so relaxed

Even I saw people outside running like quite easy but I think their pace easily 6 minutes I guessed 🤔

Jeremy1

No more daily running shoe endorphin speed 3 and have to settle my new old stock NB fresh foam beacon V3. I missed the bouncy feel of the Saucony and this current NB shoe is so firm and caused my left 1st and 2nd toes in very discomfort and feel burning hot. I was struggling after 13 km onward and still pull through to finish the 21.1km. I really need to get a better suitable shoes for my longer run .

[url=https://ibb.co/m690NXL] [/URL]

[url=https://ibb.co/BTyYF9G] private image host[/URL]

You sure Endorphin Speed 3 really don't have ?

Can google online ?

Kuudere

Why I saw those runner in YouTube like their easy run so relax but their pace is easily 5 minutes per km 🤔

They run like so relaxed

Even I saw people outside running like quite easy but I think their pace easily 6 minutes I guessed 🤔
Like what Ender said, the metrics of other runners is different. 5 minute runner will usually have better cadence (turn-over) and stride length than 6 minute runner.

The more you run, the better you get. But if you focus on long distance, then consistency is more important than fast pace. If you focus on shorter distance like 2.4km, then running fast is important. :ROFLMAO:

dreamaurora

They run like so relaxed

Cannot compare like that. Any hobby if really want to get really good need to invest time or have very good instruction.

Often read those who got 3 hours for their first ever FM. Then when you read further these runners all already very accomplished in track and field.

I still remember when I started picking up running, 3 km run already felt like wanted to die. Jog slowly for 5 km then already got cramp.

Mecisteus

4 x 400m > 10 x 400m is also another good one if he is a beginner to interval training.

I prefer 4 x 800m over 10 x 400m for the final workout since people tend to slow down during the 2nd 400m. Running 800s will ensure pace consistency for the 2.4km.
Psychologically its easier with 400m.

Do more repetitions.

Then you will feel easy with 2.4km when running continuously.

sph777

They run like so relaxed

Like the rest said, can’t compare like that. Every body has its own limits. Just continue to do your runs and improve :)

dreamaurora

Did a couple acclimatizing short runs here in Hanoi. Yesterday was still around 23. Thankfully this morning temperature dropped to 19 as finally autumn began properly. Sibei shiok to run, feels like running with aircon on. City was polluted though, even just now around 5 am when the streets were relatively empty, there was always the smell of fumes in the air.

xllms

Did a couple acclimatizing short runs here in Hanoi. Yesterday was still around 23. Thankfully this morning temperature dropped to 19 as finally autumn began properly. Sibei shiok to run, feels like running with aircon on. City was polluted though, even just now around 5 am when the streets were relatively empty, there was always the smell of fumes in the air.

Enjoy the runs in such cooling weather. It will make your runs easier.

WussRedXLi

They run like so relaxed

Yeah man......those are fit zais and got talent etc.

Eg these fellas zone 2 chit chat and sing and can drink beer, for me is LT2 and then max effort liao and probably still get dropped at the very end. (10k 37 min, faster than my PB)

Their aerobic capacity is that probably can walk faster than the vast majority of what most joggers here can run also, never mind simi efficiency etc.

You see those full ironman, kee siao fellas........run leg FM 2:30. Finish time 7hr plus.
I think after a full ironman, they still can gun faster in a HM or another FM distance than the vast majority of us and become our pacers.

Jeremy1

Eg these fellas zone 2 chit chat and sing and can drink beer, for me is LT2 and then max effort liao and probably still get dropped at the very end. (10k 37 min, faster than my PB)

Their aerobic capacity is that probably can walk faster than the vast majority of what most joggers here can run also, never mind simi efficiency etc.

You see those full ironman, kee siao fellas........run leg FM 2:30. Finish time 7hr plus.
I think after a full ironman, they still can gun faster in a HM or another FM distance than the vast majority of us and become our pacers.

Wow, they're running at Easy Pace 😱

They run like so relaxed and their stride are so wide 😱

Ender

@Jeremy1

Just nice, Coach Parry just release a video on Why we are slowing down as we age. First thing is we have to accept our declining physiology changes. So can't compare with those younger youtuber who are actually above average in talent. It's a reason why I don't watch most youtuber runners and their training to reach simi sub 20 mins 5km. We will never come close in performance with our declining physiology, and at above 50, it is declining at accelerated rate.

I feel Coach Parry's philosophy for training above 50 years old is sound and safe for us. Focus is improving aerobic performance (mitochondria health), Strength Training. Not neglecting high intensity, but really no need for those siong workouts like train for sub 20 min 5km type of training, coz we will never reap the same benefit as a 30 years old youtuber in that same workout and we will burnt out.

Once you accept that, set your own realistic goal base on your last race.

Balian

their physique is super lean
prefer the physique of Kirsten Blummenfelt

winningeleven

@Jeremy1

Just nice, Coach Parry just release a video on Why we are slowing down as we age. First thing is we have to accept our declining physiology changes. So can't compare with those younger youtuber who are actually above average in talent. It's a reason why I don't watch most youtuber runners and their training to reach simi sub 20 mins 5km. We will never come close in performance with our declining physiology, and at above 50, it is declining at accelerated rate.

I feel Coach Parry's philosophy for training above 50 years old is sound and safe for us. Focus is improving aerobic performance (mitochondria health), Strength Training. Not neglecting high intensity, but really no need for those siong workouts like train for sub 20 min 5km type of training, coz we will never reap the same benefit as a 30 years old youtuber in that same workout and we will burnt out.

Once you accept that, set your own realistic goal base on your last race.

Agreed. Approaching 48 years old next yr and That why I dont do speed interval training to improve my timing. However I may still want to give a try on 10km below 50 mins. The only thing I want to maintain is HM below 2 hours. So far I am able to do it consistently every month.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.