jogging and motivation thread

dicxz80

Just to clarify. The one that I shouted at I think it was the one with throttle not assisted pedal bike. Can't see clearly because of the bright headlight. I think they are not allowed in PCN anymore

anhiuyon

Got try applying very thick layer of vaseline on the blister spots? Sometimes feet can get 'seasoned' into problematic shoes by growing callous on the affected area.

I use Aonijie Coolmax E4802 or and ankle low cut E4801. 99 RMB for 3 pairs before shipping. Been using them for many years. The only time I had blister which was from a problematic shoes, a Reebok one.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?abbucket=5&id=625736647671&rn=2b31621fed996d22a0555dbd02f9e973&scene=taobao_shop&sku_properties=1627207:23829754586&spm=a1z10.1-b.w5003-23081110250.2.4968220e3sV2P9

The exact colors for the E4802 and E4801.

can i check with you the socks isit very thin compared to balega socks?
i like the thickness of belaga

thanks alot

Jeremy1

Let me release my anger here

I had my best run so far in my life. Thought it would be great day..

Alas.. got one ahbeng rode those e-bike with headlight brighter than car speeding in PCN (Pang Sua). Full of adrenaline. I shouted at him and f*ck him. He passed and realized he turned back (because of his bright headlight). I was in figthing mode and walked back to him started to call him to come and he just laughed and turned back away. Called him coward but he didnt come back

F*ck man.. my heart rate shooted up to 180. I dont understand youngster these days. PCN sometimes got elderly got kids. Still riding so fast

What would you if you were me?
Is it worth to report to police so that they can increase Patrol in the area? I was running around 8-9pm btw

Btw this is not the first time. Last week also got youngster riding mtb coming out fast from stairs from kranji area to PCN at high speed. F*ck him up and he just cycled away

Nowadays it's getting more and more people on E Bikes and by right those on E Bikes should have some health issues which affect their mobility but I saw some doesn't really look like having those issues.

And most are speeding so I think PAP should limit the speed for the prevention of accidents before someone get hurt.

Ever since I started jogging outdoor, I noticed there are quite a number of inconsiderate people and you really must be on full alert to stay safe.

Ender

can i check with you the socks isit very thin compared to balega socks?
i like the thickness of belaga

thanks alot
I don't have balega socks to compare. It's thinner than most thick sock, but thicker than most dressed socks. It will still soak up sweat and gets heavy though like any thick sport socks.

The only branded socks I have is the injinji toe socks, and I prefer to wear this Aonijie socks due this durability. Comfort wise very similar, but thinner, so it soak up less sweat than Injinji.

WussRedXLi

anyone had this before ? Baker Cyst

any specific treatment ?

Thank you

This one probably need specialist orthopedic day procedure liao. You got medical insurance? Better go private too, if covered. SG probably chao chao 3-5k nowadays this type.

If not, time to go medical tourism @ Malacca.

dicxz80

This one probably need specialist orthopedic day procedure liao. You got medical insurance? Better go private too, if covered. SG probably chao chao 3-5k nowadays this type.

If not, time to go medical tourism @ Malacca.
Is it so serious? 🤯

No pain though, just noticed it after run last week

WussRedXLi

Is it so serious? 🤯

No pain though, just noticed it after run last week

It's just like a cyst anywhere else, can drain or dont drain. Root cause fix would of coz cost more.

But what is the underlying cause of the underlying inflammation (past few years) that caused it?

WussRedXLi

I am not violent person by nature 😔 i try not to get into trouble, but i was high on adrenaline. Anything can happen. As long as 1 on 1

I was just wondering what will happen if i get into fight and if i lose, let it be, if i win i will drag this ah beng to nearest police station

Any one from law enforcement here? Can tell me whether I will be charged?

Just the usual affray usually......both will kena. If got hurt (significant bleeding, big orh bak kart) then voluntarily causing hurt also. No weapons.
If got weapons like screwdriver/penknife then most likely assault instead of affray.

Usually is not worth it coz only very light cases of affray gets warning. Like say, you push me i push you, slap, "unintentionally" whack on head with mobile phone coz buay song or similar.
Else got jail and those stuff.

Our traffic laws in most cases more lenient relatively speaking. :ROFLMAO:

sph777

@WussRedXLi Today at the stretch before MBS, was running then saw some dark shapes, nearly tripped on one of them. Turns out was otters lol. I turned and ran the other loop instead as heard horror stories of getting bitten

dicxz80

It's just like a cyst anywhere else, can drain or dont drain. Root cause fix would of coz cost more.

But what is the underlying cause of the underlying inflammation (past few years) that caused it?
let me monitor and put some ice pack before going to doctor

it is not causing any pain for now, I only recognized it when massaging my calf after run

thank you !

WussRedXLi

Anyway bro discz80, we are not superheroes in capes, so cant do much also lah.....

I have come across 1 rather bad road cycling accident, who is at fault i also not in position to determine.
Only give water to flush away blood. Some gave tissues. Ambulance soon arrive so take over lor.

You also cyclist, so you know lights are very effective. Flashing lights are even better, studies all there already, somemore for runners below 18kmh no need to determine speed much so no need to be steady lights, flashing increases visibility so much more. Front is white rear is red.
Even ah beng on illegal escooters knows this, they also dont wanna get into accident.

If not, tag to the shoe laces, moving target, extremely effective one, 1 second look would know is jogger.

So we just have to do our part.

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi Today at the stretch before MBS, was running then saw some dark shapes, nearly tripped on one of them. Turns out was otters lol. I turned and ran the other loop instead as heard horror stories of getting bitten

Yeah another reason to run with lights for more illumination instead of relying on ambient, usually they will siam if you are lit. My kid and i also braked hard for 1 pack once, at Olympic walk, closer to the Red dot museum area which is rather dark.
That time we still didnt go crazy with the illumination..... now whacking as many lights (with vertical cut off) as possible to spot any dangers like potholes, objects.

Objects like metal bar, see below. Crazy risks. All the more so to avoid these hardcore construction / industrial area roads. Small stones/pebbels (see 2nd video)
Heng our South side surrounded with clean routes.

Either that or one crashes and then head/body goes under the heavy vehicle.

dicxz80

Anyway bro discz80, we are not superheroes in capes, so cant do much also lah.....

I have come across 1 rather bad road cycling accident, who is at fault i also not in position to determine.
Only give water to flush away blood. Some gave tissues. Ambulance soon arrive so take over lor.

You also cyclist, so you know lights are very effective. Flashing lights are even better, studies all there already, somemore for runners below 18kmh no need to determine speed much so no need to be steady lights, flashing increases visibility so much more. Front is white rear is red.
Even ah beng on illegal escooters knows this, they also dont wanna get into accident.

If not, tag to the shoe laces, moving target, extremely effective one, 1 second look would know is jogger.

So we just have to do our part.
I was full adrenaline lah bro :( super saiya mode already. one on one no scare die

really pissed off because I regularly ran that PCN and I know a lot of kids and eldery walk or cycle, the speed that ahbeng drove is very dangerous to them

WussRedXLi

Fwah..... just found out, T100 run leg every 1.5km got ice (and other good stuff of coz).

Well worth the $$$ if you looking to PB/PR. Also not that many participants, definitely way way lesser than SCSM.

GkN0UH9.jpg

WussRedXLi

I was full adrenaline lah bro :( super saiya mode already. one on one no scare die

really pissed off because I regularly ran that PCN and I know a lot of kids and eldery walk or cycle, the speed that ahbeng drove is very dangerous to them

Yeah that PB Pang sua PCN is the regular shared path. Not suitable to gun > 25kmh. I regularly go Geylang/Kallang PCN too, if got good front illum is safe enough coz walkers would know you are approaching. (plus a BT speaker is lagi safer, though some would of coz think this is anti-social, i digress of coz).

It is a whole different ballgame compared to Bay East Garden. BEG you gun 40-50 also rather safe if at night after 9pm or early mornings, bar the zoombie walker/runner on cycling path on earphones or watching movies so scared they unpredictable change of direction, which i have actually encountered once coz the fella just suddenly u-turned exactly while i was passing, but heng i run bright lights so he stopped turning right in the nick of time.

^^^^^
Nowadays i run an additional very wide angle strobe in addition to the front lights with vertical cut off, Cree XHP 50.2 bare LED, i think around 1000 lumens, bare LED 120 deg dispersion so everything also get flashed but at comparatively low lux (intensity).

Kuudere

Can hoot mount faber also, that one can consider "long climb" coz around 3X higher than Sheares. Total 2-3 reps more than sufficient with some rests in between if not conditioned yet.
Also it is of a higher % gradient so will train / strengthen the relevant muscles. If insufficient strength sure tire out easier, more localised/global lactate accumulation + just basically tire out etc. The downhill section also needs a bit of training. But effect shd not be big ba....

For bicycles, do 4-5 reps if doing T100 duathlon i guess. 10-12 reps if doing long distance (that one really kee siao for my age)
I did 3 reps before in Mount Faber, quite a steep climb but I took advantage of the downslope, was able to run 4.35 min/km pace carrying my bag for the starting part of the run.

Good training for long distance, not so intense like bukit batok memorial or bukit timah hill slope though. The other two better for hill sprints.

Ender

3:37 pace is his LT1, LOL .. i.e just pushing around the border of zone 2/3. basically his steady state. Would really like to se his HR flat line

Edit: went to his Strava to check if the run is steady state or not. 3:37 min/km is really within his steady state, easy pace wor. Pace, HR, cadence all steady state.. Well within LT1. Some more he finish all this in less than 2 hours, means this 32km run is not a siong run at all. No pushing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.