jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I did 3 reps before in Mount Faber, quite a steep climb but I took advantage of the downslope, was able to run 4.35 min/km pace carrying my bag for the starting part of the run.

Good training for long distance, not so intense like bukit batok memorial or bukit timah hill slope though. The other two better for hill sprints.

That's what i saw quite a few training there, so i just follow. Checked gradient on my bike computer, indeed ok.
And it's long enough too.

And of coz for me, most importantly, is nearby, just 1.5km away.
If want a more uninterrupted session, i go to Sentosa. Really can loop until kee siao on the bike (just brake slightly and pedal on the downslopes) and for running, though i rarely go there run the rolling hills coz biking is much more interesting in Sentosa.
But there are quite a few runners over there esp triathletes in their tri suits ( think is coz they can do their open water swim as well)

dicxz80

Guys. How is your blood pressure?

Any of you taking record diligently?

If any of you taking medicine, may I know since what reading doctor will give you prescription?

This is mine, iam in mid 40, bmi 24.5 (weekend), 25 (weekdays)

Morning wake up
110/86
113/87
113/85

Reach home evening
130/98
126/94
131/94

anhiuyon

I don't have balega socks to compare. It's thinner than most thick sock, but thicker than most dressed socks. It will still soak up sweat and gets heavy though like any thick sport socks.

The only branded socks I have is the injinji toe socks, and I prefer to wear this Aonijie socks due this durability. Comfort wise very similar, but thinner, so it soak up less sweat than Injinji.
ok thank you, will buy n try

WussRedXLi

If any of you taking medicine, may I know since what reading doctor will give you prescription?

Morning wake up
110/86
113/87
113/85

Reach home evening
130/98
126/94
131/94

Usually 105-110 for systolic, 70-75 for diastolic.
55 yrs old.
My father's BP also nice nice one, never had any issue so not sure if there is genetics at play here. 82 years old.

BTW when you reached home evening, need to take shower and chill after 30 mins in AC room then take.
Preferably before dinner, but for me before meal or after meal not much difference.

I take coz i take for my wife, so i also take sometimes. She used to be pre-hypertensive and was taking meds but after eating more cleanly and exercising, no problem already, off the meds too.

Main issue for her is her autoimmune disease (rheumatoid arthritis, if you ask me her severity is quite serious, just that it is pretty controlled due to expensive drugs.

dicxz80

Usually 105-110 for systolic, 70-75 for diastolic.
55 yrs old.
My father's BP also nice nice one, never had any issue so not sure if there is genetics at play here. 82 years old.

BTW when you reached home evening, need to take shower and chill after 30 mins in AC room then take.
Preferably before dinner, but for me before meal or after meal not much difference.

I take coz i take for my wife, so i also take sometimes. She used to be pre-hypertensive and was taking meds but after eating more cleanly and exercising, no problem already, off the meds too.

Main issue for her is her autoimmune disease (rheumatoid arthritis, if you ask me her severity is quite serious, just that it is pretty controlled due to expensive drugs.
Thank you for sharing. You are very fit and in good health. Awesome!

I am trying to take record for a week before going GP asking for possible prescription
I am just wondering whether they can reject if it is still not "too high" yet

WussRedXLi

Thank you for sharing. You are very fit and in good health. Awesome!

I am trying to take record for a week before going GP asking for possible prescription
I am just wondering whether they can reject if it is still not "too high" yet

Quite a few years ago i remember i managed to hit 120+ for systolic, coz unhealthy lifestyle. Then after that started some stairs climbing and then 2019 just pre-covid started brisk walking and wife got diagnosed with RA and then i started racewalking while she also started exercising.

Quite long never measured already. Measured just now at home when i returned for lunch (after cool shower).
Think need to measure for family as well, a few months never monitored. :ROFLMAO:

Your 130+ systolic and 90+ diastolic no need meds actually if your mindset is solid, my wife started with Micardis (Telmisartan) but usually pre-hypertension can easily be managed with less sodium intake and cleaner foods and consistent physical activity.
If too long let it run wild and body screwed up, then really difficult to rein back.....coz anyway i always believe the mindset should be there in the first place as fundamental.

DxGJDKz.jpg

dicxz80

Quite a few years ago i remember i managed to hit 120+ for systolic, coz unhealthy lifestyle. Then after that started some stairs climbing and then 2019 just pre-covid started brisk walking and wife got diagnosed with RA and then i started racewalking while she also started exercising.

Quite long never measured already. Measured just now at home when i returned for lunch (after cool shower).
Think need to measure for family as well, a few months never monitored. :ROFLMAO:

Your 130+ systolic and 90+ diastolic no need meds actually if your mindset is solid, my wife started with Micardis (Telmisartan) but usually pre-hypertension can easily be managed with less sodium intake and cleaner foods and consistent physical activity.
If too long let it run wild and body screwed up, then really difficult to rein back.....coz anyway i always believe the mindset should be there in the first place as fundamental.

DxGJDKz.jpg
good man ! I wish you and your wife, long prosperous healthy life !

ksapple

last week when running almost knee a 4 years old kid, walking half way suddenly run across my path, sprain my leg zzzzzz

Morning wake up
110/86
113/87
113/85

Reach home evening
130/98
126/94
131/94
i am the other way from you.

wake up
130/98
126/94
131/94

evening
110/86
113/87
113/85

i discover if i dun eat chips for 2 nights in a row my bp will drop next day

dicxz80

last week when running almost knee a 4 years old kid, walking half way suddenly run across my path, sprain my leg zzzzzz

wake up
130/98
126/94
131/94

evening
110/86
113/87
113/85

are you on medication ?

maybe for me, stress at workplace :D I normally dont snack, once in a blue moon I will stress eating though (snacking or over eating junk food)

ksapple

are you on medication ?

maybe for me, stress at workplace :D I normally dont snack, once in a blue moon I will stress eating though (snacking or over eating junk food)
nah,
is due to my BP that i start running, use to be worst.
i like chips alot hahah
i tink during covid wfh, i eat Shilifang on a weekly basis for lunch that contribute too i guess haha

dicxz80

nah,
is due to my BP that i start running, use to be worst.
i like chips alot hahah
i tink during covid wfh, i eat Shilifang on a weekly basis for lunch that contribute too i guess haha
nice.. good to see that exercise can help in reducing blood pressure

stay healthy !

sales69

Guys, if you are considering buying Feiying Plaid, refer to the below Sizing from Taobao recommendation.

Don't bother asking Qiaodan or their retailer's customer support. Bullcrap.

I wore Plaid V1 size 44.5. Felt it's slightly long. So asked their support.

Both said buy Plaid 1.5 size 44.5, it's the same, absolutely no problem.

Curryneh when received, one look and I know the shoe length is much shorter.

Tried wearing, felt like sock fit, just nice. Not much allowance in front. Very likely to have bruising of toes from constant rubbing with upper.

Should have went with Taobao's recommendation(size 45) like i always did and that will be perfect.

Now contemplating whether to return. 🤔

-----

Plaid V1.5 Sizing

Plaid V1 Sizing

Ender

Guys, if you are considering buying Feiying Plaid, refer to the below Sizing from Taobao recommendation.

Tried wearing, felt like sock fit, just nice. Not much allowance in front. Very likely to have bruising of toes from constant rubbing with upper.

Should have went with Taobao's recommendation(size 45) like i always did and that will be perfect.

-----

Plaid V1.5 Sizing

Plaid V1 Sizing

I usually use their chart for reference, I measure my foot to be around 285mm. So the China length of 295mm has to be minimum. I would have gone for 46 for plaid 1.5 and 45 for plaid 1 if going by the chart you posted.

wrexel

wake up
130/98
126/94
131/94

evening
110/86
113/87
113/85

Your numbers might be indicative of morning surge and is one of the indicators of cardiovascular risk. Please try to stop chips (I know it's hard, but just don't buy them is my tip) as there is a lot of salt in there.

ksapple

Your numbers might be indicative of morning surge and is one of the indicators of cardiovascular risk. Please try to stop chips (I know it's hard, but just don't buy them is my tip) as there is a lot of salt in there.
trying my best liao >< from 1 pack a day to now 1 small bowl every other day.

I eat dinner at 5 pm but sometimes slp around 1 so mouth itchy around 8 lol

sales69

I usually use their chart for reference, I measure my foot to be around 285mm. So the China length of 295mm has to be minimum. I would have gone for 46 for plaid 1.5 and 45 for plaid 1 if going by the chart you posted.

Ya best go by Taobao size recommendation chart. (click Add to cart, there's a short line suggesting which size fits best)

It shows the measurements are different for every shoe model.

If you go by Qiaodan chart, it's the same measurement across any model.

QD chart size 44.5 = 285mm

In my case:

TB chart Plaid V1 size 44.5 = 290mm
TB chart Plaid V1.5 size 44.5 = 276mm (both accurate)

Big difference there. Got to give Taobao a 👍 for getting it right.

Cometdevil

Omg I forgot I have tendency to get rashes during jogging if I makan prawn..

Dinner ate 3 pieces of prawn nia jog 1km start sweating and rash start popping up on arms legs body and face.

Anyone with similar condition?
I don't have rash if eat seafood /prawn if I don't jog/exercise

Just decided to google. And notice other people have similar

sales69

Omg I forgot I have tendency to get rashes during jogging if I makan prawn..

Dinner ate 3 pieces of prawn nia jog 1km start sweating and rash start popping up on arms legs body and face.

Anyone with similar condition?
I don't have rash if eat seafood /prawn if I don't jog/exercise

Just decided to google. And notice other people have similar

I have prawn allergy since 20s with/without exercise. 😄

For a couple years after seeing TCM doctor, I don't get allergic reactions from eating prawns anymore.

But later with work and lifestyle stress, came back again.

Take antihistamine?

sales69

-----

Plaid V1.5 Sizing

Plaid V1 Sizing

Decided to screw returning. Just went ahead to run.

There's definitely less length but it did felt sock-like. Toebox is quite roomy despite the upper holding closely.

The new upper is different. Softer? More flexible? No pain at any toes after 10km!

I guess Qiaodan customer support knew better than me? 😃

Only problem is slight abrasion at right side inner foot arch. Caused by slim waist of the shoe. It's a problem pointed out by Chinese reviewers.

Got to run more to try. But should be fine as I don't plan to run beyond 10k.

The cushioning is firmer than Plaid V1, yet has a good amount of softness.

Can better feel every step's push‐off. Felt more energy return too.

Ran my best 10k in recent years. 5.34min pace.

Mostly in Zone 3, average 151HR.

Okay I did cheat by having a short pee break and quick water break. 😄

Damn nice to run in. Felt I could push more. Another pair of cheat-mode shoes!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.