jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

One other thing that is still left to be done is that i am a bit tempted to to strengthen the neck (upwards direction) for cycling too. Somewhat like what F1 drivers do.

That's about the only thing left.......
Dont know, quite inclined to use a band and use my hands...... :unsure: :ROFLMAO:
Is for aero tuck position for the TTs / races. (but heng i dont do longer distances)

Shoulders already more or less dealt with (inverted rows and various push ups)

KNN they all crazy one.

WussRedXLi

Ok found the video that better describes things.

It's supposed to be another icing on top of doing what you love most, that is the actual running or riding.
With keywords like "nearly close to failure" (or if you are ok and able to, get to failure even but really need to recover well enough), maximal strength etc.

Maybe just put it as bigger bang for your buck overall in terms of time/effort invested into the whole picture.

As for injury prevention/reduction......that one i dont know lah....i just trust the studies as usual? Hope can strengthen musckuloskeletal. (i know for calisthenics it does, i just posted 1 vid yesterday)

WussRedXLi

Ok side step topic a bit.......

So some (most?) of you might not want to gun a sub 10 min 3k, sub 20 5k or sub 40 10k sub 1:30HM.
Coz aging already.....no point. Health lumber 1!

Then lagi better, lagi more bang for you buck.

Plyo, as long as done explosively, nets you good recruitment of fast twitch muscle fibres. As we age, this is extremely important.....slow twitch wont lose much if any. But fast twitch is confirmed guaranteed.

Resistance strength training, is either better than cardio, or in some other studies combined strength + cardio is better than cardio alone.

No matter how we slice it, it's good stuff. Just that, you need a little bit more time. But from my own experience, hypertrophy and improvement in strength leading to better functions in life (eg lifting my 12 bottles of 1.5L ayataka from doorstep to my room each arm 18kg total 36kg no issue even for my age it didnt even feel super heavy...last year i could barely lift 1 x 12 bottles both hands), i think my own expedrience, average 15 mins per day can liao...nets you decent improvements. Same as SITs. Eg, now i can more or less do an L sit (calisthenics) and then tiwst my legs around (core work)
No need your 2-3 hrs long run or Gran Fondo / RTI cycling type of dedication. So, just add it on and do both.

Of coz if you are gym bro grade, then go ahead and go net more duration for strength / plyo.

(ps. note, you'd need good nutrition and good recovery and a good plan on how to hit different muscles on different days to maximise results)

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6322789/

https://www.menshealth.com/uk/fitne...rdio-at-protecting-you-against-heart-disease/

Bonus

WussRedXLi

Lai liao

dubai 29.6 deg C, 39% RH.
Heat index 29 deg C only :ROFLMAO:
Will never ever get 39% RH in SG with 30 deg C ambient.

Seriously, i think Taylor Knibb will win the series. She's really too power too good.
She just needs to get a 2nd place for Dubai to win the series.

fantasyrulz

PlZ8kre.jpg

Good weather after rain so time for my run.

*Ignore the zone2-1h totally not zone 2😂

Ran my first 10km sub 1h @ 58:52mins

OMG so proud of myself I have never ran 10km sub 1h and to do it in my late 30s is just crazy.

To some they can do it leisurely but for me it's really challenging as I'm a hybrid gym/jogging guy.

Started with running sub 30min 5km to now sub 1h 10km

WussRedXLi

Lai liao

dubai 29.6 deg C, 39% RH.
Heat index 29 deg C only :ROFLMAO:
Will never ever get 39% RH in SG with 30 deg C ambient.

Seriously, i think Taylor Knibb will win the series. She's really too power too good.
She just needs to get a 2nd place for Dubai to win the series.

Damn exciting women's race

The running pace

Ashley Gentle really rocket.
2.4k would be 7:46
5k would be 16:10
10k would be 32:20

I peng san, is zhar boh race....,,hot weather not cold like Las Vegas / San Francisco etc

xuri2mw.jpg

Kuudere

Good job. I also do much faster in maju. This year didn’t sub 9 cause of my injury but still got 50 pts for my age haha. Did you go ask for the patch, they will give sub 9 min runners an ippt patch haha

I wasn’t prepared to run in Maju initially since I was expecting the ippt to be conducted at Clementi Camp (same as what I did last year). So, I ran 1 mile at 8.30 2.4k pace in Clementi camp on Tuesday before Friday ippt. But ippt got shifted to Maju due to wet weather plan concerns. So, I had to adapt to running in Maju camp (which I ran 2 years ago).

I don’t think the patch is given since I did the ippt with NSmen conducting instead of the regular ippt booking. And I don’t plan to do regular ippt due to busy schedule, maybe if there’s no ippt in reservist, then I will decide to run the regular one.

Cole hocker should win. Few reasons why:

1. He already does 600s in his training runs. While Kerley, probably does 60s/100s.

2. Kerley downgrade from 400 to 100/200, becoming more of 100 guy. Will likely lack the endurance to keep up with Hocker towards the end.

3. Cole hocker has a deadly kick, a lot of people underestimate him for this. Built more like a 800 runner.

I think Kerley got a chance if he is still running 400m but after the downgrade to 100m, will be quite tough.

Tebogo is a different case. Explosive 200m, 300m WR, world class 400m times.

I will give Tebogo the edge against Hocker even though he never raced 600m, given how talented he is and also being known for gap closing.

Congrats on getting the gold and incentive u going to receive

I feel anyone who can run below 10 mins after NS is already fast. During my reservist period where I took IPPT . I ran 11mins 11 sec on my last cycle when I was 37 years old where I did run regularly during that period .

Unless those who ran IPPT are as serious runner like u. Don't think they will ever want to spend more than $150 on a carbon plated running shoe which probably cost even more

Gold wasn’t easy. I wanted to get gold most importantly amongst all of my running goals. So, quite thankful to get it this year.

Ippt 2.4K is generally always harder since got to do push up and sit up. And without transition training like my case, the 2.4K times in ippt will be a lot worse than the actual. I also didn’t wear carbon plated shoes for my ippt.

I think I should be able to get low 8.20 or high 8.10, if I run without push up/sit up + carbon plated shoes, based on training though.

Skyrillex

Good job. I also do much faster in maju. This year didn’t sub 9 cause of my injury but still got 50 pts for my age haha. Did you go ask for the patch, they will give sub 9 min runners an ippt patch haha
Huh really?

I ran sub 9min also at there this year but they never give me wor. :s11:

WussRedXLi

Wah u all better pray next next Sat is like today afternoon.
Sure Sunday early morning 27-28 deg C Heat Index

Night time will sure have N/NE winds, can cool down overnight.

XgJJROi.jpg

3SvCDE8.jpg

4+ AM now. So this early morning's Heat index temp is 27 deg C. Due to yesterday afternoon's rather solid rain.
25.6 deg C 85% RH

So better hope for afternoon rain in 2 week's time prior to SCSM.

At my elevated running place lagi better, 1 deg lower than @ sea level but same RH% or sometimes slightly lower (if the public roads are wet then yeah localised higher RH%).
Heat index 25.6 deg C instead of 27 deg C.

WussRedXLi

1. He already does 600s in his training runs. While Kerley, probably does 60s/100s.

2. Kerley downgrade from 400 to 100/200, becoming more of 100 guy. Will likely lack the endurance to keep up with Hocker towards the end.

3. Cole hocker has a deadly kick, a lot of people underestimate him for this. Built more like a 800 runner.

I think Kerley got a chance if he is still running 400m but after the downgrade to 100m, will be quite tough.

I will give Tebogo the edge against Hocker even though he never raced 600m, given how talented he is and also being known for gap closing.

Haha......i remember Usain Bolt once said before in an interview "No, i don't do laps". :ROFLMAO:

Wait, so in your opinion, even i lao kok kok also can beat say queen Shanti at 3k 5k? (lets not go too far to 10k) :unsure:

sph777

Huh really?

I ran sub 9min also at there this year but they never give me wor. :s11:
I wasn’t prepared to run in Maju initially since I was expecting the ippt to be conducted at Clementi Camp (same as what I did last year). So, I ran 1 mile at 8.30 2.4k pace in Clementi camp on Tuesday before Friday ippt. But ippt got shifted to Maju due to wet weather plan concerns. So, I had to adapt to running in Maju camp (which I ran 2 years ago).

I don’t think the patch is given since I did the ippt with NSmen conducting instead of the regular ippt booking. And I don’t plan to do regular ippt due to busy schedule, maybe if there’s no ippt in reservist, then I will decide to run the regular one.

Gold wasn’t easy. I wanted to get gold most importantly amongst all of my running goals. So, quite thankful to get it this year.

Ippt 2.4K is generally always harder since got to do push up and sit up. And without transition training like my case, the 2.4K times in ippt will be a lot worse than the actual. I also didn’t wear carbon plated shoes for my ippt.

I think I should be able to get low 8.20 or high 8.10, if I run without push up/sit up + carbon plated shoes, based on training though.
The first year they gave the patch cause I didn’t know it existed. Last year I pointed it out cause I wanted to see if still have. This year didn’t sub 9 so not sure if still have.

It is a diff patch for the two years. My friend also got a patch for 100 pts. 2022 was the circle one. 2023 was the square

Kuudere

Haha......i remember Usain Bolt once said before in an interview "No, i don't do laps". :ROFLMAO:

Wait, so in your opinion, even i lao kok kok also can beat say queen Shanti at 3k 5k? (lets not go too far to 10k) :unsure:

Shanti fastest 2.4km is 11 minutes at sec 3 and her 400m PB is 53.67s.

You will probably beat her 800m in, definitely before the 1km mark.

WussRedXLi

Shanti fastest 2.4km is 11 minutes at sec 3 and her 400m PB is 53.67s.

You will probably beat her 800m in, definitely before the 1km mark.

OIC, thx for the info. 2.4 11 min @ sec 3 for a girl is fast. Now i believe easily 9-10 mins thereabouts from the carry over from the 400s.

I think 1km is totally impossible with that frigging fast 400 timing ie glycolytic system. ....... need to really surpass 2.4 distance to be sure. :ROFLMAO: well over 4 mins mark so that the glycolytic pathway system is literally well exhausted. And then i presume her aerobic system also not too bad....just not local pro level eg GCL / Vanessa type.

WussRedXLi

Yo......no no no.

i remember she did share with ST her training days. Believe got longer runs one. So her aerobic system confirm wont be bad. Heck even if she just trains 400m reps solidly (for her 200 whatever) , the carry over to even 6 times the distance, ie 2.4k would still be very significant. 3K also bo bao actually.

After all, some people train IPPT by just running 400-ish intervals, no need to be the best, as long as got run relatively fast until you pant, do it sufficiently in terms of volume, still pass. Unless that fella obese company lah. keyword = pass. :ROFLMAO: (last time for us lao peng 12:40 slowest, if younger just after NSF was 12:20 i think)

Oh here. Also got 80m SITs.
Hill sprints @ MB etc. Stairs sprints (neuro and power)
MB that slope she runs till somewhat past that (defunct) lift, which is approx 200m distance.
So basically similar to 400m flat? Not sure.
Speed endurance 150s and 300s.

Confirm not slow for 2.4 at that level.

WussRedXLi

Heck, just remember now, though anecdotal........got some people never run, also got sub 10 for IPPT.
Some youngish cyclists, they hate running and so never train. 2.4 no issue.
Just a matter of some very localised soreness for some minor parts of some muscles / ligaments the day after due to running so fast. It's just 2.4, wont be super injured one lah.

For me is SITs (for running based time efficient training) and then racewalking. First time run fast and longer distance in 2022, 1.6km 6:20 timing. 3:55+ pace i think. That time i remember i testing the Takumi Sen 9 which just came from runnerinn, which was among my first pair of dedicated running shoes coz i wanted to start running.
So that was with literally ZERO / KOSONG running economy.

If you want me to throw a number out there, i think she 9 mins flat totally no issue at all, possibly doing 8:30 on a good day, in season possibly low 8s.
The only thing left is just for her to join Pocari Sweat 2.4.

Kuudere

OIC, thx for the info. 2.4 11 min @ sec 3 for a girl is fast. Now i believe easily 9-10 mins thereabouts from the carry over from the 400s.

I think 1km is totally impossible with that frigging fast 400 timing ie glycolytic system. ....... need to really surpass 2.4 distance to be sure. :ROFLMAO: well over 4 mins mark so that the glycolytic pathway system is literally well exhausted. And then i presume her aerobic system also not too bad....just not local pro level eg GCL / Vanessa type.
Ok let's look at a few runners:

1. Shanti >> 100: 11.19, 200: 22.57, 400: 53.67
2. Dipna Lim Prasad >> 100: 12.16, 200: 24.46, 400: 54.18
3. Goh Chui Ling >> 200: 25.49, 400: 56.72, 800: 2.07, 1500: 4.26, 2.4k: 7.48
4. Romaine Soh >> 800: 2.14, 1500: 4.43, 2.4k: 8.05
5. Vanessa >> 1500: 4.44, 2.4k: 7.59

Shanti aerobic system isn't as good as Dipna Lim Prasad, but her explosive speed is much faster.

Chui Ling has slower explosive speed, but impressive scaling. Her 800m time almost broke the 800m NR.

Romaine Soh, has more burst than Vanessa, but worse endurance than Vanessa. Her explosive speed and endurance can't beat Chui Ling.

Overall thoughts: Shanti has potential to get 800m NR, but it would affect her 100/200m training. Might not as well, since her deterioration is significant compared to other runners. 1.5k, hard to gauge her endurance without knowing her 1500m times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.