jogging and motivation thread

sph777

40km per week (3 10km+2 5km)

Been doing it for a month and not improving at all. 10km 55mins

Do you think if I continue to do it, I will improve? Not going for any event just running for leisure

Heard this is called maintenance run and I will not improve without changing program?
I think all this while u have been building your base. To improve timing now need to work on speed such as intervals. Otherwise will still not have much improvement.

Jeremy1

What I know in order to improve on your timing, you must do interval tempo run and running at speed at zone 5 for 5 minutes n slowly increase which will help you improve your overall performance.

Also need to have a proper diet n also reduce your weight and also wear a good pair of running shoes.

Everytime my watch suggested me to go for tempo workouts, I always skipped :grin:

WussRedXLi

40km per week (3 10km+2 5km)

Been doing it for a month and not improving at all. 10km 55mins

Do you think if I continue to do it, I will improve? Not going for any event just running for leisure

Heard this is called maintenance run and I will not improve without changing program?

Bro..... 1 month. I ever had 6 months (same, i do things like 3, 5 and 10k only) also hentak kaki there, of coz not aided by the somewhat slightly inaccuracies of GPS, although since it is the same route so more or less it should be there.
But yes, if you hentak kaki, then in many cases you are due to change a bit in training program, nutrition or recovery.

Training routine is just 1 of the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle. You might be training ok or increasing stimulus, you might improve a wee bit....but then if you are under-recovering then you are not going to leap forward further. Also even for training piece of the puzzle, you might not be in the correct training zone.
So....in a sense, it pays if you also look after your nutrition and recovery, might be able to get more mileage and returns from there as well.

Talking about training zones, that is also one of the reasons why i got the lactate meter, to take out more guesswork and possible inaccuracies/errors however slight they might be.
Also easier/faster to do when you are progressing and there will be changes obviously. (dont have to always do, once every month 1 or 2 sessions go confirm can liao).
Only drawback is need to poke with lance so normal people dont like, but those who have been doing OGTT or fasting blood glucose readings regularly no issue lah, fast and easy job.

But anyway, since you leisure runner, why the fixation on running time ah? :unsure: 😅
You do 55 mins now and you do 48 mins later, seriously no big difference in real world. Even if you do running groups, you join the correct pace group lor. It's only for TTs or the more serious races then it would matter. (serious races, coz i think most races out there the distance also salah....much worse than you using your GPS watch in open cases).

WussRedXLi

OMG

美珍香
1 Pax for S$44.90, 2 Pax for S$79.80

Thumbnail_800x800px_AYCE2024.jpg

WussRedXLi

1:15:58

He is slightly faster than me for 3, 5k (and 10k most probably), but i can only dream of finishing 21.1k at such fast paces.
edit - i actually have not even went past 19K in one single continuous run to be perfectly honest.

ctstalin

Looks like an interesting distance to try and challenge....... (i have never ran before)

I ran 400m and 400m hurdles competitively during Scholls track season.

Really need to pace yourself well. Too fast, and you'll die out at the last straight with the lactic acid build up in the quads making you crawl to the finish line. Too slow, and you'll get smoked and too little time and distance to catch up with the rest of the competition

WussRedXLi

Actually didn't want to post this, but i think still have to post this.......

Please do not do this esp on the road or cycling lanes (NOT shared paths)

During running sessions i as a runner i also keep to the running demarcated line and dont cross the line, coz i know it would really really hurt it's not a joke.
Esp at night + dressed in black + wearing earpods earphones, even ear bone conducting earphones are not totally safe in such a situation. (some fast bikes / grabfood put BT speaker music as an additional layer of safety in addition to the lights esp if approaching from behind so you dont see their lights being reflected off the asphalt)

You might think this is dumb, it should not happen at all, but this happens more often than you think it can happen. Cyclists on mobile phones even seen before, believe it or not. (usually Anywheels or youngsters on fixes)

WussRedXLi

I ran 400m and 400m hurdles competitively during Scholls track season.

Really need to pace yourself well. Too fast, and you'll die out at the last straight with the lactic acid build up in the quads making you crawl to the finish line. Too slow, and you'll get smoked and too little time and distance to catch up with the rest of the competition

Thanks sharing....., will google / youtube search for more tips as well. :ROFLMAO:

Fast speed work i am not new to it, i do 60-75m for quite a few years (pre covid) coz of my kid, good training also for him. And now for training i incoporate hill sprints too, but only 45m or so, simply coz that is the length of my approx 8% gradient hill here. :ROFLMAO: Strides would be slightly longer, up to 100m and sometimes possibly 120-130m? Some train intervals for 200m-300m but i dont do those, interestingly. I do some intervals 600-800m though, but not really maximal effort.

400m is so much longer for near max effort, is like strides and between strides and full maximal sprint.

seriously, i also dont know do for what reason. But good to try.

edit - disclaimer : for others looking at this, best to do some cardiac tests / scans first, preferably at least the $400-450 stress ones, maybe add in the usual full body checkup if never done before. For me i do quite regularly, 2 x stress treadmills already (next year prob going for my 3rd one)

edit 2 - also, try not to do these more extended maximal efforts if not hydrated properly, your blood would be thick etc. 3k TTs, 5k 10k TTs where you gun max effort at the end for kicks. (sometimes might even vomit).
Really risky if dehydrated state, and it's not coz of the heat injury risk only, but more like blood clots etc.

WussRedXLi

Regarding lactic acid / hydrogen ions buildup in the muscles, seems like for 800m beta alanine might help for club level recreational runners. :ROFLMAO: ie relevant to us, coz not elite level / pro level with super high VO2max etc........

I saw another study for 10k also would help. But interestingly 1 other 5k study found no difference.

But of coz all are small scale singlular studies (no $$$ to be earned mah), need to poll many others and do meta analysis sometimes.

Somemore is 3.6 secs for 800m, which is huge and significant........is not marginal gains

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23630039/

Abstract​

Beta-alanine supplementation has been shown to improve exercise performance in short-term, high-intensity efforts.

Purpose: The aim of this study was to assess if beta-alanine supplementation could improve 800 m track running performance in male recreational club runners (n = 18).

Methods: Participants completed duplicate trials (2 presupplementation, 2 postsupplementation) of an 800 m race, separated by 28 days of either beta-alanine (n = 9; 80 mg·kg-1BM·day-1) or placebo (n = 9) supplementation.

Results: Using ANCOVA (presupplementation times as covariate), postsupplementation race times were significantly faster following beta-alanine (p = .02), with post- versus presupplementation race times being faster after beta-alanine (-3.64 ± 2.70 s, -2.46 ± 1.80%) but not placebo (-0.59 ± 2.54 s, -0.37 ± 1.62%). These improvements were supported by a moderate effect size (d = 0.70) and a very likely (99%) benefit in the beta-alanine group after supplementation. Split times (ANCOVA) at 400 m were significantly faster (p = .02) postsupplementation in the beta-alanine group, compared with placebo. This was supported by large effect sizes (d = 1.05-1.19) and a very likely (99%) benefit at the 400 and 800 m splits when comparing pre- to postsupplementation with beta-alanine. In addition, the first and second halves of the race were faster post- compared with presupplementation following beta-alanine (1st half -1.22 ± 1.81 s, likely 78% chance of benefit; 2nd half -2.38 ± 2.31 s, d = 0.83, very likely 98% chance of benefit). No significant differences between groups or pre- and postsupplementation were observed for postrace blood lactate and pH.
Conclusion: Overall, 28 days of beta-alanine supplementation (80 mg·kg-1BM·day-1) improved 800 m track performance in recreational club runners.

Kuudere

Ran my fastest ever 2.4km recorded on IPPT. 8 minute 38 seconds, with non-carbon plate shoes. Interestingly, most people don't wear carbon plate shoes and just wear the army shoes to run.

https://www.nusbcr.com/events/10km-competitive-run

Will be signing up for Bizad Charity Run 10km next (hilly 10k). Early bird deadline is 17 November 11.59 pm ($40).

huattoeat

Ran my fastest ever 2.4km recorded on IPPT. 8 minute 38 seconds, with non-carbon plate shoes. Interestingly, most people don't wear carbon plate shoes and just wear the army shoes to run.

Will be signing up for Bizad Charity Run 10km next (hilly 10k). Early bird deadline is 17 November 11.59 pm ($40).

power. hope i can hit sub around 9min at next window next year. previous one 9:35 :<

Kuudere

power. hope i can hit sub around 9min at next window next year. previous one 9:35 :<
Try your best, probably can hit next year. I was 10.03-10.04 last year, then managed to get this time. But of course, that was when I was still doing maintenance runs. Didn't do consistent intervals, wore army shoes, and admin shorts (not PT shorts).

My next goal is sub-41 minute 10k.

Skyrillex

You wear carbon plate shoes confirm sub 8min liao.

WussRedXLi

Try your best, probably can hit next year. I was 10.03-10.04 last year, then managed to get this time. But of course, that was when I was still doing maintenance runs. Didn't do consistent intervals, wore army shoes, and admin shorts (not PT shorts).

My next goal is sub-41 minute 10k.

Fwah progress is real quick.....maciam beginner gains kinda improvement but made at advanced level teethering at (local) elite level.
In 12 months 10 mins improve to 8.5 mins (1 min 30s) is crazy. 13 mins drop to 11:30 level is significantly easier.

Young age really FTW.

I no pro for really longer distance (HM / FM), but i believe for 10k if got more hours put in shd be able to achieve it.
For me i think my musckuloskeleta pecah first. :ROFLMAO: (muscles / aerobic system etc move faster than musckuloskeletal)
I put around 20hrs of biking per week, but over half is like junky lah. Still i believe at least 8hrs quality and semi scheduled (intervals, rolling hill repeats, simi STARTS ultra low cadence push off from start in highest gear 8% hill climbs etc). Running mileage i'd put it as 30km/week but mostly broken up and no real long runs except sometimes wanna test 10k so just go push 10k.

sales69

Damn fast! At that pace, I can only sprint 250m max.

That's why I like carbon plated shoes with high energy return. Need running aid. 😂

WussRedXLi

And one other thing for 10k that i know, at least for my body type / size......is that 40 min 10k pace or below, i will overheat once past 7-8k.

More like start to feel really hot.....blood pressure like wonky, light headed.
Aerobic / breathing / HR I still can take it.....but overall feel something start to be off. Is it risky to push past that stage? Not sure, but for sure i am not gonna find out. :unsure:

I know it's due to the heat for me, coz for "troubleshooting" i use active ice cooling + gun on cooler days, no issue i can complete 10k fast.

3k 5k distances no issue, not kena before......i think is coz too short distances for the heat to heat soak all the way through (hypothesizing here). So usually if just run on cooler days for such "TTs" is ok liao.

WussRedXLi

Damn fast! At that pace, I can only sprint 250m max.

That's why I like carbon plated shoes with high energy return. Need running aid. 😂

I also like to do stride paces for longer distances like 600-800m in the PLAID. Really like that shoe...... And the NB SCE 3. Just bounce along can liao..... Nice feeling to run fast.

I believe the foam has a larger contribution than the plate. And of coz that shoe is crazy light for that kind of stack height.

I hope some brand in China and go crazy and copy the 140g Pro EVO (Adidas) and sell to us at S$150. :love:

sales69

I also like to do stride paces for longer distances like 600-800m in the PLAID. Really like that shoe...... And the NB SCE 3. Just bounce along can liao..... Nice feeling to run fast.

I believe the foam has a larger contribution than the plate. And of coz that shoe is crazy light for that kind of stack height.

I hope some brand in China and go crazy and copy the 140g Pro EVO (Adidas) and sell to us at S$150. :love:

Well described. Bouncing along.

Ya i feel for Plaid too, the foam does more than the plate rocker feel.

Tempted to get the NB SCE 3 now that you mention. 😄

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.