jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

<iframe width="1501" height="748" src="" title="Uae Tour 2025 – Stage 6 [LIVE STREAM]" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" referrerpolicy="strict-origin-when-cross-origin" allowfullscreen></iframe>

sph777

run until wanna die liao. hit my max heart towards the the last 1km.
Runna gave quite a good estimate as i managed to hit their lower end timing.
however, it seems to be too optimistic that i could go faster.

onwards to the next 5k plan!!

Good job! Continue to improve

rarenick

Is it impossible to run and maintain at zone 2 heart rate? If I go for normal jog, I hit zone 4. If I go slow jog I hit zone 3. If I want to achieve zone 2, I can only brisk walk. Is this normal? Are u guys able to jog at zone 2?

WussRedXLi

Is it impossible to run and maintain at zone 2 heart rate? If I go for normal jog, I hit zone 4. If I go slow jog I hit zone 3. If I want to achieve zone 2, I can only brisk walk. Is this normal? Are u guys able to jog at zone 2?

Yes, just run shuffle first (legs not kicking high) and see if you can run slow and maintain zone 2. Issue is zoning it correctly.

For eg, as a cyclist, i am sure you know that your cycling threshold is not the same as your running threshold. That is why so many cyclists are not doing base rides correctly (way too fast, either that or i am bloody unfit, which i don't really think so....and it's even more evident for lady cyclists way way too fast for their fitness).
It was only when i used a tactate meter then i also confirmed that my zone 2 for cycling is even lower than what i thought it was (and i already based it lower than my running).

So you'd need to set your zone correctly first, via various methods, and hopefully those methods are a fairly accurate test.

WussRedXLi

By the way, just try in the early mornings when it is still cool nwoadays and within 3-4km, you will find that it is possible. If you want you can pour some iced water or drape a towel on your neck with iced water for such testing to see if you can maintain Z2.

sales69

Took a long time for body to adjust. At least for me. 6 months.

Very pek chek to keep HR in check. Somemore I run around 5 to 6.30pm. The first half hot and sunny so HR is always going up.

Initially I resorted to slowing to a crawl and go for water/toilet breaks for HR to come down.

After 6 months, on cool days, finally able to average 130s HR at 6.45/km pace.

During Nov/Dec 2024, I ran mainly zone 3 and 4s. Before CNY did not ran much.

From CNY day 1 onwards, I ran Zone 2 at 150s HR. Simply won't drop even at 7min pace.

Then i dulan Increase pace, HR still maintained at 150s.😄

After several runs, finally this week managed 2 runs at 140-145 HR at 6.20/km.

Hope next few runs will improve further.

rarenick

Yes, just run shuffle first (legs not kicking high) and see if you can run slow and maintain zone 2. Issue is zoning it correctly.
For eg, as a cyclist, i am sure you know that your cycling threshold is not the same as your running threshold. That is why so many cyclists are not doing base rides correctly (way too fast, either that or i am bloody unfit, which i don't really think so....and it's even more evident for lady cyclists way way too fast for their fitness).
It was only when i used a tactate meter then i also confirmed that my zone 2 for cycling is even lower than what i thought it was (and i already based it lower than my running).
So you'd need to set your zone correctly first, via various methods, and hopefully those methods are a fairly accurate test.

Once I hit the road on bike, sure zone 3 or 4 most of the time. If keep within zone 2, will be a hindrance to traffic. Hence I prefer to cycle indoors if I need to do base training. Measure zones also problematic as I don't want to hit ftp. I imagine it's a terrible experience. Old liao better don't play play or risk it.

WussRedXLi

Took a long time for body to adjust. At least for me. 6 months.

Very pek chek to keep HR in check. Somemore I run around 5 to 6.30pm. The first half hot and sunny so HR is always going up.

Initially I resorted to slowing to a crawl and go for water/toilet breaks for HR to come down.

After 6 months, on cool days, finally able to average 130s HR at 6.45/km pace.

During Nov/Dec 2024, I ran mainly zone 3 and 4s. Before CNY did not ran much.

From CNY day 1 onwards, I ran Zone 2 at 150s HR. Simply won't drop even at 7min pace.

Then i dulan Increase pace, HR still maintained at 150s.😄

After several runs, finally this week managed 2 runs at 140-145 HR at 6.20/km.

Hope next few runs will improve further.

If you have a route/track in which you can run round and round, can try preparing a 1.5L bottle of really iced water, or better if you have an insulated flask with iced water. Then pour onto your body and neck towel to soak up the iced water.

See if it works. If it is, then it is due to heat (and adaptation). But anyway i just try to avoid heat as much as possible, our cool days of 29-31 deg C heat index are actually still pretty warm and somewhat qualify as heat training for ang mohs. Just that some pros train at 35-40 deg C heat index.

WussRedXLi

Once I hit the road on bike, sure zone 3 or 4 most of the time. If keep within zone 2, will be a hindrance to traffic. Hence I prefer to cycle indoors if I need to do base training. Measure zones also problematic as I don't want to hit ftp. I imagine it's a terrible experience. Old liao better don't play play or risk it.

Yeah i know, so for me it's either PCNs or weekends early mornings (where vast majority pedestrians also cheong their red lights). Can also be part road part PCN depending on the road. I also loop Sentosa as well but it is quite the discipline to keep it within zone 2 for climbs, really gotta not mind crawling up.

rarenick

Yeah i know, so for me it's either PCN or early mornings.
That's what I tot. Even bought a crius but seldom use because riding pcn is too crowded. My road cycling usually starts at 530am or 6am. Lack of sleep becomes counterproductive in training.

sales69

If you have a route/track in which you can run round and round, can try preparing a 1.5L bottle of really iced water, or better if you have an insulated flask with iced water. Then pour onto your body and neck towel to soak up the iced water.

See if it works. If it is, then it is due to heat (and adaptation). But anyway i just try to avoid heat as much as possible, our cool days of 29-31 deg C heat index are actually still pretty warm and somewhat qualify as heat training for ang mohs. Just that some pros train at 35-40 deg C heat index.

For me confirm heat plays a part.

Even on non sunny days, can feel the heat builds up and goes to the head.

If a passing shower comes along, instant shiok. Heat dissipate and can go even faster while HR don't swing up.

I don't like early morning/night runs so 5pm is the best time for me. Good for suntan also. 😃

WussRedXLi

That's what I tot. Even bought a crius but seldom use because riding pcn is too crowded. My road cycling usually starts at 530am or 6am. Lack of sleep becomes counterproductive in training.

Yeah.....early mornings need a corresponding change in sleep timing. But luckily once settled into a rhythm (eg by 9.30pm would feel sleepy, and sometimes it could be as early as 8.45pm) then automatically waking up at 5-5.30 isnt that bad. I used to use melatonin a lot when i was running but after started cycling (a lot of volume) i find that really tiring, fall asleep early much easier.

Good thing is that my wife/kid also sleeps really early. By 9.30/10pm. And i sleep in a different room should the next day be early morning. But come warmer months now starting March i might switch back to 9-12 midnight.

Of coz job/office location is impt, for me i am currently lucky that no OT + my office is around 1km away and i walk/jog home, which doubles up as a bit of run training as well so nothing is lost. Just need another dedicated session in the week of either tempo/threshold or even SIT+a bit of running can liao). Cycling settles cardio and some zone 2 benefits for some shared muscles.

DigDub

Just heard a cyclist passed away from heart attack this morning while riding.

WussRedXLi

Just heard a cyclist passed away from heart attack this morning while riding.

Wow...RIP.

Discussed many times in this thread before, athletes older than 35 esp post 40 better go screen. Usually sudden cardiac death is due to atherosclerotic coronary heart disease. Some > 50 also still chionging.,,,,better do,

$400 packages usually ok enough for those not at risk / symptomless. Can do every 5 years or so. Those at higher risk like higher BMI/high body fat % can choose those in the $800-1600 range.

Or some like to cycle to Malaysia right. Just cycle to Melaka as holiday to do lah. So much cheaper there at the private hospitals.

DigDub

Wow...RIP.

Discussed many times in this thread before, athletes older than 35 esp post 40 better go screen. Usually sudden cardiac death is due to atherosclerotic coronary heart disease. Some > 50 also still chionging.,,,,better do,

$400 packages usually ok enough for those not at risk / symptomless. Can do every 5 years or so. Those at higher risk like higher BMI/high body fat % can choose those in the $800-1600 range.

Or some like to cycle to Malaysia right. Just cycle to Melaka as holiday to do lah. So much cheaper there at the private hospitals.
Ya after 40s confirm got blockage one. Better do a CT scan to see if need to take medicine or op.

WussRedXLi

Actually that also brings me to this...... weekend warrior cyclists joining "group rides" be it weekeday or weekends. And as cyclists we all know how often those can turn out to be scam rides in one way or another, esp since if one goes around different groups. If stick to 1 close and well known group of close kakis then that is probably fine.
But cycling is esp notorious. Weekend warrior cyclists usually would not have sufficient conditioning / volume to do such things.
Unfortunately, upgrades can easily be bought, and then if the body is not ready to handle and everytime see attacks then also wanna react, the risks would be higher.

Running usually no such scam runs one. haha..... Even fartleks are seemingly controlled comparatively.
Unless if join parkruns and you are in super compeitive mode then yeah. OTher than that, the folks are usually more disciplined. So weekend warrior runners usually not exposed to such risks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.