jogging and motivation thread

xllms

I like the stability and lightness of the shoe and use it for most of my speed work but I think races I still prefer plaid haha. I prefer the energy return of plaid 1.5
is plaid1.5 alot softer?

sph777

Somehow home is not conducive for exercise for most people. I have several weights, abs roller at home that became white elephant eventually.
They were only useful when covid lockdown happened and gym was closed haha

sph777

you got a pair of Turbo 3.0 too! welcome to the club! 😀
indeed the colorways aren't great, but the shoe feels really good during runs. It has all the characteristics i want in a pair of good running shoes. Many claimed it should be used at higher paces, eg. higher than 5min/km runner, i think this doesn't feel too shabby at the paces i run in.

initially i wanted to try running with insoles as well. Bought a pair of the BMAI insole, felt higher, but will feel tighter. After yesterday's run, i think am good with the stock option.

Feels this pair can really compete with top western brands running shoes. Am so glad to have kept this and returned the nike zoomfly 6, which was slightly on the tight side for my left feet despite half size larger than my usual size.

is plaid1.5 alot softer?
I think it is much softer, it is really not stable that's for sure haha

sales69

is plaid1.5 alot softer?
I feel plaid 1.5 is firmer(with a touch of soft) but have better energy return.

Coupled with the plate rocking effect, it encourages/guide me to go faster.

Whereas Turbo 3 is DIY go faster kind of feeling. 😄

The plate is more natural with less rocking. Not necessarily a con, just different style.

The Plaid rocking forward can be hazardous when not used to it.

For eg. After run, i went to supermarket. When kneeling down(without thought) to grab something, will lean forward!

xllms

The plate is more natural with less rocking. Not necessarily a con, just different style.

For eg. After run, i went to supermarket. When kneeling down(without thought) to grab something, will lean forward!

yes, what i really like about the turbo3.0 is the naturalness in moving me forward. I have grown to move away from the aggressive rocker style.
i am quite surprised turbo3.0 makes my run so effortless and smooth.

sph777

Haha that's what I mean just u can describe it better haha. I feel the rocking effect is very good for races

ykau

I'm coming to 50 Years old, are there many people older than me who run 5km at 5:5/km per day in thrice a week? Is it advisable?

sales69

I'm coming to 50 Years old, are there many people older than me who run 5km at 5:5/km per day in thrice a week? Is it advisable?
No problems as long as used to the load. Just don't get fixated over the speed.

For eg. When condition not great, no need to insist on reaching the same speed. Easiest route to injury.

When on form, feel free to go faster.

Do stretching after runs.

WussRedXLi

Jeremy1 mid 60s, he does / used to gun 20+ km one.... but nowadays think he dropped back to 5-6km range.

Anyway 5k 3 times a week at those speeds no issue, most folks can tahan even with no strength conditioning and without much easing up to such mileages. (basically a 15k weekly mileage).
Even if running form is bad, usually not enough to cause any issues wont spoil anything.
Like i told jeremy1 a few times b4, 5km, is a healthy distance. (y) :ROFLMAO:
If that is insufficient volume and you want more, then can also try cross training.......he does stationary bike also (which is zero impact).

Disclaimer
Of coz if one is a totally couch potato and past 20-30 years ZERO exercise (many Singaporeans are like that no joke) and now BMI 25-35 wanna gun straight into 3x a week 15k weekly mileage, then even at a snail 9min/km pace he/she is just setting up for PF or AT or patellar pain.
Need start at say 2km very slow jog, rest 3-4 days, then slowly cut down on the rest duration and up the distance slowly...you add 3-5% per week is very very safe range. Most literatures mentioned add 10% mileage weekly but i feel that might be a bit risky. 3-5% is literally idiot proof one.

So it will be a few good months before you hit that 5km on alternate days....it's not a fast process. Main thing one needs is patience.
But of coz i dont think you are a total newbie to exercise and just asking about whether 5k x 3 weekly will pai or not, nope it wont.

Ender

There's one member here who used to post his 5km runs daily at 5 min plus pace.. Yes, daily. Can't remember his nick. But the thing is to slowly build up to that volume. Your body need time to adapt to that volume for daily runs. Your situation, 3 times a week should be fine.

Ender

So many good reviews here on the Bmai turbo 3.0. Put on my watch list together with Plaid 1.5 or 2 liao for later half of the year when I start to hunt for SCSM race shoes.

xllms

yes it is possible if one conditions him/herself appropriately without over straining one's body. Build it up slowly and listen to your own body. Commit to it and stay consistent.

xllms

Of coz if one is a totally couch potato and past 20-30 years ZERO exercise (many Singaporeans are like that no joke) and now BMI 25-35 wanna gun straight into 3x a week 15k weekly mileage, then even at a snail 9min/km pace he/she is just setting up for PF or AT or patellar pain.
Need start at say 2km very slow jog, rest 3-4 days, then slowly cut down on the rest duration and up the distance slowly...you add 3-5% per week is very very safe range. Most literatures mentioned add 10% mileage weekly but i feel that might be a bit risky. 3-5% is literally idiot proof one.
you have described me so well lol 😂

WussRedXLi

you have described me so well lol 😂

Not only you or myself even, but i dare say vast vast majority of the people around us. Proper exercise at least Z2 stimulus, not just walking around the garden downstairs type. SGreans here have it worse here due to various commitments nowadays. TFR already like that liao, dont say exercise.

I also didnt exercise after post NSF, then yearly IPPT just 6-8 weeks run on treadmill and do that Lats pulldown for more reps (pull up training). Then hope for the best that conducting occifer not around the station and then my RSAF base folks/PTI all anyhow one, just use mouth to give command and eyes wander elsewhere you ownself carry on. So that i can get 216cm. on SBF. Pull up station just kick to your heart's content can get 6 reps pass liao.
I 2.4 usually no issue despite with 6-8 weeks running on treadmill coz BMI ok mah + first 200m or so is a solid 5-6% gradient downslope and i have seen it for myself they didnt press start until the last few obese walkers walk past the PTI (hao siao one i know) so best to gun it at the start you'd easily gain 30-45 seconds there.

The in between IPPT/ICTs kosong, who bloody cares. 🤣

Then no more ICTs even worse, nothing at all. Wasn't until around late 40s then i started to do occasional stairs walking up to my apt here (high floor so at least something), and then my wife and i started briskwalking and then i racewalking when covid p1 lifted and we could be free-er outside after being cooped up so long.

For women, hor hor......dont get me started. If got play Yoga is arm chio liao. But nowadays got all these Pliates and Yoga new age stuff and even latter times Crossfit and the latest being Hyrox.

WussRedXLi

2:14 pace for 1km

Comment in the vid "These are some Mo Katir type of improvements" 🤣

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.