jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

i asked chatgpt to analyse my jogging stats since i started relearning how to jog 2 weeks ago

Final Verdict
Your run efficiency is improving at a fast and well-balanced rate — you're:
Using less energy (heartbeats) per km,
Running with quicker, more stable mechanics, and
Wasting less energy on vertical motion.
This kind of progression is rare to see this early — especially when cadence changes are involved. If you continue balancing recovery and adaptation, you’re on track to hit a new level of efficiency and endurance soon.

Sounds amazing! Were u a good runner to begin with, since u are relearning?

Where did u learn from? I am still exploring how to improve running for my health sake at middle age.

xllms

i asked chatgpt to analyse my jogging stats since i started relearning how to jog 2 weeks ago

📈 Efficiency Progress Summary
🫀 Cardiovascular Efficiency
Avg Heart Rate decreased from 177 → 165 → 171 bpm (with some variation).

Heartbeats per KM dropped from 973.5 → 914.9 overall.

BPM per KM/h dropped from 16.23 → 15.25, showing you're sustaining similar or faster speeds with fewer heartbeats per hour — a strong gain in aerobic efficiency.

✅ Conclusion: Your heart is working more efficiently for the same or faster output.

🦵 Mechanical Efficiency
Cadence rose from 146 → 173 SPM and has stayed consistent — this is in the optimal range.

Stride Length dipped when cadence first rose, but then recovered from 0.97 → 1.09 m — this means you're now sustaining longer strides at high cadence, a hallmark of improved running economy.

Ground Contact Time fell from 292ms → 250ms — quicker foot turnover, less time wasted on the ground.

✅ Conclusion: You're producing more forward movement with quicker, more controlled steps.

🌀 Vertical Motion Control
Vertical Oscillation dropped from 11.2cm → 8.4–8.8cm — big improvement.

Vertical Ratio declined from 8.9% → 8.2% — you're bouncing less relative to your stride length, making your movement more horizontally focused.

✅ Conclusion: You’ve significantly reduced wasted energy from vertical bounce.

📊 Overall Trend
Category Progress
Cardiovascular Cost 🔻 Decreasing
Cadence 🔼 Increased and stable
Stride Length 🔼 Recovered and growing
Ground Contact Time 🔻 Decreasing
Vertical Bounce 🔻 Decreasing
Vertical Ratio 🔻 Decreasing

🏁 Final Verdict
Your run efficiency is improving at a fast and well-balanced rate — you're:

Using less energy (heartbeats) per km,

Running with quicker, more stable mechanics, and

Wasting less energy on vertical motion.

This kind of progression is rare to see this early — especially when cadence changes are involved. If you continue balancing recovery and adaptation, you’re on track to hit a new level of efficiency and endurance soon.
pardon my ignorance, how do you ask ChatGPT regarding your running stats?
is there a plug in whereby ChatGPT can analyse from the running app or you pluck up selected stats from stats from one or a few of your runs into ChatGPT?

Mephist0pheLes

Sounds amazing! Were u a good runner to begin with, since u are relearning?

Where did u learn from? I am still exploring how to improve running for my health sake at middle age.
I am kind of athletic, can run pretty fast for short distance, but stamina has always been my problem since young.

I learn from YouTube. Been watching quite a bit of those on jogging form.

Mephist0pheLes

pardon my ignorance, how do you ask ChatGPT regarding your running stats?
is there a plug in whereby ChatGPT can analyse from the running app or you pluck up selected stats from stats from one or a few of your runs into ChatGPT?
I have a garmin watch that record my stats. Then after each run, I manually input my stats into an excel file and upload it onto chatgpt.

WussRedXLi

Just sharing, started to include this recently. No harm one at such doses. But have to take 1-2 hrs away from zinc. Not water soluble too, so dont have to take it daily also in case you have forgotten and also in case you are afraid of overdose coz you have a very decent and sufficient diet.
Already calculated, it is highly unlikely that our typical makan outside here can even reach 50% of RDA (which isnt much in the first place anyway)

To avoid deficiency coz of nutrient-to-nutrient interaction with zinc (interferes with its adsorption) , which i am taking a fair bit of (10-15mg) due to it being cofactor with Mg, which in turns co-factors with D3/Calcium.....and iron.
Copper also involved in RBC production.
Used to be weakly anemic / insufficient Hb, which was detected in few of the the annual checkups last time. (recent 2 no more)
Dont think that is gonna be beneficial for performance if it comes again.

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/swanson-albion-copper-2-mg-300-tablets/116337

Swanson-Premium-Albion-Copper-2-mg-300-Tabs-pigu.webp

WussRedXLi

Earlier this morning had a scare. As usual, dry scooped 7-8g of creatine (heaping scoop) and popped into mouth before going to work. Standard.
And for beta alanine, usually for that i pour into my cup with whey. But this morning a bit rush, i just opened mouth and poured the beta alanine into my mouth for agaration, together with the heaping scoop of creatine already in my mouth. (coz past few days didnt take creatine / beta alanine)

Big mistake, i believe heckloads of beta alanine got poured, coz end up a good mouthful was in my mouth together with the creatine after i closed my mouth. ie mouth full of powder, part of which is the 7-8g creatine. I know how 5g or 7-8g of creatine feels one, coz i have always been dry scooping.

This was another good 20-30g of beta alanine, easy......possibly even more. Plus 7-8g of creatine. :s22:
I just know that like 1/4 to 1/2 of my mouth full of powder.:s22:

Bo bian, cannot spit out the powder coz sayang $$$. Just hoot with the whey drink and jitao chugged everything down.....drink first talk later, coz also a bit late for work already (last night nearly 1am then returned home after ride session).

KNN when in office, really felt the parasthesia tingling effect + GI wierdness. Thought i was gonna vomit and i tahan...... tried to drink a bit of milo and took an apple (I only had my daily SOP of 3 eggs for breakfast earlier).
Face also turned a bit green and a bit cold sweat and breathlessness....think coz of the GI. haha. I was praying hope no dai chi, lagi worst case is need to call for ambulance in office. haha.

Things returned to normal after 1hr+ which was 10+. By 11am ok liao, fully recovered.

Scary. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

That isometric one arm pull up on the "MRT" was quite the flex.
Total control with a smile.

Ender

I have a garmin watch that record my stats. Then after each run, I manually input my stats into an excel file and upload it onto chatgpt.
I am also using AI for post anaylsis. Grok and PErplexity. There are two ways for my to upload the run, the first Is to upload the Raw *.tcx file. The pro is this is everything. The con is the files are huge, it eat aways the context windows of the AI. i.e the AI forget stuff sooner.

The other way which is what I am doing now is to screen shot the splits in 1km splits (smallest resolution) in a table form. Then use Copilot to convert it to CSV format. Follow by copy and paste the 'text' to Grok and Perplexity. This will use up the least of the context windows.

Grok, I find it over analyse. Some useful and some redundant. It say my workout of week might overtrained as it monitors my Fitness, Fatigue and Form metrics. but Perplexity, while giving the same instructions says I am doing great. I guess it's the same with coaches, different coaches has different opinions. LOL

WussRedXLi

Slightly over le

Then we are around the same ba...... still can gun one, one mistake would be to give in to the mantra that old liao so speed is gone.,,,mindset gone then everything is over. But need of coz specific trainings and more patience.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.