jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Maybe can consider this to replace my SL2 as a daily trainer in the future
possible but quite different kind of shoes. SL2 should be of lower stack, feels closer to the ground and should feel faster, whereas 千层浪 is higher stack, more for slower LSD.

WussRedXLi

"Tonight" @ 0115hrs.
Think i might stay up since today and tomorrow rest days.....even though this is mainly a PR stunt. Still I am all for it.

WussRedXLi

https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/...-to-break-a-record-and-win-back-women-runners

Nike has been "obsessed with getting women back" since at least 2021, said a former Nike manager who requested anonymity as they were not authorized to speak publicly.

Understanding its female consumer base and how to draw in more women has been a key internal priority as Lululemon and others have eaten into its market share among women, the person added.

Mephist0pheLes

https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/...-to-break-a-record-and-win-back-women-runners

Nike has been "obsessed with getting women back" since at least 2021, said a former Nike manager who requested anonymity as they were not authorized to speak publicly.

Understanding its female consumer base and how to draw in more women has been a key internal priority as Lululemon and others have eaten into its market share among women, the person added.
guess they still dont understand their female consumers. they wan to look good in those sport wears, doubt most of them care about whether some top athletes are breaking record while wearing some brands.

WussRedXLi

guess they still dont understand their female consumers. they wan to look good in those sport wears, doubt most of them care about whether some top athletes are breaking record while wearing some brands.

Well true that for the vast majority, esp after things like insta exploded in popularity and that is why lemonlulu so popular as well. Nike developing some new sports bra that Faith will be wearing, high performance fabric that is more breathable, light and comfy to wear. (some TPU 3D printed stuff)

Kuudere

Running under 20mins and under 3hrs with this kind of weather can be quite different you see, and not to mention hydration.

That’s why you should aim like this: smash 3 hour marathon overseas > smash 2 hour 50 minutes marathon overseas > smash 3 hour marathon local

In the process of striving for 3 hour marathon in sg, you break 3 PR, given that sg heat conditions usually have a 10 minute gap in overall times.

Push ups relatively easy to hit 40..... but personally i found > 40 to be increasing difficult and then 50-60 maciam like plateau level.
< 40 is like beginner's gains like that. Just train normal push ups alternate day, 1 warm up set of 5-10s and then 2 sets of near failure and/or last set to failure like need to shout out vulgarities, i guarantee most of you here within 4 months can achieve. No need to even do with resistance bands, wide or diamond, decline push ups, explosive up and slow negatives etc. Of coz best to also hit at least 1g/kg of protein daily + decent sleep.
And that's coming from me in mid 50s, so all the IPPT goers below 35 or age 40 shd even be more doable.

Sit ups dont know....i never do one.

Then to get gold, dont have to run until like TT like that.

I can do 50 push ups, it’s just doing both together back to back isn’t easy. And NS push ups require good form even when you are at your limit. Regardless, I rather run to secure my gold than rely on statics too much.

WussRedXLi

Posted hours ago, on Singapore incidents and then sgrv.

If i see this along the road at 1am (the latest i will cycle and be returning home), i think i will chua sai also.
Esp if it wears all white or all black, without lights. (ie shilouette effect)

WussRedXLi

Interesting...... in 2023 only 8 "amateurs" broke 3 for men in SG (these include ex SEA games fellas or TEAM Singapore / subset Singapore Athletics)....discounting those local record holders like SRY or Benjamin Khoo who probably have very good genetics and excellent background etc.

For 2023/2024, no women broke 3 in SG. A few came very close tho.
edit - basically same story for 2022

Or if we take 2:45 overseas as the standard in which you pretty much can be confident that you have a very good shot in breaking 3 locally.
Edit - not a pro, i just eyepower some PB examples, it might even be closer to 20 mins / 2:40 overseas

So breaking 3 in SG for hobbyists like us with no serious background other than just following some plans and having good consistency seems like it's quite the barrier / bragging rights in the local context where you need to juggle family and career or at least your sian day job.

And when some might finally be able to retire early and have loads of time to pursue these endurance hobbies (eg lets just take age 55), it's nearly impossible by then. 🤣
Or if you age 40 kena Toto grp 1 then power lah dey.

And of coz, if you are just basing it off 1 single certified race per year ie SCSM , then lagi forget it...... by sheer probability alone you are already down that much. Anything screw up like it rains or nutritional absorption screw up or wanna cramp but it's still not full blown type, it's bye bye unless you have trained much and have lots of buffer.

WussRedXLi

Another believer in tempo (between LT1 and LT2 ) has its place.

In cycling, durability is quite trained by tempo paces (including mental fortitude).
And esp so coz cycling races/events and even social stuff is usually longer than running.

lls0101

Previously brought up the stability issue of Qiaodan 强风 3TR during my review of this shoes when I tried it out for 2 runs. @Ender and @xllms also brought it up.

Did a few more runs. Now I'm down with mild tendonitis on my left ankle (Posterior tibial tendon). Feel tenderness when pressed or when ankle is taking weight, especially during stairs climbing.

Either there is not enough arch support/stability, resulting in excessive inward rolling (pronation) which is what I felt when running, or I had increased my mileage by too much/too fast recently.

Just felt the need to bring this up, for people who have stability issues. This shoes might not be a good options...

WussRedXLi

Also, remember for joggers to check properly when running across lights..... (red man still lit but the other direction is changing amber to red for vehicles, ie trying to anticipate the system. This is not very uncommon, pedestrians, cyclists or joggers all do this....heck some vehicles do this as well.

No lights is esp dangerous, like this one. (of coz having lights is still not 100%)

A bit of a late update for this case.

Died liao. 41 yrs old

When I have my morning sessions i also meet so many of these jokers around be it road or pavement. Personally I try to don flashing but not that bright lights when running and lagi brighter lights on bike, coz even Merlion, One Fullerton/Fullerton Bay/One Marina Blvd area got them zipping around and that area is without much lights during early morning, and coz buses/trains not operating yet so these blue collar workers rely on bikes unfortunately the majority of them are not lit up. So the onus is on me for them to spot me very easily.
Coz quite a few times they just appeared directly in front of me, super near misses.
Once was a runner (no lights) doing sprinting who just cut right in front of me perpendicularly at the promonitory area, scared the heck out of me actually. Actually that promonitory area got install LED light at the corner illuminating the corner where the promonitory path meets the main walking path, but dont know what happened they removed the LED for this high risk area.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/cyclist-dies-after-accident-with-car-in-bugis

Skyrillex

That’s why you should aim like this: smash 3 hour marathon overseas > smash 2 hour 50 minutes marathon overseas > smash 3 hour marathon local

In the process of striving for 3 hour marathon in sg, you break 3 PR, given that sg heat conditions usually have a 10 minute gap in overall times.

I can do 50 push ups, it’s just doing both together back to back isn’t easy. And NS push ups require good form even when you are at your limit. Regardless, I rather run to secure my gold than rely on statics too much.
True also, but I'm running at KL Stan chart this year which, is technically overseas but still going to be lagi hot..

xllms

Previously brought up the stability issue of Qiaodan 强风 3TR during my review of this shoes when I tried it out for 2 runs. @Ender and @xllms also brought it up.

Did a few more runs. Now I'm down with mild tendonitis on my left ankle (Posterior tibial tendon). Feel tenderness when pressed or when ankle is taking weight, especially during stairs climbing.

Either there is not enough arch support/stability, resulting in excessive inward rolling (pronation) which is what I felt when running, or I had increased my mileage by too much/too fast recently.

Just felt the need to bring this up, for people who have stability issues. This shoes might not be a good options...
from my tests by changing the insoles , i am experiencing less stability issue. The given 5mm thick insole is a flat piece of supercritical foam. Do try with another insole with some arch support and see if it helps you.
IMG-20250626-213120.jpg

lls0101

from my tests by changing the insoles (from a soft thicker insole to thinner firmer material), i am experiencing less stability issue. The given 5mm thick insole is a flat piece of supercritical foam. Do try with another insole with some arch support and see if it helps you.
Thanks. Much appreciated your suggestion. Do I just put the insoles in the shoes or do I need to remove the original insoles?

Any recommendations on such insoles or keywords to search Taobao?

Guess I will have to back off running for minimum of 1 week. Hope to get the insoles before I try this shoes again.

xllms

take out the given insole and put in another one. The 2 i tried are shown in the image i have just uploaded in my previous post. NB rebel v4 insole is the thinnest at 2.5mm, but the width is smaller than original require size. The BMAI boomfly fits well but thicker at 4mm, but firmer than default insole, which suits me well.
Do note, what fits me may not suit you. It is a trial and error process.
Good luck.
Thanks. Much appreciated your suggestion. Do I just put the insoles in the shoes or do I need to remove the original insoles?

Any recommendations on such insoles or keywords to search Taobao?

Guess I will have to back off running for minimum of 1 week. Hope to get the insoles before I try this shoes again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.