jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I also chug around 1-1.2L of water (I take out 2 iced bidons) for my weekday sessions and probably closer to 2L for my weekends (9-10am already pretty brutal bros....usually i cannot tahan past 10am one).

Sometimes i hydrate ok and during the session i need to go toilet, but sometimes warm muggy nights i still return home peeing solid yellow urine and just a little nia.

No way i can afford 100 plus or H2O like that for sodium replenishment. Does not make sense also. :frown:

Lchlch

Guys, I completed the Urban Walk yesterday.
Start time 650am, lead a group of 8 pax.
End at 630pm.
In between lunch n breaks n check in point took about 2 hrs plus.
Total distance covered 47km plus.
The weather was super hot.
Each checkpoint, I drank whole water bottle n refill.
Throughout the walk, nvr go toilet.

Ender

I think less than 1 hour dont need any electrolyte drinks , but most of the endurance athletes that I know consume very little water for some unknown reason
I used to belong to this group, high tolerance to dehydration. Only two hour runs, then stop for water fountain. But there are bunch of studies on how recovery matters with proper hydration, and there temporary acute kidney injuries too.

Ender

I also chug around 1-1.2L of water (I take out 2 iced bidons) for my weekday sessions and probably closer to 2L for my weekends (9-10am already pretty brutal bros....usually i cannot tahan past 10am one).

Sometimes i hydrate ok and during the session i need to go toilet, but sometimes warm muggy nights i still return home peeing solid yellow urine and just a little nia.

No way i can afford 100 plus or H2O like that for sodium replenishment. Does not make sense also. :frown:
If you not scare of china product, really can take a look at the electrolytes powder on PDD, not too sure on taobao. The ones of PDD damn cheap. but I cannot tell if real stuff are in there. LOL.

poor man version, i never tried though, is lemon (potassium) water with a bit of pan salt. pan salt has other minerals.

WussRedXLi

The weather was super hot.
Each checkpoint, I drank whole water bottle n refill.
Throughout the walk, nvr go toilet.

47k of walking never go toilet ie most likely is solid yellow even if you go release after event, must take care.......
Walking is less energy efficient wrt mileage than running.......
Not drinking enough liao.

This morning still ok, no real sun exposure coz of solid cloud cover, after that is rain in late morning.
But since your event was yesterday (we all know how warm yesterday was), wah lao i think of what you went through 6.30am to 6.30pm i also shiver. :cry::cry:

WussRedXLi

If you not scare of china product, really can take a look at the electrolytes powder on PDD, not too sure on taobao. The ones of PDD damn cheap. but I cannot tell if real stuff are in there. LOL.

Yeah have seen before those tablets/satchets and stuff....... But i prefer pre session i already take via meals, easier also. So far so good.

Sadisticnoob

I used to belong to this group, high tolerance to dehydration. Only two hour runs, then stop for water fountain. But there are bunch of studies on how recovery matters with proper hydration, and there temporary acute kidney injuries too.
I time my water intake, roughly 90 mins per bottle. just take sips all the way

sales69

I think maybe can go by this way....... since you run late afternoons for suntan.

if you needed to replenish with 600ml of water (eg size of 1 normal bidon) during your session, then you'd need 600mg of sodium. Very rough ballpark, unable to know exact unless if go for sweat test with a sodium ion meter. You adjust accordingly in future.
If end of the session after replenishing with 600ml during session your pee is still very solid yellow, then that 600ml a bit insufficient but still nothing to worry about coz not extended. Replenish asap.

Last monday, i went toilet before going out to change my crankset.
1.4L of water, all consumed during the journey. That's like 1400mg of sodium. Before heading back, just in case i went to the SPC petrol station toilet to let go, nothing much came out (solid yellow). When returned, still no pee until like 1hr+, after i had chugged down cups of Pokka Fuji Apple diluted with 70% vol water.

I believe that session i lost ~1400mg of sodium, and ~ 300mg of potassium.

Moral of the story, 100 plus has 48mg of sodium, i probably needed at least 2L of 100 plus possibly 3L also believable (of coz nothing is for certain coz i do not have a sodium ion meter).
I too poor to be consuming 100 plus like this. So i just take it from my normal meals or that soba sauce that i pour into my eggs or gravy can liao. Mai hiam buay pai lah
:frown:

Oh yes, the chicken rice sauce + soup which i usually have for dinner, quiet a fair bit of sodium.
The ba chor mee gravy also pretty salty. But best is if 2hrs can go out for session liao (drink up just before heading out, sometimes i hoot a cup of my fav Pokka Fuji Apple which still has 10.9g of HFCS per 100mg)
For mornings weekends, is a packet of instant noodles shared with my kid, soup all drink. Plus the soba sauce + egg, plus a fair bit of water to wash it down before getting out.

Thanks for sharing. Wah need so much sodium?

1 packet of Pocari powder only has 100mg. I always take one pack after runs. Next time try bring 2 packs.

Last time I did took along 800ml water bottle but not anymore. During/After run drink 800ml. Then refill and drink 800ml doing bar exercises. Total 1.6L.

Now slurp like thirsty hippo from water cooler. Maybe bring bottle again to quantify my water intake and watch sodium intake.

Gonna explore the electrolyte tablets from Taobao also.

The Pokka Sparkling Fuji Apple is solid good. D grade. Very hard to find such sugary drinks now for replenishment.

sales69

poor man version, i never tried though, is lemon (potassium) water with a bit of pan salt. pan salt has other minerals.
Yeah have seen before those tablets/satchets and stuff....... But i prefer pre session i already take via meals, easier also. So far so good.
I bought 2 brands from PDD. Is legit and about 50% cheaper than Pocari/100+ powder in Singapore.

Sometimes will make own cheapo version with pink salt and brown sugar. :s13:

WussRedXLi

Those sodium chloride tablets that some pax swallow during HM/FM, is like 1000mg. (eg those capsules from iherb)

1 packet of indomee is around 750mg.
1 packet of shin ramen around 1010mg, if you drink all the soup.

But i usually try to take soba noodles / soba sauce, eggs with the soba sauce (@ 4X concentration).

For me i go by the mileage that if you need 1L of water for the session, you need 1000mg. No need to purposely go whack that exact amt coz your diet also has sodium liao, but more or less ballpark is there.
eg take the instant noodles and drink half the soup before the session.

And of coz, with the sodium intake, you need to remember to drink accordingly. Really drink one. most times i need to pee at least once during the session but then again my (cycling) sessions are long.

WussRedXLi

The Pokka Sparkling Fuji Apple is solid good. D grade. Very hard to find such sugary drinks now for replenishment.

Yeah, another one if i rem correctly is kickapoo but that one has much lower pH, not too good for teeth.

But still i dont drink heckloads of soda, i take a fair bit of gummy sweets. Then rinse with water after eating.

WussRedXLi

Can add on higher risk of sudden cardiac arrest / events when dehydrated particularly in long endurance events
Something to do with the thicker blood when dehydrated, easier to form clots and any present clots to really screw up faster etc.

My family GP got say before studies did post mortem on such athletes before, the blood thick thick one, not surprisingly.

Ender

1 packet of Pocari powder only has 100mg. I always take one pack after runs. Next time try bring 2 packs.

Last time I did took along 800ml water bottle but not anymore. During/After run drink 800ml. Then refill and drink 800ml doing bar exercises. Total 1.6L.

Now slurp like thirsty hippo from water cooler. Maybe bring bottle again to quantify my water intake and watch sodium intake.

Gonna explore the electrolyte tablets from Taobao also.

Tablet is risky if you don't know how concentrated your salinity of your body fluid which most of us doesn't know. We lose sodium at different rate. I know for sure I am a heavy sodium loser since I have done a study on my body. Most people don't know.
I think taking ready made 100 plus or pocari is the safest as it replicate the same electrolytes balance as our body.
Next safest is own self mix pocari or china powder with recommended water volume.

sales69

Tablet is risky if you don't know how concentrated your salinity of your body fluid which most of us doesn't know. We lose sodium at different rate. I know for sure I am a heavy sodium loser since I have done a study on my body. Most people don't know.
I think taking ready made 100 plus or pocari is the safest as it replicate the same electrolytes balance as our body.
Next safest is own self mix pocari or china powder with recommended water volume.
Thanks for pointing out. Think I will stick to normal foods and the powder.

Slowly drink. Still have over 50 packs!

WussRedXLi

New CR

And Yu Zi di really child prodigy in multiple strokes somemore. By 15 yr old she sure get podium in Olympics.

rarenick

Nowadays my long run usually at least 8km or 1.5 hrs i will carry a bottle of 100 Plus Pro to sip along the way to get enough hydration, electrolytes, energy and protein. It makes a huge difference especially early in the morning when no time/chance to eat heavy meal or drink alot of water to recover from night time lack of water. Sometimes 5km run in the late afternoon I also bring my 100 Plus Pro to ensure every thing is good. Very kiasi one.

winningeleven

[url=https://ibb.co/MxTwVSrW] [/URL]

Today the weather is cooler. Instead of running at the stadium. I went to Jurong lake park for run . To cover the whole park running including the Chinese garden , japanese garden and the rest the route in the park. It is about 8km..I have to run 2.5 loops to make a HM distance. I wanted to run leisurely and since the weather is cloudy, I pushed myself and ran a 5.17mins/km pace !

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.