jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

This video / coach is preaching about consistency rather than on/off seasons for seniors (athletes).
This is for ironman (70.3 or full) but i dont see it being very different for FM or even HM or in fact any race duration of above 1hr (that means even T100 standard and long dualthlon also not vastly different).

Actually this method rolls well for me as well, i mean i dont even have a specific race distance (things changes) but i never really off season and just try to do other things. Pros at pro/world/wlite level might need off seasons though.

So yeah, no such thing as 5hr ride and then brick it with a 2hr run. I 100% tell you, that is IMPOSSIBLE for me, even in zone 2, that sheer fatigue.......seesh.

But yes, i can tell you, recovery for seniors (i not super old but neither am i below 50) is not as fast/easy last time.
Very very telling is when i buang and my kid buangs, road rash recovery. The way he recovers and i recover is very very different, even though size and depth of the road rash is different but you agaration you will see it is very telling and that is with my sleep, nutrition, diet and supplementation at tip top.

I have also capped my HIIT / intensity workouts to once a week since a few months ago (exlcuding my SIT, coz my SIT is low 3-4 reps of 75m and more about neuro and form/RE/athleticsm blah)
Also coz of my 3 days and 3 days = 6 days of strength/plyo workouts with 1 day rest per work week...so i guess my overall load / stress not say low type.

For sure got interference one, i cannot expect perfection, but as long as it is sustainable and not creating injuries for me (niggles ok, i regress and rest a little, i take no risks one)

LM5R43C.jpg

WussRedXLi

Also, interesting thought about junk miles for that coach.

His thinking about home-office and back commutes are not junk miles. Heng, coz i doing that, as that is only what i can manage for running and still be ultra consistent. 🤣 (more like simply there are no other options, coz wait for bus is crazy impractical one and takes even longer time overall + $$$ + miss out on training and in the end you'd still walk like 50% of the 1.1k distance). So might as well run there, sweat and then go wash your armpits with soap by bending over the sink + blow fan in AC to cool down.

In fact at home, you can wash your hair without getting your body wet, just think deeper and you can get it too.
If afraid that your hair and head/scalp stinks coz of the dried perspiration.

xllms

BTW for calves (both gastrocs and soleus), i think i am going to change something.

I no longer will use bands. Like not power enough coz it is still based on fingers (strength) not that my fingers bo lak (dead hang 60s totally no issue) but still.......

I devised a new way. Those fitness corners in which people stand on a circular disc and spin around while holding onto a central thingy right......... Stand on the ground and then with both hands and forearms you latch firmly onto the central thingy, chest close to the thingy also. If you are decently strong enough, you can easily exert 30kg, 40-50kg of downward force is possible if strong.
Aim to near failure with your upper body force exertion thus really whacking your calves too.

Single leg only. That means if BW is 65kg and strong, that would be over 100kgf of resistance on the calves/, PF, AT.

3 secs time under tension per rep, 10 reps, did 2 working sets just now.

Wah lao it is a somewhat new stimulus. In fact i could feel my quads and glutes working also, could feel the lactate between sets when recovery.

10kg weights only i think. Really can try shooting for 40-50kg range.
Think tgt with pogo jumps (basic plyo) and/or skipping rope, can really raise the bar.

i do something similar durin ankle sprain recovery, but without the weights. Nowadays also do approx. 15 on each leg during warm up.

xllms

76 years old senior marathon runner (3:33:27 ) becomes a subject of study for scientist. high weekly volume seems to maintain her VO2Max. She has 3 interval session per week, but it's not all out. I take it that she doesn't do the Norwegian 4X4 type of intensity. VO2MAx 47.8, weekly 50 miles

https://www.runnersworld.com/uk/training/motivation/a64295682/jeannie-rice-vo2-max/
approx 80.5km/weekly for past 40years! amazing! Feels so paiseh my VOmax is lower than hers :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

i do something similar durin ankle sprain recovery, but without the weights. Nowadays also do approx. 15 on each leg during warm up.

If now is all fine and dandy, can try and best to load it up a bit if you can, shd help and is a healthy progression. Bend a little to hit the soleus more. That's for strength.
Together with suitable plyo, it should be as good as it can get. BTW if you are not trying plyo, you shd. Jump squats looks to be pretty good bang for your money and easy to do, low in injury risk, and just do 2-3 times a week each plyo sesh only 6-8 mins, i think no need to do more.
Together plyo + strength, can liao, see if you want some mobility work but i am not really doing....just relying on any small carry over secondary benefits from the plyo and strength trainings.

ps Actually i think calf raises when done with good resistance 3 secs rep and lower reps of around 10-12 till only little Reps in Reserve or even failure (which you can only gauge and hit with lower reps) has a fair bit of useful mobility training in it. That mobility shd be able to serve us well as we get farther into old age (but i think better till is that siaolang trainings in I am Longevity channel)

WussRedXLi

Best medicine for your brain = EXERCISE

Children nowadays are not getting enough exercise, coz they are on devices.
I see my 16 yr old newphew still on his phone while exercising + at the end just 2,4k 3 rounds of 800m @ 10 min pace zone 2 already, i really sim tiah.
But to be perfectly honest, there are also relatively young adults who zone 2 is at 10-11 min pace.....no harmful intention meant with this statement.

I really dont know how some teens/young adults are brought up today.
edit - actually not totally the teens/young adults fault, big part is due to parents/grandparents even.

The grandma went into bathroom already, 1 minute passed and already took off clothes....16 yo nephew said through the bathroom door he wanted to bathe also.

And the grandma wore clothes and came right out again. Nephew went in to bathe. 😓
And then i heard the sound of youtube on the mobile phone during shower.

Really first time i am seeing this. Now i know exactly why PCNs got cyclists and joggers on phones and not giving a care in the world that they might be knocked down even though they are on the road or cycling lane .

But heng not my kids so i cannot say/teach much, just that my wife and I mentioned to the parent and grandma.......cannot like this. Also Imagine next time got GF or in-laws etc - coz it is only an external 3rd party who can see faults like this, but usually not "own family".
In fact, i am pretty certain that i am seen as ngeow.

Anyways, cant be helped, BIL is in midst of divorce and waiting for reno of the new house and so kid came over also for a month.

If my kid, i'd have slapped them silly liao maybe charged for abuse or something. :unsure:
But luckily the discipline still there, no such nonsense.

WussRedXLi

Is it possible to reduce from 27 mins to 20 mins 5km in 8 months time?

Not 100% sure got so many factors involved, but i posted just that yesterday nia, a very similar study...... reduced 2.3 to 2.8 mins just with inclusion of jump squats and drop squats plyometrics. Amateur runners, 8 weeks, mean BMI = 25, very similar starting timings (averaged) as what you described.

There are a few studies which show strength training to help even slightly better than plyo. So do include that in.

But theorectically if your vo2max is not lower than 50 as the limiting factor (highest VO2max achievable is a fair bit depends on genetics, but some folks managed to up +25% in their measured VO2max with training in 2 months, coz that is not their genetic ceiling so their current VO2max might even be 15-20s even), 8 months it should be more than sufficient with even semi structured weeks. The strength and plyo coupled with good practices in slowly loading the volume and intensity up, all shd help heaps in injury prevention and hence offline time.

5k is still largely aerobic, so if your vo2max genetic limit not abnormally low type below the normal population mean, that timing is quite trainable with time and consistency and 5k dedicated trainings.

No need for super lots of hours also, 5 hours per week is more than doable to hit 20 mins i feel for an avg fella doing 27 mins, possibly even half of that is doable but if you have talent / sports background and specific quality workouts.

WussRedXLi

BTW, lots of plans out there, most work esp if you are below age 40. I trust this fella quite a bit, no need to be the most expert fella out there but main thing is easier to follow and video info is quickly understood and fully digestible for the avg pax.

And yes, his advice is more than sound for a 20 min 5k.

WussRedXLi

Cant rant enough, train your calves boys and girls....

Interesting. Band resisted pogo jumps, got such a thing one ah. :s16: Best to do it as single leg unilaterally actually, that's what i have been doing instead of bilaterally.

If got gym access, that barbell squat jump is sick too, if capable enough.

The squat jumps, i think i shall incoporate the 180 deg spin as well (good for mobility skill, next 2-3 decades when really old that itme wont fall down so easily lol 🤣 )

WussRedXLi

(y) (y) (y)
info is very good, highly recommend you guys to watch this really good vid.
Personally have been doing a few of these variations and the info presented is very good. Esp bent calf raises for runners, but must have weights or bags of rice etc, but a self bent angle of just 20-30 deg also works ok for run training coz that trains more of the soleus instead of the gastrocs. Explained in the video as well, clear concise and not overwhelming for the beginner/intermediate.

And remember, you whack until like that, you cannot neglect the anterior tibialis. Else high chance get imbalances.

xllms

BTW, lots of plans out there, most work esp if you are below age 40. I trust this fella quite a bit, no need to be the most expert fella out there but main thing is easier to follow and video info is quickly understood and fully digestible for the avg pax.

And yes, his advice is more than sound for a 20 min 5k.

just realized in 2023 when i ran my 5-6km, i would start fast, approx 5min/km for first km and gradually slow down to a sustainable pace in btw before going all out in last km.
Nowadays, with more mileage covered, i can hardly start fast which made me burn out very quickly (hr spike up). i have to adopt negative split strategy, start slower and gradually increase my pace till the end.
Personally i feel it could be as i age my heart feels more strenuous with sudden high intensity without gradual warming up.
Not sure, just a thought.

Ender

approx 80.5km/weekly for past 40years! amazing! Feels so paiseh my VOmax is lower than hers :ROFLMAO:
She is world record holder from 1500m all the way to Full marathon in her age group. No need to feel pai seh, coz it is for sure we have lower volume and VO2Max than her.
Just use her for inspiration. That active aging is the key.

WussRedXLi

Came across a good and clear and easy to understand video for the 3 glutes.
I know initially i was blur blur about this, in fact even till last year also not so clear.

And at the beginner level, just take it that you need sufficient strong glutes to reduce/prevent knee pain as one of the main causes. (coz normal non exercising folks esp usually are weak in both the max and med....that was my main cause of my knee pain pre covid, pain while going down the stairs esp. After just 1 week of strenthening with only slightly progressive overload, maciam like taking 120mg of arcoxia like that. lol

Really like magic pill like that. Coz i was that weak then pre covid back in 2017 or so, with so much muscle imbalance. No i did not go PT or what, is another edmwer mentioned to me one.

But people are lazy, easier to go the glucosamine, chondritin, MSM, UC-II collagen and stuff.
Weakness + imbalances then was my real root cause, not the symptoms at the knee.

winningeleven

just realized in 2023 when i ran my 5-6km, i would start fast, approx 5min/km for first km and gradually slow down to a sustainable pace in btw before going all out in last km.
Nowadays, with more mileage covered, i can hardly start fast which made me burn out very quickly (hr spike up). i have to adopt negative split strategy, start slower and gradually increase my pace till the end.
Personally i feel it could be as i age my heart feels more strenuous with sudden high intensity without gradual warming up.
Not sure, just a thought.
I also like that . My average pace for my HM from 11km onward is usually faster than my 1st 10km..

But distance longer than 21km. I won't think it will be like that . I need to close more long run 25km onward to know myself

winningeleven

Depend on the age..young below 35 years should be able too.

It took me many years to run a 10km below 50 mins.

I tried once when I was in late 30. I ran 51 mins and thought that was the max effort I had given..and over the year. I just run regularly as a exercise without any aim for specific target .

Only last year when I was 47 years old. I ran my 1st 5km at 24 mins and after 2 weeks..I finally go below 50 mins for 10km.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.