jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

That's some scary brutal shiat. lol

That pretty ang moh bu totally got dropped in just 40 seconds at around 3:00 pace by the Kenyans, upslope and at 2060m elevation, during the fast part of the fartlek. Just not sustainable for her even if she wants to help it (it might as well be called an extended stride effort for her).

ps. If got chance you can go running @ Genting or Cameron or even just Frasers. Cyclists do go there. Not pretty when exerting. lol

First man to reach, Isaia Kipkoech lasoi. Half marathon sub 59m.

WussRedXLi

Waiting for Jasper to come out with his vid

Something like running 12 rolling hills marathons.

WussRedXLi

Runners / Cyclists can visit, quite along the way of the major routes.
Telok Blangah Rise food centre.

See if as good as Meng Kee @ Havelock rd. Only issue with Meng Kee is that they only start operating just before 9am on Sat. This one starts 7am, better.

Mon - Wed rest day

edit - as usual, pls enjoy in moderation.

khFHC52.jpg

WussRedXLi

Sigh.....current at A&E. BIL (wife's side) think suffered sudden cardiac arrest.

Shared before in this thread.....few years ago covid that time detected via a more comprehensive body checkup that got blockages in 2 arteries. Not say serious enough to warrant even angioplasty, take meds and adjust lifestyle can liao.

So initially diet changed and got exercise and on meds. He did walking and running (standard for many), that time still Novablast 2, his shoe actually is at my doorstep now coz he and his kid are temp putting up with us for a while due to divorce proceedings.

But folks are not disciplined not consistent as usual, that time when diagnosed first year or so still ok, "new toilet effect:.

After that not much news from them already. But earlier this year the body checkup results not so good, even bro Rarenick said must remember to take the meds.

And now at my place i could finally see what happened with their "habits" for the past 2 months. The diet, and even weekend warrior level of exercise intensity is like forget it.....10 min pace is fast, nudged them to increase pace they said dont want warm weather and panting no good, even always on the phone on their socials so how to even increase walking pace.
Toilet, makan time literally everytime all on the phone and waste time on the bed couch etc, no movement. Regular processed food, fast food etc. Think divorce proceedings, stress also played a factor (chronically slightly elevated inflammation, cortisol etc) . The teenager already like skinny fat until near impossible to return state.
Everything that cannot be done, is done.

So, sharing and updating this story again, see if anyone can learn from this. Remember, no point complaining poor health. We all reap what we sow.

edit - my FIL's side also 1 case, age 43 RIP 2 weeks ago. Type 2, not the autoimmune type 1.
Blood sugar was like 32 mmol/d, the other unit is 500+. Was shocked when i heard from my FIL, i didnt even know it was humanly possible to be this high and the meter detecting this level of blood sugar coz i remember my fasting one was like 4.7 to low 5s only and even my OGTT 1hr 2hr readings now over 10 one, and then he showed me the chart from the blood sugar meter.
How is this even possible for someone to screw their life up until like that. :oops:

invisible.hippo

Sigh.....current at A&E. BIL (wife's side) think suffered sudden cardiac arrest.

Shared before in this thread.....few years ago covid that time detected via a more comprehensive body checkup that got blockages in 2 arteries. Not say serious enough to warrant even angioplasty, take meds and adjust lifestyle can liao.

So initially diet changed and got exercise and on meds. He did walking and running (standard for many), that time still Novablast 2, his shoe actually is at my doorstep now coz he and his kid are temp putting up with us for a while due to divorce proceedings.

But folks are not disciplined not consistent as usual, that time when diagnosed first year or so still ok, "new toilet effect:.

After that not much news from them already. But earlier this year the body checkup results not so good, even bro Rarenick said must remember to take the meds.

And now at my place i could finally see what happened with their "habits" for the past 2 months. The diet, and even weekend warrior level of exercise intensity is like forget it.....10 min pace is fast, nudged them to increase pace they said dont want warm weather and panting no good, even always on the phone on their socials so how to even increase walking pace.
Toilet, makan time literally everytime all on the phone and waste time on the bed couch etc, no movement. Regular processed food, fast food etc. Think divorce proceedings, stress also played a factor (chronically slightly elevated inflammation, cortisol etc) . The teenager already like skinny fat until near impossible to return state.

So, sharing and updating this story again, see if anyone can learn from this. Remember, no point complaining poor health. We all reap what we sow.

edit - my FIL's side also 1 case, age 43 RIP 2 weeks ago. Type 2, not the autoimmune type 1.
Blood sugar was like 32 mmol/d, the other unit is 500+. Was shocked when i heard from my FIL, i didnt even know it was humanly possible to be this high and the meter detecting this level of blood sugar coz i remember my fasting one was like 4.7 to low 5s only and even my OGTT 1hr 2hr readings now over 10 one, and then he showed me the chart from the blood sugar meter.
How is this even possible for someone to screw their life up until like that. :oops:
Hope faster recovery

sph777

Hope he recovers and changes his ways after recovery

xllms

may he recover well and recover soon.

WussRedXLi

xllms

I think used the term incorrectly, is heart attack and not sudden cardiac arrest.

Balloon done liao, now in ICU and we are home....nothing much we can do coz visitation limited to caregiver. Quite fast.
seriously heart attack can happen to anyone, fit or unfit ppl. do what we can to minimise the risk and the rest 听天由命

WussRedXLi

seriously heart attack can happen to anyone, fit or unfit ppl. do what we can to minimise the risk and the rest 听天由命

Yep, can also happen during races one even to sub 3 full marathoners. Hence one good way is to screen at least once, esp before embarking on any sport. Even the $400 entry level TMX stress test + $170 plus body checkup blood tests better than nothing (though it would not detect blockages directly, but indirectly still can paint you a decent overall pic). Calcium scoring also not too expensive i think.
Not sure if pushing hard further increases the risk shd there be already a cardiac situation, i believe there shd be at least a small increase in risk, if not perhaps moderate increase even.

WussRedXLi

I heard this from docs before. Physical activity / exercise and good diet might not prevent you from ultimately getting a heart attack or other cardiac issues. No, coz there is genetics factor.
But they might be preventing you from actually dying from all these cardiac events should you kena one. Coz there is also this epigenetics factor. Even due to environment (job, stresses due to family/marital), air pollution etc....chronically elevated inflammation and cortisol levels.

Some pax just blame it on genetics and believe it is the be-all and end-all.... Just an excuse to blame it on.

WussRedXLi

Posted this like 3 days ago.

It's really a good idea to hit the pace @ novice level for your 5k for your age group in a TT.
Heck if 5k too long, 3k also can. This has a somewhat decent relationship to your VO2max esp for 2.4k to 3k distances.
That means if you are age 40, best that you can maintain 5:30 pace for at least 3k, if not 5k. Not talking about zone 2 here, you trial it as a TT.

You do it by base training or intervals even up to sprints, up to you.....see what fits your schedule.

alcEipx.jpg

WussRedXLi

Can any savvy pax get some AI to fully translate the video below and post the transcipt here or at least the link? Believe there is excellent info in there, even though we not pro i think we still can learn something.

Sorry i a bit old school and not up to level with tech, i only youtube watcher. (i dont have FB, instagram, tiktok and those stuff, not my era)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.