jogging and motivation thread

xllms

BTW it just hit me, last time were you doing your intervals at the correct paces? To develop the correct energy system and improving your LT2 and LT2 "curves". Also assuming work:rest ratio more or less there and not totally off.

Can use this if you have been doing some TTs along, pretty reliable way.

https://runbundle.com/tools/running-training-paces-calculator
don't think i bothered too much about techniques.

Just run repeated 1km (6-8x per sessions). Have to look deeper into the LT aspects.

But using the average of some of my fastests 1km timings (around 4:50), pretty accurate, although i think threshold should be slightly faster.
PaceFromTo
Easy/long8:02 mins/km6:38 mins/km
Sub-threshold6:26 mins/km6:06 mins/km
Threshold/tempo5:51 mins/km5:45 mins/km
Interval/VO2 max5:18 mins/km5:05 mins/km
Speed endurance4:51 mins/km4:11 mins/km
1000 metres race pace4:50 mins/km

Thanks for sharing the link. Very helpful. (y)

noinimod

Same previously NB size 10 2E.

If D width, I would size up 1/2 size. Recent years, their last getting narrower so go 1 size up.

Now wearing Bmai and Qiaodan size 44. Width is good enough, not tight.

Xiaonian wearing 44 as well.
Thanks for sharing! Your NB size 10 2E is UK10 or US10? Which Bmai and Qiaodan model are you using?

sales69

Thanks for sharing! Your NB size 10 2E is UK10 or US10? Which Bmai and Qiaodan model are you using?
NB was wearing US10 2E. Or US10.5D to 11D.

China Size 44
Bmai Jingtan 3 Turbo (go 45 if wanna add insole)
Qiaodan Plaid 1, Leili Plaid.
Xiaonian
Dowin 神行者3

Plaid 2 (sized up to 45 because reviews saying narrow waist)

Try looking at reviews whether the shoe have roomy toe box.

If have, 44 most often is fine. Otherwise, can go 44.5 at risk of slightly more length.

Some shoes have narrow waist like Plaid 2 so might be better to size up to prevent abrasions.

WussRedXLi

Rin Kubo :love::love:

3k, didnt know she does this distance. Did 8:59 before......what the, this means she confirm can give our Pocari sweat lead pack a good run for their money (even if unable to podium with Shaun / SRY )
ps. She is the NR holder for 800m for Japan, the only sub-2 girl runner (17 yrs old that time, or our JC1)

Bonus

Ender

Garmin’s VO2max number is quite legit.

i just did my VO2max test and it came within 1 pt of it!
Can ask what is your number? Coz I have a feel those mostly in the 50s range for Garmin are mostly off in Singapore. But 60+ are still fairly accurate from YouTubers test.

Edit: Just saw your other post , it's 53.

My impression on on why 50 isn't accurate is because I see a lot of local runners with about 50+ in garmin, but their 10km and 5km PB are far off from expectations when using vdot.

wj1984

Can ask what is your number? Coz I have a feel those mostly in the 50s range for Garmin are mostly off in Singapore. But 60+ are still fairly accurate from YouTubers test.

Edit: Just saw your other post , it's 53.

My impression on on why 50 isn't accurate is because I see a lot of local runners with about 50+ in garmin, but their 10km and 5km PB are far off from expectations when using vdot.

can i provide a data pt
vo2 max - 54 garmin
2.4k - 9:18 (2025 early mid)
5k - 22:28 (2024)
10k - 46:08 (2025 year end)
21k - 1:43:50 (2025 year end)

so am i below, at or above my vo2max

WussRedXLi

Maybe RE and LT lousy lor.
My 5k and even 3k F type for the VO2max number i got, more than 5 points off.....how accurate is my Huawei, not sure. (regardless, for us amateurs without proper tes cannot expect anywhere near perfect RE also, similarly for lactate clearance)
Cardiovascular is can tahan, but not the main limiter?

Ender

Maybe RE and LT lousy lor.
My 5k and even 3k F type for the VO2max number i got, more than 5 points off.....how accurate is my Huawei, not sure.
Cardiovascular is can tahan, but not the limiter?
Could be, but for season runners, Re can't be too far off. Even if account for RE, a few points maybe. I have see vdot of 10 points difference. Unless I am wrong in my assumption, and RE factor can be such significantly off.

WussRedXLi

can i provide a data pt
vo2 max - 54 garmin

Haha... more or less same as me, ~ 5-6 points off for 2.4/3k distane. ~ 10 points off for 5k

WussRedXLi

Could be, but for season runners, Re can't be too far off. Even if account for RE, a few points maybe. I have see vdot of 10 points difference. Unless I am wrong in my assumption, and RE factor can be such significantly off.

For me, the "curve" is that 5k really off, yeah you said 10 points plus minus, then that difference gets less as we go to 3k/2.4 mark, and then even less for 800/1k/1.5 (not that i run 1-1.5k regularly, so as far as experience/skills in this goes i not there)

But then i am not a terribly seasoned runner, long, middle or short distances, i just run.......but that's my "curve" that i can share. 5k is biggest margin, then margin goes down as we approach 1k. I cannot say for things like 400m etc, those so short that really need track.

So yes, you might have a point in that observation of yours, at least for my 5k.

edit - oh yes, for 400m, the difference is just 3.5 points. Not that 400m is terribly useful in the first place, coz i only have "TT" experience 3 times only so is super noob, ie i only tried 400mm as TT 3X. 🤣 But then without such experience, can get to 3.5 points, maybe that tells a story as well.
But of coz, also, for such shorter distances, anaerobic/ATP-PC system plays more of a part in %

I no run 800m before, not even once.

Ender

can i provide a data pt
vo2 max - 54 garmin

Usually I just base on 5km and 10km. HM too much endurance factor. But 2.4km would be more accurate to reduce endurance factor. But vdot chart doesn't have a 2.4km. using your 5km and 10km puts you in the 44 for vdot. Vdot assume your running economy of 1, it should be fairly accurate for season runners, with a few points off. But not cyclist or other discipline.
Can try doing 3km or 3.2 km for more accuracy as this has far less endurance factor. This is already close to Cooper test.

Ender

For me, the "curve" is that 5k really off, yeah you said 10 points plus minus, then that difference gets less as we go to 3k/2.4 mark, and then even less for 800/1k/1.5 (not that i run 1-1.5k regularly, so as far as experience/skills in this goes i not there)

But then i am not a terribly seasoned runner, long, middle or short distances, i just run.......but that's my "curve" that i can share. 5k is biggest margin, then margin goes down as we approach 1k. I cannot say for things like 400m etc, those so short that really need track.

So yes, you might have a point in that observation of yours, at least for my 5k.

edit - oh yes, for 400m, the difference is just 3.5 points. Not that 400m is terribly useful in the first place, coz i only have "TT" experience 3 times only so is super noob, ie i only tried 400mm as TT 3X. 🤣 But then without such experience, can get to 3.5 points, maybe that tells a story as well.
But of coz, also, for such shorter distances, anaerobic/ATP-PC system plays more of a part in %

I no run 800m before, not even once.
I think sweet spot should be the Cooper test, for season runners without carbon plate shoes

WussRedXLi

Im quite the fan of his also..... (the fella who runs FMs in Jeans and WR pull up holder in 24hrs). See if ultimately he can do it. The FMers in podcasts are skeptical, coz the jump from his current PR of 2:25 to Olympics 2:16 is much bigger than his previous just under 3hrs to 2:25 in his previous sub 2:30 project

WussRedXLi

Yet another (AI) video, but good to be reminded. But this AI vid is actually decent info.

For older folks, actually i think it even makes more sense. Tortoise and hare story.
Bo bian one, dont binge on the off season.

@xllms quite useful info :ninja:

ACtually if i may give some anecdotal info........it's only like last year (or even now) after 3 years that i find that structurally (musculoskeletal and with strengthening/plyo that surpasses what most amateur endurance runners do, simply coz of my calisthenics focus) that i finally dont really get injured. But of coz i also stuck to the distances that i am most comfortable with and the kind of weekly running load i am able to do due to restrictions.
Quite long. For me no really true off season......though there are deloads here and there.

bbbbbw

First things first bro, you can always ditch the cleats and see if you can take it. Secondly, if you are in any unsafe groups, ditch that as well. Thirdly (which i think you are always doing also), just do solo lah.

High chance you can take it without cleats. Without cleats, there is a much higher chance that you'd be able to land safely even if you screwed up on the flat pedals.......it's just normal reflex.
If you dont trust me, try it first on glass and trying starting off with the wrong foot or even trying to switch from sidewalk to road via a normal kerb and you'd definitely be off balance, but see how fast your reflexes can take over (coz tip of feet cannot touch the ground) and you wont really fall. Difficult to describe to you, but you gotta try it. The vast vast vast majority of your other road cyclist friends wont be able to advise much on this to you, simply coz they are not on flats.

Go TB and get those flats and CF pedals which has a lot of pins, mountain bike flat pedals (110mm wide), you wont slip off the pedals even when off-saddle and putting out 400-500W one lah.

No need to ditch cycling, you did not kena a traffic accident with another vehicle, in which this risk can be largely mitigated with routes and timings. You are not using the bike like a motorcycle doing commuting during more normal hours, be it locally or overseas.

For the distances and stuff that you are I are doing, really no use for cleats. Plus the age too and subsequent consequences should something happen. In fact, i know some masters UK duathletes use running shoes, for 20km duathlons....both the first and second places on podium. Overall faster than cleats actually (that's what they claim, i never bother to verify). They are not slow, iirc 42+ avg speed on bike (draft legal event tho, not like T100) and the 2.4k converted run was in 9 mins range...i just checked, 9:18 for 2.4k (the run legs are 2.5k each). These are very very performance oriented fast folks, and if over 20km they can be faster with cleats over flats, for sure they will use it.

thank you for the effort to write this wall of text. appreciate it. :)

WussRedXLi

thank you for the effort to write this wall of text. appreciate it. :)

These few weeks windy/gusty too. I also nearly buanged last wee, somemore at Gardens By The Bay near toilet area with a strong gust of crosswind....just suddenly got knocked sideways ie unintended "swerve" but luckily recovered fast.

Those who also run there this time of the year NE monsoon would know it's headwind, then tailwind, then cross, then head, then tail....... wtf. But with cycling it's magnified.

So, it happens. Just need to lower the risks nia. At least it did not happen at WCH like yesterday's cyclist sgrv video (i will never road cycle during peak periods)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.