jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

silly question say we are still active and running and assuming we are not sick when old..
we can really still continue to run as of now ah?

Of coz can....... Same goes to other sports as well. Unless if one develops very serious conditions preventing that particular sport, but then also nevermind, just change sports.

Also, when one gets other serious illness, with good fitness / aerobic base, you can bounce back and recover much faster. It's like that you have a much younger biological age, you can recover much better with better outcomes.

ps. This might be controversial and of coz some folks do not like to hear such things, but IMO In My Opionion, please do not subscribe to the thinking that, oh....since i am old already, 70+, 80+, time to really slow down. Safer. Slow walks at 2-4kmh is good enough.
That will kill that fella still eventually, if i may even say so..... but of coz just at a slightly slower rate than if laying on the couch predominantly. Dont subscribe to such thinkings bro.
Your body still needs sufficient stimulus and challenges.
The last video a bit controversial, you dont have to follow it 100% and it probably is not 100% of the whole story, but i think it still bears quite a bit of hard truth, no harm incorporating a bit of training in that including proprioception and twists and turns. (but note, no sports like soccer which is different, that is not the type of training that the fella is doing so do not misunderstand)

My father and mother that time when my kid still in primary school, they bring my kid to school, i ask them carry school bag and my kid to gun it. Return home air the clothes, afternoon time rinse and repeat, daily wash. 4km+ to and fro mileage daily, they can do it. My pops 80+ liao. Move it, no excuses.

WussRedXLi

:oops: :oops: :oops:

Even tho i dont agree with the Crossfit technique stuff with questionable safety being at the top , still.......

xllms

Yet another (AI) video, but good to be reminded. But this AI vid is actually decent info.

For older folks, actually i think it even makes more sense. Tortoise and hare story.
Bo bian one, dont binge on the off season.

@xllms quite useful info :ninja:

ACtually if i may give some anecdotal info........it's only like last year (or even now) after 3 years that i find that structurally (musculoskeletal and with strengthening/plyo that surpasses what most amateur endurance runners do, simply coz of my calisthenics focus) that i finally dont really get injured. But of coz i also stuck to the distances that i am most comfortable with and the kind of weekly running load i am able to do due to restrictions.
Quite long. For me no really true off season......though there are deloads here and there.

no wonder my longest run was around 31km. :ROFLMAO:

thx for sharing

Jeremy1

My community centre is organising the 2XU run for this year.

Got free transportation but don't know which race should I participate 🤔

xllms

sharing a list of running shoes (25/26)major Chinese & other major brands from Western & Japan, which I compiled while I am trying to make sense amongst across the brands. It is by no means complete. Just a simple compilation to begin with.
This will help those who are looking to buy running shoes but doesn't know where to start from.
Can download the excel file from the following link.
2025-26 Running Shoes .xlsx

7b3ec64c7b4b497723492569381a55b2.png

xllms

More interested in the Pro. Another Evo SL wannabe

likewise. Adidas Evo SL, Asics Megablast, Anta Zone 2 90, Dynafish Xiaonian & this Xtep 2000km v5 Pro are the main plate-less super trainers to look out for. I do feel that the Saucony Endorphin Azura & Mizuno Wave Neo Zen 2 should also be considered. Also looking foward to the upcoming 2026 Brooks Ghost AMP.

rECKleSSfElla

likewise. Adidas Evo SL, Asics Megablast, Anta Zone 2 90, Dynafish Xiaonian & this Xtep 2000km v5 Pro are the main plate-less super trainers to look out for. I do feel that the Saucony Endorphin Azura & Mizuno Wave Neo Zen 2 should also be considered. Also looking foward to the upcoming 2026 Brooks Ghost AMP.
Another chinese review for the 2000km 5.0 Pro.

Personally i think there is probably too much overlap between this, Xiaonian and Zone 2 90 to warrant having more than 1 pair from those 3. In terms of 驾驭门槛, from easy to more advance, likely in the order of 2000km 5.0 Pro > Zone 2 90 > Xiaonian so the 2000km 5.0 Pro will be the most mass appealing if that makes any sense.

xllms

Another chinese review for the 2000km 5.0 Pro.

Personally i think there is probably too much overlap between this, Xiaonian and Zone 2 90 to warrant having more than 1 pair from those 3. In terms of 驾驭门槛, likely in the order of 2000km 5.0 Pro > Zone 2 90 > Xiaonian so the 2000km 5.0 Pro will be the most mass appealing if that makes any sense.

based on reviewers, you are quite correct. 2000km v5 Pro & the Lining Red Hare 9 Ultra also appear to be a good pair of shoe for travel (run and jalan jalan).

rECKleSSfElla

based on reviewers, you are quite correct. 2000km v5 Pro & the Lining Red Hare 9 Ultra also appear to be a good pair of shoe for travel (run and jalan jalan).
Think i would have bought this 2000km V5 Pro instead of the Xiaonian if i had known about it earlier. The Xiaonians are a great pair of shoes dont get me wrong. Done a couple of runs in them. The feeling i get is anything slower than sub 6min, the shoes are okay-ish and nothing too special. But once you pick up the pace, they are an entire different beast. Thats where i feel the 2000km V5 Pro are likely more versatile and better suited for a bigger variety of paces.

xllms

Think i would have bought this 2000km V5 Pro instead of the Xiaonian if i had known about it earlier. The Xiaonians are a great pair of shoes dont get me wrong. Done a couple of runs in them. The feeling i get is anything slower than sub 6min, the shoes are okay-ish and nothing too special. But once you pick up the pace, they are an entire different beast. Thats where i feel the 2000km V5 Pro are likely more versatile and better suited for a bigger variety of paces.
probably so, am still enjoyable my xiaonian at paces at 6min or slower. Indeed does feel better when one picks up the pace or apply more power to it. Very good shoe for long distance tempo runs.

noinimod

sharing a list of running shoes (25/26)major Chinese & other major brands from Western & Japan, which I compiled while I am trying to make sense amongst across the brands. It is by no means complete. Just a simple compilation to begin with.
This will help those who are looking to buy running shoes but doesn't know where to start from.
Can download the excel file from the following link.
2025-26 Running Shoes .xlsx

7b3ec64c7b4b497723492569381a55b2.png
Power effort la thanks so much!!

WussRedXLi

KNN just now early morning i was @ Geylang & Guillemard Rd. :frown:

Recommendation, mutton curry. Both Aladdin Kopi House and the Singapore Nasi Kandar stores along Lor 10. Cyclist can also access via Guillemard side from Lor 12 and then Talma rd.
After that can go hoot Geylang PCN, BEG, MBS etc.

Aladdin i think $8 or something, SG Nasi Kandar $7. Mutton Curry with rice.
SG Nasi Kandar store can try the others like butter chicken also.

Open 23 hours, hardcore runners and cyclists early hours all also can go.

AG0ilSx1hqRvXcL81Eqh2rcoS683vFXD274_Ea8QLRrq7U1a3dW0EfZW46BAbfbDsg--XPBxlBxwQyg2UekTLgPuK1PzVB8nAT2fdWzwqYcHvg5whbh_cl5HuYdEAleLjEwKCa8Gb2U=s680-w680-h510-rw

AF1QipNx67xM7_hxUwhyQp02rP5VXVLR7t7QTEWINolj=s680-w680-h510-rw

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.