jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Cannot I'm lousy runner. :o

Run in HK at 18C also huff and puff and sweat lots. Maybe it's the humidity. (90+ RH)

But after run, the cool-down phase feel shiok. Do bar exercises at fitness corner very cooling. :s13:

18 deg C cycling, i think i will kena a bit of hypothermia unless if threshold effort. Even easy effort might be a bit cold. Coz Singapore 23-24 deg C i dont perspire at Z1 or low Z2, even with high RH% (90%) and it's easy to tell coz your perspiration wont really evap much one.

Bike Baju team tried that in Genting / Cameron downhill, uncontrolled shivering even havent reached the bottom. Coz they are super heat adapted.

Go watch this weekend T100 race and see how some will suffer.
Better yet, go there at 3-4pm and watch. Even just standing there at MBS already sweat coz many course parts exposed. That 38-40 deg C heat index is really stiffling.
Pro Men starts at 1415h. :rolleyes:

WussRedXLi

Again, if it is Singapore International Marathon (BYD), that is probably more like 3:45 - 3:30 "equivalent" if talking about cool overseas. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Interesting, looks like even "AI" / internets say so. If we bump it up to 4:00, it just barely passes, ie too risky and cutting it really close.

2 x 22-25g carb gels per hour

40g/hr of fueling is likely insufficient to optimize performance for a sub-3:45 marathon, although it may be acceptable for lighter runners or those with exceptionally efficient metabolism. Current guidelines and research suggest that most runners aiming for high-intensity performance (sub-3:45 requires a ~5:19/km or 8:34/mile pace) should aim for 60–90 grams of carbohydrates per hour to prevent "hitting the wall".
The Running Channel +2
Key Considerations for Sub-3:45:
  • Optimal Fueling: While 30-60g/hr is often cited as a baseline, recent studies indicate that 60-90g/hr of dual-source carbohydrates (e.g., maltodextrin/fructose) is superior for preventing glycogen depletion in runs lasting over 2.5 hours.
  • 40g/hr Feasibility: 40g/hr (roughly one standard gel every 30 minutes, or 4-5 gels total) is better than nothing, but it may lead to glycogen depletion in the final 10km (the "wall") if your pace is high.
  • Gut Training: If you have not trained your gut to handle higher carb intakes, 40-60g/hr is a safer starting point to avoid stomach issues, but you should try to work up to at least 60g/hr in your long training runs.
  • Carb Loading: Ensure you are loading properly 24-48 hours before the race to maximize glycogen stores, which makes the 40g/hr slightly more forgiving.

WussRedXLi

For the fast runners :
Same as what Holly Archer found out recently.

Based on recent research involving elite trail runners, fueling with 120g/hr of carbohydrates (CHO) is considered superior to 60g/hr for a high-intensity, sub-3:15 marathon because it drastically reduces neuromuscular fatigue, improves running economy, and accelerates recovery, provided the gut is properly trained.
PubMed Central (PMC) (.gov) +2
While 60g/hr was the traditional recommendation, 120g/hr (using specific glucose-fructose blends) increases carbohydrate oxidation rates (the amount of fuel actually used by muscles) and lowers metabolic strain.
Science In Sport +1
Here is why 120g/hr is better for high-performance marathon running:

1. Reduced Muscle Damage and Fatigue (Lower TRIMP)
Studies comparing 60g/hr, 90g/hr, and 120g/hr during mountain marathons (approx. 4h–4h45m) found that those consuming 120g/hr had significantly lower markers of Exercise-Induced Muscle Damage (EIMD).
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +1
  • Lower Markers: Reduced creatine kinase (CK), lactate dehydrogenase (LDH), and glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (GOT) 24 hours post-race.
  • Lower Internal Load: 120g/hr significantly lowers the internal training impulse (TRIMP)—the perceived effort and physiological stress on the body—compared to 60g/hr.
    Freetrail +3

2. Improved Running Economy and Metabolic Efficiency
  • Better Efficiency: A 120g/hr intake improves running economy by up to 3% compared to 60g/hr, meaning the body requires less oxygen to maintain the same pace.
  • Higher Oxidation Rate: As intake increases to 120g/hr, the body burns more ingested carbohydrates (up to 1.68 g/min) and relies less on fat oxidation, which is less efficient for maintaining high speeds near lactate threshold.
  • Sustained Energy: 120g/hr maintains blood glucose levels more effectively and spares muscle glycogen, preventing the severe "bonking" or "hitting the wall" often seen in the last 10km of a sub-3:15 attempt.
    PubMed Central (PMC) (.gov) +3

Over three separate 2-hour treadmill runs, we tested: • 60g carbohydrates per hour • 90g carbohydrates per hour • 120g carbohydrates per hour

During each trial we measured: • Heart rate • Blood lactate • Oxygen consumption • Exogenous carbohydrate oxidation (how much of the carbs I consumed I was actually burning)

The results were fascinating. At 120g per hour, I experienced:
✔ Lower perceived effort (RPE)
✔ Better perceived energy levels
✔ Improved fluid retention
✔ Less body mass loss
✔ A delayed shift toward fat oxidation

This matters because carbohydrate produces more energy per litre of oxygen than fat, making it the more efficient fuel at marathon pace.

Ender

anyone looking for a AI running coach can try this - https://www.cliveking.net/index.html#about
i have just only started using it and the training logic seems kinda legit. most importantly its FOC.
you would need to have an interval.icu (which is also free) and the AI can help you create workouts which you can then sync to your garmin watch.
Great find. Free is a good start. LOL.

Interval.icu has free PMC, where you can monitor your fitness and form progress and determine if the plan is going in the right direction.

WussRedXLi

MY Idol...... :love:
Can run (10k = 27:38), can bike. Swimming also not bad. His TT race is just 4 seconds behind 3rd place podium.

The 188km road race he also finished 4th place, behind 3 pro cyclists.

This coming Sat very high chance podium again.

WussRedXLi

Dang the algo. But still, it's an interesting animation based on higher intensities. 2nd video quite clear too in explaining in more layman understandable lingo.

AI Overview

Adequate fueling during a 2-hour easy session acts as a proactive recovery tool that minimizes the depletion of energy stores and limits muscle damage, allowing you to start the next day’s session refreshed rather than "in a hole". By maintaining higher energy availability throughout the session, you prevent metabolic stress that can cause lingering fatigue, soreness, and reduced performance the following day.
Scientific Triathlon +3
Here is how fueling during the session helps you prepare for tomorrow:
  • Maintains Higher Glycogen Stores for Tomorrow: While an easy run may not fully deplete you, it still consumes energy. Fueling ensures your muscle glycogen stores are not critically low, reducing the recovery time needed before the next session.
  • Reduces Muscle Soreness and Damage: Consuming carbohydrates during the 2-hour session helps minimize the breakdown of muscle tissue, reducing delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS) and enabling better movement quality in the next day's training.
  • Keeps Cortisol (Stress Hormone) Low: Inadequate fueling causes stress hormones to rise. Proper fueling prevents this hormonal spike, ensuring your body focuses on repair rather than "cannibalizing" muscle tissue.
  • Ensures Higher Training Intensity Tomorrow: If you heavily deplete glycogen during today's easy session, you will likely feel sluggish or "heavy-legged" tomorrow, preventing you from reaching your desired intensity. Fueling now allows you to maintain your planned pace tomorrow.
  • Prevents "Energy-Deficient" Fatigue: Consistently under-fueling during 2+ hour sessions can cause a cumulative fatigue that lingers for days. Proper fueling maintains training consistency across the entire week.
    TrainingPeaks +5

WussRedXLi

Cannot I'm lousy runner. :o

Run in HK at 18C also huff and puff and sweat lots. Maybe it's the humidity. (90+ RH)

But after run, the cool-down phase feel shiok. Do bar exercises at fitness corner very cooling. :s13:

Still faster than this girl i think......

Wait.....seems like she is from some Cougars Athletic Association, club runner.

But to be fair, i also dont fare well during such warm weather / high heat index temperature running also. Not sure if they had switched on the bowl cooling system for the few spectators there, if they did even at minimal cooling levels, then some cool air would flow down to the track..... (the first and only time i did late afternoon running and it had to be a "TT" that i winged it, i nearly peng san 7+ km in at 6pm trying to break 40 and i told myself that's it, F it, no more of such gung ho warm running shiat)

Actually they provide cups of water (iced water?) on lane 4 and you'd just have to deviate from lane 1 to lane 3 to grab (2 lanes change). I dont know, im just amateur play play and i havent done an A-B comparision (no good way of comparing also). But personally I cool similarly and my lap is 800m.......if every 400m hoot 1 cup (esp if iced water) on head, body and esp quads/glutes flowing down to calves is good esp in such warm weather, the time lost (1 second each lap at most?) might be more than gained back via cooling.

Nicole Low 36:59 in warm weather. Maybe can try ideal weather soon, try to sub 36 and try aiming NR. But of coz need the dough and/or sponsorship, maybe just waiting for perfect opportunity.
IIRC, she just 2 months ago went new PR 1:17 in a jap HM, would have been perfect weather then. edit - Nagoya HM, and yeah it is officially certified race distance
SCSM 2025 she did 1:23. 6 mins difference for 21k.

WussRedXLi

At this rate, i think next year they will try breaking every running distance from short to mid to long, and then move on to cycling, skating, bobsled, weightlifting etc as well.

WussRedXLi

Actually those of you who are experiencing plateaus or unable to hit late workout targets esp the higher volume sessions that go over 60 mins / PB that you have been unable to hit for several tries or whatever. Might just be a practical solution to try, be it training of for actual race.
Even if you do not bonk by 60 mins, it prepares you for the next session, which for many that might be tomorrow. (post session meal also essential, make no mistake, unless if your session is really short)

I just read the comments, same as my experience with Kang Shi Fu beverages. No gut issues, or maybe it is much lower incidence.

Heck even intra session fuelling works for those gym bros into longer, higher rep higher sets work. I have seen these egs, and for gym, it is a fast feedback loop should you wanna experiement. You literally see the results instantly coz the number of reps/sets you can dish out is very "visible" and it much more obvious that say trying out a TT of any sort.

But this is not new or the first time i have come across. Eg, the Bike Baju gang members some of them was doing this before they got their gel sponsorship. Coz of the price.
The only "issue" is that this is gonna be somewhat sweeter than your commercial gels coz maltodextrin is not really sweet (it then rapidly gets metabolized into glucose)

The only issue is that for running races, this becomes a logistical issue unless if you are willing to try mixing it on the spot with your own soft flask with your own pre-prepped powder satches using the water at the aid stations.
For cycling, not so much.

WussRedXLi

Abang strong siol

(he told me he is 60 yrs old, this year shd be 61)

Ah bang dropped new vid

Somemore ah bang can sprint. > 1kW no issue. Neuro no issue at all baby in addition to strength (torque),

That is quite rare for elderly.......but then again, i mean that is what longevity is about.

milkiee

Great find. Free is a good start. LOL.

Interval.icu has free PMC, where you can monitor your fitness and form progress and determine if the plan is going in the right direction.
yeah man it uses alot more metric that it draws from interval.icu
you can ask the AI to analyze your workout and identify the fitness to your goal target.
apparently mine is durability in terms of holding my target pace for longer time without spiking my HR too much.
as such i need to do alot more threshold and pickup long runs to train that.

WussRedXLi

Main factor would be the amount of heat adaptation. Hayden Wilde is proven in this area, "unfortunately". Very good chance he will podium.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.