jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

But these are the current one we bought, without the fray at the tongue version. I think they are still the 1.0, not the more padded, less breathable 1.5. Correct me if I am wrong.
the video is on updated ver 1. video is from end april. They revised the upper material to be less stiff also. I didn't know that. Most only commented that the tongue is revised.

Ender

kenyans run at highland altitude.. gets super powers... we run in 40deg c .. get super power bo? :ROFLMAO:

They claim the heat training is a slightly poor man's altitude training. Issue is they train there and come down race. For us is we need to travel to cold country to race. Either that or we use the poor man's method of track (if ngeow about absolute accuracy) and splashing cups of cold water onto our necks wrapped with towel or cap + towel, or some estate route TT that can enable you to do so, with the setup not seriously needing to deviate and adding much more distance.

Actually, my own take is that it is actually even easier. Coz it can happen as quickly as in 1 week's time, for heat training. So basically dont even have to "suffer" as much. :ROFLMAO: Only issue for us locals is how to cool ourselves down locally during the whole TT, that one is more of logistics liao. For 3k that is actually no much issue, 10k would be much more leceh.
My take is depends what you are training for. Only if we can retain the same training regime as when would spend in the cold region.
Heat reduces our pace, our distances, our duration. Everything mostly cut short. But if we are able to retain the same training regime without being too damaged for recovery, I say that heat adaptation is a bonus fitness.
I tried my best to follow the TAO training regime, and recently I asked the coach that I might need to cut off some of my training due to it being too much to handle. The coach looking at my metric numbers and say those schedule workout are within my capacity and is low risk for injury and it's the heat climate that affecting. The heat took away some training stimulus that was intended for me by TAO, and perhaps in colder climate I may benefit from completing the intended training stimulus.

I took two weeks break from TAO, and use CHATGPT recovery workout to tie over for the two weeks. Now reset back to beginners TAO with reduce risk settings. Today is days 3 of the reset mode.

Ender

rECKleSSfElla

Weird then that they decided to release a ver 1.5 when they have supposedly solved all the issues with an update to the initial release. Probably from business standpoint they are striking the iron while its hot. At least the ver 1.5 going for same price 369rmb so no markup or anything.

GlassDoor

Weird then that they decided to release a ver 1.5 when they have supposedly solved all the issues with an update to the initial release. Probably from business standpoint they are striking the iron while its hot. At least the ver 1.5 going for same price 369rmb so no markup or anything.
ver 1 is very much running focus... not suitable to wear out go kai kai... last week I wore a sock with a hole at the big toe and wife said she can see :ROFLMAO:

rECKleSSfElla

ver 1 is very much running focus... not suitable to wear out go kai kai... last week I wore a sock with a hole at the big toe and wife said she can see :ROFLMAO:
Yar.....took my pair for a short run and not used to the race fit since i prefer more room with my shoes. The minimal heel structure is causing me some heel slippage but i dont dare to lace all the way to the bottom hole as my midfoot and toes already feel cramped like bak zhang. Come to think of it, the ver 1.5 would probably suit me alot more. Also got this annoying "tak tak tak" sound when walking in it so definitely not for gai gai use.

Ender

It is as close to wearing sandal as breathability goes, and still retain a good structure to lock down our feet. Many complain about the upper, I say this is the best an upper can get, stucture and breathability.

Ender

Yar.....took my pair for a short run and not used to the race fit since i prefer more room with my shoes. The minimal heel structure is causing me some heel slippage but i dont dare to lace all the way to the bottom hole as my midfoot and toes already feel cramped like bak zhang. Come to think of it, the ver 1.5 would probably suit me alot more. Also got this annoying "tak tak tak" sound when walking in it so definitely not for gai gai use.
Looks like you got wide feet? ya 1.5 maybe better.

WussRedXLi

Home run liao.

Literally bao jiak Mao San Wang this year.

See how the Nino 3.4 responded due to that broad patch of red / yellow / orange. Not say super intense, but it is broad + prolonged. In fact, very broad and prolonged, i dont remember seeing this in May - July 2015 (as also shared in the Consolidated 2015 Super El nino thread)

And of coz, the hot weather will of coz persist till next year. and of of coz next year Apr - Jun intermonsoon period will be crazy. (same as 2016, when 2015 was the super el nino)

Got serious haze season or not, i dont know. Not sure what Indonland has done to prevent / reduce the draining of peatland by the big coys. If they dont drain, even super super el nino with ultra dry weather also wont really fully smoke out one.

8ZNilP5.jpg

vdNaEna.jpg

WussRedXLi

When @VonDeVous posted last week, I asked the organizer if they are certified, coz I would sign up immediately if they were. Coz Metasport sprint series and T100, I believe were certified. But no reply mean I didn't sign up.

T100 not certified one....coz they never use the standard distances anyway, so no real reason to use measuring wheel to even measure.
A bit short for the runs actually (same goes for other countries' races), annually also vary a wee bit vs the advertised distance.

But they dont hide it also, this year was 6k + 3k run for standard duathlon, last year was 4k + 6k for run. IIRC 2024 was 4.5 and 4.5. Same goes for the 18k (long duathlon and triathlon)....not really standard. So these distances are never standard, but the triathlon can be lumped into middle course distance......wrt to say Ironman 70.3.

The metasprint races at Sentosa also somewhat short, in fact it's like Skechers 2024 kinda short.
So......you email them, they sure wont reply.

That's also why there is no mention of course records. Coz no such thing.

WussRedXLi

My take is depends what you are training for. Only if we can retain the same training regime as when would spend in the cold region.
Heat reduces our pace, our distances, our duration. Everything mostly cut short. But if we are able to retain the same training regime without being too damaged for recovery, I say that heat adaptation is a bonus fitness.
I tried my best to follow the TAO training regime, and recently I asked the coach that I might need to cut off some of my training due to it being too much to handle. The coach looking at my metric numbers and say those schedule workout are within my capacity and is low risk for injury and it's the heat climate that affecting. The heat took away some training stimulus that was intended for me by TAO, and perhaps in colder climate I may benefit from completing the intended training stimulus.

I took two weeks break from TAO, and use CHATGPT recovery workout to tie over for the two weeks. Now reset back to beginners TAO with reduce risk settings. Today is days 3 of the reset mode.

It's actually scary hot, but i think can still tahan safely for workouts kinda exertion levels. My legs and arms really dripping........ be it on Tue night or this morning.
But i think for those who are more advanced in sports and know what symptoms to lookout for, can still train relatively safely.

I just checked MSS website, like now 7pm, some places still at 40 deg C heat index. Later 8-8.30pm it wont be significantly better for sure, like dropping to below 37 deg C heat index.

WussRedXLi

2040h

Sentosa heat index temp 39.9 deg C
ECP heat index temp 40.6 deg C
West Coast Park area heat index temp 40.3 deg C
Ang Moh Kio heat index temp 39.9 deg C
Kim Chuan Road heat index temp 40.2 deg C
Sembawang Rd heat index temp 40.3 deg C

😅 😅

Tomorrow morning i think also need to pour cold water @ Sentosa Imbiah monorail station toilet. The water cooler there got ice cold water, esp during early morning. :ROFLMAO:

I have stopped going to MBS / BEG areas ever since they blocked the GBTB path for the bridge construction bt Bay South Garden and Bay East Garden. That one much more cooling coz totally flat.

Ender

Tonight, suppose 10x 1 minute repetition, did only 5x, the heat at 2030 is terrible. Felt my face warming up at the last set, and I thought better play safe and cut short the training.
I think also residual heat injury from the previous Tao cumulative fatigue training also also has it's effect.

basic___

Wow I thought it was just me that was feeling a bit off tonight due to the weather
Started my intervals @ 7pm, ended up reducing the sets by 20% because there was so much fatigue accumulated and it is safer to abort. First time in a long while that I didnt finish my sets.

rECKleSSfElla

361 with another SL model....this time a budget segment offering. With this name does it mean can only run max 30mins in the shoes LOL. There mens sizes available despite the "女".

qny8HTh.jpeg

WbmVRXj.jpeg

ZLptINF.jpeg

Starting to think these china brands really just milking the whole SL moniker for its worth.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.