my coach angry that I keep gaining cause I never diet LOL. I think need to start soon which is what I keep saying but never DO lol
Actually morning just eat 4 eggs can already....there wont be any heath issues one and i confirm you wont be hungry till lunch time. Takes 2-3 weeks to get used to this and after that will be smooth sailing. If need something sweet/carbs, mix some milo powder and Nescafe Gold at the pantry (but not a big 600ml cup hor), put ice, tada that's your lifestyle beverage. Lunch and dinner normal portions of carbs since your volume avg not low (plus you swim also)....plus you need to fuel during your long days in which you really burn the cals coz that also affects how fast and how much you recover for the next session . Up your protein also with say 20-30g of powdered whey protein daily. Cut out ALL junk and lifestyle foods which has literally no nutrition, ok liao. (or you can eat them during your run lah......go eat your fav brownie(s) for kicks just before your long zone 2 sesh, wont vomit one)
And, "unfortunately", there is a need to strength train. As in, the strength training that i always post about, not the typical runner's strength training that does nothing at all in our context. Put on muscle mass. Make sure you get at least 1 to 1.2g/kg of protein intake......but no real need to pile it up towards 2g/kg.
You might want to start on Creatine when you get more serious about building muscle/strength and past the beginner's gains stage.
Tell him that you are putting on muscle mass and want to cut down BF % so absolute weight figure might not go down a lot, at least that would be more palatable. Once you have more muscle mass, it will be easier to target the weight aspect.
Actually you go look at during SRY's prime, his muscle mass is not low (can easily be seen simply coz his BF% is low), and is still significantly more than most of the Pack 1 fast running club runners.