jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

This place is good for liked minded people to discuss their journey. Different goals, but same race. BYD marathon. We used to have a more active running thread here where every SCSM particpants will post their long runs of the week, counting down, to peak phase, and to race.
Still early to start posting for BYD unless you on a 16 weeks plan haha. Those on 12 weeks one should start next month.

Now is the time to select your race shoes hahaha. I thought 6E would be the choice for me but unfortunately no. My Puma Deviate Nitro Elite 4 although set my HM and 10k(Strava) PB seems to be good up to HM distance only. Think is either Adios Pro 5 or Brooks Hyperion Elite 6 already

Ender

Still early to start posting for BYD unless you on a 16 weeks plan haha. Those on 12 weeks one should start next month.

Now is the time to select your race shoes hahaha. I thought 6E would be the choice for me but unfortunately no. My Puma Deviate Nitro Elite 4 although set my HM and 10k(Strava) PB seems to be good up to HM distance only. Think is either Adios Pro 5 or Brooks Hyperion Elite 6 already

Last year I wanted 6E for the race too. All it took was only one session of interval to rule that out. Wanted plaid 3 as the replacement since many reviewers say it is a lot stable. But the price is still very high and I need race shoes now for MP training and acclimatization.
Now I have the anta g9 v1 and v2 for MP training sessions. Either one will be race days shoes.

Kuudere

Good job. I wish I can also do ippt at maju again haha. Gonna try CMPB again on tues.
Go and try max out your push up and sit up, then don't have to worry about the run.
In my experience, 17-18 mins fitness range actually not super super difficult to train for. The good thing about 3-5k is that it's not terribly difficult to recover from, good for our schedules and lifestyles here in SG.
Also, in a related way, not so easy to burn out compared to the 2 long distances that hobbyists like to play.

But the heat issue is real when running fast. Really need to actively douse ice cold water. For me, i do overheat significantly and experience very uncomfortable symptoms once past 7-8k (that time when i was playing 10k). So need to pull out all those cooling tricks.3
edit - of coz, still, when compared to HM/FM distances, 5k or even 10k really no comparison coz with 5k you still can outrun and tahan the extreme thermal failures that would plague FM over here in SG. ie heat is really the true limiter then for the super long distances.

Anyway, i gave up 10k after a while, other than being more heat affected compared to shorter distances, you also need much time and mental focus for the over distance runs lah...which for me is super monotonous and i tend to drift out. Coz i mainly enjoy running / TT fast and short and sweet, plus the longevity focus so makes less sense to go long distance.
The truth is that most active runners focus on longer distances (HM/M), running a fast 5k makes a lot of sense in schooling years. That's because cross country/track races are only up to 5k until you reach uni level.

If your focus is on longer distances, then you wouldn't necessarily dedicate a training block for the 5k. You probably focus on the 10k as the faster running block of the training cycle. That's why you see younger runners being able to hit 17-18 minutes because their training is 3k/5k and their coach only makes them run intervals up to 1k max.

Also, if you are focused on the 1.5k, you develop a lot of speed work to run a fast 5k. But you rarely hear of anyone that does 1.5k training block into their 30s/40s/50s onwards.

It's up to you, what you want to race. If you are racing a HM/M and your 5k isn't fast, that's alright.
i get where you are coming from. But will also say folks all got different hearts, hopes and aims.
My only wish is for people to find an exercise they enjoy and make it a life long habit instead of being influence by the current trend or how fast or how strong one needs to be measured up to be.
Cheers and Adios.
Exactly! Different Vo2 baseline levels, different goals. Goals especially make a big difference. If I was just focused only on 1.5k/3k, and then I scale up to 5k, I probably achieve my 5k goal times. But considering that I want to run marathons, I much rather spend 1 month max for 2.4k IPPT training and jump straight into 10k/HM training block to improve my LT2 instead of Vo2max.
This place is good for liked minded people to discuss their journey. Different goals, but same race. BYD marathon. We used to have a more active running thread here where every SCSM particpants will post their long runs of the week, counting down, to peak phase, and to race.
You meant evening runner thread? Used to post down there.
Thanks but still prefer to have a sub 40 with official results.

Anyway, Decathlon HM route is out. Got Sheares bridge and free SIS gel at 12km.
I saw the route, there were a lot of turns compared to Garmin HM. The benefit is they provide gels during the race but only if you are used to taking SiS gels.
For Singapore, most 10k race are not accurate. Outside Singapore marathons, the next closest to an accurate 10km is this
https://runsingaporerankings.com
Agree with you, RSR 10k is an accurate race. My mindset going into non-AIMS certified races is:

1. Run for position
2. Extrapolate the distance you ran to actual race pace

I treat non-AIMS certified races as unofficial tune up races. If I ran a PB, then good for me. If I don't, then it's still considered good training experience. No hard feelings.

xllms

thx for sharing
yah now hyrox is very popular all over
in this shenzhen hyrox event, there is this 50yr old lady partner with her 80yr old MIL
now its all about creating positive impressions and record into the social media to accumulate credits for future possibilities.

xllms

Also just to update, I got the cycling socks recommended by @xllms , they are thin, comfortable. Issue is too long for my liking as I pref quarter length but is still ok. Haven't tried for long run yet tho
can also try this
RMB11.97/pair
https://e.tb.cn/h.8NOqKwLjvuQBkpz?tk=KRjhTVgpB8C
tb-image-share-1787972714383.png

Tudo88

For Singapore, most 10k race are not accurate. Outside Singapore marathons, the next closest to an accurate 10km is this
https://runsingaporerankings.com
The last two 10km I went all over distance. Sketchers and 7 eleven Run. I think they rather over than under, if not people keep bitching about it haha.

Haha yeah I know about RSR but this one too many elite amateurs there. Don’t want go there throw face

Tudo88

Go and try max out your push up and sit up, then don't have to worry about the run.

The truth is that most active runners focus on longer distances (HM/M), running a fast 5k makes a lot of sense in schooling years. That's because cross country/track races are only up to 5k until you reach uni level.

If your focus is on longer distances, then you wouldn't necessarily dedicate a training block for the 5k. You probably focus on the 10k as the faster running block of the training cycle. That's why you see younger runners being able to hit 17-18 minutes because their training is 3k/5k and their coach only makes them run intervals up to 1k max.

Also, if you are focused on the 1.5k, you develop a lot of speed work to run a fast 5k. But you rarely hear of anyone that does 1.5k training block into their 30s/40s/50s onwards.

It's up to you, what you want to race. If you are racing a HM/M and your 5k isn't fast, that's alright.

Exactly! Different Vo2 baseline levels, different goals. Goals especially make a big difference. If I was just focused only on 1.5k/3k, and then I scale up to 5k, I probably achieve my 5k goal times. But considering that I want to run marathons, I much rather spend 1 month max for 2.4k IPPT training and jump straight into 10k/HM training block to improve my LT2 instead of Vo2max.

You meant evening runner thread? Used to post down there.

I saw the route, there were a lot of turns compared to Garmin HM. The benefit is they provide gels during the race but only if you are used to taking SiS gels.

Agree with you, RSR 10k is an accurate race. My mindset going into non-AIMS certified races is:

1. Run for position
2. Extrapolate the distance you ran to actual race pace

I treat non-AIMS certified races as unofficial tune up races. If I ran a PB, then good for me. If I don't, then it's still considered good training experience. No hard feelings.
I think watch too much elite videos already haha. Everyone here are just common folks. I don’t think we should compare ourselves to elites.

A sub 230 marathoner is definitely gonna run a faster 3k or 5k than everyone here even if he don’t commit to train specifically for 3k/5k because his pace for marathon is already 3.30+/km already.

Whereas if a common guy run 3.30/km for short distances, it doesn’t translate to a fast HM or FM since he’s not trained for that.

Tudo88

Last year I wanted 6E for the race too. All it took was only one session of interval to rule that out. Wanted plaid 3 as the replacement since many reviewers say it is a lot stable. But the price is still very high and I need race shoes now for MP training and acclimatization.
Now I have the anta g9 v1 and v2 for MP training sessions. Either one will be race days shoes.
Yeah I looking at Plaid 3 also but the price just won’t come down!!!

WussRedXLi

i get where you are coming from. But will also say folks all got different hearts, hopes and aims.
My only wish is for people to find an exercise they enjoy and make it a life long habit instead of being influence by the current trend or how fast or how strong one needs to be measured up to be.
Cheers and Adios.

Actually i also dont know why my liking isnt what most running folks would focus on, ie the longer HM/FM distances. I did go up-distance by trying 10k and then after that came back down to 5k and 3k again, after trying out 16-18km distances (iirc only thrice), upping from the usual 12-13k easy to tempo for 10k training and the shorter LT2/VO2 workouts.

Eventually i didnt really get sub-38 mins and just gave up this distance....but to be honest i was just trying out and see how far could i go, there was not any hard target, I was already doing like 70-80km per week and it really sucked a lot from me from A-Z. And yeah....quite fatiguing, time on legs, plus work schedule etc.
I remember still need to jog to my workplace after the session in the morning and then i would just sit down on the chair and sipping ice cold milo + nescafe gold + fan and not wanting to move for a good 30 mins.

I think most probably is what Kuudere mentioned. If more people (adults) here focussed on the shorter distances but in a more competitive way as in they focus on timings, then it would be more "common".
I also believe there are tons of 3-10k range runners on PCNs, really tons and tons and tons, just that no timings and trainings are involved, just recreational exercise.

But i think kuudere mentioned a good point that also points this 17-18 mins thingy out......schools are foccused at up to 5k, and the younger runners in school can run 17-18 mins with coaching and training and this is not totally rare. Of coz there would be an additional headwind for the age 30-50 folks, but still quite possible if the focus and interest is there.

But actually, then again, the same goes for my cycling. I tend not to do the longer distances that other cyclists would find normal. But one thing i noticed on strava from the cycling clubs.....is that my schedule is pretty standard and the same week after week, basically 1 rest day. Others are more erratic and even might have a good few days like 5 to 1 week plus of no activity. (either that or didnt sync, dont know but probably unlikely). But then after that, BAM, 1 shot 3-5 hrs big ride and sometimes twice consecutively.

Maybe i thrive more on routine. And of coz possibly the same problem as i mentioned earlier, it's more of a schedule limiter than a fitness/training limiter. Unless if retired early or something.

WussRedXLi

BTW, just a side topic and early warning. For those training for any races, i think you'd better factor in some buffer.

Like @GlassDoor for your BQ timing. Might need to see what kind of training/recovery/fuelling buffer and tricks you might need to use. Or just sign up gym membership for 3 months, even though some pax might hate the treadmill to the core. :oops: (i know i am)

There is a decently good chance that there will be significant hiccups soon (from now on it's just a wind direction thingy), and possibly there is a chance that late Oct or even till mid Nov that there will be lingering smoke. Coz the unchartered and historic super el nino might even override a fair bit of the intermonsoon season which is the rainy season. Not saying it will, but it might.

In 2015, the haze only died down after the first week of Nov.
This is the historical data from Aug to nov.
Current el nino is forecasted to peak farther back (Nov/Dec) and also significantly higher than 2015.

oQrrrAG.jpg

All such things also depend on your sensitivity to the haze. (headache, eyes.......throat, etc)
Of coz, if not bothered, then no issue lah. I have seen folks running at my area in PSI 200-300 levels as well anyway.

Today :

Xn6gOns.jpg

WussRedXLi

Forget about 18 mins, i see some rather old blokes in the 16 mins range. 😅
But then again, of coz, mid-cheshire is traditionally a rather elite race and accordingly attracts the fastest folks, not exactly your usual parkrun.

WussRedXLi

thx for sharing
yah now hyrox is very popular all over
in this shenzhen hyrox event, there is this 50yr old lady partner with her 80yr old MIL
now its all about creating positive impressions and record into the social media to accumulate credits for future possibilities.

:oops: :oops: :oops:

Anyway, i always see Sentosa Cove central area Sat + Sunday near the 7-11 tons of ang moh folks training for Hyrox.....in public space.
Probably many many more in the hyrox oriented gyms....then they do run intervals at the public parks or even around the building that the gym is in. My area got tons of that during the non-office hours.......some of coz would go farther to MBS (for long runs?).

WussRedXLi

I posted earlier that she eventually might become a triathlete. :ROFLMAO: Now all 3 disciplines complete.

Swimming needs technique and is really technique dominant (this she already has plenty) and this discipline is usually the hardest to master unless the pax is naturally talented in swimming, and a huge deficit here really and usually screws up your bike and run later both mentally and physically. Some athletes really can screw up big time here. Since she is a swimmer, this difficult hurdle already auto pass. (y)

And cycling is also skills based (technical handling) but luckily still not skills dominating like in the pure cycling races which also emphasizes racecraft, not only pure fitness. Since the bike leg is the longest duration of all 3 disciplines, this leg is technically very important just due to the long duration.
Still, need bike handling skills. eg some folks in the bike leg of SG T100 didnt even felt comfortably descending at more than 55-60kmh down the slopes and applied brakes. But then again, descending fast be it in an aero tuck position (road bike) or in the TT aerobar need a bit of balls in the first place, practice makes perfect of coz.

I think she would have no issue picking up running. Her vlogs during her SEA game training that time last year, she ran a few times only like 3km or something, slowish pace and already said she not runner. But now she HM at decent timing liao. I calculated, it's below 1:55h and at below 150bpm, possibly just easy effort for her young age.
But of coz, musculoskeletal issues coz not used to it.

WussRedXLi

I think watch too much elite videos already haha. Everyone here are just common folks. I don’t think we should compare ourselves to elites.

A sub 230 marathoner is definitely gonna run a faster 3k or 5k than everyone here even if he don’t commit to train specifically for 3k/5k because his pace for marathon is already 3.30+/km already.

Whereas if a common guy run 3.30/km for short distances, it doesn’t translate to a fast HM or FM since he’s not trained for that.

Bro, just to clear things up........i was just merely sharing my own experience that training to 18 mins and eventually in my journey 17++ mark isnt super super difficult or impossible. Depending on the person, some might take more training cycles and more years to reach, some might take less.

Coz bro glassdoor mentioned earlier that it is already a great feat here locally to be doing 17 18 mins due to the heat. And hence i then also shared some small tips like actively cooling with iced water etc. (possible to gain 1 minute or 1 min++ for this distance theorectically speaking in local weather context).
Also this kind of distance, the training ultimately better fit my schedule due to less hours needed - ie not schedule limiting which i believe is the biggest factor for many of us here in SG.
Heck, if even 5k is too much, can do 2.4 or 3k even for the common folks (even SRY endorses 2.4 naming it very accessible and easily recoverable etc)

And before all that, i was just sharing and motivating folks that can even go for 15 mins like what Matt Fox did recently, coz Matt did gain a fair bit of weight past 1 year and was fighting some health issues (i think), but staged a come back and now trying 2:15.
All motivating stuff, not "watching too many elite videos" like Matt Fox's Sweat Elite channel and the others.

Dont know why or how that suddenly got twisted into me to have comparison with elites thingy ..... :unsure: Not my intention if you were to re-read all my previous replies man. :unsure:

My first post :
Note the motivation quote be it 5k or FM. (ok i admit, the 3:10 FM reference more for Glassdoor's BQ :ROFLMAO:
It's really a figure of speech.

But then, let that serve as a source of motivation.

If he can get 15 mins 5k, so can you. 3:10 FM or whatever.

No bloody excuses! 🦵💪💪

WussRedXLi

I believe literally all of us here would know that a sub-2:30 FMer, say a 2:23 FM runner, can also run a 5k of say 17 mins....or a 3k of approaching 10 mins (3:20 pace), even if he does not train 5k at all. If the athlete also don't know how this thingy called "en-route" means, then i really reserve my comments....... :unsure: Simply coz his 2:23 FM pace is already 3:24 min/km in the first place, which would mean a 17 min 5k split.

Anyway, for the record and clarity, my earlier tots is that achieveing a 3hr FM (4:16 pace) here is even tougher than achieving a 18k 5k (3:36 pace) here. Dont have to go down to 2:30 range which is extreme
Various reasons like local schedule limits with our culture here and heat limits esp affecting the much longer races, as you can very much potentially outrun heat issues with 5k and even more possibly with 3k. Still affected for 5k 3k, but at least wont heat bonk and DNF.

That is even though 18 mins 5k is roughly equivalent to a 3hr FM according to the various VDOT calculators i can find, Hopefully is based on JD's original metric or got modified slightly or not, that i am not privy to the exact details or workings.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.